October 12, 2006
Queensboro Med. Rehab, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51936(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/queensboro-med-rehab-p-c-v-progressive-cas-ins-co-2006-ny-slip-op-51936u/
- Judge
- Edwards, J.
- Decided
- October 12, 2006
- Citation
- 2006 NY Slip Op 51936(U) · 13 Misc 3d 1221(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
- Legal questions
- Lack of medical necessity · Claimant's prima facie case on motions (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Queensboro Med. Rehab, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51936(U))
| Queensboro Med. Rehab, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. |
| 2006 NY Slip Op 51936(U) [13 Misc 3d 1221(A)] |
| Decided on October 12, 2006 |
| Civil Court Of The City Of New York, Kings County |
| Edwards, J. |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County
Queensboro Medical Rehab, P.C., a/a/o Regina Bennett, Plaintiff,
against Progressive Casualty Insurance Co.,, Defendant. |
121948/2005
Genine D. Edwards, J.
In this action to recover No-Fault benefits, statutory interest and attorney’s fees, plaintiff makes a motion for summary judgment. Defendant cross-moves for the same relief on the ground that the services allegedly provided by the plaintiff were not medically necessary.
To establish a prima facie case of entitlement to No-Fault benefits the plaintiff must demonstrate that it provided defendant with a claim for services rendered, setting forth the facts and amount of the loss and that the claim was not paid nor denied nor was verification requested. Nyack Hospital v. Metropolitan Property & Casualty Insurance Company 16 AD3d 564 (2nd Dept. 2005); Mary Immaculate Hospital v. Allstate Insurance Company 5 AD3d 742 (2nd Dept. 2004); Careplus Medical Supply Inc. v. General Assurance Company 7 Misc 3d 126(A) (App. Term 9th & 10th Jud. Dists. 2005). If plaintiff’s burden is met then the defendant has the burden of proving that triable issues of fact exist. Montefiore Medical Center v. New York Central Mutual Fire Insurance Company 9 AD3d 354 (2nd Dept. 2004); Liberty Queens Medical, P.C. v. Liberty Mutual Insurance Company, 2002 NY Slip Op. 40420 (U) (App. Term 2nd & 11th Jud. Dists. 2002); A.B. Medical Services PLLC, DAV v. Allstate Insurance Company, 8 Misc 3d 137(A) (App. Term 2nd & 11th Jud. Dists. 2005). Upon such proof, the plaintiff is obligated to rebut such evidence or risk dismissal. A.B. Medical Services, PLLC v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, 7 [*2]Misc 3d 822 (N.Y.C. Civ. Ct. Kings County 2005); Bedford Park Medical Practice P.C. v. American Transit Insurance Co., 8 Misc 3d 1025(A) (N.Y.C. Civ. Ct. Kings County 2005).
In the instant case, the plaintiff demonstrated its entitlement to no-fault benefits in the amounts of $129.28 and $182.86, via appending the defendant’s denial of claim forms to its motion. King’s Medical Supply Inc. v. Country-Wide Insurance Company, 5 Misc 3d 767 (N.Y.C. Civ. Ct. Kings County 2004); Capri Medical, P.C. v. New York Central Mutual Fire Insurance Company, 11 Misc 3d 1073(A) (N.Y.C. Civ. Ct. Kings County 2006); AT Medical P.C. v. Utica Mutual Insurance Company, 11 Misc 3d 142(A) (App. Term 2nd & 11th Jud. Dists. 2006); A.B. Medical Services, PLLC v. New York Central Mutual Fire Insurance Company, 3 Misc 3d 136(A) (App. Term 2nd & 11th Jud. Dists. 2004); Fair Price Medical Supply Corp. v. ELRAC Inc., 12 Misc 3d 119 (2nd Dept. 2006). Also, plaintiff’s burden of proof for the claim in the amount of $297.12 was established since the defendant attached its denial of claim form, indicating that it received the claim, to its cross-motion. Fair Price Medical Supply Corp. v. ELRAC Inc., 12 Misc 3d 126(A) (App. Term 2nd & 11th Jud. Dists. 2006); Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. v. Metropolitan Property and Casualty Ins. Co., 12 Misc 3d 130(A) (App. Term 2nd & 11th Jud. Dists. 2006).
With respect to the claim for the amount of $129.28, it is clear and plaintiff agrees that payment was made, albeit late. The query is whether plaintiff is still entitled to attorney’s fees. According to Insurance Law §5106, the plaintiff is entitled to recover attorney’s fees when the claim was denied or overdue. Presbyterian Hospital in the City of New York v. Maryland Casualty Company, 90 NY2d 274 (1997); Function Supply v. Progressive Ins. Co., 9 Misc 3d 1123(A) (N.Y.C. Civ. Ct. Queens County 2005).
Now we move to defendant’s cross-motion. It is clear that Kelly Andre’s affidavit established that all of the subject denials were timely served upon the plaintiff. With respect to the claims in the amounts: $297.17 and $182.86, the defendant denied the claims based upon lack of medical necessity. In support of this contention the defendant attached an admissible peer review report that set forth a competent physician opinion. Thus, the defendant sustained its burden of production of a material issue of fact for trial. Triboro Chiropractic and Acupuncture PLLC v. Electric Insurance Company, 2 Misc 3d 135(A) (App. Term 2nd & 11th Jud. Dists. 2004); Hempstead Turnpike Open MRI and Imaging v. Progressive Insurance Company, 12 Misc 3d 137(A) (App. Term 9th & 10th Jud. Dists. 2006). However, upon review of the subject bills and the corresponding peer review report, this Court is not persuaded that the defendant is entitled to summary judgment. The presumption of medical necessity that attached to the claim forms has not been rebutted by the defendant’s peer review report. Bedford Park Medical Practice P.C., supra.
Accordingly it is hereby,
Ordered that plaintiff’s summary judgment motion is granted only as to the claim for attorney’s fees for the claim amount of $129.28. Judgment should be entered in favor of the
plaintiff in the amount of $60.00. It is further ordered that defendant’s cross-motion for summary judgment is denied. Issues of fact exist regarding the medical necessity of the claims in the amounts of $297.17 and $182.86.
This constitutes the decision and order of the Court.
Dated: October 12, 2006__________________________________
Genine D. Edwards, J.C.C.
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?
This decision: Insurer's proof was enough to defeat the provider's motion but not to win
Held the insurer's admissible peer review raised a material issue of fact on medical necessity but did not rebut the presumption of necessity enough to entitle it to summary judgment, so both motions failed on those claims.
Of the 617 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 67 (this one included) are in the same category.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the provider established its prima facie entitlement through the insurer's denial forms acknowledging receipt, but the medical-necessity issues of fact precluded summary judgment except for fees on a late-paid claim.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 511 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
- Nyack Hosp. v Metropolitan Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 02235)The insurer failed to prove mailing of its denial, and the denial was incomplete even if timely.
- Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359)The hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
- Montefiore Med. Ctr. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 05783)The insurer raised factual issues concerning denial of one hospital's late claim and timely verification requests for another's incomplete claim.
- King’s Med. Supply Inc. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24394)A medical supplier need not prove documented cost as part of its prima facie no-fault case.
- Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v ELRAC Inc. (2006 NY Slip Op 26269)An improper self-referral defense survives a late denial when a health care provider seeks benefits through an entity in which it has an interest.
Similar decisions
- Jesa Med. Supply, Inc. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29386)The physician's affirmation authenticated the electronic signature on the peer review, supporting the medical-necessity denial.
- Park Neurological Servs. P.C. v GEICO Ins. (2004 NY Slip Op 24210)The insurer's denial did not set forth a factual basis and medical rationale for lack of medical necessity, precluding its medical-necessity defense.
- Neomy Med., P.C. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51727(U))The insurer's timely denial and supported peer review raised a medical necessity issue defeating summary judgment on the appealed claim.
- Ortho-Med Surgical Supply, Inc. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50149(U))An insurer need not attach the records reviewed by its peer reviewer to establish lack of medical necessity on summary judgment.
- A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50680(U))Peer reviews citing insufficient information do not raise a medical-necessity issue without proof that the insurer sought verification.