• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
October 26, 2026

Burke 2 Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. PIP/BI Claims (2026 NY Slip Op 51806(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/burke-2-physical-therapy-p-c-v-state-farm-mut-auto-ins-co-pip-bi-claims-2026-ny-slip-op-51806u/

Court
Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County
Judge
Sandra Elena Roper, J.
Decided
October 26, 2026
Citation
2026 NY Slip Op 51806(U)
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Issues
Verification requests Fraudulent incorporation (Mallela) Discovery and procedure
Legal questions
Outstanding verification and premature actions · Proof of mailing · Mallela defense: preclusion and discovery (see the maps)
Cite as
Burke 2 Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. PIP/BI Claims, 2026 NY Slip Op 51806(U) (Civ Ct, Kings County 2026)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The provider failed to show that it supplied requested verification or justified noncompliance within 120 days. The Civil Court, Kings County, granted the insurer summary judgment under 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (o) and dismissed the complaint with prejudice. The provider's mailing affidavit was qualified, lacked supporting documents and identified an address different from the verification letters. The court upheld requests investigating licensing eligibility under 11 NYCRR 65-3.16 (a) (12) and found Mayzenberg inapplicable during that investigation because the denial rested on verification noncompliance. An amended cross motion served 18 months after the insurer's opposition and reply was not considered and was alternatively found insufficient. The provider's original cross motion and motion to dismiss affirmative defenses were denied as moot.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Burke 2 Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. PIP/BI Claims (2026 NY Slip Op 51806(U))

Burke 2 Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. PIP/BI Claims
2026 NY Slip Op 51806(U)
Decided on October 26, 2026
Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County
Sandra Elena Roper, J.
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.


Digest-Index Classification: Motions and Orders—Timeliness of Motion—Amended Cross-Motion for Summary Judgment Served 18 Months after Motions Fully Briefed. Insurance—Automobile Insurance—Professional Misconduct

Burke 2 Physical Therapy, P.C. A/A/O LOPEZ, RAMON A, Plaintiff(s),

v

State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co. PIP/BI Claims, Defendant(s).

Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County

Decided on October 26, 2026

Index No. CV- 735106/19

The Rybak Firm, PLLC, Brooklyn, New York, for Plaintiff.

McDonnell, Adels & Klestzick, PLLC, Garden City, New York, for Defendant.

Sandra Elena Roper, J.

[*1]

Upon the foregoing cited papers and after oral argument, Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment, Plaintiff’s Cross-Motion for Summary Judgment, Plaintiff’s Amended Cross-Motion and Plaintiff’s Motion to Dismiss Affirmative Defenses are determined as follows:

Defendant’s Motion is GRANTED and Plaintiff’s Cross-Motion and Motion to Dismiss Affirmative Defenses are DENIED as moot. Plaintiff’s Amended Cross-Moton was served 18 months after Defendant served its Opposition and Reply, therefore, is not being considered. Arguendo, even where Plaintiff’s Amended Cross-Motion and amended affidavits were to be considered, they would be found insufficient to raise a triable issue of fact to defeat Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment. This Court finds that Defendant demonstrated Plaintiff failed to comply with the timely verification requests issued pursuant to 11 NYCRR § 65-3.5 (o) within 120 days, thus satisfying its prima facie burden for judgment as a matter of law in the first instance. Upon the shifting of the burden to rebut to Plaintiff, it failed to demonstrate that it provided the requested verification or set forth a reasonable justification for the failure to respond to Defendant’s verification requests, as required pursuant to 11 NYCRR § 65-3.5 (o). Thus, Plaintiff failed to meet its burden to rebut Defendants prima facie judgment as a matter of law.

Defendant submitted admissible evidence that it had not received the requested documentary verification from Plaintiff. In Plaintiff’s affidavit in opposition submitted, document number 22 on NYSCEF, the affidavit of Plaintiff’s owner merely states he mailed the requested verification to the address designated by Defendant on the verification requests “to the extent such response was proper and, in [his] possession,” and without appending documentary proof of responsive compliance with the verification requests the affidavit is insufficient to meet Plaintiff’s shifted burden to rebut (see NY St Cts Elec Filing [NYSCEF] Doc No. 22, plaintiff’s owner aff at 5, 7). This affidavit is insufficient to raise a triable issue of fact as it failed to demonstrate that it had provided the requested verification nor did it set forth a reasonable justification for the failure to comply with Defendant’s verification requests (see Burke Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 75 Misc 3d 143[A], 2022 NY Slip Op 50623[U] [App Term 2022]). Further, Plaintiff’s owner affidavit contradictorily states that he mailed the requested verification “to the address designated by the defendant on the verification requests” then in paragraph 7 states “to Defendant, State Farm Claims, at P.O. Box 52257, Phoenix, AZ 85072-2257” (NY St Cts Elec Filing [NYSCEF] Doc No. 22, ¶ 5 & 7). Whereas Defendant’s verification letters state that all requested documentation should be sent to “claims specialist, Doug Babin at State Farm Insurance 1 State Farm Drive Concordville, PA 19339-9300,” such internal factual inconsistency within Plaintiff’s affidavit without unimpeachable corroborating documentary proof of mailing vitiates its probative value to establish a finding of a triable issue of fact (see Burke 2 Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 85 Misc 3d 132[A], 2025 NY Slip Op 50306[U] [App Term 2025] [Second Department decision on this exact address issue was decided]). In further internal contradictions, Plaintiff also proffered 197 pages of correspondence submitted to Defendant objecting to the verification requested information and unilaterally on its own volition deeming Defendant’s verification request a nullity to the very same verification requests it contradictorily simultaneously contends were indeed responded to in its affidavit. Further, it has been held, “[c]ontrary to plaintiff’s further contention, it was not improper for defendant to seek, during the claim verification stage, information – such as management agreements, W-2 forms, business-related bank records and lease agreements — for the purpose of determining whether plaintiff was ineligible to collect no-fault benefits due to a failure to meet licensing requirements” (Burke 2 Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 85 Misc 3d 130[A], 2025 NY Slip Op 50195[U] [App Term 2025], citing 11 NYCRR § 65-3.16 [2] [12]; see also State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Mallela, 4 NY3d 313 [2005]). Moreover, the Court further held, “[a]s plaintiff objected to the verification requests claiming they were nullities, the record establishes that plaintiff did not ‘provide within 120 calendar days from the date of the initial request either all such verification under [plaintiff’s] control or possession or written proof providing reasonable justification for the failure to comply’. Consequently, the arguments raised on appeal lack merit” (id. at [*3] [*4], citing 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [o]).

Plaintiff errs in its reliance on the recent Court of Appeals case in Government Employees Ins. Co. Mayzenberg (45 NY3d 397 [2025]). This case clearly does not apply during the discovery/investigatory phase in the seeking of verification requests pursuant to 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (o). In Mayzenberg, the Court of Appeals specifically answered the Second Circuit’s certified question: “If an insurer determines a healthcare provider has improperly paid others for patient referrals, in violation of [Education Law § 6350 (18)] and [8 NYCRR 29.1 (b) (3)], can [*2]the insurer deny payment for no-fault benefits on the ground that the provider ‘fail[ed] to meet’ a ‘necessary’ State or local licensing requirement under [11 NYCRR 65-3.16 (a) (12)]?” (id.). The Court of Appeals answered in the negative, holding that an insurer may not deny a provider’s claim for reimbursement based on alleged professional misconduct that falls short of ceding control of a professional services corporation to an unlicensed party (id.). However, The Court of Appeals reaffirmed that DFS regulation does authorize an insurer to deny no-fault benefit claims when a provider fails to fulfill a foundational licensing requirement necessary to perform healthcare services in any instance, and when they are effectively abdicating or ceding control to an unlicensed party (State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Mallela, 4 NY3d 313 [2005]; see Andrew Carothers, M.D., P.C. v Progressive Ins. Co., 33 NY3d 389, 406 [2019]). Whereas “the Education Law vests the Board of Regents with ‘final authority’ concerning matters of professional discipline (Mayzenberg at 405, citing David v Biondo, 92 NY2d 318 [1998]). “The Court further explained that when a professional services corporation violates a foundational statutory requirement for licensure, that violation voids the corporation’s license regardless of when the violation is discovered or committed. By contrast, Mayzenberg’s alleged professional misconduct would not affect his license until State regulators choose, in their discretion, to impose such a penalty” (Mayzenberg at 407). Such delay is antithetical to the No-Fault law’s legislative intent of “prompt payment for basic economic loss to injured persons regardless of fault, in exchange for a limitation on litigation to cases involving serious injury” (id.).

As the Court has previously decided in Burke 2 Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. PIP/BI Claims (___Misc 3d___, 2026 NY Slip Op 26164 [2026]):

“Mayzenberg is triggered upon an insurer’s conclusive determination of a provider’s professional misconduct, which cannot be had until the conclusion of the investigatory phase. Insurer’s verification requests are part of the investigatory phase. Where provider fails to respond to the insurer’s verification requests, as herein, it cuts off the processing of the claim at the investigatory phase depriving insurer from ever reaching any substantive conclusive determination on the merits of alleged professional misconduct. Rather, insurer’s denial is premised upon procedural grounds of provider failing to respond to verification request within 120 days, as herein.

“Investigatory verification requests determine whether there is determination of professional misconduct:

1st- Plaintiff provider failed to meet a necessary New York State or local licensing requirement;

2nd-Plaintiff provider’s offending licensing failure of professional misconduct ceded, abdicated or surrendered its control of its licensed professional services corporation to an unlicensed party or entity; Thus, where:

3rd- Defendant insurer’s finding to the second prong is in the affirmative at the conclusion of the investigatory phase of Defendant insurer’s verification requests and Plaintiff provider’s responses thereto prove professional misconduct that rises to the level of ceding, abdicating, or surrendering Plaintiff provider’s control of its licensed professional healthcare services corporation to an unlicensed party or entity, then the Defendant insurer maintains its authority to deny the claimed services as reaffirmed by The Court of [*3]Appeals in Mayzenberg (Mayzenberg at 403, citing State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Mallela, 4 NY3d 313 [2005]; see Andrew Carothers, M.D., P.C. v Progressive Ins. Co., 33 NY3d 389, 406 [2019]).

4th- Where the finding to the second prong is in the negative at the conclusion of the investigatory phase of Defendant insurer’s verification requests and Plaintiff provider’s responses thereto prove alleged professional misconduct of some kind, i.e. unethical referral agreements or kickbacks in violation of Education Law § 6530 (18) and attendant regulation, 8 NYCRR 29.1 (b) (3) which does not rise to the level of ceding, abdicating, or surrendering Plaintiff provider’s control of its licensed professional healthcare services corporation to an unlicensed party or entity, then the Defendant insurer cannot deny the claimed services and shall pay Plaintiff provider for those claimed services billed accordingly.FN1 The Court of Appeals definitively vests that authority solely with the Board of Regents and divests such authority from No-Fault insurers to deny on that faction or branch of professional misconduct.FN2

“It is reiterated; there must be a final conclusive determination of the investigatory phase in compliance with Defendant insurer’s verification requests upon Plaintiff provider’s responses thereto. Plaintiff errs in its argument that Mayzenberg’s holding is to be applied to the underlying materiality of the verification requests as circumscribed by the SIU’s investigatory reports. The SIU reports are of no moment to trigger Mayzenberg at the investigatory phase. Mayzenberg is not triggered until Defendant insurer conclusively makes a finding of professional misconduct upon which will be the basis of the denial. There can only be such a finding upon the conclusion of the investigatory phase. Even upon such a finding, the inquiry doesn’t end there. There must be further inquiry into what type or faction of professional misconduct. Whether it rises to Mallella/Caruthers’ professional misconduct which maintains authority vested in Defendant insurer to deny Plaintiff’s claims. Or, whether some other professional misconduct such as “[d]irectly or indirectly offering [and] giving . . . any fee . . . to . . . a third party for the referral of a patient or in connection with the performance of professional services” or paying kickbacks pursuant to Education Law § 6530 (18) and attendant regulation, 8 NYCRR 29.1 (b) (3), which divests authority from Defendant insurer (id.). Nevertheless, this instant matter has failed to reach the trigger point for the application of Mayzenberg. There has been no conclusive finding or determination of any professional misconduct by Defendant insurer for which Plaintiff’s claims may be denied pursuant to the Eligibility Regulation 11 NYCRR 65-3.16 (a) (12), since Plaintiff failed to respond to the verification requests which essentially cut off the investigatory phase, upon which the denial is premised. The instant claim was not denied pursuant to professional misconduct of which Mayzenberg would be controlling. Rather, the instant claim is denied for Plaintiff’s failure to respond to verification requests within 120 days pursuant to 11 NYCRR §65-3.5 (o).”

In this instant case there has been nor could there have been any conclusive finding or determination of any professional misconduct since Plaintiff failed to respond to verification requests within 120 days thereby thwarting the investigatory phase to its detriment, depriving it of a potential Mayzenberg challenge.

Therefore, Plaintiff’s Complaint is hereby DISMISSED with PREJUDICE.

This constitutes the Decision and Order of This Court.

Date: October 26, 2026

Brooklyn, New York

Judge Sandra Elena Roper, JCC


Footnotes

Footnote 1

In dicta, The Court of Appeals opined as to an alternate defense route to combat finding of fraud by the insurers: “DFS does not assert that its interpretation of 11 NYCRR 65-3.16 (a) (12) precludes an insurer from arguing that a provider’s misconduct effectively ceded control of their professional services corporation to unlicensed individuals, implicating Mallela and Carothers. Plaintiffs have not advanced that argument here, instead only claiming that Mayzenberg was not entitled to reimbursement because he engaged in a kickback scheme. Mayzenberg therefore had no opportunity to dispute that he ceded control of Mingmen to the Dovmans, and the District Court did not address the issue. Given this procedural posture, we do not address the circumstances in which a kickback scheme may constitute the prohibited abdication of control to unlicensed individuals. The dissent takes up this unpreserved question by making conclusions about the degree to which Mayzenberg ceded control of Mingmen, resolving a legal issue that plaintiffs have not raised and is properly left to the federal courts (see dissenting op at 10-11)” (Mayzenberg at 409; see also, Joshua Polster and Linton Man III, NYLJ, No-Fault Regulations: What Insurers Can(not) Use to Deny Claims, https://www.law.com/newyorklawjournal/2025/12/30/no-fault-regulations-what-insurers-cannot-use-to-deny-claims/ [December 30, 2025]).

Footnote 2

In rejecting insurer’s argument, The Court of Appeals reasoned: “GEICO fails to explain how its interpretation—which shifts determinations of professional misconduct from the Board of Regents to insurers and the courts in the first instance, with the attendant risk of engendering conflicting outcomes and uncertainty in disciplinary matters—would more effectively address fraud than the current system does” (Mayzenberg at 410). “DFS’s interpretation ensures the primacy and integrity of the Board of Regents’s regulatory oversight. Allowing insurers to deny no-fault benefits reimbursements based on their unilateral determination that a provider has engaged in professional misconduct would displace the Board of Regents as the principal enforcer of professional discipline, undermining this carefully constructed statutory regime If the regulation encompassed professional misconduct, then an insurer could, as GEICO did here, deny reimbursement of no-fault benefits claims based on unproven allegations of such misconduct, even if those allegations may never result in the provider losing their license. GEICO’s proposed interpretation would have the perverse effect of delaying payments and incentivizing litigation, based on an insurer’s unilateral determination that a provider violated any one of the fifty distinct categories of professional misconduct in Education Law § 6530, including relatively minor departures from professional standards (see e.g. Education Law § 6530 [designating as professional misconduct “(f)ailing to complete forms or reports required for the reimbursement of a patient by a third party” and “(f)ailing to wear an identifying badge, which shall be conspicuously displayed and legible”]). That outcome is contrary to the Court’s admonishment that mere technical violations of licensing laws are insufficient to justify an insurer’s delay in payment of claims (see Mallela, 4 NY3d at 322; Carothers, 33 NY3d at 406). Moreover, GEICO’s proposed interpretation ignores the compromise reflected in the no-fault law of “prompt payment for basic economic loss to injured persons regardless of fault, in exchange for a limitation on litigation to cases involving serious injury,” which furthers the “obvious goal[ ]” of “keep[ing] minor personal injury cases out of court” (Mayzenberg at 407, citing Pommells v Perez, 4 NY3d 566 [2005]; also citing Licari v Elliott, 57 NY2d 230 [1982]).

Legal questions (3)

Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

Outstanding verification and premature actions

Open the full map

Did unanswered verification requests make the provider’s claim premature, or justify denying it for nonresponse?

This decision: Insurer properly denied the claim because verification was not provided (120-day rule)

Held the denial proper and dismissed with prejudice because the provider neither supplied the requested verification nor gave a reasonable justification within 120 days; its owner's conditional, contradictory mailing affidavit raised no triable issue.

  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 31
  • Appellate TermApp Term 285
  • Trial courtsTrial 69
2014, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Premature: verification outstanding, 1 Triable issue)2013, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer's showing fails)2011, Appellate Division: 5 decisions (3 Premature: verification outstanding, 1 Triable issue, 1 Provider complied)2009, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Premature: verification outstanding, 1 Insurer's showing fails)2008, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Triable issue)2007, Appellate Division: 6 decisions (3 Premature: verification outstanding, 1 Triable issue, 1 Insurer's showing fails, 1 Provider complied)2006, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Premature: verification outstanding, 1 Triable issue)2005, Appellate Division: 4 decisions (2 Premature: verification outstanding, 1 Triable issue, 1 Provider complied)2004, Appellate Division: 5 decisions (1 Premature: verification outstanding, 1 Nonresponse denial upheld, 1 Triable issue, 2 Insurer's showing fails)2026, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Nonresponse denial upheld)2023, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Nonresponse denial upheld)2022, Appellate Term: 14 decisions (6 Premature: verification outstanding, 1 Nonresponse denial upheld, 4 Triable issue, 3 Insurer's showing fails)2021, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (3 Premature: verification outstanding, 1 Triable issue)2020, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (1 Premature: verification outstanding, 3 Triable issue, 1 Insurer's showing fails)2019, Appellate Term: 26 decisions (11 Premature: verification outstanding, 3 Nonresponse denial upheld, 10 Triable issue, 2 Insurer's showing fails)2018, Appellate Term: 9 decisions (2 Premature: verification outstanding, 7 Triable issue)2017, Appellate Term: 41 decisions (15 Premature: verification outstanding, 22 Triable issue, 4 Insurer's showing fails)2016, Appellate Term: 39 decisions (9 Premature: verification outstanding, 26 Triable issue, 4 Insurer's showing fails)2015, Appellate Term: 21 decisions (9 Premature: verification outstanding, 11 Triable issue, 1 Insurer's showing fails)2014, Appellate Term: 16 decisions (10 Premature: verification outstanding, 6 Triable issue)2013, Appellate Term: 11 decisions (9 Premature: verification outstanding, 1 Triable issue, 1 Insurer's showing fails)2012, Appellate Term: 12 decisions (10 Premature: verification outstanding, 2 Triable issue)2011, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (7 Premature: verification outstanding)2010, Appellate Term: 15 decisions (13 Premature: verification outstanding, 1 Insurer's showing fails, 1 Provider complied)2009, Appellate Term: 10 decisions (4 Premature: verification outstanding, 6 Insurer's showing fails)2008, Appellate Term: 12 decisions (2 Premature: verification outstanding, 10 Insurer's showing fails)2007, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (4 Premature: verification outstanding, 2 Insurer's showing fails)2006, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (3 Premature: verification outstanding, 4 Insurer's showing fails)2005, Appellate Term: 8 decisions (1 Triable issue, 6 Insurer's showing fails, 1 Provider complied)2004, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (1 Premature: verification outstanding, 2 Insurer's showing fails)2003, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Triable issue, 1 Insurer's showing fails)2024, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Triable issue, 1 Insurer's showing fails)2025, Appellate Term: 12 decisions (1 Premature: verification outstanding, 11 Nonresponse denial upheld)2026, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer's showing fails)2023, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Premature: verification outstanding, 1 Triable issue)2022, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Premature: verification outstanding)2021, Trial courts: 5 decisions (1 Nonresponse denial upheld, 2 Triable issue, 2 Insurer's showing fails)2020, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer's showing fails)2018, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer's showing fails)2017, Trial courts: 6 decisions (1 Premature: verification outstanding, 1 Nonresponse denial upheld, 4 Insurer's showing fails)2014, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer's showing fails)2013, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Triable issue)2012, Trial courts: 7 decisions (2 Premature: verification outstanding, 2 Triable issue, 2 Insurer's showing fails, 1 Provider complied)2011, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer's showing fails)2010, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Premature: verification outstanding, 1 Insurer's showing fails)2009, Trial courts: 5 decisions (3 Premature: verification outstanding, 1 Insurer's showing fails, 1 Provider complied)2008, Trial courts: 8 decisions (5 Premature: verification outstanding, 1 Triable issue, 2 Insurer's showing fails)2007, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer's showing fails)2006, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Premature: verification outstanding, 1 Insurer's showing fails)2005, Trial courts: 8 decisions (3 Premature: verification outstanding, 4 Insurer's showing fails, 1 Provider complied)2004, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Premature: verification outstanding, 1 Provider complied)2024, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Nonresponse denial upheld)2025, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Nonresponse denial upheld, 2 Triable issue)2026, Trial courts: 7 decisions (1 Premature: verification outstanding, 3 Nonresponse denial upheld, 1 Triable issue, 2 Insurer's showing fails)This decision
20052010201520202025
Premature: verification outstandingNonresponse denial upheldTriable issueInsurer's showing failsProvider compliedThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 385 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 27 (this one included) are in the same category.

Proof of mailing

Open the full map

Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?

This decision: The provider's or claimant's proof did not establish mailing of its claim form, NF-2 or verification response (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)

Held the provider's owner's affidavit insufficient to show its verification responses were mailed, because it was conditional, internally inconsistent about the mailing address, and unsupported by documentary proof of mailing.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 1
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 37
  • Appellate TermApp Term 1,214
  • Trial courtsTrial 148
2015, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2023, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2020, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2016, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove)2015, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove)2014, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing)2013, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2012, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2011, Appellate Division: 6 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2010, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2008, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2007, Appellate Division: 7 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2006, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2005, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove)2004, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2026, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer failed to prove)2023, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2022, Appellate Term: 44 decisions (32 Insurer proved mailing, 3 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing)2021, Appellate Term: 21 decisions (13 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2020, Appellate Term: 31 decisions (24 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing)2019, Appellate Term: 81 decisions (59 Insurer proved mailing, 5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 12 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2018, Appellate Term: 74 decisions (46 Insurer proved mailing, 16 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove, 10 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2017, Appellate Term: 115 decisions (60 Insurer proved mailing, 26 Insurer failed to prove, 4 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 21 Triable issue on mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2016, Appellate Term: 103 decisions (44 Insurer proved mailing, 30 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 21 Triable issue on mailing, 3 Mixed rulings)2015, Appellate Term: 97 decisions (66 Insurer proved mailing, 10 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 9 Triable issue on mailing, 8 Mixed rulings)2014, Appellate Term: 68 decisions (55 Insurer proved mailing, 4 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 3 Triable issue on mailing, 4 Mixed rulings)2013, Appellate Term: 73 decisions (62 Insurer proved mailing, 6 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 3 Mixed rulings)2012, Appellate Term: 110 decisions (87 Insurer proved mailing, 14 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 4 Mixed rulings)2011, Appellate Term: 69 decisions (56 Insurer proved mailing, 8 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2010, Appellate Term: 78 decisions (67 Insurer proved mailing, 4 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2009, Appellate Term: 53 decisions (29 Insurer proved mailing, 11 Insurer failed to prove, 6 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 4 Mixed rulings)2008, Appellate Term: 28 decisions (13 Insurer proved mailing, 11 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2007, Appellate Term: 30 decisions (9 Insurer proved mailing, 16 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2006, Appellate Term: 75 decisions (6 Insurer proved mailing, 19 Insurer failed to prove, 21 Provider proved mailing, 21 Provider failed to prove, 8 Mixed rulings)2005, Appellate Term: 27 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 14 Insurer failed to prove, 7 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2004, Appellate Term: 12 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 4 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2003, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Provider proved mailing)2024, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2025, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing)2026, Appellate Term: 8 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 3 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Triable issue on mailing)2023, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Provider proved mailing)2022, Trial courts: 5 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2021, Trial courts: 18 decisions (12 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 2 Mixed rulings)2020, Trial courts: 5 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Provider proved mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2019, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2018, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2017, Trial courts: 7 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove)2016, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2015, Trial courts: 3 decisions (3 Provider proved mailing)2013, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2012, Trial courts: 10 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2011, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2010, Trial courts: 6 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2009, Trial courts: 9 decisions (4 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing)2008, Trial courts: 13 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 7 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2007, Trial courts: 8 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2006, Trial courts: 7 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 6 Insurer failed to prove)2005, Trial courts: 15 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 8 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 4 Provider failed to prove)2004, Trial courts: 10 decisions (5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove)2024, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2025, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2026, Trial courts: 7 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)This decision
20052010201520202025
Insurer proved mailingInsurer failed to proveProvider proved mailingProvider failed to proveTriable issue on mailingMixed rulingsThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 1,400 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 67 (this one included) are in the same category.

Mallela defense: preclusion and discovery

Open the full map

May the insurer raise and investigate a Mallela (fraudulent incorporation) defense, or is it precluded, waived or denied discovery?

This decision: Insurer may raise or investigate the Mallela defense here (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)

Held the insurer could properly seek management agreements, W-2s, bank records and leases at the verification stage to investigate licensing ineligibility, and that Mayzenberg does not bar such investigatory requests.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 1
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 7
  • Appellate TermApp Term 72
  • Trial courtsTrial 56
2005, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Defense may be pursued)2021, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense may be pursued)2019, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Defense may be pursued, 1 Defense barred)2017, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense may be pursued)2016, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense may be pursued)2011, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense may be pursued)2008, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense may be pursued)2019, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense may be pursued)2018, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Defense may be pursued)2017, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Defense may be pursued)2014, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Defense may be pursued)2013, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (5 Defense may be pursued)2012, Appellate Term: 8 decisions (8 Defense may be pursued)2011, Appellate Term: 8 decisions (7 Defense may be pursued, 1 Defense barred)2010, Appellate Term: 9 decisions (7 Defense may be pursued, 2 Defense barred)2009, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (7 Defense may be pursued)2008, Appellate Term: 8 decisions (7 Defense may be pursued, 1 Defense barred)2007, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (7 Defense may be pursued)2006, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (6 Defense may be pursued)2025, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (7 Defense may be pursued)2023, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Defense may be pursued)2021, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Defense may be pursued, 1 Defense barred)2019, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense may be pursued)2017, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Defense may be pursued, 2 Defense barred)2015, Trial courts: 3 decisions (3 Defense may be pursued)2013, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Defense may be pursued, 1 Defense barred)2012, Trial courts: 6 decisions (1 Defense may be pursued, 5 Defense barred)2011, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense barred)2010, Trial courts: 3 decisions (3 Defense barred)2009, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Defense may be pursued, 1 Defense barred)2008, Trial courts: 6 decisions (5 Defense may be pursued, 1 Defense barred)2007, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Defense may be pursued)2006, Trial courts: 5 decisions (5 Defense may be pursued)2005, Trial courts: 9 decisions (5 Defense may be pursued, 4 Defense barred)2025, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Defense may be pursued)2026, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Defense may be pursued)This decision
20052010201520202025
Defense may be pursuedDefense barredThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 136 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 112 (this one included) are in the same category.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Burke Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50623(U)) FollowedThe provider's qualified assertion of mailing verification failed to show compliance or a reasonable justification for noncompliance.
  • Burke 2 Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 50306(U)) FollowedThe insurer's verification requests for records bearing on the provider's licensing eligibility were proper.
  • Burke 2 Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 50195(U)) FollowedThe provider failed within 120 days to supply requested eligibility verification or written proof reasonably justifying noncompliance.
  • State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Mallela (2005 NY Slip Op 02416) FollowedFraudulently incorporated medical providers are ineligible for no-fault reimbursement under 11 NYCRR 65-3.16 (a) (12).
  • Government Employees Ins. Co. v Mayzenberg (2025 NY Slip Op 06527) DistinguishedAn insurer may not deny no-fault reimbursement for alleged professional misconduct short of ceding control to an unlicensed party.
  • Andrew Carothers, M.D., P.C. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 04643)An insurer need not prove common-law fraud to deny reimbursement to a medical corporation improperly controlled by nonphysicians.
  • Burke 2 Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. PIP/BI Claims (2026 NY Slip Op 26164) FollowedThe provider failed to raise a factual issue concerning compliance with verification requests within 120 days.

Similar decisions

  • Metroscan Imaging P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25228)A fraudulent-incorporation defense survives untimely denial and applies to unpaid claims predating 11 NYCRR 65-3.16 (a) (12).
  • Arthur Ave. Med. Servs., PC v GEICO Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 21108)An insurer's post-EUO verification requests concerning fraudulent incorporation are subject to judicial review for reasonableness.
  • Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Indem. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25343)An insurer's untimely denial precludes a defense that the provider billed for medical supplies never furnished after a covered accident.
  • Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24527)A proven failure to attend a reasonably requested preclaim IME, timely raised in a denial, does not alone warrant dismissal.
  • Multiquest, P.L.L.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 52069(U))The insurer failed to establish grounds for dismissal, and the provider failed to prove mailing of its psychological-services claim.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.