February 14, 2025
Burke 2 Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 50195(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/burke-2-physical-therapy-p-c-v-state-farm-mut-auto-ins-co-2025-ny-slip-op-50195u/
- Decided
- February 14, 2025
- Citation
- 2025 NY Slip Op 50195(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Later treatment
- Followed in 5 later decisions (see Cited by)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Burke 2 Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 50195(U))
[*1]| Burke 2 Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. |
| 2025 NY Slip Op 50195(U) |
| Decided on February 14, 2025 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on February 14, 2025
PRESENT: : WAVNY TOUSSAINT, P.J., CHEREÉ A. BUGGS, LISA S. OTTLEY, JJ
2023-961 K C
against
State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co., Respondent.
The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell and Richard Rozhik of counsel), for appellant. Rivkin Radler, LLP (Stuart M. Bodoff of counsel), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Sandra E. Roper, J.), dated August 23, 2023. The order granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and denied plaintiff’s cross-motion for summary judgment.
ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court (Sandra E. Roper, J.) dated August 23, 2023, which granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and denied plaintiff’s cross-motion for summary judgment. Plaintiff argues on appeal that the order should be reversed and the matter remitted to the Civil Court to decide what plaintiff denominated as an amended cross-motion for summary judgment, which the court declined to consider. The court treated that submission, which also included amended opposition to defendant’s motion, as an unauthorized sur-reply. In the alternative, plaintiff argues that defendant’s motion should be denied.
The record demonstrates that, after serving its cross-moving papers seeking summary judgment and opposing defendant’s motion, plaintiff served an amended cross-motion and [*2]amended opposition to defendant’s motion. Defendant subsequently served papers in further support of its motion for summary judgment and in opposition to both plaintiff’s cross-moving and amended cross-moving papers. As plaintiff’s amended papers were served almost six months before defendant’s reply papers were served, which reply papers addressed the merits of plaintiff’s amended papers, plaintiff’s amended papers were not unauthorized sur-reply papers (see CPLR 2214 [c]). Nevertheless, reversal is not warranted. Neither plaintiff’s initial cross-motion and opposing papers nor its amended papers were sufficient, individually or collectively, to demonstrate the existence of a triable issue of fact, since, “contrary to plaintiff’s argument, the denial of defendant’s motion for summary judgment in a declaratory judgment action brought in the Supreme Court, Nassau County, has no preclusive effect on this case as it was not a final determination on the merits” (Burke Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 83 Misc 3d 41, 45 [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2024]).
Contrary to plaintiff’s further contention, it was not improper for defendant to seek, during the claim verification stage, information—such as management agreements, W-2 forms, business-related bank records and lease agreements—for the purpose of determining whether plaintiff was ineligible to collect no-fault benefits due to a failure to meet licensing requirements (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.16 [2] [12]; State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Mallela, 4 NY3d 313 [2005]). Indeed, if, as plaintiff contends, insurance companies should only be able to obtain such information using discovery demands after litigation has ensued, insurance companies would be confronted with a dilemma—to pay the claims for which the plaintiff may not be eligible to receive reimbursement and then commence a suit to recoup such payment (see State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Mallela, 4 NY3d at 322), or refrain from paying and wait until after plaintiff commences litigation to investigate via discovery whether plaintiff is eligible for reimbursement, which risks the insurance company being held liable for years of interest that would have accrued upon the claims in the interim at the rate of two percent per month (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.9 [a]), plus attorney’s fees (see 11 NYCRR 65-4.6). As plaintiff objected to the verification requests claiming they were nullities, the record establishes that plaintiff did not “provide within 120 calendar days from the date of the initial request either all such verification under [plaintiff’s] control or possession or written proof providing reasonable justification for the failure to comply” (11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [o]). Consequently, the arguments raised on appeal by plaintiff lack merit.
Accordingly, the order is affirmed.
TOUSSAINT, P.J., BUGGS and OTTLEY, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: February 14, 2025
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did unanswered verification requests make the provider’s claim premature, or justify denying it for nonresponse?
This decision: Insurer properly denied the claim because verification was not provided (120-day rule)
Affirmed summary judgment dismissing the complaint because the provider, which objected to the requests as nullities, provided neither the requested verification nor written reasonable justification within 120 days of the initial request.
Of the 385 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 27 (this one included) are in the same category.
May the insurer raise and investigate a Mallela (fraudulent incorporation) defense, or is it precluded, waived or denied discovery?
This decision: Insurer may raise or investigate the Mallela defense here (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer properly sought management agreements, W-2 forms, bank records and leases during claim verification to determine whether the provider was ineligible for failing licensing requirements, rather than waiting for litigation discovery.
Of the 136 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 112 (this one included) are in the same category.
Does an insurer’s no-coverage declaratory judgment, or pending declaratory action, bar or stay a no-fault claimant’s action?
This decision: No preclusion because the DJ does not conclusively decide these claims or cannot operate on them (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held that the denial of the insurer's summary judgment motion in its Supreme Court declaratory judgment action had no preclusive effect because it was not a final determination on the merits.
Of the 164 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 27 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Burke Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2024 NY Slip Op 24111) FollowedAn EUO request tolls the time to pay or deny a claim, not the deadline to request new verification.
- State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Mallela (2005 NY Slip Op 02416) FollowedFraudulently incorporated medical providers are ineligible for no-fault reimbursement under 11 NYCRR 65-3.16 (a) (12).
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Burke 2 Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 50306(U)) FollowedThe insurer's verification requests for records bearing on the provider's licensing eligibility were proper.
- Burke 2 Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. PIP/BI Claims (2026 NY Slip Op 26164) FollowedThe provider failed to raise a factual issue concerning compliance with verification requests within 120 days.
- Burke 2 Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. PIP/BI Claims (2026 NY Slip Op 51806(U)) FollowedThe provider failed to show that it supplied requested verification or justified noncompliance within 120 days.
- Burke Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2026 NY Slip Op 50681(U)) FollowedThe insurer's summary judgment motion dismissing the claims was granted, and the provider's discovery motion was denied as moot.
- Burke Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. PIP/BI Claims (2025 NY Slip Op 50376(U)) FollowedThe provider failed to supply requested verification within 120 days or reasonably justify noncompliance.
Similar decisions
- Burke Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 50196(U))The provider's qualified assertion that it mailed verification did not establish compliance or a reasonable justification for noncompliance.
- New York Manual, P.T., P.C. v Nationwide Affinity Ins. Co. of Am. (2023 NY Slip Op 50281(U))The provider failed to raise a triable issue that it supplied requested verification or reasonably justified noncompliance.
- Remedy Chiropractic, P.C. v Nationwide Ins. (2022 NY Slip Op 50935(U))The provider failed to raise a factual issue that it supplied outstanding verification or reasonably justified withholding it.
- All Boro Psychological Services, P.C. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50777(U))A provider that misses discovery objection deadlines must respond except as to privileged or palpably improper demands.
- Comprehensive Care Physical Therapy, P.C. v State-Wide Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51448(U))The insurer's affirmation established the provider's failure to appear for EUOs on the five claims at issue on appeal.