November 21, 2007
Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Farmers New Century Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 52284(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/delta-diagnostic-radiology-p-c-v-farmers-new-century-ins-co-2007-ny-slip-op52284u/
- Decided
- November 21, 2007
- Citation
- 2007 NY Slip Op 52284(U) · 17 Misc 3d 136(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Legal questions
- Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Farmers New Century Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 52284(U))
| Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Farmers New Century Ins. Co. |
| 2007 NY Slip Op 52284(U) [17 Misc 3d 136(A)] |
| Decided on November 21, 2007 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., WESTON PATTERSON and BELEN, JJ
2006-1102 RI C.
against
Farmers New Century Insurance Co., Appellant.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Richmond County (Peter Paul Sweeney, J.), entered April 20, 2006, deemed an appeal from a judgment entered May 5, 2006 (CPLR 5520 [c]). The judgment, entered pursuant to the April 20, 2006 order granting plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and denying defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment, awarded plaintiff the principal sum of $3,600.
Judgment affirmed without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff moved
for summary judgment. Defendant cross-moved for summary judgment on the ground that prior
to the commencement of the subject action, a related no-fault
matter arising out of the same accident was submitted to arbitration. Defendant contended
that the election to arbitrate precluded this action (see Roggio v Nationwide Mut. Ins.
Co., 66 NY2d 260 [1985]). The court granted plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and
denied defendant’s cross motion. A judgment was subsequently entered.
Upon a review of the record, we find that defendant failed to establish that the instant action was barred. Defendant did not offer evidence to support its contention that there was a prior election by plaintiff to arbitrate a claim for no-fault benefits pertaining to plaintiff’s assignor for injuries allegedly sustained in the accident which gave rise to the claims at issue herein. [*2]
A provider generally establishes its prima facie
entitlement to summary judgment by proof that it submitted the claim forms, setting forth the fact
and the amount of the loss sustained, and that payment of no-fault benefits was overdue
(Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Mary
Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742 [2004]). Inasmuch as defendant
raised no issue in the court below or on appeal with respect to plaintiff’s
establishment of its prima facie case, this court need not pass on the propriety of the
implicit determination of the court below with respect thereto. The burden, therefore,
shifted to defendant to demonstrate the existence of a triable issue of fact (see Alvarez
v Prospect Hosp., 68 NY2d 320, 324 [1986]).
In opposition to plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment, defendant asserted that the amount sought by plaintiff exceeded the amount set forth in the applicable fee schedule and that it timely denied plaintiff’s claims on the ground of lack of medical necessity (11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [c]). However, defendant failed to establish that the denials were timely mailed since the affidavit of defendant’s representative did not state that he personally mailed the denials or set forth defendant’s standard office practice or procedure designed to ensure that items are properly addressed and mailed (see New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 29 AD3d 547 [2006]; Nyack Hosp. v Metropolitan Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co., 16 AD3d 564 [2005]; Residential Holding Corp. v Scottsdale Ins. Co., 286 AD2d 679 [2001]). Moreover, contrary to the dissent, we find no concession by plaintiff in its submissions as to the timeliness of the denials.
Since defendant failed to establish that the claims were denied within the 30-day prescribed
period (11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [c]), defendant is precluded from raising most defenses (see
Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N. Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274, 282 [1997])
including its proffered defenses of lack of medical necessity and that the
fees charged were excessive (see Benson Med., P.C. v Progressive Northeastern Ins.
Co., 12 Misc 3d 144[A], 2006 NY Slip Op 51427[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th
Jud Dists]). Consequently, the judgment is affirmed.
Pesce, P.J., and Belen, J., concur.
Weston Patterson, J., dissents in a separate memorandum.
Weston Patterson, J., dissents and votes to reverse the judgment, vacate so much of the order as granted plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and deny plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment.
I disagree with the majority opinion and vote to reverse the judgment and vacate the part of the order which grants plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment on the ground that defendant has rebutted the prima facie showing of plaintiff. Lack of medical necessity is a defense to an action for recovery of no-fault benefits, and may be asserted by the insurer provided that there has been a timely denial of the claim (see generally Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274 [1997]; Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d 195 [1997]). It is undisputed that defendant issued timely denials as evidenced by the denial of claim forms which were submitted as part of plaintiff’s moving papers (see generally [*3]A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v. Electric Ins. Co., 7 Misc 3d 130[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 50542[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]). Indeed, plaintiff concedes timeliness by its submissions and does not raise the issue either below or on appeal. Thus, the question presented here is not the sufficiency of the affidavit of mailing.
Rather, plaintiff moves for summary judgment solely on the grounds that defendant unreasonably denied the claims. Inasmuch as it is undisputed that defendant’s denials of benefits were timely made within the prescribed statutory period, and the defense of lack of medical necessity having been sufficiently asserted through submissions in admissible form to rebut the prima facie showing (see Liberty Queens Med., P.C. v Liberty Mutual Insurance Co., 2002 NY Slip Op 40420[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]), plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment should not have been granted.
However, I am in agreement with the majority’s opinion that defendant’s cross motion for
summary judgment was properly denied. Defendant failed to submit any admissible proof to
establish that this action was barred.
Decision Date: November 21, 2007
Legal questions
A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's proof did not establish mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice
Held the insurer failed to prove timely mailing of its denials because its representative neither stated he personally mailed them nor described a standard office practice to ensure proper addressing and mailing.
Of the 1,400 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 260 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359)The hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
- New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 03558) FollowedThe providers failed to establish mailing and receipt of the hospital bill asserted in their second cause of action.
- Nyack Hosp. v Metropolitan Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 02235) FollowedThe insurer failed to prove mailing of its denial, and the denial was incomplete even if timely.
- Benson Med., P.C. v Progressive Northeastern Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51427(U)) FollowedAn untimely denial precludes fee-schedule defenses even when the insurer characterizes billing-code disputes as coverage issues.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Electric Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50542(U))The assignor's selective IME attendance established receipt of all listed requests and raised a medical-necessity issue on the no-show denials.
Similar decisions
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Republic W. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 27088)The insurer failed to prove timely mailing of its denials and was precluded from asserting lack of medical necessity on three claims.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 50293(U))The insurer failed to establish timely denials because it mailed them more than 30 days after receiving the claims without proving tolling.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v American Mfrs. Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51439(U))The insurer raised a triable issue of medical necessity through detailed peer reviews and timely denials following verification.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345)An insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Interboro Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 52022(U))The provider waived the defect in a chiropractor's affirmed peer review by failing to object in Civil Court.