• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
February 22, 2022

Equilibrium of Life Acupuncture, P.C. v MVAIC (2022 NY Slip Op 50113(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/equilibrium-of-life-acupuncture-p-c-v-mvaic-2022-ny-slip-op-50113u/

Court
Appellate Term, First Department
Decided
February 22, 2022
Citation
2022 NY Slip Op 50113(U) · 74 Misc 3d 129(A)
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Later treatment
Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
Issues
MVAIC Timeliness and preclusion
Legal questions
MVAIC eligibility: qualified covered person (see the maps)
Cite as
Equilibrium of Life Acupuncture, P.C. v MVAIC, 74 Misc 3d 129(A), 2022 NY Slip Op 50113(U) (App Term, 1st Dept 2022)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

MVAIC established that no timely notice of intention to claim had been filed, leaving a statutory coverage condition unsatisfied. The Appellate Term, First Department, reversed the order, granted MVAIC summary judgment and dismissed the provider's complaint. Insurance Law § 5208 (a) makes timely notice a condition precedent to applying for no-fault payment from MVAIC, and the provider raised no triable factual issue. MVAIC's prior denial on other grounds did not preclude its lack-of-coverage defense. The court distinguished Matter of State Farm Ins. Co. v Domotor, which concerned waiver of a policy condition precedent to payment, rather than a statutory condition precedent to coverage.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Equilibrium of Life Acupuncture, P.C. v MVAIC (2022 NY Slip Op 50113(U))

[*1]
Equilibrium of Life Acupuncture, P.C. v MVAIC
2022 NY Slip Op 50113(U) [74 Misc 3d 129(A)]
Decided on February 22, 2022
Appellate Term, First Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
As corrected in part through February 24, 2022; it will not be published in the printed Official Reports.


Decided on February 22, 2022
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, FIRST DEPARTMENT
PRESENT: Edmead, P.J., Brigantti, Silvera, JJ.
570226/21

Equilibrium of Life Acupuncture, P.C. a/a/o Jesus Ortega, Plaintiff-Respondent,

against

MVAIC, Defendant-Appellant.


Defendant appeals from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, New York County (Judy H. Kim, J.), entered February 22, 2021, which denied its motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.

Per Curiam.

Order (Judy H. Kim, J.), entered February 22, 2021, reversed, with $10 costs, motion granted, and the complaint dismissed. The Clerk is directed to enter judgment accordingly.

Defendant MVAIC’s submission in support of its motion for summary judgment established, prima facie, that there had been no timely filing of a notice of intention to make claim as required by Insurance Law § 5208(a). Thus, a condition precedent to plaintiff’s right to apply for payment of no-fault benefits from defendant had not been satisfied (see SML Acupuncture P.C. v MVAIC, 55 Misc 3d 138[A], 2017 NY Slip Op 50539[U] [App Term, 1st Dept 2017]).

In opposition, respondent failed to raise any triable issue of fact. MVAIC’s prior denial of the claim on other grounds does not preclude it from asserting a lack of coverage defense (see Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d 195, 199 [1997]). Matter of State Farm Ins. Co. v Domotor, 266 AD2d 219 (1999), relied upon by Civil Court, involved a waiver of a condition precedent to payment of claims as required under an insurance policy, not a condition precedent to coverage under Insurance Law § 5208.

All concur

THIS CONSTITUTES THE DECISION AND ORDER OF THE COURT.



Clerk of the Court
Decision Date: February 22, 2022

Legal questions

A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

MVAIC eligibility: qualified covered person

Open the full map

Against MVAIC, was the claimant shown to be a qualified, covered person meeting article 52’s conditions?

This decision: Court finds a qualification or article 52 condition affirmatively NOT met; claim fails on that ground

Granted MVAIC summary judgment because it showed no timely notice of intention to make claim was filed under § 5208, and its earlier denial on other grounds did not preclude the lack-of-coverage defense.

  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 2
  • Appellate TermApp Term 36
  • Trial courtsTrial 5
2010, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 MVAIC failed to prove, 1 Unresolved / for trial)2007, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense precluded/waived)2010, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (4 MVAIC failed to prove, 1 Unresolved / for trial)2011, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (1 Found not eligible, 6 MVAIC failed to prove)2012, Appellate Term: 8 decisions (6 MVAIC failed to prove, 2 Unresolved / for trial)2013, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 MVAIC failed to prove)2014, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense precluded/waived)2015, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 MVAIC failed to prove)2016, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Unresolved / for trial)2017, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (3 Found not eligible, 1 Unresolved / for trial)2019, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 MVAIC failed to prove, 1 Unresolved / for trial)2021, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Found not eligible, 1 Unresolved / for trial)2022, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Found not eligible)2023, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Found not eligible)2010, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Found not eligible)2019, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Found not eligible)2020, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Claimant's proof lacking)2023, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Claimant's proof lacking)This decision
201020152020
Found not eligibleClaimant's proof lackingMVAIC failed to proveUnresolved / for trialDefense precluded/waivedThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 43 decisions on this question in the First Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 11 (this one included) are in the same category.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • SML Acupuncture P.C. v MVAIC (2017 NY Slip Op 50539(U)) FollowedMVAIC's untimely denial does not preclude a lack-of-coverage defense based on failure to file a timely notice of claim.

Cited by

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • Country-Wide Ins. Co. v Yao Jian Ping (2024 NY Slip Op 24033) FollowedAn insurer's global denial does not excuse regulatory requirements to submit a claim form or its substantial equivalent.

Similar decisions

  • Brookside Physical Therapy v MVAIC (2021 NY Slip Op 50998(U))MVAIC established that no timely notice of intention to make a claim was filed and that the accident was not reported within 24 hours.
  • Bronx Acupuncture Therapy, P.C. v MVAIC (2019 NY Slip Op 51253(U))The provider failed to establish its prima facie case against MVAIC because it did not prove submission of a timely notice-of-claim affidavit.
  • Oleg’s Acupuncture, P.C. v MVAIC (2022 NY Slip Op 50593(U))MVAIC established nonreceipt of the notice-of-intention affidavit required for the provider to recover assigned no-fault benefits.
  • ZZ Acupuncture, P.C. v MVAIC (2022 NY Slip Op 50589(U))MVAIC established that it had not received the required notice-of-intention affidavit and obtained dismissal of the provider's claims.
  • GL Acupuncture, P.C. v MVAIC (2017 NY Slip Op 51866(U))MVAIC established that no timely notice of claim had been filed, leaving a condition precedent to no-fault payment unsatisfied.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.