March 2, 2005
A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50255(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/a-b-med-servs-pllc-v-country-wide-ins-co-2005-ny-slip-op-50255u/
- Decided
- March 2, 2005
- Citation
- 2005 NY Slip Op 50255(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Later treatment
- Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50255(U))
| A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. |
| 2005 NY Slip Op 50255(U) |
| Decided on March 2, 2005 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: PESCE, P.J., GOLIA and RIOS, JJ.
2004-531 K C
against
Country-Wide Insurance Company, Respondent.
Appeal by plaintiffs from so much of an order of the Civil Court, Kings County (R. Garson, J.), entered March 30, 2004, as denied their motion for summary judgment.
Order unanimously modified by providing that plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment is granted to the extent of awarding plaintiff A. B. Medical Services PLLC partial summary judgment in the sum of $14,602.46 on 29 claims, plaintiff D.A.V. Chiropractic P.C. partial summary judgment in the sum of $2,232.58 on 14 claims, and plaintiff Lvov Acupuncture P.C. partial summary judgment in the sum of $6,016.12 on 12 claims, and matter remanded to the court below for a calculation of statutory interest and an assessment of attorney’s fees thereon, and for all further proceedings on the remaining three claims; as so modified, affirmed without costs.
Plaintiff health care providers commenced this action to recover first-party no-fault benefits for medical services rendered to their assignors for injuries allegedly sustained in a motor vehicle accident, and thereafter moved for summary judgment in the sum of $23,214, which was comprised of $14,727.90 in claims (consisting of 30 bills) for A.B. Medical Services PLLC, $2,299 in claims (consisting of 15 bills) for D.A.V. Chiropractic P.C., and $6,186.12 in [*2]claims (consisting of 13 bills) for Lvov Acupuncture P.C. Upon a review of the record, we find that with the exception of three of the 58 claims, plaintiffs established a prima facie entitlement to summary judgment by showing that they submitted claims setting forth the fact and the amount of the loss sustained, and that payment of no-fault benefits was overdue (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742 [2004]; Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co., 2 Misc 3d 128[A], 2003 NY Slip Op 51701[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]). Inasmuch as defendant failed to pay or properly deny 55 of the claims within the 30-day prescribed period (11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [c]), it was precluded from raising most defenses (see Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274, 282 [1997]). Although the 30-day period may be extended by a timely request for verification, a letter which merely informs a claimant that a decision on the claim is delayed pending an investigation, and which does not specify a particular form of verification and the person or entity from whom the verification is sought, may not be relied upon to toll the 30-day claim determination period (see Melbourne Med. P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 4 Misc 3d 92 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]; see also Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 4 Misc 3d 142[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 51041[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]). Inasmuch as the letters sent by defendant in the instant case were not requests for verification, they did not operate to toll the 30-day period.
Insofar as the claim denials were based upon “multiple fraud indicators,” defendant neither interposed a defense of fraud in its answer, nor provided in its papers in opposition to plaintiff’s summary judgment motion any support for its allegations of fraud. Moreover, to the extent that some of the claim denials which were timely were based upon lack of medical necessity, they were not supported by a sufficiently detailed factual basis and medical rationale (see Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co., 2 Misc 3d 128[A], 2003 NY Slip Op 51701[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]). In the absence of any such support, said defense was waived. Accordingly, with the exception of the three claims set forth below, plaintiffs were entitled to summary judgment.
With respect to the A.B. Medical Services PLLC claim form dated March 4, 2003 for $125.44 for services rendered on February 3, 2003 and February 27, 2003, the D.A.V. Chiropractic P.C. claim form dated March 3, 2003 for $67.40 for services rendered on February 3, 2003 and February 27, 2003, and the Lvov Acupuncture P.C. claim form dated March 5, 2003 for $170 for services rendered on February 3, 2003 and February 27, 2003, summary judgment was properly denied. Plaintiffs did not allege the date that defendant received those claim forms, and failed to submit proof that defendant’s requests for verification and follow-up requests for the “applicant’s completed NF-2” and a “complete narrative report” were complied with. Assuming the verification requests by defendant insurer were timely submitted, it had no obligation to act on the claims until it received the requested verification (New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 295 AD2d 583 [2002]). Absent proof of compliance with the verification requests, plaintiffs cannot be said to have made out a prima facie case upon the instant motion with respect to those three claims (see Abraham v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 3 Misc 3d 130[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 50388[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]).
Accordingly, the matter is remanded to the court below for a calculation of the statutory interest and an assessment of attorney’s fees due on the aggregate sum of $22,851.16, that portion [*3]of the claims for which summary judgment is granted, pursuant to Insurance Law § 5106 (a) and the regulations promulgated thereunder, and for all further proceedings on the remaining three claims.
Decision Date: March 02, 2005
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case
Held the providers established prima facie entitlement on 55 of 58 claims by showing submission of claims stating the fact and amount of loss and that payment was overdue; three claims failed for lack of proof of verification compliance.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 511 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did unanswered verification requests make the provider’s claim premature, or justify denying it for nonresponse?
This decision: Defense rejected because the insurer's requests or proof were deficient
Held the insurer's letters merely announcing a delay pending investigation, without specifying the verification sought or from whom, were not verification requests and did not toll the 30-day period for 55 claims.
Of the 374 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 78 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359)The hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
- Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 51701(U)) FollowedA provider's completed claim forms establish its prima facie case without additional medical proof when the insurer is precluded.
- Melbourne Med., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24221) FollowedEUO requests do not toll the claim determination period when the governing no-fault regulations do not authorize EUO verification.
- Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 51041(U))The insurer's EUO request and nonspecific investigation letters did not toll the 30-day period for paying or denying the provider's claim.
- Abraham v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50388(U)) FollowedThe insurer's unsworn nurses' reviews failed to raise a triable issue of medical necessity because the reviewers' qualifications were not shown.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Commerce Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50642(U)) FollowedA delay letter that requests no specific verification does not toll the 30-day no-fault claim determination period.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25456)The providers obtained partial summary judgment because defective EUO requests and incomplete IME follow-up failed to toll denial time.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26131)A provider that elects no-fault arbitration cannot litigate the same claims even if arbitration never reaches their merits.
Similar decisions
- A.B. Med. Servs. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50387(U))The insurer's EUO request did not toll the denial period under the former regulations, and its fraud evidence raised no triable issue.
- A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51016(U))The providers obtained partial summary judgment for untimely denials, unproved verification tolling, and unsworn peer reviews.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Allstate Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 51270(U))The insurer failed to prove timely mailing of its denials, entitling the providers to partial summary judgment on the claims they moved upon.
- A.B. Med. Servs. v GEICO Ins. (2003 NY Slip Op 23949)A provider need not prove medical necessity at the claim stage or on a subsequent motion for summary judgment.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51334(U))The insurer's incomplete denial and inadmissible fraud proof failed to defeat the health care providers' summary judgment motion.