May 6, 2015
Jamaica Dedicated Med. Care, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50756(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/jamaica-dedicated-med-care-p-c-v-praetorian-ins-co-2015-ny-slip-op50756u/
- Court
- Appellate Term, Second Department
- Decided
- May 6, 2015
- Citation
- 2015 NY Slip Op 50756(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Later treatment
- Followed in 3 later decisions (see Cited by)
- Issues
- Policy issues
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Jamaica Dedicated Med. Care, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50756(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
Praetorian Insurance Co., Appellant.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Wavny Toussaint, J.), entered January 29, 2013. The order denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground of fraudulent procurement of the insurance policy by virtue of the assignor’s misrepresentation of his address in order to obtain insurance at a lower premium. Plaintiff opposed the motion. The Civil Court denied defendant’s motion, and we affirm.
“The proponent of a summary judgment motion must make a prima facie showing of entitlement to judgment as a matter of law, tendering sufficient evidence to eliminate any material issues of fact from the case” (Winegrad v New York Univ. Med. Ctr., 64 NY2d 851, 853 [1985]). The failure to make such a prima facie showing requires a denial of the motion, regardless of the sufficiency of the opposing papers (id.).
An insured may be denied no-fault benefits where an insurer submits evidence in admissible form showing that the insured had fraudulently procured the insurance policy (see W.H.O. Acupuncture, P.C. v Infinity Prop. & Cas. Co., 36 Misc 3d 4 [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2012]; New Millennium Psychological Servs., P.C. v Commerce Ins. Co., 34 Misc 3d 127[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 52286[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]). Defendant argued that when the insured, plaintiff’s assignor, had applied for the insurance policy at issue, he had provided an address in Wappingers Falls, Dutchess County, an area which had a lower premium for coverage than Queens County, where he actually resided. While the certified transcript of plaintiff’s assignor’s testimony at an examination under oath was admissible (see American States Ins. Co. v Huff, 119 AD3d 478 [2014]), the assignor’s testimony failed to eliminate all material issues of fact (see Winegrad, 64 NY2d at 853) as to whether he lived in Queens County, rather than Wappingers Falls, Dutchess County, at the pertinent time. Defendant’s exhibits also included its investigator’s report, which was not sufficient to establish that the assignor did not reside in Wappingers Falls during the relevant period, as the report was based upon statements that constituted inadmissible hearsay (see Petrillo v Town of Hempstead, 85 AD3d 996 [2011]; Saunders v 551 Galaxy Realty Corp., 64 AD3d 564 [2009]). Consequently, as defendant failed to make a prima facie showing that plaintiff’s assignor had made material misrepresentations in order to obtain insurance at reduced premiums (cf. Matter of Insurance Co. of N. Am. v Kaplun, 274 AD2d 293 [2000]; AA Acupuncture Serv., P.C. v Safeco Ins. Co. of Am., 25 Misc 3d 30 [App Term, 1st Dept 2009]), defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint was properly denied.
Accordingly, the order is affirmed.
Pesce, P.J., Solomon and Elliot, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: May 06, 2015
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- W.H.O. Acupuncture, P.C. v Infinity Prop. & Cas. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 22142)Under Florida law, failure to follow statutory cancellation procedures does not preclude rescission for a material application misrepresentation.
- New Millennium Psychological Servs., P.C. v Commerce Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52286(U))The insurer established a material residence misrepresentation that rendered the assignor ineligible for no-fault benefits under the policy.
- American States Ins. Co. v Huff (2014 NY Slip Op 05366) FollowedThe assignor's departure from an EUO before questions about the accident and injuries breached a condition precedent to coverage.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Longevity Med. Supply, Inc. v MVAIC (2024 NY Slip Op 51164(U)) FollowedMVAIC established that the assignor was not a qualified person because the assignor owned the vehicle operated at the time of the accident.
- Renelique v National Liab. & Fire Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50254(U)) FollowedThe insurer raised a factual issue over fraudulent policy procurement but failed to establish material misrepresentation as a matter of law.
- Kalitenko v Nationwide Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2026 NY Slip Op 50184(U)) FollowedThe assignor's vehicle qualified as a motorcycle requiring financial security, excluding the provider's claim from no-fault coverage.
- Apazidis, M.D., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50498(U))The insurer's summary judgment motion failed on hearsay proof of good cause and verification notices naming a different provider.
- Chiropractic Exam Works, P.C. v Sentry Cas. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 51125(U))An insurer that repudiates liability for a claim cannot then require compliance with the policy's EUO provision.
- Parisien v Omni Indem. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50523(U))The insurer's EUO transcripts raised factual issues about material misrepresentations, defeating summary judgment based on rescission.
- Integon Natl. Ins. Co. v Salazar-Ochoa (2026 NY Slip Op 50292(U))An insurer need not provide coverage for an intentionally caused collision, even to innocent third parties.
- Jiang Acupuncture PC v State Farm Ins. Co. (2023 NY Slip Op 50961(U))The insurer failed to prove good cause for licensing verification with admissible evidence supporting summary judgment.
Similar decisions
- Jamaica Dedicated Medical Care. P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50605(U))The insurer failed to establish fraudulent policy procurement because the insured's residence remained disputed and its report relied on hearsay.
- Jamaica Dedicated Med. Care. P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50606(U))The insurer's summary judgment motion based on fraudulent procurement of the policy was denied, and that denial was affirmed.
- Central Radiology Servs., P.C. v Commerce Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 50948(U))The insurer established that the assignor misrepresented the state of residence and was ineligible for no-fault benefits under the policy.
- Great Health Care Chiropractic, P.C. v Hanover Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 50359(U))The insurer's fraudulent-procurement defense was precluded because it failed to establish a timely denial on that ground.
- Compas Med., P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51403(U))The insurer proved outstanding verification for the fifth claim and IME and EUO nonappearance for the first, third, and fourth claims.