• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
October 27, 2011

Velen Med. Supply v MVAIC (2011 NY Slip Op 52016(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/velen-med-supply-v-mvaic-2011-ny-slip-op-52016u/

Court
Appellate Term, Second Department
Decided
October 27, 2011
Citation
2011 NY Slip Op 52016(U) · 33 Misc 3d 135(A)
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Later treatment
Followed in 4 later decisions (see Cited by)
Issues
MVAIC Timeliness and preclusion
Legal questions
MVAIC eligibility: qualified covered person (see the maps)
Cite as
Velen Med. Supply v MVAIC, 33 Misc 3d 135(A), 2011 NY Slip Op 52016(U) (App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The provider failed to show compliance with the 24-hour accident-report requirement or an excuse for noncompliance in its claim against MVAIC. The assignor was injured in a hit-and-run accident. Under Insurance Law § 5221 (b) (2), covered-person status requires qualification under Insurance Law § 5202 (b) and compliance with article 52. MVAIC's claims examiner stated that repeated requests produced no proof of an accident report. The provider offered no indication of compliance with Insurance Law § 5208 (a) (2) (A) or that reporting was not reasonably possible under subdivision (B). The Appellate Term, Second Department, affirmed summary judgment dismissing the complaint for MVAIC and denial of the provider's cross motion.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Velen Med. Supply v MVAIC (2011 NY Slip Op 52016(U))

[*1]
Velen Med. Supply v MVAIC
2011 NY Slip Op 52016(U) [33 Misc 3d 135(A)]
Decided on October 27, 2011
Appellate Term, Second Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.


Decided on October 27, 2011
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK

APPELLATE TERM: 2nd, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS

PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., WESTON and RIOS, JJ
2010-1961 K C.

Velen Medical Supply as Assignee of CHANTAL G. ROBINSON, Appellant,

against

MVAIC, Respondent.


Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Ingrid Joseph, J.), entered March 29, 2010. The order granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and denied plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment.


ORDERED that the order is affirmed, without costs.

In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order which granted a motion by defendant Motor Vehicle Accident Indemnification Corporation (sued herein as MVAIC) for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and denied plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment.

“Pursuant to Insurance Law § 5221 (b) (2), to be deemed a covered person’ and thereby have such rights as a covered person may have under [Insurance Law article 51],’ an injured person must be a qualified person,’ as that term is defined in Insurance Law § 5202 (b), and must have complied with all of the applicable requirements of Insurance Law article 52 (e.g. Insurance Law § 5208)” (Howard M. Rombon, Ph.D., P.C. v MVAIC, 21 Misc 3d 131[A], 2008 NY Slip Op 52128[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2008]). Thus, in order for someone who was injured in a hit-and-run accident, such as plaintiff’s assignor herein, to be a “covered person” and obtain no-fault benefits, the person must have complied with all the applicable requirements of Insurance Law article 52, including, but not limited to, the filing of an accident report within 24 hours of the occurrence (Insurance Law § 5202 [a] [2] [A]) unless a showing is made that it was “not reasonably possible [for the injured person] to make such a report or that it was made as soon as was reasonably possible” (Insurance Law § 5208 [a] [2] [B]; Canty v Motor Veh. Acc. Indem. Corp., 95 AD2d 509, 511 [1983]).

In the instant case, MVAIC’s claims examiner stated in his affidavit that despite repeated requests for proof that plaintiff’s assignor had filed an accident report as required by Insurance Law § 5202 (a) (2) (A), plaintiff’s assignor had never provided such proof. Plaintiff’s opposing papers are devoid of any indication that plaintiff’s assignor complied with the reporting requirement set forth in Insurance Law § 5208 (a) (2) (A). Nor does plaintiff make any showing that it “was not reasonably possible to make such a report” (Insurance Law § 5208 [a] [2] [B]). [*2]Accordingly, the order is affirmed (see Insurance Law § 5221 [b] [2]; Meridian Health Acupuncture, P.C. v MVAIC, 22 Misc 3d 141[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 50440[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]).

Pesce, P.J., Weston and Rios, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: October 27, 2011

Legal questions

A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

MVAIC eligibility: qualified covered person

Open the full map

Against MVAIC, was the claimant shown to be a qualified, covered person meeting article 52’s conditions?

This decision: Eligibility is treated as the claimant's burden / condition precedent and the claimant did not prove it; claim fails or is premature

Held the hit-and-run assignor not shown to be a covered person because the provider gave no indication the accident was reported within 24 hours, nor any showing that reporting was not reasonably possible.

  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 3
  • Appellate TermApp Term 192
  • Trial courtsTrial 28
2004, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense precluded/waived)2011, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 MVAIC failed to prove)2019, Appellate Term: 23 decisions (10 Found not eligible, 11 Claimant's proof lacking, 2 Defense precluded/waived)2025, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (2 Found not eligible, 1 Claimant's proof lacking, 2 MVAIC failed to prove)2026, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (3 Found not eligible, 2 MVAIC failed to prove)2005, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Found not eligible, 1 Defense precluded/waived)2006, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Found not eligible)2007, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (1 Found not eligible, 1 MVAIC failed to prove, 2 Defense precluded/waived)2008, Appellate Term: 11 decisions (6 Claimant's proof lacking, 3 MVAIC failed to prove, 1 Unresolved / for trial, 1 Defense precluded/waived)2009, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (3 Found not eligible, 1 MVAIC failed to prove)2010, Appellate Term: 8 decisions (3 Found not eligible, 5 Claimant's proof lacking)2011, Appellate Term: 16 decisions (1 Found not eligible, 11 Claimant's proof lacking, 2 MVAIC failed to prove, 1 Found eligible, 1 Unresolved / for trial)2012, Appellate Term: 26 decisions (10 Found not eligible, 10 Claimant's proof lacking, 4 MVAIC failed to prove, 2 Unresolved / for trial)2013, Appellate Term: 9 decisions (2 Found not eligible, 6 Claimant's proof lacking, 1 Unresolved / for trial)2014, Appellate Term: 14 decisions (1 Found not eligible, 9 Claimant's proof lacking, 2 Found eligible, 1 Unresolved / for trial, 1 Defense precluded/waived)2015, Appellate Term: 13 decisions (2 Found not eligible, 10 Claimant's proof lacking, 1 MVAIC failed to prove)2016, Appellate Term: 15 decisions (2 Found not eligible, 10 Claimant's proof lacking, 2 Unresolved / for trial, 1 Defense precluded/waived)2017, Appellate Term: 17 decisions (8 Found not eligible, 9 Claimant's proof lacking)2018, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (1 Found not eligible, 4 Claimant's proof lacking)2020, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Claimant's proof lacking)2021, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (1 Found not eligible, 2 Defense precluded/waived)2022, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (4 Found not eligible, 2 Claimant's proof lacking, 1 Defense precluded/waived)2023, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Unresolved / for trial)2024, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Found not eligible, 1 MVAIC failed to prove)2006, Trial courts: 5 decisions (2 Found not eligible, 2 Claimant's proof lacking, 1 Defense precluded/waived)2026, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Found not eligible)2004, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Found eligible)2007, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Found not eligible, 1 Unresolved / for trial)2009, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 MVAIC failed to prove, 1 Unresolved / for trial)2011, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Found eligible)2012, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 MVAIC failed to prove, 1 Unresolved / for trial, 1 Defense precluded/waived)2013, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Found not eligible)2015, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Found not eligible)2018, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Found not eligible)2019, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Found not eligible, 1 Claimant's proof lacking, 1 Defense precluded/waived)2020, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense precluded/waived)2021, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Found not eligible, 2 MVAIC failed to prove)2022, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Claimant's proof lacking)2024, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Unresolved / for trial)This decision
20052010201520202025
Found not eligibleClaimant's proof lackingMVAIC failed to proveFound eligibleUnresolved / for trialDefense precluded/waivedThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 223 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 99 (this one included) are in the same category.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Howard M. Rombon, Ph.D, P.C. v MVAIC (2008 NY Slip Op 52128(U)) FollowedThe provider's entitlement to MVAIC benefits remained disputed because the assignor's qualified-person status presented a factual issue.
  • Meridian Health Acupuncture, P.C. v MVAIC (2009 NY Slip Op 50440(U)) FollowedThe provider failed to show compliance with the 24-hour hit-and-run reporting requirement or an excuse, defeating coverage through MVAIC. The assignor was a pedestrian injured in a hit-and-run accident.

Cited by

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • First Help Acupuncture, P.C. v MVAIC (2012 NY Slip Op 51643(U)) FollowedThe provider failed to show that its hit-and-run assignor met the 24-hour accident-report requirement or qualified for an exception.
  • Optimal Well-Being Chiropractic, P.C v MVAIC (2013 NY Slip Op 51751(U)) FollowedThe provider failed to show that its assignor reported the alleged hit-and-run within 24 hours or had an excuse for failing to report it.
  • Advanced Recovery E. & S. v MVAIC (2021 NY Slip Op 51035(U)) FollowedMVAIC established that the assignor failed to satisfy the notice-of-claim and accident-reporting conditions for coverage.
  • Lida’s Med. Supply, Inc. v MVAIC (2019 NY Slip Op 51167(U)) FollowedThe provider failed to show that its bicyclist assignor met the accident-reporting requirement for MVAIC benefits or qualified for an excuse.

Similar decisions

  • Daily Med. Equip. Distrib. Ctr., Inc. v MVAIC (2017 NY Slip Op 51763(U))MVAIC established that both the notice of claim and the hit-and-run police report were untimely.
  • Compas Med., P.C. v MVAIC (2017 NY Slip Op 51734(U))The provider's claim against MVAIC was dismissed because the van's driver and owner might be ascertainable.
  • Ap Orthopedic & Rehabilitation, P.C. v Mvaic (2011 NY Slip Op 51448(U))The assignor's failure to provide proof of New York residency defeated the provider's claim for no-fault benefits from MVAIC. The Appellate Term, Second Department, found that the assignor was neither a qualified person under Insurance Law § 5202 (b) nor a covered person under Insurance Law § 5221 (b) (2), leaving a condition precedent unsatisfied.
  • Village Med. Supply, Inc. v MVAIC (2016 NY Slip Op 51421(U))The provider failed at trial to establish the assignor's eligibility for MVAIC benefits through residency proof and a notice-of-intention affidavit.
  • Complete Med. Servs., P.C. v MVAIC (2008 NY Slip Op 28269)MVAIC's 30-day period to deny a claim or request verification runs from receipt of the claim, regardless of a qualification determination.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.