Reported in New York Official Reports at Blackman Pelham Med., P.C. v MVAIC (2020 NY Slip Op 51406(U))
[*1]| Blackman Pelham Med., P.C. v MVAIC |
| 2020 NY Slip Op 51406(U) [69 Misc 3d 1217(A)] |
| Decided on November 18, 2020 |
| Civil Court Of The City Of New York, Kings County |
| Mallafre Melendez, J. |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on November 18, 2020
Blackman Pelham
Medical, P.C., a/a/o Norquis Pineda, Plaintiff,
against MVAIC, Defendant. |
717938-18/KI
Attorney for Plaintiff: David Landfair, Esq., Kopelevich & Feldsherova, PC 241 37th Street, Ste. B439, Brooklyn, NY 11232
Attorney for Defendant: Jeffrey Kadushin, Esq., on motion, Marshall & Marshall, PLLC 30 Jericho Executive Plaza, Ste. 100W, Jericho, New York 11753
Consuelo Mallafre Melendez, J.
The court’s Decision and Order is based upon consideration of the following papers:
CPLR 2219(a) Recitation
NOTICE OF MOTION & AFFIDAVITS ANNEXED 1
OPPOSITION/CROSS-MOTION 2, 3
REPLY/OPPOSITION TO CROSS-MOTION
SUR REPLY
After oral argument and upon the foregoing cited papers, the Decision/Order on Defendant’s motion for summary judgment and Plaintiff’s cross-motion for summary judgment, is as follows:
As to the fourth bill in Plaintiff’s complaint in the amount of $249.96 for dates of service on April 9, 2015, Plaintiff established through the affidavit of its manager, Ruslan Bogatko, that the bill was submitted and never paid or denied. The affidavit is detailed and not conclusory. Plaintiff’s position is further supported by the provider’s proof of mailing log which includes this bill. However, Defendant, through its submissions failed to raise a triable issue of fact. Therefore, Plaintiff is entitled to judgment as to this bill, with statutory interest accruing from the date the bill came due.
As to the first, second, third, fifth, and sixth bills listed in the complaint, which cover dates of service from March 27, 2015 through April 27, 2015, in the total amount of $978.76, Defendant admits receipt of the bills between May 7, 2015, and May 28, 2015. Defendant also admits that the seventh bill for date of service on June 22, 2015 in the amount of $92.97, was received on July 7, 2015.
Defendant claims that they timely sent verification requests to Blackman Medical on [*2]June 10, 2015 and on July 16, 2015. They claim that a year later, on June 21, 2016, they received a response from a Windhaven Insurance Company and MVAIC determined that the assignor was “Qualified” for coverage. The court notes that Defendant did not state when a verification request was sent to Windhaven Insurance Company. On August 9, 2016, Defendant issued a denial of said bills. Defendant relied on their claim that “qualification” requests are outstanding to toll the bills.
The court finds that Defendant’s denials were untimely. The Legislature has made it clear that MVAIC is subject to the same requirements under the No-Fault regulations as insurers (Insurance Law § 5221[b][3]). The Appellate Division has determined that defendant MVAIC maintains the same rights and obligations which are applicable to an insurer subject to Insurance Law Article 51 (NY Hosp. Med. Ctr. v. Motor Veh. Acc. Indem. Corp., 784 N.Y.S.2d 593 [2nd Dept. 2004], lv appeal denied 825 N.E.2d 1093 [2005]). The Second Department has expressly rejected a “defendant’s contention that the 30-day time requirement contained in 11 NYCRR 65.15(g)(3) does not apply to it until after it has ‘qualified’ an injured party” (New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v. Motor Veh. Acc. Indem. Corp., 12 AD3d 429 [2d Dept 2004]; see also Daily Med. Equip. Dist. Ctr., Inc. v. MVAIC, 53 Misc 3d 148[A] [App Term, 2d Dept 2016]; Active Care Medical Supply Corp. v. MVAIC, 120 N.Y.S.3d 558, [NY Sup. Crt. App Term 2019]).
In Daily Medical Equipment Distribution Center, Inc. v. MVAIC, a case similar to the instant matter, the Appellate Term stated:
“[i]n New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v. Motor Veh. Acc. Indem. Corp. (12 AD3d 429 [2004]), the Appellate Division rejected MVAIC’s contention, which MVAIC similarly asserts here, that the 30—day claim determination period does not begin to run until after MVAIC is satisfied that a claimant is a “qualified person” (see Insurance Law § 5202[b]) who is also a “covered person” (see Insurance Law § 5221[b][2]; New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens, 12 AD3d 429). The Appellate Division held that defenses which are subject to preclusion remain subject to the time frames set forth in the regulations applicable to claims which seek to recover first-party no-fault benefits pursuant to Insurance Law article 51″ (Daily Med. Equip. Dist. Ctr., Inc. v. MVAIC, 53 Misc 3d 148[A]).
Recently, in T & S Med. Supply Corp. v. Motor Veh. Acc. Indem. Corp, the Appellate Term held that “(c)ontrary to MVAIC’s contention, the 30-day period within which MVAIC may timely deny a claim or request verification begins to run upon receipt of the claim without regard to whether MVAIC has determined that plaintiff’s assignor is a qualified person within the meaning of Insurance Law § 5202 (b) (63 Misc 3d 150 [A] [App Term, 2d Dept., 2d, 11th & 13th Jud. Dists. 2019]).
In this case, after it deemed the assignor “qualified,” Defendant sent denials of said bills on August 9, 2016. Having received these bills in May of 2015 and June 2015, they were improperly delayed by Defendant and are therefore untimely.
Further, as to the first, second, third, fifth, sixth and seventh bills listed in the complaint, the Defendant’s motion is also based on non-cooperation with requests for independent medical examinations which were scheduled for July 21, 2016, July 25, 2016 and August 8, 2016. However, such requests must “compl[y] with Insurance Department Regulations (11 NYCRR) § 65-3.5(d), which prescribes a 30-calendar-day time frame for the holding of IMEs” (American Transit Ins. Co. v. Longevity Med. Supply, 131 AD3d 841 [1st Dept 2015]). Here, as noted [*3]above, the bills were received between May 7, 2015, and May 28, 2015 and the seventh bill was received on July 7, 2015. However, the first IME was scheduled over a year later, rendering the IME requests void.
In light of Defendant’s untimely denials and the untimely IME requests, Plaintiff is entitled to judgment as to the first, second, third, fifth, sixth and seventh bills listed in the complaint, with statutory interest accruing from the date that Plaintiff filed the instant action. Plaintiff may also enter judgment as to the fourth bill for the reasons previously noted.
In sum, Plaintiff may enter judgment in the amount of $1321.69, with statutory interest, attorney fees, costs, and disbursements.
This constitutes the decision and order of this court.
November 18, 2020
Brooklyn, NY
CONSUELO MALLAFRE MELENDEZ
Judge, Civil CourtWave Med. Servs., P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. (2020 NY Slip Op 51383(U))
Reported in New York Official Reports at Wave Med. Servs., P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. (2020 NY Slip Op 51383(U))
| Wave Med. Servs., P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. |
| 2020 NY Slip Op 51383(U) [69 Misc 3d 145(A)] |
| Decided on November 13, 2020 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on November 13, 2020
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, P.J., DAVID ELLIOT, BERNICE D. SIEGAL, JJ
2019-163 K C
against
Global Liberty Insurance, Appellant.
Law Office of Jason Tenenbaum, P.C. (Shaaker Bhuiyan of counsel), for appellant. The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell of counsel), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Robin S. Garson, J.), dated December 5, 2018. The order, insofar as appealed from as limited by the brief, granted the branch of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment upon the second cause of action.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is reversed, with $30 costs, and the branch of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment upon the second cause of action is denied.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant appeals, as limited by its brief, from so much of an order of the Civil Court as granted the branch of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment upon the second cause of action.
Plaintiff failed to establish its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment upon the second cause of action, since plaintiff did not establish either that defendant failed to timely deny the claim at issue (see Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 25 NY3d 498 [2015]), or that defendant issued a timely denial of claim form that was conclusory, vague or without merit as a matter of law (see Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 78 AD3d 1168 [2010]; Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co., 32 Misc 3d 128[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 51292[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]).
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is reversed and the branch of plaintiff’s [*2]motion seeking summary judgment upon the second cause of action is denied.
ALIOTTA, P.J., ELLIOT and SIEGAL, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: November 13, 2020
Reported in New York Official Reports at Lenex Servs., Inc. v Global Liberty Ins. of N.Y. (2020 NY Slip Op 51382(U))
| Lenex Servs., Inc. v Global Liberty Ins. of N.Y. |
| 2020 NY Slip Op 51382(U) [69 Misc 3d 145(A)] |
| Decided on November 13, 2020 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on November 13, 2020
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, P.J., DAVID ELLIOT, BERNICE D. SIEGAL, JJ
2019-133 K C
against
Global Liberty Ins. of NY, Appellant.
Law Office of Jason Tenenbaum, P.C. (Shaaker Bhuiyan of counsel), for appellant. Zara Javakov, P.C. (Zara Javakov of counsel), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Cenceria P. Edwards, J.), entered November 27, 2018. The order, insofar as appealed from, denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant appeals from so much of an order of the Civil Court as denied defendant’s motion which had sought summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear for duly scheduled independent medical examinations (IMEs).
Contrary to defendant’s contention, defendant’s moving papers were insufficient to establish that the letters scheduling IMEs had been properly addressed and mailed (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]). As a result, defendant failed to demonstrate that the IMEs had been properly scheduled and, thus, that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear at duly scheduled IMEs (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720, 722 [2006]). Consequently, defendant is not entitled to summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed.
ALIOTTA, P.J., ELLIOT and SIEGAL, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: November 13, 2020
Reported in New York Official Reports at Metro Pain Specialist, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. PIP/BI Claims (2020 NY Slip Op 51381(U))
| Metro Pain Specialist, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. PIP/BI Claims |
| 2020 NY Slip Op 51381(U) [69 Misc 3d 144(A)] |
| Decided on November 13, 2020 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on November 13, 2020
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, P.J., DAVID ELLIOT, BERNICE D. SIEGAL, JJ
2019-129 K C
against
State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co. PIP/BI Claims, Respondent.
The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell of counsel), for appellant. De Martini & Yi, LLP (Bryan Visnius of counsel), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Michael Gerstein, J.), entered December 13, 2018. The order granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and denied plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment.
ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court which granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that the amount of available coverage had been exhausted and denied plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment.
Contrary to plaintiff’s contention as to defendant’s motion, defendant’s payment log was properly considered by the court (see e.g. Performance Plus Med., P.C. v MVAIC, 55 Misc 3d 151[A], 2017 NY Slip Op 50761[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2017]).
Accordingly, the order is affirmed.
ALIOTTA, P.J., ELLIOT and SIEGAL, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: November 13, 2020
Reported in New York Official Reports at ARIS Diagnostic Med., PLLC v Ameriprise Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 51380(U))
| ARIS Diagnostic Med., PLLC v Ameriprise Ins. Co. |
| 2020 NY Slip Op 51380(U) [69 Misc 3d 144(A)] |
| Decided on November 13, 2020 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on November 13, 2020
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, P.J., DAVID ELLIOT, BERNICE D. SIEGAL, JJ
2019-120 K C
against
Ameriprise Insurance Company, Appellant.
Bruno, Gerbino. Soriano & Aitken, LLP (Nathan M. Shapiro of counsel), for appellant. Zara Javakov, P.C. (Zara Javakov of counsel), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Sharon Bourne-Clarke, J.), entered November 8, 2018. The order, insofar as appealed from as limited by the brief, granted plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is reversed, with $30 costs, and plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment is denied.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant appeals, as limited by the brief, from so much of an order of the Civil Court as granted plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment.
Upon a review of the record, we find that defendant demonstrated the existence of issues of fact as to whether a misrepresentation had been made to defendant in connection with the issuance of the subject insurance policy (see Matter of Insurance Co. of N. Am. v Kaplun, 274 AD2d 293 [2000]) and, if such a misrepresentation was made, whether it was material (see Interboro Ins. Co. v Fatmir, 89 AD3d 993 [2011]).
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is reversed and plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment is denied.
ALIOTTA, P.J., ELLIOT and SIEGAL, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: November 13, 2020
Reported in New York Official Reports at Gentlecare Ambulatory Anesthesia Servs.; Lyonel F. Paul M.D. v Hereford Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 51379(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
Hereford Insurance Co., Appellant.
Goldberg, Miller and Rubin, P.C. (Timothy R. Bishop of counsel), for appellant. The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell of counsel), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Sharon Bourne-Clarke, J.), entered November 8, 2018, deemed from a judgment of that court entered December 19, 2018 (see CPLR 5501 [c]). The judgment, entered pursuant to the November 8, 2018 order denying defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and granting plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment, awarded plaintiff the principal sum of $4,183.05.
ORDERED that the judgment is reversed, with $30 costs, the order dated November 8, 2018 is vacated, defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted and plaintiff’s cross motion is denied.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant appeals from an order of the Civil Court denying defendant’s motion which had sought summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that defendant had established that there was no coverage for no-fault benefits since defendant had not issued an automobile insurance policy which would cover the underlying accident, and granting plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment. A judgment was subsequently entered on December 19, 2018, from which the appeal is deemed to have been taken (see CPLR 5501 [c]).
“[A] lack of coverage defense may be raised without regard to any issue as to the [*2]propriety or timeliness of an insurer’s denial of claim form (see Zappone v Home Ins. Co., 55 NY2d 131, 135-136 [1982] [lack of coverage defense is not precluded]; see also Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d 195 [1997]). The papers submitted by defendant in support of its [ ] motion were sufficient to establish that the policy being sued upon was a workers’ compensation insurance policy which did not cover plaintiff’s claim to receive reimbursement of assigned first-party no-fault benefits. As plaintiff failed to demonstrate the existence of an applicable automobile insurance policy issued by defendant or to otherwise raise a triable issue of fact, [defendant’s motion for summary judgment should have been granted]” (Ultimate Health Prods., Inc. v Hereford Ins. Co., 51 Misc 3d 127[A], 2016 NY Slip Op 50367[U], *1 [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2016]; Flatbush Chiropractic, P.C. v Hereford Ins. Co., 49 Misc 3d 149[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 51712[U], *1 [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2015]).
Accordingly, the judgment is reversed, the order dated November 8, 2018 is vacated, defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted and plaintiff’s cross motion is denied.
ALIOTTA, P.J., ELLIOT and SIEGAL, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: November 13, 2020
Reported in New York Official Reports at A.C. Med., P.C. v Ameriprise Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 51378(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
Ameriprise Insurance Company, Appellant.
Bruno, Gerbino. Soriano & Aitken, LLP (Nathan M. Shapiro of counsel), for appellant. Law Office of Melissa Betancourt, P.C. (Melissa Betancourt of counsel), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Cenceria P. Edwards, J.), entered November 28, 2018. The order denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is modified by providing that the branch of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon claims submitted by plaintiff A.C. Medical, P.C. is granted; as so modified, the order is affirmed, without costs.
In this action by providers to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant appeals from an order of the Civil Court which denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
With respect to plaintiff A.C. Medical, P.C. (ACM), defendant established that initial and follow-up letters scheduling an examination under oath (EUO) had been timely mailed (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]); that ACM had failed to appear on either date (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720 [2006]); and that the claims had been timely denied on that ground (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond, 50 AD3d 1123). As ACM failed to raise a triable issue of fact in opposition to defendant’s motion, defendant is entitled to summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon claims submitted by ACM.
As to the remaining claims at issue which were submitted by plaintiff Vital Chiropractic, P.C. (Vital), defendant contends that its initial EUO scheduling letter tolled defendant’s time to pay or deny all of the claims at issue (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [b]; ARCO Med. NY, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co., 34 Misc 3d 134[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 52382[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]), that the toll was maintained by timely follow-up scheduling letters (see 11 NYCRR 65-3-6 [b) and that defendant had timely denied plaintiff’s claims (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond, 50 AD3d 1123). Upon a review of the record, we find that defendant’s motion failed to establish, as a matter of law, that defendant had timely denied Vital’s claims after Vital had failed to appear at both an initial and a follow-up EUO.
Accordingly, the order is modified by providing that the branch of defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment dismissing so much of the complaint as sought to recover upon claims submitted by plaintiff A.C. Medical, P.C. is granted.
ALIOTTA, P.J., ELLIOT and SIEGAL, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: November 13, 2020
Reported in New York Official Reports at 21st Century Pharm., Inc. v Global Liberty Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2020 NY Slip Op 51377(U))
| 21st Century Pharm., Inc. v Global Liberty Ins. Co. of N.Y. |
| 2020 NY Slip Op 51377(U) [69 Misc 3d 144(A)] |
| Decided on November 13, 2020 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on November 13, 2020
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, P.J., DAVID ELLIOT, BERNICE D. SIEGAL, JJ
2018-2568 K C
against
Global Liberty Ins. Co. of NY, Appellant.
Law Office of Jason Tenenbaum, P.C. (Jason Tenenbaum of counsel), for appellant. Gary Tsirelman, P.C. (Douglas Mace of counsel), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Michael Gerstein, J.), entered November 14, 2018. The order, insofar as appealed from, denied defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is reversed, with $30 costs, and defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant appeals from so much of an order of the Civil Court as denied defendant’s cross motion which had sought summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear for duly scheduled independent medical examinations (IMEs).
In support of its cross motion, defendant submitted an affidavit by a supervisor employed by Omnimed Evaluation Services, which had been retained by defendant to schedule IMEs, which affidavit sufficiently established that the IME scheduling letters had been timely mailed (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]). Defendant also established that the assignor had failed to appear for the duly scheduled IMEs (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720 [2006]). Thus, defendant demonstrated that plaintiff had failed to comply with a condition precedent to coverage (id. at 722). As defendant’s cross motion further established that defendant had timely denied (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond, 50 AD3d 1123) the claims on that ground, and [*2]plaintiff failed to raise a triable issue of fact in opposition to defendant’s cross motion, defendant was entitled to summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is reversed and defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted.
ALIOTTA, P.J., ELLIOT and SIEGAL, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: November 13, 2020
Reported in New York Official Reports at A.C. Med., P.C. v Ameriprise Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 51376(U))
| A.C. Med., P.C. v Ameriprise Ins. Co. |
| 2020 NY Slip Op 51376(U) [69 Misc 3d 144(A)] |
| Decided on November 13, 2020 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on November 13, 2020
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, P.J., DAVID ELLIOT, BERNICE D. SIEGAL, JJ
2018-2565 K C
against
Ameriprise Insurance Company, Appellant.
Bruno, Gerbino. Soriano & Aitken, LLP (Nathan M. Shapiro of counsel), for appellant. Law Office of Melissa Betancourt, P.C. (Melissa Betancourt of counsel), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Sharon Bourne-Clarke, J.), entered November 8, 2018. The order denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment.
ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant appeals from an order of the Civil Court denying defendant’s motion which had sought summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that plaintiff had failed to appear for duly scheduled examinations under oath (EUOs).
Defendant contends that its initial EUO scheduling letter tolled defendant’s time to pay or deny all of the claims at issue (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [b]; ARCO Med. NY, P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co., 34 Misc 3d 134[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 52382[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]), that the toll was maintained by timely follow-up scheduling letters (see 11 NYCRR 65-3-6 [b) and that defendant had timely denied plaintiff’s claims (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]). Upon a review of the record, we find that defendant’s motion failed to establish, as a matter of law, that defendant had timely denied plaintiff’s claims after plaintiff had failed to appear at both an initial and a follow-up EUO.
Accordingly, the order is affirmed.
ALIOTTA, P.J., ELLIOT and SIEGAL, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: November 13, 2020
Reported in New York Official Reports at Avalon Radiology, P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. (2020 NY Slip Op 51374(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
Global Liberty Insurance, Appellant.
Law Office of Jason Tenenbaum, P.C. (Shaaker Bhuiyan of counsel), for appellant. Law Office of Marina Josovich, P.C., for respondent (no brief filed).
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Robin S. Garson, J.), entered June 25, 2018. The order denied defendant’s motion, pursuant to CPLR 4404 (b), to set aside a decision of that court dated June 23, 2017, made after a nonjury trial, and, in effect, a judgment of that court entered October 6, 2017, pursuant to the decision, awarding plaintiff the principal sum of $1,791.73.
ORDERED that the order is reversed, with $30 costs, defendant’s motion, pursuant to CPLR 4404 (b), to set aside the decision dated June 23, 2017, and, in effect, the judgment entered October 6, 2017 pursuant thereto is granted, and the matter is remitted to the Civil Court for a new trial.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, the sole issue for trial (see CPLR 3212 [g]) was whether defendant’s denial of claim forms were timely. At the nonjury trial, defendant’s claim representative was prepared to testify that defendant had timely requested plaintiff’s assignor to appear for an examination under oath (EUO) and had denied the claims at issue within 30 days after conducting that EUO. After examining the denial of claim forms, the Civil Court concluded that the denials could not be timely, as they were based upon the assignor’s failure to appear for duly scheduled independent medical examinations (IMEs), but were mailed more than 30 days after that failure to appear. Therefore, without taking testimony from defendant’s witness, the Civil Court directed a verdict in plaintiff’s favor. Defendant timely [*2]moved, pursuant to CPLR 4404 (b) to set aside the Civil Court’s decision. On October 6, 2017, a judgment awarding plaintiff the principal sum of $1,791.73 was entered and, by order entered June 25, 2018, the Civil Court denied defendant’s motion. Defendant appeals.
As this court has held, where an insurer timely requests verification, its time to pay or deny a claim does not begin to run until it has received all of the requested verification, including the conducting of an EUO, and the insurer need not deny a claim while it is waiting for requested verification even if it already has a basis to deny such claim (see Parisien v Citiwide Auto Leasing, 64 Misc 3d 132[A], 2019 NY Slip Op 51050[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2019]; Active Care Med. Supply Corp. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 61 Misc 3d 138[A], 2018 NY Slip Op 51584[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2018]; Alev Med. Supply, Inc. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 38 Misc 3d 143[A], 2013 NY Slip Op 50258[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2013]). As a result, the Civil Court’s holding that defendant was precluded from denying the claims based upon the assignor’s failure to appear for IMEs was erroneous. As no testimony was taken, the matter must be remitted to the Civil Court for a new trial.
Accordingly, the order is reversed, defendant’s motion, pursuant to CPLR 4404 (b), to set aside the decision of the Civil Court, and, in effect, the judgment entered pursuant thereto is granted, and the matter is remitted to the Civil Court for a new trial.
ALIOTTA, P.J., ELLIOT and SIEGAL, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: November 13, 2020