November 21, 2005
A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 51902(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/a-b-med-servs-pllc-v-liberty-mut-ins-co-2005-ny-slip-op-51902u/
- Decided
- November 21, 2005
- Citation
- 2005 NY Slip Op 51902(U) · 10 Misc 3d 128(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Later history
- Reversed by A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 03636)
- Later treatment
- Followed in 5 later decisions (see Cited by)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 51902(U))
| A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. |
| 2005 NY Slip Op 51902(U) [10 Misc 3d 128(A)] |
| Decided on November 21, 2005 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: GOLIA, J.P., RIOS and BELEN, JJ.
2004-1252 K C
against
Liberty Mutual Insurance Company, Respondent.
Appeal by plaintiffs from an order of the Civil Court, Kings County (E. Spodek, J.), entered on July 8, 2004, which denied a motion for partial summary judgment by plaintiff A.B. Medical Services PLLC in the sum of $4,410.22.
Order reversed without costs, motion by plaintiff A.B. Medical Services PLLC for partial summary judgment in the sum of $4,410.22 granted and matter remanded to the court below for a calculation of statutory interest and an assessment of attorney’s fees due thereon, and for all further proceedings on its remaining claims.
Appeal by plaintiffs Lvov Acupuncture P.C. and Somun Acupuncture P.C. unanimously dismissed.
In this action to recover first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff A.B. Medical Services PLLC (A.B. Medical) established a prima facie entitlement to partial summary judgment in the sum of $4,410.22 by proof that it submitted claims, setting forth the fact and the amounts of the losses sustained, and that payment of no-fault benefits was overdue (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742 [2004]; A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co., 4 Misc 3d 86 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]; Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co., 2 Misc 3d 128[A], 2003 NY Slip Op 51701[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]).
It is uncontroverted on the record that defendant did not timely pay or deny A.B. [*2]Medical’s claim for $439.04, which said plaintiff has limited to $439.02, within the 30-day statutory period (11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [c]). Accordingly, defendant is precluded, with certain exceptions not relevant here, from raising most defenses with regard to said claim (see Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274, 282 [1997]).
The record furthermore does not contain a denial of claim for plaintiff’s claim in the sum of $1,972.08, which plaintiff established was submitted to defendant on August 16, 2002. Even assuming that defendant’s denial of claim form dated August 30, 2002, may be deemed to constitute a timely denial of plaintiff’s claim for $1,972.08, on the stated ground that plaintiff’s assignor failed to appear for IMEs, the form is fatally defective since it omitted numerous items of requested information, and thus was incomplete (Nyack Hosp. v Metropolitan Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. , 16 AD3d 564 [2005]; Nyack Hosp. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 11 AD3d 664 [2004]). Moreover, in opposition to plaintiff’s motion, defendant has failed to proffer competent proof in admissible form that it mailed the requests scheduling the IMEs and has otherwise failed to address this defense. Accordingly, defendant has failed to raise triable issues of fact warranting denial of plaintiff’s motion with respect to this claim.
While defendant apparently timely denied plaintiff’s claim for $1,999.12, a timely denial alone does not avoid preclusion where said denial is factually insufficient, conclusory or vague (Amaze Med. Supply v Allstate Ins. Co., 3 Misc 3d 43 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]; see also Nyack Hosp. v Metropolitan Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. , 16 AD3d 564, supra; Nyack Hosp. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 11 AD3d 664, supra). The claim for $1,999.12 was in effect denied for failure to establish medical necessity. Although defendant was not required to attach to its denial of claim form the peer review upon which the denial was purportedly based (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [b] [4]; see also A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 7 Misc 3d 132[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 50605[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]), the defendant’s denial of claim form fails to set forth with sufficient particularity the factual basis and medical rationale for its denial based on lack of medical necessity, and it is therefore precluded from asserting said defense (see Amaze Med. Supply v Allstate Ins. Co., 3 Misc 3d 43, supra) . Accordingly, even though the peer review submitted by defendant in opposition to plaintiff’s motion constituted proof in admissible form and set forth a sufficient factual basis and medical rationale for denial of the claim, said report cannot remedy the factual insufficiency of defendant’s denial (see Nyack Hosp. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 11 AD3d 664, supra).
We note that the lack of authentication of an assignor’s signature, in and of itself, does not constitute a defect in the absence of any statutory and regulatory requirement for the same (A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 6 Misc 3d 70 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]). Even assuming arguendo that a lack of authentication constitutes a cognizable defect, defendant’s failure to seek verification of the assignments, or to allege any deficiency in the assignments in its denial of claim forms, constitutes a waiver of any defenses with respect thereto (see id; New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 8 AD3d 640 [2004]; Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N. Y. v Aetna Cas. & Sur. Co., 233 AD2d 433 [1996]; Park Health Ctr. v Eveready Ins. Co., 2001 NY Slip Op 40665[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]).
Accordingly, the motion for partial summary judgment by plaintiff A.B. Medical Services PLLC is granted and the matter is remanded to the court below for the calculation of statutory interest and an assessment of attorney’s fees due thereon pursuant to Insurance Law § 5106 (a) [*3]and the regulations promulgated thereunder, and for all further proceedings on its remaining claims.
Inasmuch as no issue is raised by the remaining appellants, the appeal with respect to them are dismissed (see Praeger v Praeger, 162 AD2d 671 [1990]).
Rios and Belen, JJ., concur.
Golia, J.P., dissents in a separate memorandum.
Golia, J.P. dissents and votes to hold the matter in abeyance while remanding it to the court below for a hearing.
A review of the papers submitted on appeal as well as the trial court’s file reveals a disturbing fact that requires further investigation before I can issue a decision on the merits.
It appears, from the documents that were submitted to the trial court, that either the plaintiffs or the defendant have submitted, what appears to be an altered copy of the NF-10 “Denial of Claim” form. The NF-10 form was originally submitted by the defendant as a formal denial to the underlying claim for payment.
The first page of the NF-10 form submitted by both the defendant and the plaintiffs appears to be identical. However, the second page of each document is significantly different from each other.
The copy of the second page of the NF-10 form submitted by the plaintiffs lists the Applicant for Benefits as “AB Medical Office,” whereas the first page identifies the provider as “AB Medical Services.” The first and second pages of defendant’s document shows the provider as “AB Medical Services.” AB Medical Office is not mentioned anywhere in defendant’s NF-10 form.
Additionally, the explanation as to why the claim was denied on each form differs materially. The plaintiffs’ submission contains the following statement:
“BASED ON THE ABOVE MEDICAL DOCUMENTS THAT I HAVE REVIEWED, I DO NOT RECOMMEND REIMBURSEMENT FOR EMG, NERVE CONDUCTION STUDIES, F-WAVES AND H-REFLEXES BILLED ON JULY 2, 2002 BY A.B. MEDICAL SERVICES, PLLC IN THE AMOUNT OF $1999.12 AS MEDICAL JUSTIFICATION HAS NOT BEEN ESTABLISHED.”
The defendant’s submission contains an entirely different statement, to wit:
“BASED ON PEER REVIEW BY DR. JOSEPH GREGORACE DO – MEDICAL JUSTIFICATION HAS NOT BEEN ESTABLISHED.”
It is abundantly clear that these submissions raise a serious discrepancy in the underlying proof.
In addition, the plaintiffs also submitted certain documents as exhibits as proof of mailing. Although those documents appear to be official U.S. Postal forms, they certainly do not contain information relating to postal documents. For example, the document contains a “check mark” on the box that indicates that the items were sent by “Registered” mail, yet the numbers entered under the column entitled “Article Number” have no relation to generated numbers by the Post Office. Further, there was no registered mail receipt attached. Indeed, those numbers appear to be the claim numbers which were assigned by the insurance carrier. I further note that one of the documents contains a list of thirteen items and a stamp indicating a charge of $3.90 [*4]whereas a similar document also contains a list of thirteen items with a stamp indicating a charge of $4.50 without explanation of the difference in charges.
In light of the above discrepancies, I cannot render an opinion as to the merits of
the within matter. Unlike the majority, I do not choose to ignore the maxim of “falsus in uno, falsus in omnibus” (Deering v Metcalf 74 NY 501, 503 [1878]).
Although the majority – unjustifiably, in my view – chooses to ignore these discrepancies, I cannot. It is my opinion that this matter should be remanded to the court below to determine, on the record, the reliability and the trustworthiness of the documents presented by each party.
Decision Date: November 21, 2005
Legal questions (5)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Is an IME/EUO no-show defense precluded if the insurer did not timely deny the claim on that ground?
This decision: No-show defense is subject to preclusion and fails for want of a timely, proper denial (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the IME no-show defense unavailable on one claim because no denial was in the record and, even if the proffered denial covered it, the form was fatally defective for omitting required information.
Of the 508 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 166 (this one included) are in the same category.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the provider established prima facie entitlement to partial summary judgment by proof that it submitted claims setting forth the fact and amount of loss and that payment was overdue.
Of the 1,065 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 513 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's proof did not establish mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer failed to proffer competent proof in admissible form that it mailed the IME scheduling requests, so its no-show defense raised no triable issue.
Of the 1,400 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 260 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer failed to prove the scheduling letters were mailed or properly addressed (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the IME no-show defense raised no triable issue because the insurer offered no competent proof that it mailed the IME scheduling requests and otherwise failed to address the defense.
Of the 858 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 118 (this one included) are in the same category.
Could the insurer contest the validity of the provider’s assignment of benefits, or had it waived that defense?
This decision: On the merits, the assignment or the claimant's showing is adequate, or the alleged defect is not a defect (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Rejected the insurer's objection to the unauthenticated assignor signatures because no statute or regulation requires authentication, adding that its failure to seek verification or cite the defect in its denials waived the defense anyway.
Of the 96 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 31 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359)The hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24194)An insurer's timely medical-necessity denial does not replace admissible proof opposing a provider's summary judgment motion.
- Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 51701(U))A provider's completed claim forms establish its prima facie case without additional medical proof when the insurer is precluded.
- Nyack Hosp. v Metropolitan Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 02235) FollowedThe insurer failed to prove mailing of its denial, and the denial was incomplete even if timely.
- Nyack Hosp. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 07663) FollowedA timely but fatally defective denial cannot be cured by supplying omitted information after the 30-day denial period expires.
- Amaze Med. Supply v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24119) FollowedAn insurer may not deny equipment fees as exceeding local prevailing rates when the applicable schedule limits reimbursement to 150% of cost.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24506) FollowedThe providers' billing manager affidavit failed to establish submission of properly completed claim forms.
- New York Hosp. Med. Ctr. of Queens v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 05626)The insurer failed to establish mailing of assignment-verification requests and could not defeat the hospitals' summary judgment motion.
Cited by (13)
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 03636) ReversedAn insurer denying no-fault benefits for lack of medical justification need not include a medical rationale in the prescribed denial form.
- Accessible & Advance Med. P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51599(U)) FollowedThe insurer's timely denials lacked a factual basis, and it failed to prove timely sending of the referenced peer review.
- Chi-Ti Acupuncture, P.C. v Hartford Acc. & Indem. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50148(U)) FollowedThe insurer's medical-necessity defense was precluded by a defective first denial and an untimely second denial.
- Contempo Med. Care, P.C. v Travelers Indem. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51338(U)) FollowedThe insurer's vague medical-necessity denials did not establish entitlement to partial summary judgment.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51415(U)) FollowedA peer review submitted on summary judgment cannot cure a medical-necessity denial lacking specific facts and medical rationale.
- Elmont Open MRI & Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51185(U)) FollowedA medical necessity denial must state the factual basis and medical rationale with sufficient particularity, even when timely issued.
- SZ Med. P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26194)An insurer waives the 45-day submission defense by omitting notice that reasonable justification can excuse a late claim.
- SZ Med. P.C. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51428(U))The insurer's timely denial lacked a factual basis or medical rationale, precluding its medical-necessity defense.
- Olympic Chiropractic, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50011(U))A timely but factually insufficient IME denial does not preserve a medical-necessity defense.
- A.M. Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51426(U))The insurer's conclusory medical-necessity denials were ineffective, but policy-limit exhaustion remained a factual issue.
Similar decisions
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v GEICO Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26133)A timely medical-necessity denial must state a sufficiently particular factual basis and medical rationale to avoid preclusion.
- Prestige Med. & Surgical Supply, Inc. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51672(U))The insurer's adjuster affidavits failed to establish timely mailing of denials, precluding its defenses.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Peerless Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26318)A provider need not prove assignment validity where the insurer neither sought verification nor raised an assignment defect in its denials.
- Andrew Carothers, M.D., P.C. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 52479(U))The insurer failed to prove verification mailing or a proper denial, precluding its medical-necessity defense at trial.
- Boai Zhong Yi Acupuncture Servs. PC v General Assur. Ins Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50329(U))The provider obtained summary judgment because two denials were late and the third relied on an unavailable IME nonappearance defense.