April 9, 2004
Amaze Med. Supply v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24119)
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/amaze-med-supply-v-allstate-ins-co-2004-ny-slip-op-24119/
- Decided
- April 9, 2004
- Citation
- 2004 NY Slip Op 24119 · 3 Misc 3d 43
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
- Later treatment
- Contrasted (cf., but see) in 1 and followed in 25 later decisions (see Cited by)
- Legal questions
- Claimant's prima facie case on motions · Proving a fee schedule defense (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Amaze Med. Supply v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24119)
| Amaze Med. Supply v Allstate Ins. Co. |
| 2004 NY Slip Op 24119 [3 Misc 3d 43] |
| Accepted for Miscellaneous Reports Publication |
| AT2 |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| As corrected through Tuesday, January 4, 2005 |
[*1]
| Amaze Medical Supply Inc., as Assignee of Imelda Regnoso and Another, Appellant, v Allstate Insurance Company, Respondent. |
Supreme Court, Appellate Term, Second Department, April 9, 2004
APPEARANCES OF COUNSEL
Amos Weinberg, Great Neck, for appellant. Shapiro Beilly Rosenberg Aronowitz Levy & Fox, LLP, New York City (Roy J. Karlin of counsel), for respondent.
{**3 Misc 3d at 44} OPINION OF THE COURT
Memorandum.
Order unanimously modified by providing that plaintiff’s motion is granted to the extent of awarding plaintiff partial summary judgment in the sum of $2,598.04, and matter remanded to the court below for the calculation of statutory interest and an assessment of attorney’s fees, and for all further proceedings on the remaining portion of the claim in accordance with the decision herein; as so modified, affirmed without costs.
In this action to recover $2,998.04 in assigned first-party no-fault insurance benefits, defendant insurer denied all but $780.96 of plaintiff’s $3,779 claim for medical equipment on the ground that the supplier’s prices exceeded the prevailing rates for such equipment in plaintiff’s “geographic location” (cf. 11 NYCRR 68.5 [b]) and because certain of the items claimed, two “TENS Belts” ($78) and two “TENS Accessory Kits” ($122), were duplicative of other items for which benefits were paid. In Kings Med. Supply v Allstate Ins. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 1681[U] [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists]), the court concluded that because the Insurance Department regulation permitting reference to “the prevailing fee in the geographic location of the provider” pertains only where “the superintendent has not adopted or established a fee schedule applicable to the provider” (11 NYCRR 68.5 [b]), and that the [*2]regulatory limitation on a provider’s medical equipment to 150% of cost (11 NYCRR Appendix 17-C, part E [b] [1]) is an applicable fee schedule within the contemplation of 11 NYCRR 68.5 (b), an insurer may not deny a claim on the ground that the fees alleged exceeded the prevailing rates in the provider’s geographical location. If, as defendant urges, the premises underlying the determination that such a rule “help[s] contain the no-fault premium” (Goldberg v Corcoran, 153 AD2d 113, 118 [1989] [internal quotation marks omitted]) are unsound, the solution is remedial action by the appropriate regulatory authority. Defendants claim denial, although timely, was factually insufficient in that it failed to provide any specifics with regard to its conclusory defense that certain of the prescribed medical equipment was duplicative. Under the circumstances, the defenses proffered in the denial forms were ineffective to avoid preclusion. A timely denial alone does not avoid preclusion where said denial is factually insufficient, conclusory, vague or otherwise involves a defense which has no merit as a matter of law (Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Mount Sinai Hosp. v Triboro Coach, 263 AD2d {**3 Misc 3d at 45}11 [1999]; Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co., 2 Misc 3d 140[A], 2003 NY Slip Op 51701[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]).
However, plaintiff’s proof in support of the summary judgment motion included previously unproduced documents revealing that the equipment prescribed each assignor did not include the aforementioned “TENS accessory kit” ($122) and “TENS belt with straps” ($78), listed in the equipment provided each assignor and for which plaintiff sought $400 in no-fault health benefits. As we noted in Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co. (supra), where a plaintiff interjects an issue of fact in support of its motion for summary judgment which, if true, negates its prima facie case, if not amounting to a complete defense to a portion of the claim, namely, that the cost of unprescribed medical equipment is not a recoverable no-fault benefit, plaintiff should be estopped from invoking the waiver and preclusion rules which would otherwise apply in a no-fault benefits action (see 11 NYCRR 65.15 [d] [1], [2]; Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d 195, 199 [1997]; New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 287 AD2d 699, 701 [2001]). The defect was not apparent on the face of an otherwise sufficient claim, and insurers should not be required to demand such verification in every case to preserve the defense where no basis therefor is discerned, to the detriment of the purposes of the no-fault legislation, in essence, “to encourage prompt payment of claims, to discourage investigation by insurers and to penalize delays” (Dermatossian v New York City Tr. Auth., 67 NY2d 219, 225 [1986]).
Thus, partial summary judgment should have been granted in the amount of $2,598.04. The matter is remanded to the court below for a calculation of the statutory interest and attorney’s fees due on said amount (Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; 11 NYCRR 65.15 [h] [1]; 65.17 [b] [6]; St. Clare’s Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 215 AD2d 641 [1995]), and for all further proceedings on the remainder of the claim.
Pesce, P.J., Patterson and Golia, JJ., concur.
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Insufficient for another reason (eligibility, timely submission, own papers defeat the claim)
Held the supplier's own submissions showed two items were never prescribed, negating its prima facie case for that $400 portion, so summary judgment was limited to the remaining amount.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 19 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove that the amount billed exceeded the applicable workers’ compensation fee schedule?
This decision: Court finally rejected the fee schedule defense; provider recovers the disputed amount
Held the insurer could not reduce medical equipment charges to prevailing geographic rates because the 150-percent-of-cost limit was the applicable fee schedule, so that defense lacked merit and the supplier recovered.
Of the 284 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 29 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 51701(U)) FollowedA provider's completed claim forms establish its prima facie case without additional medical proof when the insurer is precluded.
Cited by (39)
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25456) Contrasted (cf., but see)The providers obtained partial summary judgment because defective EUO requests and incomplete IME follow-up failed to toll denial time.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 08933) FollowedThe provider failed to establish entitlement to summary judgment because the insurer partially paid and denied the claim within 30 days.
- Nyack Hosp. v Metropolitan Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 02235) FollowedThe insurer failed to prove mailing of its denial, and the denial was incomplete even if timely.
- Nyack Hosp. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 07663) FollowedA timely but fatally defective denial cannot be cured by supplying omitted information after the 30-day denial period expires.
- Nir v Allstate Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25090) FollowedThe insurer failed to prove that EMG/NCV testing was medically unnecessary because its peer review lacked an adequate rationale.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Commercial Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26118) FollowedAn insurer may assert the insured's fraudulent policy procurement against a provider assignee despite the 30-day preclusion rule.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 51902(U)) FollowedA sufficient peer review report cannot cure a denial that omits the factual basis and medical rationale for lack of medical necessity.
- SZ Med. P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26194) FollowedAn insurer waives the 45-day submission defense by omitting notice that reasonable justification can excuse a late claim.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v American Mfrs. Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50114(U)) FollowedAn insurer cannot defeat summary judgment with a peer review citing insufficient information without showing it sought verification.
- Forrest Chen Acupuncture Servs., P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 07211) FollowedThe insurer established that acupuncture reimbursement was properly limited to charges for similar procedures under existing fee schedules.
Show all 39 citing decisions
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v GEICO Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26133) Followed
- King’s Med. Supply Inc. v Kemper Auto & Home Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50450(U)) Followed
- S&M Supply Inc. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 51312(U)) Followed
- Olympic Chiropractic, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50011(U)) Followed
- Nyack Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 52233(U)) Followed
- Careplus Med. Supply Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 51525(U)) Followed
- Benson Med., P.C. v Progressive Northeastern Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51427(U)) Followed
- Roberts Physical Therapy, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 52565(U)) Followed
- Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50743(U)) Followed
- Bajaj v Progressive Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 52387(U)) Followed
- Careplus Med. Supply, Inc v Allstate Indem. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 51527(U)) Followed
- Webster Ave. Med., P.C. v Travelers Prop. Cas. (2004 NY Slip Op 51526(U)) Followed
- Careplus Med. Supply Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 51526(U)) Followed
- Expo Med. Supplies, Inc. v St. Paul Fire & Mar. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 52251(U)) Followed
- Andrew Carothers, M.D., P.C. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 52479(U)) Followed
- All Boro Psychological Servs., P.C. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50137(U)) Followed
- New York Univ. Hosp. Rusk Inst. v Hartford Acc. & Indem. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 06223)
- Complete Orthopedic Supplies, Inc. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 27192)
- King’s Med. Supply Inc. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 51550(U))
- Amaze Med. Supply Inc. v New York Cent. Mut. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 51680(U))
- Elmont Open MRI & Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 27072)
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Peerless Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26318)
- Prime Psychological Servs., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28273)
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Encompass Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 52475(U))
- Boai Zhong Yi Acupuncture Servs. P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26485)
- Elmont Open MRI & Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51185(U))
- Jesa Med. Supply, Inc. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29386)
- All Boro Psychological Servs., P.C. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50138(U))
- High Quality Med. Supplies, Inc. v Mercury Ins. Group (2016 NY Slip Op 51444(U))
Similar decisions
- King’S Med. Supply v Progressive Ins. (2004 NY Slip Op 50311(U))A provider cannot invoke preclusion to avoid a defense raised by its own proof that billed equipment was not prescribed.
- Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50279(U))A provider cannot invoke preclusion to defeat a defense concerning unprescribed equipment when its own motion papers raise that issue.
- Careplus Med. Supply Inc. v State-Wide Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25545)The insurer's completed denial form established receipt of the provider's claims and showed that the denial was untimely.
- King’S Med. Supply v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50280(U))The provider obtained partial summary judgment on claims denied after 30 days, but disputed equipment costs barred judgment on timely denied claims.
- Bath Med. Supply, Inc. v Allstate Indem. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 20059)The insurer failed to justify discovery or preserve fraudulent-billing and EUO nonappearance defenses through proof of timely denials.