January 2, 2019
Pavlova v Allstate Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50016(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/pavlova-v-allstate-ins-co-2019-ny-slip-op-50016u/
- Judge
- Richard J. Montelione, J.
- Decided
- January 2, 2019
- Citation
- 2019 NY Slip Op 50016(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Later treatment
- Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Pavlova v Allstate Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50016(U))
Ksenia Pavlova, D.O.,
a/a/o Thomas, Tara, Plaintiff,
against Allstate Insurance Company, Defendant. |
714648/16
For Plaintiff: The Rybak Firm, PLLC, 1810 Voorhies Ave.-3rd Floor-Suite 7, Brooklyn, NY 11235 (718) 569-7040
For Defendant: Abrams, Cohen & Associates, 5 Hanover Square, Suite 1601, New York, NY 10004, (646) 449-7490
Richard J. Montelione, J.
Plaintiff’s motion and defendant’s cross-motion for summary judgment pursuant to CPLR 3212 came before the court on October 18, 2018. In addition to the oral arguments of counsel, the court has considered the following listed submissions of the parties, pursuant to CPLR 2219(a):
Title Number
Plaintiff’s Notice of Motion undated; Attorney Affirmation of Oleg Rybak, Esq., undated; Affidavit of Ciffy Chelle, sworn to on October 13, 2017 (Exhibit 2); and Exhibits 1-5 (inclusive of the foregoing affidavit) 1
Defendant’s Notice of Cross-Motion dated June 27, 2018; Attorney Affirmation of Jeff Winston, Esq., affirmed on June 28, 2018; Affidavit of Yamile Souffrant, sworn to on June 18, 2018 (Exhibit B); Affidavit of John Niles, sworn to on May 1, 2018 (Exhibit B); and Exhibits A-K (inclusive of the foregoing affidavits) 2
Plaintiff’s Attorney Affirmation in Opposition of Oleg Rybak, Esq., undated; Affidavit of Ciffy Chelle, sworn to on September 14, 2018 (Exhibit 2); Affidavit of Ciffy Chelle, sworn to on September 14, 2018 (Exhibit 3); and Exhibits 1-3
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first party no-fault benefits, plaintiff moves for summary judgment arguing that it established its prima facie entitlement to recovery of its unpaid no-fault bills. Defendant cross-moves for summary judgment based upon plaintiff’s [*2]purported failure to appear for four Examinations Under Oath (“EUO”) or alternatively, based upon defendant’s founded belief that the alleged accident was an intentional loss and therefore, the alleged accident is not a covered event.
Plaintiff argues, inter alia, that the affidavits proffered by defendant are conclusory and insufficient to establish that the EUO letters and denials were timely and properly mailed. Specifically, plaintiff argues that the address on the EUO letters and denials are different and defendant failed to establish that the letters were sent to the correct address. Plaintiff further argues that the non-appearances at the scheduled EUOs were not established as the transcripts proffered did not sufficiently provide personal knowledge of plaintiff’s assignor’s purported non-appearances.
Where an insurer moves for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that a provider’s assignor failed to appear for an EUO, to establish its prima facie case, the insurer need only establish “as a matter of law that it twice duly demanded an [EUO] from the [provider’s] assignor, who had allegedly been injured in a motor vehicle accident, that the assignor twice failed to appear, and that the [insurer] issued a timely denial of the claims arising from the [provider’s] treatment of the assignor” (Interboro Ins. Co. v Clennon, 113 AD3d 596, 597 [App. Div. 2nd Dept 2014]; see also 11 NYCRR § 65.15(d); Vladenn Med. Supply Corp. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 2016 NY Slip Op 50928[U][App Term 2nd Dept 2016]; Palafox PT, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 2015 NY Slip Op 51653[U][App. Term 2nd Dept. 2015]; Crescent Radiology, PLLC v. American Transit Ins. Co., 31 Misc 3d 134(A), 2011 NY Slip Op. 50622[U][App Term 9th & 10th Jud. Dists. 2011]; Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v. Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720 [2d Dept. 2006]).
Moreover, it is well settled and established that an intentional and staged collision caused in furtherance of an insurance fraud scheme is not a covered accident under a policy of insurance (see Matter of Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. v Goddard, 29 AD3d 698 [App. Div. 2nd Dept 2006]; Eagle Ins. Co. v. Davis, 22 AD3d 846 [App. Div. 2nd Dept. 2005]). An insurer asserting a lack of coverage defense must set forth admissible evidence of “the fact or [a] founded belief that the alleged injury does not arise out of an insured incident” (Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Co., 90 NY2d 195 [1997]; St. Luke’s Roosevelt Hosp. v. Allstate Ins. Co., 303 AD2d 743 [App. Div. 2nd Dept. 2003]; Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v. Allstate Ins. Co., 6 Misc 3d 134[A], 134A [App. Term 2nd Dept. 2005]; Amaze Med. Supply, Inc. v. Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 26 Misc 3d 129(A), 129A [App. Term 2nd Dept. 2009]). “[A]n insurer’s evidence of a purposeful collision will often be circumstantial. This is to be expected; in the absence of a mea culpa from one of the participants, the insurerand ultimately the courtmust examine the facts and circumstances of the incident to determine whether they give rise to an inference of lack of coverage. Circumstantial evidence is sufficient if a party’s conduct ‘may be reasonably inferred based upon logical inferences to be drawn from the evidence. (internal citation omitted)'” (V.S. Medical Services, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co., 11 Misc 3d 334 [Civ. Ct. Kings Cty. 2006], aff’d, 25 Misc 3d 39 [App. Term 2nd Dept. 2009]).
Upon review of defendant’s EUO no-show defense, the court finds that the denials issued in this matter were untimely as they were issued on February 2, 2016 and the last EUO was scheduled on December 7, 2015. Defendant had 30 days from the last EUO in which defendant was required to pay or deny the claims (see 11 NYCRR § 65—3.8[a][1]) and as defendant did not do so in this case, the defense is precluded.
Defendant proffers the EUO transcripts of the passengers and assignor, Bernetta Green, [*3]Craig Alexander and Tara Thomas, and as to the date of loss of August 14, 2015 [FN1] , to demonstrate that the incident was a caused loss and defendant contends that the same established its founded belief that there was a material misrepresentation of the claims; namely, that the accident was in fact, not an accident, but a purposeful collision. Specifically, defendant’s founded belief is based upon the inconsistent testimonies between the parties.
Upon a review of the EUO transcript, the court notes that while their testimonies were vague and at times, inconsistent, their recollections are not sufficient to demonstrate that a purposeful collision occurred. Even in considering whether circumstantial evidence exists to demonstrate that there may have been a purposeful collision, the vague testimonies of the parties are not sufficient. Moreover, defendant did not proffer any affidavit from an investigator who can elaborate on why the inconsistencies demonstrate intentional losses. Without a cogent and detailed investigative summary of this type of alleged intentional loss and solely relying on the transcripts alone in this matter, the testimonies given do not rise to the level of a founded belief that the accident was staged. As such, defendant’s proofs are insufficient to raise a triable issue of fact.
Plaintiff established its prima facie case through the affidavit of Ciffy Chelle, plaintiff’s employee and the bills annexed to the motion (see Viviane Etienne Med. Care v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 2015 NY Slip Op 04787 [2015]).
Therefore, based upon the foregoing, defendant’s motion for summary judgment is denied. Plaintiff’s cross-motion for summary judgment is granted and plaintiff may enter judgment in the amount of $534.32, together with applicable statutory interest, attorneys’ fees and costs.
This constitutes the Decision and Order of the court.
Dated: January 2, 2019
Richard J. Montelione, J.C.C./A.J.S.C.
Footnotes
Footnote 1:Defendant demonstrated its compliance with CPLR 3116 through the affidavits of service of Darryl Pierre, an employee of Abrams, Cohen & Associates, who was retained by defendant to schedule and conduct Examinations Under Oath.
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Is an IME/EUO no-show defense precluded if the insurer did not timely deny the claim on that ground?
This decision: No-show defense is subject to preclusion and fails for want of a timely, proper denial
Held the EUO no-show defense precluded because the denials were issued about two months after the last scheduled EUO, beyond the 30 days the insurer had to pay or deny after that date.
Of the 500 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 162 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer show the claimed injuries did not arise from a covered accident (staged, intentional, or unrelated)?
This decision: Insurer's proof did not raise an issue or failed at trial; provider prevails on it
Held vague and inconsistent EUO testimony of the occupants, without an investigator's affidavit explaining why the inconsistencies showed an intentional loss, did not show a founded belief that the collision was staged or raise a triable issue.
Of the 233 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 80 (this one included) are in the same category.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the provider established its prima facie case through its employee's affidavit and the annexed bills.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 511 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Interboro Ins. Co. v Clennon (2014 NY Slip Op 00092)The assignor's two EUO nonappearances supported a declaration that the providers were not entitled to no-fault benefits.
- Vladenn Med. Supply Corp. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50928(U))The insurer proved timely mailing and the provider's EUO nonappearances, while the provider failed to justify further discovery.
- Palafox PT, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51653(U))The provider failed to identify discovery that could raise a triable issue concerning the insurer's EUO nonappearance defense.
- Crescent Radiology, PLLC v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 50622(U))The insurer established timely mailing of EUO notices and denials and the assignor's failure to appear at two scheduled EUOs. The provider obtained summary judgment after the District Court found insufficient objective justification for the EUO request.
- Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 09604)An insurer may deny benefits retroactively to the date of loss for failure to attend reasonably required IMEs under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
- Amaze Med. Supply, Inc. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 52690(U))The insurer's submissions supported a founded belief that the alleged injuries did not arise out of an insured incident.
- V.S. Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26000) FollowedAn insurer asserting a staged collision at trial need only rebut presumed coverage; the provider retains the burden of persuasion.
- V.S. Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29310)An insurer may prove that a collision was intentional and outside no-fault coverage by a preponderance of the evidence.
- Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 04787) FollowedA provider establishes entitlement to summary judgment on overdue no-fault claims with admissible proof of mailing and receipt of statutory claim forms.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Liberty RX Inc v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2026 NY Slip Op 50992(U)) FollowedThe insurer's EUO inconsistencies raised credibility issues but did not establish a staged collision as a matter of law.
Similar decisions
- Natural Therapy Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2013 NYSlip Op 51935(U))The provider's EUO objections were unpreserved, and the insurer established timely notices and denials and the provider's nonappearance.
- JSI Expert Serv. v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50513(U))An insurer's fraud defense, including a staged-accident defense, requires clear and convincing evidence at trial.
- Hertz Vehs., LLC v Ace Med Supplies Inc. (2025 NY Slip Op 51959(U))A staged-accident coverage defense is not precluded by untimely denial.
- Central Park Physical Medicine & Rehab., P.C. v Travelers Indem. Co. of Conn. (2017 NY Slip Op 51354(U))The provider's two EUO nonappearances breached a condition precedent, and its post-denial letters did not excuse noncompliance.
- Active Care Med. Supply, Corp. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 51408(U))The insurer's attorney affirmation failed to establish nonappearance on the scheduled EUO date.