April 29, 2005
Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Commerce Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50642(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/ocean-diagnostic-imaging-p-c-v-commerce-ins-co-2005-nyslipop-50642u/
- Decided
- April 29, 2005
- Citation
- 2005 NY Slip Op 50642(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Later treatment
- Declined to follow in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Commerce Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50642(U))
| Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Commerce Ins. Co. |
| 2005 NYSlipOp 50642(U) |
| Decided on April 29, 2005 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: April 29, 2005 SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK APPELLATE TERM : 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS PRESENT : PESCE, P.J., RIOS and BELEN, JJ.
2003-1789 K C
against
Commerce Insurance Company, Respondent.
Appeal by plaintiff from an order of the Civil Court, Kings County (A. Fisher Rubin, J.), entered October 28, 2003, which denied its motion for summary judgment.
Order unanimously reversed without costs, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment granted and matter remanded to the court below for a calculation of statutory interest and an assessment of attorney’s fees.
In this action to recover $2,670.40 in assigned first-party no-fault benefits for medical treatment rendered its assignor, plaintiff established its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment by its proof that it submitted claims setting forth the fact and the amount of the loss sustained, and that payment of no-fault benefits was overdue (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742 [2004]). Defendant’s conceded failure to pay or deny the claim within 30 days of receipt precluded defendant from interposing most defenses (Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274 [1997]; Melbourne Med., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 4 Misc 3d 92, 93 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]).
The so-called “delay letter” cannot be deemed to toll the claim determination period since it sought no verification and, in any event, issued after the period for verification had expired [*2](defendant does not deny it received the claim on January 7, 2002 as proved by plaintiff’s postal delivery receipt) (id. at 94; S & M Supply v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 3 Misc 3d 138[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 50557[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]). This court has repeatedly held that a letter “which merely informs a claimant that a decision on the claim is delayed pending an investigation and which does not specify a particular form of verification and the person or entity from whom the verification is sought, may not be relied upon to toll the 30-day claim determination period” (A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 6 Misc 3d 137[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 50255[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]; see e.g. Melbourne Med., P.C., 4 Misc 3d at 94).
We further note that, while examinations under oath (EUOs) are available to an insurer under the revised regulations (effective April 5, 2002) which provide for them pursuant to the verification protocols, they are authorized only as to claims filed after that date and pursuant to a revised mandatory endorsement contained in new or renewed policies issued on or after April 5, 2002 (e.g. S & M Supply v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 4 Misc 3d 130[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 50693[U] [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists]). Thus, under New York’s No-Fault Law, defendant’s EUO requests, which issued for claims filed before the revised regulations’ effective date (e.g. Capio Med., P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., ___ Misc 3d ___, 2005 NY Slip Op 50526[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]; S&M Supply Inc. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 5 Misc 3d 128[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 51250[U] [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists]) were ineffective to toll the claim determination period.
Defendant seeks to apply Massachusetts’ no-fault EUO provisions which, defendant urges, allow for EUOs under the facts herein and also provide that an insured’s failure to cooperate with such requests would void defendant’s obligation to pay no-fault benefits. Defendant also invokes Massachusetts law insofar as it provides that an insured’s fraudulent application for an insurance policy is a basis for retroactive cancellation of the policy, which cancellation would, under New York’s No-Fault Law, implicate coverage and constitute an exception to the preclusion rule. According to defendant, claimant, holding a Florida driver’s license and Massachusetts automobile registration, was issued a Massachusetts policy in the expectation that he would apply for a Massachusetts driver’s license within the time required by Massachusetts law. Defendant concedes that the insured failed to do so and that it did not act to terminate the policy or even investigate whether, as it now asserts, the insured at all relevant periods resided in New York and garaged the subject vehicle in New York. However, defendant’s claim of a fraudulent application is presented merely in the form of conclusory assertions of fact and unsubstantiated suspicions by an attorney who lacks personal knowledge of the facts and without any supporting documentation in admissible form sufficient to create a triable issue of fraud (id.; see also Matter of Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. v Guerrier, 307 AD2d 1033 [2003]). If defendant’s assertions of fact are true, that at the time of the accident, the insured was a New York domiciliary who garaged his automobile in New York, and defendant elected to issue the policy to a party licensed in Florida and to continue said policy notwithstanding the insured’s failure to obtain a Massachusetts driver’s license within the time required by Massachusetts
[*3]
law, it should not be permitted to bypass New York’s bar to retroactive cancellations (Vehicle and Traffic Law § 313) merely because the insured was involved in a nominally covered accident (cf. Matter of Integon Ins. Co. v Garcia, 281 AD2d 480 [2001]).
Decision Date: April 29, 2005
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the provider established prima facie entitlement by proof that it submitted claims and payment was overdue, the insurer conceding receipt and its failure to pay or deny within 30 days.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 511 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did unanswered verification requests make the provider’s claim premature, or justify denying it for nonresponse?
This decision: Defense rejected because the insurer's requests or proof were deficient (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer's delay letter did not toll the 30-day period because it requested no specific verification and issued after the verification period expired, so the claim was overdue.
Of the 374 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 78 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359) FollowedThe hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
- Melbourne Med., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24221) FollowedEUO requests do not toll the claim determination period when the governing no-fault regulations do not authorize EUO verification.
- S & M Supply, Inc. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50557(U)) FollowedAn EUO request does not toll the payment or denial period under the former regulation that did not require an injured person to submit to an EUO. The provider established submission of a complete proof of claim and nonpayment or denial within 30 days under Insurance Law § 5106 (a) and former 11 NYCRR 65.15.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50255(U)) FollowedAn investigation-delay letter identifying no verification sought or source does not toll the 30-day claim determination period.
- S & M Supply Inc. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50693(U))The insurer's EUO defense was precluded by untimely denials, and its accident-fraud evidence was inadmissible.
- Capio Med., P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50526(U))The insurer's EUO requests did not toll the denial period because it failed to prove an authorizing endorsement or timely requests.
- S & M Supply Inc. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 51250(U))The insurer's founded belief in a staged collision defeated summary judgment, although its EUO nonappearance defense was precluded.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Commercial Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26118) Declined to followAn insurer may assert the insured's fraudulent policy procurement against a provider assignee despite the 30-day preclusion rule.
Similar decisions
- Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25336)The insurer's investigator affidavit raised a triable coverage issue based on a founded belief that the collision furthered insurance fraud.
- Ocean Diagnostic Imaging, P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 51745(U))The insurer's untimely examination requests failed to toll its denial deadline, and its staged-accident defense lacked admissible proof.
- Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51424(U))The insurer's investigator established a founded belief of fraud sufficient to raise a triable issue of coverage despite a late denial.
- AT Med. P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50739(U))An untimely denial does not preclude a defense that the collision furthered an insurance fraud scheme.
- Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50189(U))The insurer's conclusory submissions failed to raise a triable issue of staged-accident fraud.