November 26, 2008
A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 52651(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/a-b-med-servs-pllc-v-country-wide-ins-co-2008-ny-slip-op-52651u/
- Decided
- November 26, 2008
- Citation
- 2008 NY Slip Op 52651(U) · 22 Misc 3d 132(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
- Later history
- Vacated by A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51016(U))
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 52651(U))
| A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. |
| 2008 NY Slip Op 52651(U) [22 Misc 3d 132(A)] |
| Decided on November 26, 2008 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 9th and 10th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : RUDOLPH, P.J., McCABE and MOLIA, JJ
2008-276 N C.
against
Country-Wide Insurance Company, Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the District Court of Nassau County, Third District (Andrea Phoenix, J.), entered December 10, 2007. The order denied plaintiffs’ motion for partial summary judgment.
Order modified by providing that plaintiffs’ motion for partial summary judgment is granted to the extent of awarding plaintiff A.B. Medical Services, PLLC summary judgment on its claims seeking to recover the sums of $230.10, $71.40, $361.46, $361.46, $1,546.20, $501.76, $71.06, $1,573.24 and $569.36; plaintiff LVOV Acupuncture, P.C. summary judgment on its claims seeking to recover the sums of $650.50, $248.28 and $435.98; and plaintiff RW Health Plus Chiropractic, P.C. summary judgment on its claims seeking to recover the sums of $290.64, $269.60 and $134.80, and the matter is remanded to the court below for the calculation of statutory interest and attorney’s fees thereon, and for further proceedings on all remaining claims.
In this action by providers to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiffs moved for partial summary judgment on various claims, and defendant opposed the motion. The court below denied plaintiffs’ motion. This appeal by plaintiffs ensued. [*2]
Since defendant did not argue in the court below that plaintiffs’ medical biller and billing manager failed to establish that he possessed personal knowledge of plaintiffs’ practices and procedures so as to lay a foundation for the admission, as business records, of plaintiffs’ documents, we do not pass on the propriety of the determination of the court below with respect thereto (see Mary Immaculate Hosp. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 21 Misc 3d 130[A], 2008 NY Slip Op 52046[U] [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists 2008]; Fortune Med., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co., 14 Misc 3d 136[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 50243[U] [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists 2007]).
The record shows that defendant failed to pay or deny the claims by A.B. Medical Services, PLLC (A.B. Med.) seeking the sums of $230.10 and $71.40 within the 30-day prescribed period and that it also failed to establish that such period was extended by its issuance of a timely request for verification. Consequently, defendant was precluded from raising most defenses (see Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274, 282 [1997]), with exceptions not relevant to these claims. As a result, defendant failed to establish the existence of a triable issue of fact with respect to said claims, and A.B. Med. was entitled to summary judgment thereon.
An insurer’s 30-day period in which to either pay or deny a claim may be extended where the insurer submits, within 15 business days of its receipt of the NF-3 claim form, a request for additional verification (see Insurance Department Regulations [11 NYCRR] § 65-3.5 [b]; Nyack Hosp. v General Motors Acceptance Corp., 27 AD3d 96, 100 [2005]; New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 295 AD2d 583, 584-585 [2002]). “A claim need not be paid or denied until all demanded verification is provided” (New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 568, 570 [2004]). Since the affidavit of defendant’s no-fault litigation supervisor lacks specificity to support the assertion that defendant did not receive the verification it requested, it was insufficient to establish that the verification was still outstanding and, thus, that defendant’s time to pay or deny the claims was tolled (see Westchester Med. Ctr. v Countrywide Ins. Co., 45 AD3d 676 [2007]; New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Countrywide Ins. Co., 44 AD3d 729 [2007]; Westchester Med. Ctr. v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 40 AD3d 981 [2007]; cf. Westchester Med. Ctr. v Allstate Ins. Co., 53 AD3d 481 [2008]). As a result, the claims by plaintiff A.B. Med. in the sums of $361.46, $361.46, $1,546.20, $501.76, $71.06, $1,573.24 and $569.36, and the claims by plaintiff RW Health Plus Chiropractic, P.C. (RW Health) in the sums of $290.64, $269.60 and $134.80 are overdue (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Insurance Department Regulations [11 NYCRR] § 65-3.8 [a]), and A.B. Med. and RW Health are entitled to summary judgment upon said claims (see Westchester Med. Ctr., 45 AD3d 676).
Plaintiffs’ contention that defendant’s submissions from the acupuncturist who performed the peer
reviews were insufficient to raise a triable issue of fact with respect to the claims submitted by LVOV
Acupuncture, P.C. (LVOV) is correct. Since the acupuncturist’s peer review reports were unsworn,
the reports were of no probative value (see
Dowling v Mosey, 32 AD3d 1190 [2006]; Macri v St. Agnes Cemetery, 44 Misc 2d
702 [1965]). Accordingly, defendant’s submissions failed to raise a triable issue of fact as to medical
necessity with respect to LVOV’s claims in the sums of
$650.50, $248.28 and $435.98, and LVOV is entitled to summary judgment upon said claims.
However, contrary to plaintiffs’ contention, defendant, through the submission of the [*3]affidavit of its no-fault litigation supervisor and affirmed peer review reports established that the claims by A.B. Med. seeking the sums of $604.24 and $644.50, and by RW Health seeking the sums of $303.30 and $202.20 were properly and timely denied based upon a lack of medical necessity (see A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v American Tr. Ins. Co., 15 Misc 3d 132[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 50680[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]; Amaze Med. Supply Inc. v Travelers Prop. Cas. Corp., 7 Misc 3d 128[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 50452[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2005]). As a result, A.B. Med. and RW Health are not entitled to summary judgment upon said claims.
Although plaintiffs argue that defendant’s denial of a claim by A.B. Med. seeking the sum of $182.37 was untimely, plaintiffs’ exhibits included a copy of said denial of claim form, which is timely on its face and which denied the claim based upon an affirmed peer review report which was also attached to plaintiff’s moving papers. Given the affidavit of defendant’s no-fault litigation supervisor setting forth defendant’s standard office practice and procedure for the generation and mailing of defendant’s denial of claim forms (see Residential Holding Corp. v Scottsdale Ins. Co., 286 AD2d 679 [2001]), plaintiff is not entitled to summary judgment upon said claim.
In view of the foregoing, plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment is granted to the extent of awarding A.B. Med. summary judgment on its claims seeking to recover the sums of $230.10, $71.40, $361.46, $361.46, $1,546.20, $501.76, $71.06, $1,573.24 and $569.36, LVOV summary judgment on its claims seeking to recover the sums of $650.50, $248.28 and $435.98, and RW Health summary judgment on its claims seeking to recover the sums of $290.64, $269.60 and $134.80, and the matter is remanded to the court below for the calculation of statutory interest and an assessment of attorney’s fees due thereon pursuant to Insurance Law § 5106 (a) and the regulations promulgated thereunder, and for all further proceedings on the remaining claims.
Rudolph, P.J., McCabe and Molia, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: November 26, 2008
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice
Held the litigation supervisor's affidavit describing the standard office practice for generating and mailing denials sufficient to show timely denial of a claim, defeating the provider's motion on it.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?
This decision: Insurer's medical-necessity proof failed (conclusory, no factual basis or rationale, inadmissible, not credited)
Held the acupuncturist's unsworn peer reviews of no probative value, so they raised no triable issue and the acupuncture provider won summary judgment, while affirmed peer reviews defeated the motion on other providers' claims.
Of the 617 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 109 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did unanswered verification requests make the provider’s claim premature, or justify denying it for nonresponse?
This decision: Defense rejected because the insurer's requests or proof were deficient
Held the insurer's litigation supervisor's affidavit too unspecific about non-receipt to show that requested verification remained outstanding, so the claims were overdue and the providers won summary judgment.
Of the 374 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 78 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Mary Immaculate Hosp. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 52046(U))The provider recovered on the first claim, but the second was premature because requested assignment verification remained unanswered.
- Fortune Med., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50243(U))An insurer's acknowledgment of claim receipt does not concede the admissibility of the claim forms or the facts they contain.
- New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 01750) FollowedThe insurer proved policy exhaustion on one hospital claim and absence of coverage on another, requiring dismissal of both.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Countrywide Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 09024) FollowedThe insurer failed to prove mailing of verification requests and waived defenses based on incomplete assignment forms.
- New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Countrywide Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 07675)The insurer raised verification and billing-date issues on one claim, but failed to rebut proof of receipt of verification on another.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 04483)The hospital's mailing evidence established receipt of requested verification, defeating the insurer's claim that verification remained outstanding.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 06146) Contrasted (cf., but see)The insurer raised a factual issue about the provider's compliance with timely verification requests for toxicology information.
- A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50680(U))Peer reviews citing insufficient information do not raise a medical-necessity issue without proof that the insurer sought verification.
- Amaze Med. Supply Inc. v Travelers Prop. Cas. Corp. (2005 NY Slip Op 50452(U))An insurer need not seek further verification when a peer review finds no substantiation of equipment's medical necessity in documents obtained for review.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51016(U)) VacatedThe providers obtained partial summary judgment for untimely denials, unproved verification tolling, and unsworn peer reviews.
Similar decisions
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50255(U))An investigation-delay letter identifying no verification sought or source does not toll the 30-day claim determination period.
- RLC Med., P.C. v Allstate Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 52691(U))The medical provider's summary judgment motion was premature because discovery concerning fraudulent incorporation remained outstanding.
- A.B. Med. Servs. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50387(U))The insurer's EUO request did not toll the denial period under the former regulations, and its fraud evidence raised no triable issue.
- First Aid Occupational Therapy, PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50594(U))The provider's claims failed in part for outstanding verification and duplicate billing, while separate reimbursement remained disputed.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Allstate Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 51270(U))The insurer failed to prove timely mailing of its denials, entitling the providers to partial summary judgment on the claims they moved upon.