August 17, 2005
S&M Supply Inc. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 51312(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/sm-supply-inc-v-progressive-ins-co-2005-nyslipop-51312u/
- Decided
- August 17, 2005
- Citation
- 2005 NY Slip Op 51312(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Later history
- Overruled by Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v ELRAC Inc. (2006 NY Slip Op 26350)
- Later treatment
- Followed in 2 later decisions (see Cited by)
- Legal questions
- Proof of mailing · Proving a fee schedule defense · Claimant's prima facie case on motions (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at S&M Supply Inc. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 51312(U))
| S&M Supply Inc. v Progressive Ins. Co. |
| 2005 NYSlipOp 51312(U) |
| Decided on August 17, 2005 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: PESCE, P.J., PATTERSON and RIOS, JJ.
2004-590 K C
against
Progressive Insurance Company, Respondent.
Appeal by plaintiff, as limited by its brief, from so much of an order of the Civil Court, Kings County (E. Prus, J.), entered on February 19, 2004, as denied its cross motion for summary judgment.
Order insofar as appealed from unanimously reversed without costs, order entered December 7, 2004 dismissing the action vacated, plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment granted in the sum of $1,432.43, and matter remanded to the court below for a calculation of statutory interest and an assessment of attorney’s fees.
In this action to recover first-party no-fault benefits for medical supplies furnished to its assignors, plaintiff established a prima facie entitlement to summary judgment in in the sum of $739.80, as assignee of Clara Suckragh, and the sum of $692.63 as assignee of Peter Suckragh, for a total of $1,432.43, by proof that it submitted the claims, setting forth the fact and the amount of the losses sustained, and that payment of no-fault benefits was overdue (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742 [2004]; A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co., 4 Misc 3d 86 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]). In opposition, defendant argued that it properly denied the claims on the grounds, inter alia, that the documentation submitted by plaintiff was not an accurate representation of the actual cost of the equipment and that certain of the claims were in excess of the “average” wholesale cost of the billed medical supplies.
The record indicates that defendant denied the claims beyond the 30-day period within which it was required to pay or deny the same (see 11 NYCRR 65.15 [g] [3], now 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [c]). While a timely verification request may extend the 30-day period, the affidavit of defendant’s litigation examiner was insufficient to demonstrate proper mailing of the verification [*2]request as to assignor Clara Suckragh since there is no allegation by one with personal knowledge that the letters were actually mailed. Nor did the affidavit contain a sufficiently detailed description of standard office mailing
procedure so as to give rise to the presumption of mailing (see Nyack Hosp. v Metropolitan Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co., 16 AD3d 564 [2005]; Hospital for Joint Diseases v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 284 AD2d 374 [2001]). Accordingly, as to assignor Clara Suckragh, defendant is precluded from raising most defenses (see Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274, 282 [1997]), including the defense, in effect, of excessive charges (cf. New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 295 AD2d 583, 586 [2002]; Capio Med., P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 7 Misc 3d 129[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 50526[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]; Triboro Chiropractic & Acupuncture v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 6 Misc 3d 132[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 50110[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]).
While defendant’s submissions were adequate to establish a tolling of the 30-day period with regard to assignor Peter Suckragh by proof of its receipt of the verification requested, defendant has failed to submit proof in admissible form in support of its defense that the documentation submitted by plaintiff was “not an accurate representation of [plaintiff’s] actual cost” of the equipment. Moreover, defendant’s partial denials of certain of the claims on the ground that these were in excess of the “average” wholesale cost of the billed medical supplies, fail to state a valid basis for denial under the insurance regulations then in effect (see e.g. Amaze Med. Supply v Allstate Ins. Co., 3 Misc 3d 43, 44 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]; King’s Med.
Supply v Allstate Ins. Co., 2 Misc 3d 127[A], 2003 NY Slip Op 51681[U] [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists]). The insurance regulations governing medical equipment and supplies applicable to the instant action limits the amount recoverable by a provider of medical equipment to 150% of cost (11 NYCRR Appendix 17-C, part E [b] [1]). The defendant’s denial of benefits on the ground that the fees alleged exceeded the prevailing rates in the provider’s geographical location has been rejected for claims under the regulations in effect prior to October 6, 2004 (Amaze Med. Supply v Allstate Ins. Co., 3 Misc 3d 43, 44, supra; King’s Med. Supply v Allstate Ins. Co., 2 Misc 3d 127[A], 2003 NY Slip Op 51681[U], supra).
We note that pursuant to the revised Insurance Department regulations regarding durable medical equipment and supplies, effective October 6, 2004 (see Circular Letter No. 8 [2004]; 11 NYCRR Appendix 17-C, part F, eff. October 6, 2004), the fee schedule for medical equipment sets forth, in addition to the 150% limit, the “usual and customary price charged to the general public” (11 NYCRR Appendix 17-C,
part F [a] [2]), whichever is less.
Accordingly, plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment is granted in the sum of [*3]$1,432.43, and the matter is remanded to the court below for the calculation of statutory interest and an assessment of attorney’s fees pursuant to Insurance Law § 5106 (a) and the regulations promulgated thereunder.
Decision Date: August 17, 2005
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's proof did not establish mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice
Held the litigation examiner's affidavit did not prove mailing of the verification request because no one with personal knowledge said the letters were mailed and the office mailing procedure was not described in enough detail.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 257 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove that the amount billed exceeded the applicable workers’ compensation fee schedule?
This decision: Court finally rejected the fee schedule defense; provider recovers the disputed amount
Held the timely partial denials based on charges exceeding the average wholesale cost stated no valid basis under the pre-October 2004 DME rule, which capped recovery at 150% of cost, and awarded the supplier the full amount.
Of the 284 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 29 (this one included) are in the same category.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the supplier established its prima facie case by proof that it submitted the claims setting forth the fact and amount of the loss and that payment was overdue.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 511 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359)The hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24194)An insurer's timely medical-necessity denial does not replace admissible proof opposing a provider's summary judgment motion.
- Nyack Hosp. v Metropolitan Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 02235)The insurer failed to prove mailing of its denial, and the denial was incomplete even if timely.
- Capio Med., P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50526(U)) Contrasted (cf., but see)The insurer's EUO requests did not toll the denial period because it failed to prove an authorizing endorsement or timely requests.
- Triboro Chiropractic v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50110(U)) Contrasted (cf., but see)An assignor's failure to attend IMEs requested before claim submission rebuts the claim forms' presumption of medical necessity.
- Amaze Med. Supply v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24119) FollowedAn insurer may not deny equipment fees as exceeding local prevailing rates when the applicable schedule limits reimbursement to 150% of cost.
- King’S Med. Supply v Allstate Ins. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 51681(U)) FollowedMedical equipment reimbursement is governed by the 150-percent-of-cost fee schedule rather than prevailing local rates.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v ELRAC Inc. (2006 NY Slip Op 26350) OverruledThe provider's appeal from denial of summary judgment and compelled discovery became academic when Civil Court later dismissed the action.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26068) FollowedA defense of fraudulent corporate licensure is not precluded by an insurer's failure to timely deny no-fault claims.
- Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50163(U)) FollowedThe insurer raised a coverage issue through a founded belief of insurance fraud despite failing to prove timely denials.
- Benson Med., P.C. v Progressive Northeastern Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51427(U))An untimely denial precludes fee-schedule defenses even when the insurer characterizes billing-code disputes as coverage issues.
- Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51438(U))The insurer failed to prove timely mailing of its denial and was precluded from asserting its excessive-charge defense.
Similar decisions
- Careplus Med. Supply, Inc v Allstate Indem. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 51527(U))The insurer improperly reduced equipment claims to local prevailing rates under a fee schedule allowing 150 percent of cost.
- Careplus Med. Supply Inc. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 51526(U))The former medical-equipment fee schedule caps reimbursement at 150 percent of cost and does not use local prevailing rates.
- S & M Supply Inc. v State-Wide Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 51046(U))A provider's billing manager need not have personal knowledge that prescribed equipment was delivered to establish a prima facie case.
- King’S Med. Supply v Progressive Ins. (2004 NY Slip Op 50311(U))A provider cannot invoke preclusion to avoid a defense raised by its own proof that billed equipment was not prescribed.
- Careplus Med. Supply Inc. v Travelers Home & Mar. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50648(U))The insurer failed to establish verification tolling because requests were untimely or unproved and its policy's EUO endorsement was not shown.