January 31, 2007
Englinton Med., P.C. v MVAIC (2007 NY Slip Op 50164(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/englinton-med-p-c-v-mvaic-2007-ny-slip-op-50164u/
- Court
- Appellate Term, Second Department
- Decided
- January 31, 2007
- Citation
- 2007 NY Slip Op 50164(U) · 14 Misc 3d 135(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Later treatment
- Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
- Legal questions
- MVAIC eligibility: qualified covered person · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Englinton Med., P.C. v MVAIC (2007 NY Slip Op 50164(U))
[*1]| Englinton Med., P.C. v MVAIC |
| 2007 NY Slip Op 50164(U) [14 Misc 3d 135(A)] |
| Decided on January 31, 2007 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., RIOS and BELEN, JJ
2005-1989 K C.
against
MVAIC, Appellant.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (George J. Silver, J.), entered October 18, 2005, deemed an appeal from a judgment of the same court entered November 9, 2005. The judgment, entered upon an order granting plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and denying defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment, awarded plaintiff the principal sum of $2,172.18 plus statutory interest and attorney’s fees.
Judgment affirmed without costs.
We have deemed the appeal from the order entered October 18, 2005 to be an appeal from the judgment entered pursuant to that order (see CPLR 5520 [c]; Neuman v Otto, 114 AD2d 791 [1985]).
In this action to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, we do not pass on the propriety of the determination of the court below that plaintiff established its prima facie case, as defendant raises no issue with respect thereto, but instead argues that plaintiff was not entitled to recover no-fault benefits as an assignee since it failed to establish that its assignor was a “qualified person.”
Contrary to defendant’s contention, the 30-day requirement within which to pay or deny a claim (11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [c]), which applies to defendant Motor Vehicle Accident Indemnification Corporation (sued herein as MVAIC) as well as to other insurers (Insurance Law § 5221 [b] [3]), begins to run upon defendant’s receipt of the claim forms, and does not depend upon whether the eligible injured person has been deemed to be a “qualified person” (Insurance Law § 5202 [b]) by defendant (New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v Motor Veh. [*2]Acc. Indem. Corp., 12 AD3d 429, 430 [2004]). Were the rule otherwise, defendant would be able to “obviate the 30-day time requirement [which] would frustrate the purpose and objective of the No-Fault Law” to ensure prompt payment of first party no-fault benefits without regard to fault, and of the 30-day requirement “to provide a tightly-timed process of claim disputation and payment” (New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v Motor Veh. Acc. Indem. Corp., 12 AD3d at 430, quoting Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274, 281 [1997]). Inasmuch as defendant admittedly neither denied the claims within 30 days after their receipt nor sought to extend that time by timely requesting verification, it was precluded from raising most defenses (see Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274, supra).
It is noted that although defendant purportedly sent to plaintiff provider on July 9, 2003 and August 6, 2003, letters requesting information in order to determine whether plaintiff’s assignor was a “qualified person,” it failed to establish by competent evidence that it did so (see Residential Holding Corp. v Scottsdale Ins. Co., 286 AD2d 679 [2001]). Moreover, defendant’s letter of October 17, 2003, addressed to a law firm, and indicating that benefits were denied based upon plaintiff’s assignor’s failure to demonstrate that she was a “qualified person,” was not a valid request for verification since it did not demand or require a response (New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Eagle Ins. Co., 17 AD3d 646 [2005]). Nor could it be considered a proper denial since it was not “on the prescribed denial of claim form” (Mount Sinai Hosp. v Triboro Coach, 263 AD2d 11, 16 [1999]) or on “a form or letter approved by the department” containing “substantially the same information as the prescribed form” (11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [c] [1]). Accordingly, plaintiff was entitled to summary judgment, as the court below properly determined.
Pesce, P.J., Rios and Belen, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: January 31, 2007
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Against MVAIC, was the claimant shown to be a qualified, covered person meeting article 52’s conditions?
This decision: MVAIC may not rely on the eligibility objection because of untimely denial/verification or waiver
Held MVAIC precluded from contesting qualified-person status because the 30-day period ran from receipt of the claim regardless of qualification and MVAIC neither denied nor validly requested verification in time.
Of the 223 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 16 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's proof did not establish mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held MVAIC failed to establish by competent evidence that it sent its letters requesting information about the assignor's qualified-person status, so they could not extend its time.
Of the 1,341 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 256 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v Motor Veh. Acc. Indem. Corp. (2004 NY Slip Op 08087) FollowedMVAIC must comply with the 30-day deadline to pay or deny a no-fault claim before qualifying the injured claimant.
- New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Eagle Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 03210) FollowedAn insurer was precluded from asserting delayed verification as a defense after failing to pay or deny upon receiving the requested material.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Linden Med., P.C. v MVAIC (2008 NY Slip Op 52188(U)) FollowedAn arbitration claim against MVAIC is governed by the three-year limitations period in CPLR 214 (2), rather than a six-year period.
- Alur Med. Supply, Inc. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 52191(U))A letter that neither demands nor requires a response is not a proper verification request and does not toll the denial period.
- Kipor Medicine P.C. v MVAIC (2009 NY Slip Op 29085)A provider need not prove its assignor's New York residency as part of its prima facie case for no-fault benefits against MVAIC. At trial on stipulated facts, MVAIC conceded receipt of the claim and failure to pay or deny it timely; the provider offered no residency proof.
Similar decisions
- GMV Med. Supplies, Inc. v MVAIC (2007 NY Slip Op 50601(U))MVAIC's 30-day period to pay or deny begins upon receipt of a claim form, without awaiting its determination of qualified-person status.
- Complete Med. Servs., P.C. v MVAIC (2008 NY Slip Op 28269)MVAIC's 30-day period to deny a claim or request verification runs from receipt of the claim, regardless of a qualification determination.
- Village Med. Supply, Inc. v MVAIC (2016 NY Slip Op 51421(U))The provider failed at trial to establish the assignor's eligibility for MVAIC benefits through residency proof and a notice-of-intention affidavit.
- Statewide Med. Servs., P.C. v Motor Veh. Acc. Indem. Corp. (2012 NY Slip Op 52119(U))MVAIC failed to submit competent proof that the assignor was unqualified to receive no-fault benefits or otherwise raise a triable issue.
- M.N.M. Med. Health Care, P.C. v MVAIC (2009 NY Slip Op 50041(U))MVAIC established that the assignor failed to file a timely notice of claim, defeating coverage for the provider's assigned claim.