• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
February 25, 2008

Lenox Hill Radiology, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 50330(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/lenox-hill-radiology-p-c-v-american-tr-ins-co-2008-ny-slip-op50330u/

Court
Civil Court of the City of New York, New York County
Judge
Singh, J.
Decided
February 25, 2008
Citation
2008 NY Slip Op 50330(U) · 18 Misc 3d 1136(A)
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Later treatment
Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
Issues
Priority, other coverage
Legal questions
Workers' comp or other insurer primary (see the maps)
Cite as
Lenox Hill Radiology, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 18 Misc 3d 1136(A), 2008 NY Slip Op 50330(U) (Civ Ct, New York County 2008)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

An insurer need show only potential merit to an employment-based workers' compensation defense to require a Board determination. The assignor's signed NF-2 stated that the accident occurred in the course of employment, and the police report identified the vehicle as a taxi. The Civil Court, New York County, considered the application reliable as a third-party business record and the taxi notation an officer's observation admissible under CPLR 4518. Those documents satisfied the insurer's burden; the provider offered no employment-status evidence. Following O'Rourke v Long, the court left the coverage determination to the Workers' Compensation Board, granted the insurer summary judgment dismissing the complaint without prejudice, and denied the provider's cross motion as moot.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Lenox Hill Radiology, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 50330(U))

[*1]
Lenox Hill Radiology, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co.
2008 NY Slip Op 50330(U) [18 Misc 3d 1136(A)]
Decided on February 25, 2008
Civil Court Of The City Of New York, New York County
Singh, J.
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.
Decided on February 25, 2008

Civil Court of the City of New York, New York County



Lenox Hill Radiology, P.C. a/a/o Ali Sardar, Plaintiff,

against

American Transit Insurance Company, Defendant.

015066/2007

The appearances of counsel are:

Joaquin J. Lopez, Esq.

Attorney for plaintiff

(516) 741-4799

William R. Larkin, Esq.

Attorney for defendant

(212) 629-9690

Anil C. Singh, J.

Plaintiff medical provider issued bills to defendant insurance company seeking reimbursement under the No-Fault Law for services rendered to plaintiff’s assignor, Ali Sardar, who was allegedly injured in an automobile accident. The claim was denied, and plaintiff seeks recovery on these bills.

Defendant moves for moves for summary judgment dismissing the complaint without prejudice on the ground that the assignor is a taxicab driver who was injured while driving a taxicab. Accordingly, there is an issue as to whether Worker’s Compensation benefits are available which must be determined before the Workers’ Compensation Board.

Plaintiff opposes the motion and cross-moves for summary judgment. It urges that the elements of the prima facia case are not in dispute. Defendant admits that it received plaintiff’s claim and did not make payment pursuant to the thirty-day rule. It opposes the motion, arguing that defendant has failed to submit evidence that the assignor was employed at the time of the accident.

Defendant relies on two documents in support of its position that Mr. Sardar was [*2]employed at the time of the accident. The first is the application for no-fault benefits (the “NF-2”) filled out on behalf of Mr. Sardar. The application is signed by Mr. Sardar. Question 16 states as follows: “At the time of your accident were you in the course of your employment.” This question is answered “Yes.”

The second document is the MV-104 police accident report filled out by Officer Balloin describing what occurred at the time of the accident. The report states that the Sardar vehicle is a taxi.

Plaintiff urges that neither document is admissible. Defendant has failed to lay a foundation establishing that the NF-2, which was prepared by another entity, is a business record of defendant. Further, the information contained in the police report is inadmissable hearsay.

I disagree. CPLR 4518 is an exception to the hearsay rule and allows records to come into evidence provided it can be established that the writing was made in the regular course of business; it was the regular course of business to make the writing; and the writing was made at or about the time of the transaction. The rule is premised on the notion that routinely gathered information will be trustworthy and that the maker is under an obligation to record accurate information (People v. Kennedy, 68 NY2d 569 [1986]).

Records of third parties may be received in evidence when a company relies on those records in conducting its business (People v. Di Salvo, 284 AD2d 547 [2d Dept. 2001]). Records of third parties have been admitted where there is a business duty to give and record accurate information (Pencom Sys. v. Shapiro, 237 AD2d 144 [1st Dept. 1997]); see also People v. McKissick, 281 AD2d 212 [1st Dept. 2001]).

The NF-2 satisfies the requirements of reliability. The person completing the NF-2 has a duty to fill out the application accurately. Clearly, defendant insurance company must be able to rely on the information contained in the NF-2 in order to process the application for no-fault benefits.

The court may consider a police accident report “under the business record exception to the hearsay rule to the extent that it was based upon the personal observations of the police officer present at the scene and under a business duty to make it” (Westchester Med. Ctr. v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 44 AD3d 750, 753 [2d Dept. 2007]. The first line on the police accident report asks for the following information: “Not investigated at Scene”; and “Accident Reconstruction.” Neither box was checked. Accordingly, Police Officer Balloin’s notation that the Sardar vehicle was a “taxi” is necessarily based on his observation at the scene of the accident.

The next issue is whether defendant has submitted sufficient evidence that Mr. Sardar was employed at the time of the accident. Worker’s Compensation is primary and, where the issue of its coverage arises, it must be presented first to the Worker’s Compensation Board (Arvatz v. Empire Mut. Ins. Co., 171 AD2d 262, 268 [1st Dept. 1991]; see also Mattaldi v. Beth Israel Med. Ctr., 297 AD2d 234 [1st Dept. 2002]) (threshold question whether plaintiff was employed must be determined by the Workers’ Compensation Board). As the Court of Appeals explained:

Where the availability of workmen’s compensation hinges upon the resolution of questions of fact or upon mixed questions of fact and law, the plaintiff may not choose the courts as the forum for the resolution of such questions. The Legislature has placed the responsibility for these [*3]determinations with the Workmen’s Compensation Board and there it must remain. (O’Rourke v. Long, 41 NY2d 219, 228 [1976]).

Therefore, in this action defendant must show only that there is “potential merit” to its claim that Mr. Sardar was employed at the time of the accident so as to trigger a determination by the Workers’ Compensation Board (A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v. American Tr. Ins. Co., 8 Misc 3d 127(A) [App. Term 2d Dept]).

The statement in the NF-2 that Mr. Sardar was employed at the time of the accident and the observation of the police officer that the vehicle was a taxi is sufficient for defendant to meet its burden. Plaintiff fails to tender any evidence as to Mr. Sardar’s employment status.

For these reasons, defendant’s motion for summary judgment is granted, and the complaint is dismissed without prejudice. Plaintiff’s cross-motion for summary judgment is denied as moot.

The clerk is directed to enter judgment accordingly.

The foregoing constitutes the decision and order of the court.

Date: February 25, 2008_____________________________

New York, New YorkAnil C. Singh

Legal questions

A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

Workers' comp or other insurer primary

Open the full map

Can a no-fault insurer deny or delay payment because workers’ compensation or another insurer is primary?

This decision: Workers' compensation may apply: the Board decides first and the no-fault claim waits

Held the NF-2 admitting the claimant was working and a police report showing the vehicle was a taxi gave potential merit to the workers' compensation defense, so the complaint was dismissed without prejudice for the Board to decide.

  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 2
  • Appellate TermApp Term 5
  • Trial courtsTrial 2
2019, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 WC defense not shown)2011, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 First insurer must pay)2018, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 WC defense precluded)2012, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 First insurer must pay)2010, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2009, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 First insurer must pay)2017, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2021, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 No coverage, not priority)2008, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)This decision
2008201020122014201620182020
Referred to WC BoardWC defense not shownWC defense precludedFirst insurer must payNo coverage, not priorityThis decision

Of the 9 decisions on this question in the First Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 3 (this one included) are in the same category. 2 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Westchester Med. Ctr. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 07690) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish intoxication or causation as a matter of law, but raised factual issues defeating the provider's motion.

Cited by

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • Corona Comprehensive Med. Care, P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2009 NY Slip Op 51432(U)) FollowedA workers' compensation defense is a statutory offset subject to preclusion unless timely raised in a denial.
  • American Tr. Ins. Co. v North Shore Family Chiropractic PC (2023 NY Slip Op 50208(U))The insurer's police report did not require referral of its course-of-employment defense to the Workers' Compensation Board.

Similar decisions

  • Clear Water Psychological Servs. PC v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 26420)The insurer obtained a 90-day stay for a Workers' Compensation Board determination despite an inadmissible police accident report.
  • Jing Huo Lac v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51177(U))The insurer failed to show potential merit in its workers' compensation defense sufficient to require referral to the Board.
  • Administrative Assets v Zurich Am. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 52261(U))The insurer failed to establish potential merit to its workers' compensation defense because the employer's report was inadmissible hearsay.
  • Advantage Radiology, P.C. v ACE Am. Ins. Co. (2026 NY Slip Op 50245(U))An insurer's defense that an assignor is eligible for workers' compensation benefits is subject to preclusion for an untimely denial.
  • Chiropractic Testing Servs. of N.Y., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 28052)A no-fault insurer seeking a stay for a workers' compensation determination need show only potential merit to its coverage claim.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.