July 25, 2008
Mani Med., P.C. v Eveready Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 52697(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/mani-med-p-c-v-eveready-ins-co-2008-ny-slip-op-52697u/
- Decided
- July 25, 2008
- Citation
- 2008 NY Slip Op 52697(U) · 25 Misc 3d 132(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Later treatment
- Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Mani Med., P.C. v Eveready Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 52697(U))
| Mani Med., P.C. v Eveready Ins. Co. |
| 2008 NY Slip Op 52697(U) [25 Misc 3d 132(A)] |
| Decided on July 25, 2008 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., GOLIA and RIOS, JJ
2006-2045 Q C. Mani Medical, P.C. a/a/o MICHELLE CLARKE, Respondent, against
against
Eveready Insurance Company, Appellant.
DECISION
Motion by respondent for leave to appeal to the Appellate Division from the order of this court dated January 15, 2008 denied as academic.
On the court’s own motion, reargument of the order and decision of this court, dated January 15, 2008, in the above entitled action, is granted and, upon reargument, the order and decision of this court dated January 15, 2008 are vacated and the following is substituted as the decision of the court:
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Thomas D. Raffaele, J.), entered May 9, 2006, deemed from a judgment entered November 27, 2006 (see CPLR 5501 [c]). The judgment, entered pursuant to the May 9, 2006 order granting plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment, awarded plaintiff the principal sum of $5,805.99.
Judgment affirmed without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff moved for summary judgment. Defendant opposed the motion, contending that plaintiff failed to make a prima facie showing because plaintiff did not establish the existence of a valid assignment; that plaintiff’s claim for $82.89 was timely denied on the ground that it was subject to the personal injury protection deductible contained within the insurance policy issued to plaintiff’s assignor; and that plaintiff’s remaining claims were timely denied based upon affirmed peer review reports. In reply, plaintiff asserted that defendant’s peer review reports did not constitute evidence in admissible form in that they failed to comply with CPLR 2106 since the doctor’s signatures were affixed by stamp or generated by computer. The court held that plaintiff [*2]made a prima facie showing and that defendant’s peer review reports did not constitute evidence in admissible form because the signatures were not affixed in accordance with CPLR 2106. As a result, the lower court granted plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment, and judgment was subsequently entered thereon. This appeal by defendant ensued.
Defendant argues that plaintiff failed to make a prima facie showing because plaintiff did not demonstrate that it possessed a valid assignment. Even assuming that a prima facie case requires proof of a valid assignment, where, as here, the claim forms stated that the assignor’s signature was on file,’ such a burden is satisfied, inasmuch as defendant did not timely take action to verify the existence of a valid assignment (see Hospital for Joint Diseases v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co., 9 NY3d 312 [2007]). Since defendant raises no other issue with respect to plaintiff’s establishment of its prima facie case, we do not pass on the propriety of the implicit determination of the court below with respect thereto.
While plaintiff sought summary judgment, inter alia, upon its claim form dated December 23, 2002 in the sum of $746.01, the record is devoid of any proof of a denial of claim form corresponding to plaintiff’s $746.01 claim form. (We note that the supervisor of defendant’s no-fault department submitted an affidavit in opposition in which she stated that defendant received separate claims seeking the sums of $82.89 and $663.23.’ The sum of the foregoing two claims does not equal $746.01. However, two of the NF-10 denial of claim forms annexed to defendant’s opposing papers indicated that they denied separate claims seeking the sums of $82.89 and $663.12, the sum of which does equal $746.01. Defendant makes no attempt to explain this discrepancy.) As a result, plaintiff was entitled to summary judgment upon its claim for $746.01.
Further, with respect to plaintiff’s remaining claims, the court below held that the peer review reports submitted by defendant in opposition to plaintiff’s motion were inadmissible inasmuch as they failed to comply with CPLR 2106. Where, as here, the signatures appear to be affixed by stamp or generated by a computer, plaintiff’s assertion, in its reply papers, that such peer review reports did not constitute evidence in admissible form due to a failure to comply with CPLR 2106 would ordinarily raise an issue of fact that cannot be resolved on a motion for summary judgment (see Seoulbank, NY Agency v D & J Export & Import Corp., 270 AD2d 193 [2000]; Dyckman v Barrett, 187 AD2d 553 [1992]; see also James v Albank, 307 AD2d 1024 [2003]). However, inasmuch as defendant’s counsel has submitted papers to this court in opposition to plaintiff’s motion for leave to appeal to the Appellate Division from the original order of this court dated January 15, 2008, (which motion has been rendered academic by the issuance of this decision and order), conceding that [t]he reports in question contain stamped signatures,’ and there is nothing in the record to indicate that the stamped signatures were placed on the reports by the doctor who performed the peer reviews or at his direction, it is our view that defendant failed to raise a triable issue of fact with respect to the claim at issue (see Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. v Travelers Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 778 [2008]).
Accordingly, the judgment is affirmed.
Pesce, P.J., and Rios, J., concur.
Golia, J., concurs in a separate memorandum.
Golia, J., concurs in the result only, in the following memorandum:
While I agree with the ultimate disposition in the decision reached by the majority, I wish
[*3]to note that I am constrained to agree with certain
propositions of law set forth in cases cited therein which are inconsistent with my prior
expressed positions and generally contrary to my views. In particular, I wish to note that, as
stated in my dissenting opinion in Uptodate Med. Serv., P.C. v Lumbermens Mut Cas.
Co. (___ Misc 3d ___, 2008 Slip Op ______ [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2008]), an
appellate court
“should always consider the issue of whether a prima facie showing has been made,
irrespective of whether the issue was raised by the defendant” (see also Alvarez v Prospect
Hosp., 68 NY2d 320 [1986]).
Decision Date: July 25, 2008
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?
This decision: Insurer's medical-necessity proof failed (conclusory, no factual basis or rationale, inadmissible, not credited)
Held the insurer's peer review reports failed to raise a triable issue because the insurer conceded they bore stamped signatures with nothing showing they were affixed by or at the direction of the reviewing doctor.
Of the 617 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 109 (this one included) are in the same category.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Rejected the insurer's argument that the provider failed to prove a valid assignment, holding any such burden satisfied where the claim forms said the signature was on file and the insurer did not timely seek verification.
Of the 1,065 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 513 (this one included) are in the same category.
Could the insurer contest the validity of the provider’s assignment of benefits, or had it waived that defense?
This decision: Insurer barred from contesting the assignment because it did not timely object, verify, deny or plead on that ground (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held that any prima facie burden to prove a valid assignment was met by claim forms stating the assignor's signature was on file, because the insurer did not timely seek verification of the assignment.
Of the 96 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 48 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Hospital for Joint Diseases v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 09067) FollowedAn insurer that fails to timely seek verification of an assignment cannot later contest its validity when the underlying claim is covered.
- Vista Surgical Supplies, Inc. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 03199) FollowedThe insurer's peer review reports were inadmissible because their facsimile signatures lacked evidence of placement or authorization.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Park Slope Med. & Surgical Supply, Inc. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50650(U)) FollowedThe provider's medical affirmation required a hearing on whether its allegedly stamped signature was valid.
- Eden Med., P.C. v Eveready Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50265(U))The provider's unsupported assertion that a peer review report bore a stamped facsimile signature raised no factual issue.
- Med-Tech Prods., Inc. v Statewide Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50584(U))The provider's challenge to allegedly stamped signatures on peer reviews required a hearing to determine the reports' admissibility.
- Ortho-Med Surgical Supply, Inc. v Mercury Cas. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50587(U))The provider's conclusory challenge to the peer reviewer's signature did not raise a factual issue defeating the insurer's summary judgment motion.
Similar decisions
- Accessible & Advance Med. P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51599(U))The insurer's timely denials lacked a factual basis, and it failed to prove timely sending of the referenced peer review.
- A.M. Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51426(U))The insurer's conclusory medical-necessity denials were ineffective, but policy-limit exhaustion remained a factual issue.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51415(U))A peer review submitted on summary judgment cannot cure a medical-necessity denial lacking specific facts and medical rationale.
- Align for Health Chiropractic, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51862(U))The insurer failed to prove timely verification requests, and the provider failed to lay a business-records foundation.
- Orthotic Surgical & Med. Supply, Inc. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51540(U))The insurer's peer review failed to raise a medical-necessity issue because its facsimile signature lacked proof of the doctor's authorization.