• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
June 18, 2026

Liberty RX Inc v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2026 NY Slip Op 50992(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/liberty-rx-inc-v-liberty-mut-ins-co-2026-ny-slip-op-50992u/

Court
Civil Court of the City of New York, Richmond County
Judge
Javier Ortiz, J.
Decided
June 18, 2026
Citation
2026 NY Slip Op 50992(U) · 89 Misc 3d 1218(A)
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Provider prevailed
Issues
Staged accidents, lack of coverage
Legal questions
No covered accident (founded belief) (see the maps)
Cite as
Liberty RX Inc v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 89 Misc 3d 1218(A), 2026 NY Slip Op 50992(U) (Civ Ct, Richmond County 2026)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The insurer's EUO inconsistencies raised credibility issues but did not establish a staged collision as a matter of law. The Civil Court, Richmond County, denied the insurer's summary judgment motion and directed the action to proceed to trial on material misrepresentation, noncovered loss, and staged-accident defenses. The admissible evidence, including the investigator's affirmation, did not establish those defenses by a preponderance of the evidence. Much of the insurer's proof consisted of inconsistent EUO testimony, and no witness admitted that the collision was intentional. The court explained that inconsistencies alone were insufficient and that summary judgment did not permit credibility determinations or factual findings.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Liberty RX Inc v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2026 NY Slip Op 50992(U))

Liberty RX Inc v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co.
2026 NY Slip Op 50992(U) [89 Misc 3d 1218(A)]
Decided on June 18, 2026
Civil Court of the City of New York, Richmond County
Javier Ortiz, J.
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.


Digest-Index Classification: Insurance—No-Fault Automobile Insurance—Staged Accident Defense-Summary Judgment

Liberty RX Inc a/a/o Marie Charlot, Plaintiff,

v

Liberty Mutual Insurance Company, Defendant.

Civil Court of the City of New York, Richmond County

Decided on June 18, 2026

Index No. CV-711756-25/RI

For Plaintiff Liberty RX Inc.:

Sakrit Srivastava

Gary Tsirelman P.C.

129 Livingston Street 2nd Floor

Brooklyn, NY 11201-5157

718-438-1200

Ssrivastava@gtmdjd.com

For Defendant Liberty Mutual Insurance Company:

Edwin Fernandez

Callinan & Smith LLP

3361 Park Avenue Suite 104

Wantagh, NY 11793

516-784-5148

efernandez@callinansmith.com

Javier Ortiz, J.

[*1]

Recitation, as required by CPLR §2219(a), of the papers considered in review of this Motion:

Papers

D’s Motion & Supporting Documents 5-40

P’s Affirmation in Opposition 42

P’s Supplemental Submission of Decisions 45

Upon the foregoing cited papers and after oral argument, the Decision and Order on [*2]Defendant’s motion for summary judgment is as follows:

Defendant’s motion is DENIED. The Court has reviewed the record and finds that the admissible evidence presented is insufficient at the current case posture to establish Defendant’s defenses that the assignor made material representations, the injuries did not arise out of a covered loss, and/or that the alleged accident was a staged, intentional act for which there is no insurance coverage (Affirmative Defenses 16, 17, and 18).

The matter shall proceed to trial on June 22, 2026 in Part 58VT, as the Court finds that there are triable issues of fact with respect to Defendant’s defenses of material misrepresentation, non-covered loss, and staged/intentional accident.

The Honorable Sandra Elena Roper recently found in the context of a no-fault insurer’s motion for summary judgment asserting a staged accident that “[t]he prima facie burden to viably satisfy a staged accident motion for summary judgment is indeed a high one.” (Med. Diagnostics Ctr. v Ameriprise Ins. Co., 88 Misc 3d 1225(A), 2026 NY Slip Op 50235(U) [Civ Ct, Kings County 2026] [citations omitted].)

Consistent with that, the Court finds that Defendant’s admissible evidence—including its investigator affirmation (NYSCEF No. 8)—is insufficient at this stage of the proceedings for the Court to find that Defendant has established its material misrepresentation, lack of covered loss, and/or staged accident defenses by a preponderance of the evidence. (See V.S. Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co., 25 Misc 3d 39, 41 [2d Dept 2009] [applying preponderance of the evidence standard in such circumstance].) “[I]t is not the function of a court deciding a summary judgment motion to make credibility determinations or findings of fact, but rather to identify material triable issues of fact (or point to the lack thereof).” (Vega v Restani Constr. Corp., 18 NY3d 499, 505 [2012]. See also Med. Diagnostics Ctr., 88 Misc 3d 1225(A) [“Where there is but a scintilla of a material issue of fact defeats a motion for summary judgment, obviating the shifting of the burden to non-movant for rebuttal”; further expressing concerns regarding finding a staged accident at the summary judgment stage where the conspiratorial implications “are not merely civil in nature but also expose[] the [participants in the alleged conspiracy] to criminal prosecution”].)

Inconsistencies in witness testimony raise issues of credibility but are, standing alone, insufficient to support a conclusion that an accident was staged as a matter of law. (See Parisien v Erie Ins. Co. of NY, 88 Misc 3d 1241(A), 2026 NY Slip Op 50400(U) [Civ Ct, Richmond County 2026], citing State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Allmed Merch. and Trading, Inc., 2022 NY Slip Op 30624(U) [Sup Ct, NY County Feb. 28, 2022].) Much of the evidence that Defendant presents to suggest that a staged accident occurred here is through showing inconsistencies in various examinations under oath (EUOs). (See Pavlova v Allstate Ins. Co., 62 Misc 3d 1207[A], 2019 NY Slip Op 50016[U], *3 [Civ Ct, Kings County 2019] [“Upon a review of the EUO transcript, the court notes that while [the witnesses’] testimonies were vague and at times, inconsistent, their recollections are not sufficient to demonstrate that a purposeful collision occurred. Even in considering whether circumstantial evidence exists to demonstrate that there may have been a purposeful collision, the vague testimonies of the parties are not sufficient.”] There is no witness admission here that the accident was staged or intentional. “Although defendant demonstrated that it possessed a ‘founded belief that the alleged injuries do not arise out of an insured incident,’ defendant failed to submit sufficient evidence in admissible form to establish that conclusion as a matter of law, so as to warrant dismissal of the complaint.” (Parisien v Esurance, 81 Misc 3d 127(A), 2023 NY Slip Op 51235(U) [App Term, 2d Dept [*3]2023], quoting Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d 195, 199 [1997].)

The matter shall therefore proceed to trial on June 22, 2026 in Part 58VT.

This constitutes the Decision and Order of the Court.

Dated: June 18, 2026

Hon. Javier Ortiz, J.C.C.

Kings County Civil Court

Legal questions

A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

No covered accident (founded belief)

Open the full map

Did the insurer show the claimed injuries did not arise from a covered accident (staged, intentional, or unrelated)?

This decision: Founded belief shown; the question must be tried

Denied the insurer's summary judgment motion and sent the case to trial, finding triable issues of fact on its staged-accident and non-covered-loss defenses because investigator proof and inconsistent EUO testimony did not establish staging as a matter of law.

  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 13
  • Appellate TermApp Term 161
  • Trial courtsTrial 42
2023, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2022, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2016, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2015, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2009, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2007, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Triable issue, 1 Defense not shown)2005, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Defense not shown)2026, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2004, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Defense not shown)2021, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2019, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (2 Defense established, 1 Insurer's motion fails)2018, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (4 Defense established)2017, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (1 Defense established, 2 Triable issue, 3 Insurer's motion fails, 1 Defense not shown)2016, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2015, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2014, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2012, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Defense established)2011, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (2 Triable issue, 2 Insurer's motion fails)2010, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Defense established, 1 Triable issue)2009, Appellate Term: 12 decisions (4 Defense established, 5 Triable issue, 3 Defense not shown)2008, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (3 Triable issue, 4 Defense not shown)2007, Appellate Term: 23 decisions (13 Triable issue, 2 Insurer's motion fails, 8 Defense not shown)2006, Appellate Term: 30 decisions (21 Triable issue, 9 Defense not shown)2005, Appellate Term: 37 decisions (1 Defense established, 24 Triable issue, 12 Defense not shown)2004, Appellate Term: 22 decisions (16 Triable issue, 6 Defense not shown)2003, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2025, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2013, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2023, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Triable issue)2023, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer's motion fails)2020, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2019, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Defense established, 1 Triable issue, 1 Defense not shown)2013, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Triable issue)2011, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Defense not shown)2010, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Triable issue, 1 Defense not shown)2008, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Triable issue, 2 Defense not shown)2007, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Triable issue)2006, Trial courts: 7 decisions (2 Defense established, 5 Defense not shown)2005, Trial courts: 7 decisions (1 Defense established, 6 Defense not shown)2004, Trial courts: 4 decisions (4 Defense not shown)2026, Trial courts: 6 decisions (2 Defense established, 3 Triable issue, 1 Insurer's motion fails)2014, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)This decision
20052010201520202025
Defense establishedTriable issueInsurer's motion failsDefense not shownThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 216 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 100 (this one included) are in the same category.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Medical Diagnostic Ctr. v Ameriprise Ins. Co. (2026 NY Slip Op 50235(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish that the collision was staged or that the transportation network company exclusion barred coverage.
  • V.S. Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29310) FollowedAn insurer may prove that a collision was intentional and outside no-fault coverage by a preponderance of the evidence.
  • Parisien v Erie Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2026 NY Slip Op 50400(U)) FollowedThe insurer's staged-accident defense presented credibility issues concerning whether a third occupant was in the vehicle.
  • Pavlova v Allstate Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50016(U)) FollowedThe insurer's EUO nonappearance defense was precluded by a denial issued more than 30 days after the last scheduled EUO. The Civil Court, Kings County, denied summary judgment to the insurer and granted summary judgment to the provider.
  • Parisien v Esurance (2023 NY Slip Op 51235(U)) FollowedThe insurer's founded belief that the collision was staged did not establish its coverage defense through sufficient admissible evidence.

Similar decisions

  • Empire State Rehab PT PC v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2026 NY Slip Op 50894(U))The insurer's evidence of EUO inconsistencies and allegedly disproportionate injuries did not establish a staged collision as a matter of law.
  • Universal Open MRI of the Bronx, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. (2006 NY Slip Op 50853(U))An insurer must support a staged-collision defense at trial with admissible evidence under a preponderance standard.
  • Hertz Vehs., LLC v Ace Med Supplies Inc. (2025 NY Slip Op 51959(U))A staged-accident coverage defense is not precluded by untimely denial.
  • Rizz Mgt. Inc. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51191(U))The insurer failed to establish collateral estoppel or entitlement to summary judgment on its staged-accident defense.
  • New York Massage Therapy P.C. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 52573(U))The insurer failed at trial to support its staged-accident defense with admissible evidence establishing a founded belief of no coverage.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.