Matter of Country-Wide Ins. Co. v TC Acupuncture P.C. (2020 NY Slip Op 00048)

Reported in New York Official Reports at Matter of Country-Wide Ins. Co. v TC Acupuncture P.C. (2020 NY Slip Op 00048)

Matter of Country-Wide Ins. Co. v TC Acupuncture P.C.
2020 NY Slip Op 00048 [179 AD3d 414]
January 2, 2020
Appellate Division, First Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
As corrected through Wednesday, March 11, 2020

[*1]

 In the Matter of Country-Wide Insurance Company, Respondent,
v
TC Acupuncture P.C., as Assignee of Corey Crichlow, Appellant.

Gary Tsirelman, P.C., Brooklyn (Gary Tsirelman of counsel), for appellant.

Jaffe & Velazquez, LLP, New York (Jean H. Kang of counsel), for respondent.

Judgment, Supreme Court, New York County (Lynn R. Kotler, J.), entered November 30, 2018, awarding respondent attorney’s fees in the sum total of $980 in connection with a no-fault arbitration award, unanimously modified, on the law, to remand the matter to Supreme Court for a determination of respondent’s reasonable attorney’s fees incurred in the CPLR article 75 proceeding brought by petitioner to vacate the arbitration award and on this appeal, and otherwise affirmed, without costs.

“The attorney’s fee for services rendered . . . in a court appeal from a master arbitration award and any further appeals, shall be fixed by the court adjudicating the matter” (11 NYCRR 65-4.10 [j] [4]). The term “court appeal” applies to a proceeding taken pursuant to CPLR article 75 to vacate or confirm a master arbitration award (see Matter of GEICO Ins. Co. v AAAMG Leasing Corp., 148 AD3d 703, 705 [2d Dept 2017]). Accordingly, respondent TC Acupuncture, as a prevailing applicant for payment by petitioner insurer of attorney’s fees in an article 75 proceeding reviewing an arbitration award, is entitled to an additional award of attorney’s fees, as fixed by the court, for its motion to modify the order, in a 2015 article 75 proceeding denying Countrywide’s petition to vacate the arbitration award, to include a ruling confirming the arbitration and its opposition to Countrywide’s motion to reargue that order. Supreme Court erred in failing to award these additional fees.

Respondent is also entitled to the attorney’s fees incurred in this appeal to this Court of the order issued in the article 75 proceeding, to be fixed by the court, upon remand, pursuant to 11 NYCRR 65-4.10 (j) (4) (see Matter of Country-Wide Ins. Co. v Bay Needle Care Acupuncture, P.C., 162 AD3d 407, 408 [1st Dept 2018]). Concur—Richter, J.P., Gische, Mazzarelli, Gesmer, JJ.

Biotech Surgical Supply, Inc. v Country Wide Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 52143(U))

Reported in New York Official Reports at Biotech Surgical Supply, Inc. v Country Wide Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 52143(U))

SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS

Biotech Surgical Supply, Inc., as Assignee of Louise Moses, Appellant,

against

Country Wide Insurance Company, Respondent.

Glinkenhouse, Floumanhaft & Queen, by Glinkenhouse Queen (Alan Queen and Stephen J. Green of counsel), for appellant. Jaffe & Koumourdas, LLP (Jean H. Kang of counsel), for respondent.

Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Larry Love, J.), entered February 22, 2018. The order, insofar as appealed from, sua sponte stayed the accrual of no-fault statutory interest from February 3, 2003 through February 14, 2017.

ORDERED that the appeal is dismissed.

This action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits was settled in February 2003. Defendant did not pay the settlement amount, and a judgment was entered on January 30, 2017, pursuant to CPLR 5003-a. Plaintiff subsequently moved, pursuant to CPLR 5019 (a), to, in effect, correct the January 30, 2017 judgment by recalculating the interest. By order entered February 22, 2018, the Civil Court granted the motion but, sua sponte, stayed the accrual of statutory no-fault interest from February 3, 2003 through February 14, 2017. Plaintiff appeals from so much of the order as, sua sponte, stayed the accrual of interest.

The portion of the order which tolled the accrual of interest did not address a demand for relief made on notice and was, therefore, sua sponte. Thus, that portion of the order is not appealable as of right (see CCA 1702 [a] [2]; Sholes v Meagher, 100 NY2d 333 [2003]; Active Care Med. Supply Corp. v Delos Ins. Co., 55 Misc 3d 144[A], 2017 NY Slip Op 50650[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2017]), and we decline to grant leave to appeal. [*2]Plaintiff “could properly have moved to vacate the order and appealed as of right” to this court in the event that the motion was denied (Sholes, 100 NY2d at 335; see Active Care Med. Supply Corp., 55 Misc 3d 144[A], 2017 NY Slip Op 50650[U]; see also CCA 1702 [a] [3]), but plaintiff failed to make such a motion.

With respect to the position of the dissenting justice, we submit that deeming the appeal as something other than an improper appeal without permission should not be done routinely, particularly as there have been numerous such appeals made without permission in cases similar to this.

Accordingly, the appeal is dismissed.

PESCE, P.J., and ELLIOT, J., concur.

WESTON, J., dissents and votes to, on the court’s own motion, treat the notice of appeal as an application for leave to appeal and grant leave, and, thereupon, to reverse the order, insofar as appealed from, and to vacate so much of the order as stayed the accrual of statutory no-fault interest, in the following memorandum:

This is yet another case in which this court has had to address the Civil Court’s sua sponte stay of the accrual of statutory no-fault interest. While it may be expedient to dismiss the appeal, in my opinion, plaintiff’s notice of appeal should be treated as a motion for leave to appeal and such leave granted. Alternatively, plaintiff’s motion may be treated as a motion to resettle the judgment, and the court’s order, which materially changed the prior judgment, is appealable (see Weksler v Weksler, 81 AD3d 401 [2011]; Gormel v Prudential Ins. Co. of Am., 151 AD2d 1048 [1989]). Upon granting leave, I would reverse so much of the order as stayed the accrual of no-fault statutory interest.

This action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits was settled in February 2003. Defendant did not pay the settlement amount, and a judgment was subsequently entered on January 30, 2017, pursuant to CPLR 5003-a. Plaintiff appeals from so much of an order of the Civil Court entered February 22, 2018 as sua sponte stayed the accrual of no-fault statutory interest from February 3, 2003 through February 14, 2017.

The Civil Court erred in staying interest from the date of the settlement of the action to the date when the motion was made. Once the case settled, defendant was obligated to pay the agreed-upon amount to plaintiff (see CPLR 5003-a) and “plaintiff, as the prevailing party, was not required to make a demand for the money” (B.Z. Chiropractic, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co., 56 Misc 3d 139[A], 2017 NY Slip Op 51091[U], *2 [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2017]; see CPLR 5003-a [e]). Defendant did not demonstrate that plaintiff had prevented defendant in any way from paying the settlement amount (see ERHAL Holding Corp. v Rusin, 252 AD2d 473, 474 [1998]; Juracka v Ferrara, 120 AD2d 822 [1986]; Craniofacial Pain Mgt. v Allstate Ins. Co., 61 Misc 3d 155[A], 2018 NY Slip Op 51825[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th [*3]& 13th Jud Dists 2018]; B.Z. Chiropractic, P.C., 56 Misc 3d 139[A], 2017 NY Slip Op 51091[U]). Therefore, the Civil Court erred in tolling the accrual of interest (see Craniofacial Pain Mgt., 61 Misc 3d 155[A], 2018 NY Slip Op 51825[U]; B.Z. Chiropractic, P.C., 56 Misc 3d 139[A], 2017 NY Slip Op 51091[U]).

Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, should be reversed, and so much of the order as stayed the accrual of statutory no-fault interest from February 3, 2003 to February 14, 2017 should be vacated.


ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: December 31, 2019
Family One Chiropractor, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 52142(U))

Reported in New York Official Reports at Family One Chiropractor, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 52142(U))

SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS

Family One Chiropractor, P.C., as Assignee of James Morse, Appellant,

against

Country-Wide Insurance Co., Respondent.

Glinkenhouse, Floumanhaft & Queen, by Glinkenhouse Queen (Alan Queen and Stephen J. Green of counsel), for appellant. Jaffe & Koumourdas, LLP (Jean H. Kang of counsel), for respondent.

Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Larry Love, J.), entered February 20, 2018. The order, insofar as appealed from, sua sponte stayed the accrual of no-fault statutory interest from February 20, 2008 through February 22, 2017.

ORDERED that the appeal is dismissed.

This action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits was settled in February 2008. Defendant did not pay the settlement amount, and a judgment was entered on January 31, 2017 pursuant to CPLR 5003-a. Plaintiff subsequently moved, pursuant to CPLR 5019 (a), to, in effect, correct the January 31, 2017 judgment by recalculating the interest. By order entered February 20, 2018, the Civil Court granted the motion but, sua sponte, stayed the accrual of statutory no-fault interest from February 20, 2008 through February 22, 2017. Plaintiff appeals from so much of the order as, sua sponte, stayed the accrual of interest.

The portion of the order which tolled the accrual of interest did not address a demand for relief made on notice and was, therefore, sua sponte. Thus, that portion of the order is not appealable as of right (see CCA 1702 [a] [2]; Sholes v Meagher, 100 NY2d 333 [2003]; Active Care Med. Supply Corp. v Delos Ins. Co., 55 Misc 3d 144[A], 2017 NY Slip Op 50650[U] [App [*2]Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2017]), and we decline to grant leave to appeal. Plaintiff “could properly have moved to vacate the order and appealed as of right” to this court in the event that the motion was denied (Sholes, 100 NY2d at 335; see Active Care Med. Supply Corp., 55 Misc 3d 144[A], 2017 NY Slip Op 50650[U]; see also CCA 1702 [a] [3]), but plaintiff failed to make such a motion.

With respect to the position of the dissenting justice, we submit that deeming the appeal as something other than an improper appeal without permission should not be done routinely, particularly as there have been numerous such appeals made without permission in cases similar to this.

Accordingly, the appeal is dismissed.

PESCE, P.J., and ELLIOT, J., concur.

WESTON, J., dissents and votes to, on the court’s own motion, treat the notice of appeal as an application for leave to appeal and grant leave, and, thereupon, to reverse the order, insofar as appealed from, and to vacate so much of the order as stayed the accrual of statutory no-fault interest, in the following memorandum:

This is yet another case in which this court has had to address the Civil Court’s sua sponte stay of the accrual of statutory no-fault interest. While it may be expedient to dismiss the appeal, in my opinion, plaintiff’s notice of appeal should be treated as a motion for leave to appeal and such leave granted. Alternatively, plaintiff’s motion may be treated as a motion to resettle the judgment, and the court’s order, which materially changed the prior judgment, is appealable (see Weksler v Weksler, 81 AD3d 401 [2011]; Gormel v Prudential Ins. Co. of Am., 151 AD2d 1048 [1989]). Upon granting leave, I would reverse so much of the order as stayed the accrual of no-fault statutory interest.

This action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits was settled in February 2008. Defendant did not pay the settlement amount, and a judgment was entered on January 31, 2017 pursuant to CPLR 5003-a. Plaintiff appeals from so much of an order of the Civil Court entered February 20, 2018 as sua sponte stayed the accrual of no-fault statutory interest from February 20, 2008 through February 22, 2017.

The Civil Court erred in staying interest from the date of the settlement of the action to the date when the motion was made. Once the case settled, defendant was obligated to pay the agreed-upon amount to plaintiff (see CPLR 5003-a) and “plaintiff, as the prevailing party, was not required to make a demand for the money” (B.Z. Chiropractic, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co., 56 Misc 3d 139[A], 2017 NY Slip Op 51091[U], *2 [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2017]; see CPLR 5003-a [e]). Defendant did not demonstrate that plaintiff had prevented defendant in any way from paying the settlement amount (see ERHAL Holding Corp. v Rusin, 252 AD2d 473, 474 [1998]; Juracka v Ferrara, 120 AD2d 822 [1986]; Craniofacial Pain Mgt. v [*3]Allstate Ins. Co., 61 Misc 3d 155[A], 2018 NY Slip Op 51825[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2018]; B.Z. Chiropractic, P.C., 56 Misc 3d 139[A], 2017 NY Slip Op 51091[U]). Therefore, the Civil Court erred in tolling the accrual of interest (see Craniofacial Pain Mgt., 61 Misc 3d 155[A], 2018 NY Slip Op 51825[U]; B.Z. Chiropractic, P.C., 56 Misc 3d 139[A], 2017 NY Slip Op 51091[U]).

Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, should be reversed, and so much of the order as stayed the accrual of statutory no-fault interest from February 20, 2008 to February 22, 2017 should be vacated.


ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: December 31, 2019
Gagliardi v MVAIC (2019 NY Slip Op 52083(U))

Reported in New York Official Reports at Gagliardi v MVAIC (2019 NY Slip Op 52083(U))

[*1]
Gagliardi v MVAIC
2019 NY Slip Op 52083(U) [66 Misc 3d 132(A)]
Decided on December 20, 2019
Appellate Term, First Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.


Decided on December 20, 2019
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, FIRST DEPARTMENT
PRESENT: Shulman, P.J., Edmead, J.
570353/19

Anthony Gagliardi, D.C. a/a/o Ronnie Springer, Plaintiff-Respondent,

against

MVAIC, Defendant-Appellant.


Defendant appeals from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Bronx County (Denise M. Dominguez, J.), entered August 27, 2018, which denied its motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.

Per Curiam.

Order (Denise M. Dominguez, J.), entered August 27, 2018, affirmed, without costs.

Defendant MVAIC’s motion for summary judgment dismissing this first-party no-fault action was properly denied. The burden is on MVAIC to prove its “lack of coverage” defense in support of its motion for summary judgment (see e.g. Pomona Med. Diagnostic, P.C. v MVAIC, 32 Misc 3d 140[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 51573[U] [App Term, 1st Dept 2011]). Here, MVAIC failed to eliminate all triable issues concerning coverage since its own proof contains conflicting evidence about the ownership of the vehicle (see Karina K. Acupuncture, P.C. v MVAIC, 55 Misc 3d 139[A], 2017 NY Slip Op 50546[U] [App Term, 1st Dept 2017]; VS Care Acupuncture, PC v MVAIC, 51 Misc 3d 147[A], 2016 NY Slip Op 50764[U] [App Term, 1st Dept 2016]). Specifically, although MVAIC contends that the assignor Ronnie Springer was the owner of the uninsured vehicle, and therefore not a “qualified person” (Insurance Law § 5202[b]), evidence in the record tends to indicate that the assignor was neither the registered owner nor title holder of the vehicle, and that the vehicle was registered to one Melanie Gamble.

THIS CONSTITUTES THE DECISION AND ORDER OF THE COURT.


I concur I concur
Decision Date: December 20, 2019Repwest Ins. Co. v Hanif (2019 NY Slip Op 09047)

Reported in New York Official Reports at Repwest Ins. Co. v Hanif (2019 NY Slip Op 09047)

Repwest Ins. Co. v Hanif
2019 NY Slip Op 09047 [178 AD3d 973]
December 18, 2019
Appellate Division, Second Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
As corrected through Wednesday, January 29, 2020

[*1]

 Repwest Insurance Company et al., Respondents,
v
Nazim Hanif et al., Defendants, and Hereford Insurance Company, Appellant.

Goldberg, Miller & Rubin, P.C., New York, NY (Harlan R. Schreiber of counsel), for appellant.

Nicoletti Gonson Spinner Ryan Gulino Pinter LLP, New York, NY (Benjamin Gonson of counsel), for respondents.

In an action, inter alia, for certain declaratory relief, the nominal defendant Hereford Insurance Company appeals from an order of the Supreme Court, Kings County (Andrew Borrok, J.), dated March 29, 2018. The order, insofar as appealed from, denied the motion of the nominal defendant Hereford Insurance Company for leave to enter a default judgment on its counterclaim for loss transfer pursuant to Insurance Law § 5105 (a) insofar as asserted against the plaintiff Repwest Insurance Company and deemed the reply of the plaintiff Repwest Insurance Company to the counterclaim to have been served.

Ordered that the order is reversed insofar as appealed from, on the law, with costs to the plaintiff Repwest Insurance Company, and the counterclaim of the nominal defendant Hereford Insurance Company is dismissed for lack of subject matter jurisdiction.

The plaintiff Repwest Insurance Company (hereinafter Repwest) commenced this action for a judgment declaring, inter alia, that it has no duty to provide insurance coverage for any claims arising out of a collision between a livery vehicle insured by the nominal defendant Hereford Insurance Company (hereinafter Hereford) and a vehicle driven by the defendant Nazim Hanif and insured by Repwest. The defendants Dinorah Carmen Anglero, Dario Ferrer de la Cruz, and Ramon Duarte Garcia were passengers in the livery vehicle and no-fault benefits were paid on their behalf by Hereford. Repwest alleged that there is no coverage for the subject incident because it was not an accident, but rather the result of an intentional act/fraudulent scheme. Thereafter, Hereford interposed an answer to the complaint and asserted a counterclaim against Repwest, among others, for loss transfer pursuant to Insurance Law § 5105 (a).

After Repwest failed to timely reply to the counterclaim, Hereford moved for leave to enter a default judgment on its counterclaim insofar as asserted against Repwest. The Supreme Court denied Hereford’s motion and deemed Repwest’s reply to the counterclaim to have been served. Hereford appeals.

Pursuant to Insurance Law § 5105 (b), “[t]he sole remedy of any insurer or compensation provider to recover on a claim arising pursuant to subsection (a) hereof, shall be the submission of the controversy to mandatory arbitration pursuant to procedures promulgated or approved by the superintendent” (see Matter of Infinity Indem. Ins. Co. v Hereford Ins. Co., 149 AD3d 1075, 1076 [2017]; see also State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 150 AD2d 976, 977 [1989]). Contrary to Hereford’s contention, since its counterclaim is for loss transfer pursuant to section 5105 (a), the counterclaim is subject to mandatory arbitration and the Supreme Court had no subject matter jurisdiction over the counterclaim (see Insurance Law § 5105 [b]; State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 150 AD2d at 977-978). Repwest’s complaint and its disclaimer of coverage for the subject incident do not dictate a different result (see State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 150 AD2d at 977-978; DTG Operations, Inc. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 2013 NY Slip Op 30119[U] [Sup Ct, NY County 2013]; 11 NYCRR 65-4.11 [a] [6]).

Although Repwest did not seek dismissal of the counterclaim in the Supreme Court, “a court’s lack of subject matter jurisdiction is not waivable, but may be [raised] at any stage of the action, and the court may, ex mero motu [on its own motion], at any time, when its attention is called to the facts, refuse to proceed further and dismiss the action” (Financial Indus. Regulatory Auth., Inc. v Fiero, 10 NY3d 12, 17 [2008] [internal quotation marks omitted]; see Caffrey v North Arrow Abstract & Settlement Servs., Inc., 160 AD3d 121, 133 [2018]). Since the court lacked subject matter jurisdiction over Hereford’s counterclaim, the counterclaim should have been dismissed (see Empire Ins. Co. v Metropolitan Suburban Bus. Auth., 159 AD2d 312, 312 [1990]; see also State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 150 AD2d at 978).

In light of our determination, we need not reach the parties’ remaining contentions. Rivera, J.P., Dillon, Roman and Duffy, JJ., concur.

Comprehensive Care Physical Therapy, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 52070(U))

Reported in New York Official Reports at Comprehensive Care Physical Therapy, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 52070(U))

[*1]
Comprehensive Care Physical Therapy, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co.
2019 NY Slip Op 52070(U) [66 Misc 3d 131(A)]
Decided on December 13, 2019
Appellate Term, Second Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.

Decided on December 13, 2019

SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS


PRESENT: : MICHAEL L. PESCE, P.J., THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, BERNICE D. SIEGAL, JJ
2018-1813 K C
Comprehensive Care Physical Therapy, P.C., as Assignee of Vunibobo, Mereoni, Appellant,

against

GEICO Ins. Co., Respondent.

The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell of counsel), for appellant. Rivkin Radler, LLP (Stuart M. Bodoff of counsel), for respondent.

Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Sharon Bourne-Clarke, J.), entered June 15, 2018. The order denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.

ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.

In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court which denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that plaintiff had failed to appear for duly scheduled examinations under oath.

For the reasons stated in Omphil Care, Inc., as Assignee of Small, Shereen v GEICO Ins. Co. (__ Misc 3d ___, 2019 NY Slip Op _____ [appeal No. 2018-1604 K C], decided herewith), the order is affirmed.

PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SIEGAL, JJ., concur.


ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: December 13, 2019
Comprehensive Care Physical Therapy, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 52069(U))

Reported in New York Official Reports at Comprehensive Care Physical Therapy, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 52069(U))

[*1]
Comprehensive Care Physical Therapy, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co.
2019 NY Slip Op 52069(U) [66 Misc 3d 131(A)]
Decided on December 13, 2019
Appellate Term, Second Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.

Decided on December 13, 2019

SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS


PRESENT: : MICHAEL L. PESCE, P.J., THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, BERNICE D. SIEGAL, JJ
2018-1811 K C
Comprehensive Care Physical Therapy, P.C., as Assignee of Greenberg, Andrea, Appellant,

against

GEICO Ins. Co., Respondent.

The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell of counsel), for appellant. Rivkin Radler, LLP (Stuart M. Bodoff of counsel), for respondent.

Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Sharon Bourne-Clarke, J.), entered June 15, 2018. The order denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.

ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.

In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court which denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that plaintiff had failed to appear for duly scheduled examinations under oath.

For the reasons stated in Omphil Care, Inc., as Assignee of Small, Shereen v GEICO Ins. Co. (__ Misc 3d ___, 2019 NY Slip Op _____ [appeal No. 2018-1604 K C], decided herewith), the order is affirmed.

PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SIEGAL, JJ., concur.


ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: December 13, 2019
Active Care Med. Supply Corp. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 52068(U))

Reported in New York Official Reports at Active Care Med. Supply Corp. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 52068(U))

[*1]
Active Care Med. Supply Corp. v American Tr. Ins. Co.
2019 NY Slip Op 52068(U) [66 Misc 3d 131(A)]
Decided on December 13, 2019
Appellate Term, Second Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.

Decided on December 13, 2019

SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS


PRESENT: : MICHAEL L. PESCE, P.J., THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, BERNICE D. SIEGAL, JJ
2018-1771 K C
Active Care Medical Supply Corp., as Assignee of Sanchez, Yerson D., Appellant,

against

American Transit Ins. Co., Respondent.

The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell of counsel), for appellant. Law Office of Daniel J. Tucker, for respondent (no brief filed).

Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Rosemarie Montalbano, J.), entered June 18, 2018. The order denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.

ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.

In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court which denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that plaintiff had failed to appear for duly scheduled examinations under oath (EUOs).

Contrary to plaintiff’s contentions on appeal, defendant established that the EUO scheduling letters had been timely mailed (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]) and that plaintiff had failed to appear for the duly scheduled EUOs (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720 [2006]).

Accordingly, the order is affirmed.

PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SIEGAL, JJ., concur.


ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: December 13, 2019
Omphil Care, Inc. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 52065(U))

Reported in New York Official Reports at Omphil Care, Inc. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 52065(U))

[*1]
Omphil Care, Inc. v GEICO Ins. Co.
2019 NY Slip Op 52065(U) [66 Misc 3d 131(A)]
Decided on December 13, 2019
Appellate Term, Second Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.

Decided on December 13, 2019

SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS


PRESENT: : MICHAEL L. PESCE, P.J., THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, BERNICE D. SIEGAL, JJ
2018-1604 K C
Omphil Care, Inc., as Assignee of Small, Shereen, Appellant,

against

GEICO Ins. Co., Respondent.

The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell of counsel), for appellant. Rivkin Radler, LLP (Stuart M. Bodoff of counsel), for respondent.

Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Harriet L. Thompson, J.), entered February 20, 2018. The order granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and denied plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment.

ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.

In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court which granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that plaintiff had failed to appear for duly scheduled examinations under oath (EUOs) and denied plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment.

Contrary to plaintiff’s contentions, the proof submitted by defendant in support of its motion was sufficient to give rise to a presumption that the EUO scheduling letters and denial of claim form had been timely mailed (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]) and to demonstrate that plaintiff had failed to appear for the EUOs (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720 [2006]; Gentlecare Ambulatory Anesthesia Servs. v GEICO Ins. Co., 59 Misc 3d 152[A], 2018 NY Slip Op 50864[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2018]).

Accordingly, the order is affirmed.

PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SIEGAL, JJ., concur.


ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: December 13, 2019
Aries Chiropractic, P.C. v Ameriprise Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 52064(U))

Reported in New York Official Reports at Aries Chiropractic, P.C. v Ameriprise Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 52064(U))

[*1]
Aries Chiropractic, P.C. v Ameriprise Ins. Co.
2019 NY Slip Op 52064(U) [66 Misc 3d 130(A)]
Decided on December 13, 2019
Appellate Term, Second Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.

Decided on December 13, 2019

SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS


PRESENT: : MICHAEL L. PESCE, P.J., THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, BERNICE D. SIEGAL, JJ
2018-1596 K C
Aries Chiropractic, P.C., as Assignee of Max Guzhva, Appellant,

against

Ameriprise Ins. Co., Respondent.

Kopelevich & Feldsherova, P.C. (David Landfair of counsel), for appellant. Bruno, Gerbino & Soriano, LLP (Nathan M. Shapiro of counsel), for respondent.

Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Harriet L. Thompson), entered July 5, 2018. The order granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.

ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.

In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court which granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that plaintiff had failed to appear for duly scheduled examinations under oath (EUOs).

Contrary to plaintiff’s contention, defendant’s denial of claim form did not need to set forth the dates of the EUOs for which plaintiff had failed to appear. “Had it been the intent of the Department of [Financial Services] to require the carrier to set forth [the dates of the scheduled EUOs] in the prescribed denial of claim form (see NYS Form N-F 10; 11 NYCRR 65-3.4 [c] [11]), it would have so provided” (A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 39 AD3d 779, 780 [2007]; A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v GEICO Cas. Ins. Co., 39 AD3d 778, 779 [2007]; cf. Unitrin Advantage Ins. Co. v All of NY, Inc., 158 AD3d 449 [1st Dept 2018]).

Accordingly, the order is affirmed.

PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SIEGAL, JJ., concur.


ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: December 13, 2019