• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
April 3, 2009

Bayside Rehab & Physical Therapy, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29145)

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/bayside-rehab-physical-therapy-p-c-v-geico-ins-co-2009-ny-slip-op-29145/

Court
Civil Court of the City of New York, Richmond County
Judge
Levine, J.
Decided
April 3, 2009
Citation
2009 NY Slip Op 29145 · 24 Misc 3d 542
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Later treatment
Followed in 3 later decisions (see Cited by)
Issues
Medical necessity Verification requests Timeliness and preclusion
Legal questions
Claimant's prima facie case on motions · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Cite as
Bayside Rehab & Physical Therapy, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co., 24 Misc 3d 542 (Civ Ct, Richmond County 2009)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

An insurer need not notify a prospective provider of an IME cutoff determined before submission of the provider's claim. The Civil Court, Richmond County, denied the provider's summary judgment motion and directed the action to trial. The provider established its prima facie case through its billing manager's affidavit, but the insurer timely denied certain claims submitted more than 45 days after treatment under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1 (b) and 65-2.4 (c). All claims were denied for lack of medical necessity under preclaim IMEs. The verification notice requirements of 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 and 65-3.6 did not apply. The cutoff preceded treatment by approximately six months, and the assignors, who apparently knew benefits were cut off, were obligated to inform later providers.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Bayside Rehab & Physical Therapy, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29145)

Bayside Rehab & Physical Therapy, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co.
2009 NY Slip Op 29145 [24 Misc 3d 542]
April 3, 2009
Levine, J.
Civil Court Of The City Of New York, Richmond County
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
As corrected through Wednesday, August 12, 2009

[*1]

Bayside Rehab & Physical Therapy, P.C., as Assignee of Aleisha Allen and Another, Plaintiff,
v
GEICO Insurance Company, Defendant.

Civil Court of the City of New York, Richmond County, April 3, 2009

APPEARANCES OF COUNSEL

Phillips, Krantz & Levi, Brooklyn, for plaintiff. Law Offices of Teresa M. Spina, Woodbury, for defendant.

{**24 Misc 3d at 543} OPINION OF THE COURT

Katherine A. Levine, J.

This case presents the novel issue of whether an insurance company must notify prospective medical service providers that it will not reimburse them for any services they may provide to an assignor after a determination has been made, pursuant to an independent medical examination (IME) performed on the assignor, that further medical services are not medically necessary. As will be set forth below, since the notice requirements for verification requests, as contained in 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 and 65-3.6, do not apply to IMEs that are noticed and performed prior to the insurance company’s receipt of claim forms (preclaim IMEs), such notification is not necessary.

Plaintiff Bayside Rehab & Physical Therapy, P.C. (plaintiff or Bayside or assignee), a medical service provider, brings this action pursuant to Insurance Law § 5106 (a) seeking to recover $814.19 and $1,131.47 for services it provided to its assignors Aleisha Allen and Angela Allen (collectively referred to as the Allens or assignors), for injuries they sustained in an automobile accident. Bayside moves for summary judgment based upon a claimed prima facie showing that its bills were properly submitted and that the defendant GEICO Insurance Company (defendant or GEICO) failed to pay or deny the claims within 30 days.

Defendant claims that plaintiff is not entitled to summary judgment because it failed to provide adequate proof that its claims were generated or mailed within the regular course of business. In the alternative, defendant argues that plaintiff failed to submit several claims within the statutorily prescribed period of 45 days as prescribed by 11 NYCRR 65-1.1. In its reply papers, plaintiff contends that since the defendant did not notify it about the IME cutoff, it was “not fair” and “not proper” for defendant to issue a denial of claims based upon the IME cutoff. Defendant responded, during oral argument, that because it informed the assignors that no more benefits would be paid as a result of the IME, the assignors were under an obligation to inform any future medical providers of this determination of lack of medical necessity. In light of the [*2]above, defendant contends that the matter should proceed to trial.

The Allens were involved in an automobile accident on June 17, 2006. Pursuant to a request by defendant, the assignors{**24 Misc 3d at 544} underwent IMEs by three different doctors on November 2, 2006. The three doctors determined that no further orthopedic, chiropractic, acupuncture or other types of medical services were medically necessary for the injuries suffered by either Allen related to the accident. Defendant GEICO thereupon terminated all benefits for the various types of medical treatment indicated in the IME reports, effective November 9, 2006. Absent from defendant’s papers is any indication as to how or if defendant notified the assignors of the termination of benefits much less notification of the IME cutoff to plaintiff.

Plaintiff subsequently provided medical services to both assignors in the spring of 2007 and submitted two bills on behalf of Aleisha on May 17, 2007 and June 12, 2007, respectively and three bills on behalf of Angela on May 17, June 6 and June 19, 2007, respectively. Defendant denied the May 17, 2007 bills based on plaintiff’s noncompliance with the 45-day rule and denied all the bills based on lack of medical necessity pursuant to the IME cutoff date of November 9, 2006.

To grant summary judgment, “it must clearly appear that no material and triable issue of fact is presented.” (Forrest v Jewish Guild for the Blind, 3 NY3d 295, 314 [2004, Smith, J., concurring]; Zuckerman v City of New York, 49 NY2d 557 [1980]; see Manhattan Med. Imaging, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 20 Misc 3d 1144[A], 2008 NY Slip Op 51844[U] [Civ Ct, Richmond County 2008].) A plaintiff establishes a prima facie entitlement to judgment as a matter of law “by submitting evidentiary proof that the prescribed statutory billing forms ha[ve] been mailed and received, and that payment of no-fault benefits [i]s overdue.” (Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742, 742-743 [2d Dept 2004]; Second Med., P.C. v Auto One Ins. Co., 20 Misc 3d 291, 293 [Civ Ct, Kings County 2008].)

To lay a proper evidentiary foundation on a summary judgment motion that the tendered records were produced within the regular course of a medical provider’s business, plaintiff must provide a supporting affidavit by an individual who possesses personal knowledge of the office practices. (Complete Orthopedic Supplies, Inc. v State Farm Ins. Co., 16 Misc 3d 996, 999 [Civ Ct, Queens County 2007], citing CPLR 4518 [a]; North Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co., 14 Misc 3d 130[A], 2006 NY Slip Op 52523[U] [App Term, 2d Dept 2006]; Dan Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 14 Misc 3d 44, 45 [App Term, 2d Dept 2006].) Plaintiff meets this burden by{**24 Misc 3d at 545} providing an affidavit of its business manager who exhaustively details the record-keeping procedures of the business that created the records and clearly details the dates of the services, the amounts due, and her personal knowledge of the billing practices. (Manhattan Med. Imaging, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., supra, citing Second Med., P.C. v Auto One Ins. Co., 20 Misc 3d at 294-295.) In addition, the billing manager personally packaged, sealed, applied postage to and mailed the bills. As such, plaintiff has made a prima facie showing of entitlement. [*3]

Defendant contends that plaintiff failed to submit several bills within the statutorily required period of 45 days as prescribed by 11 NYCRR 65-1.1. Pursuant to Insurance Law § 5106, a complete proof of claim is a prerequisite to receiving no-fault benefits. All automobile insurance policies issued or renewed after April 5, 2002 are required to include a revised mandatory personal injury protection endorsement which provides that claims for medical treatment must be submitted within 45 days after services are rendered. (11 NYCRR 65-1.1 [b]; 65-2.4 [c]; Rockman v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co., 21 Misc 3d 1118[A], 2008 NY Slip Op 52093[U], *4 n 2 [Civ Ct, Richmond County 2008], citing Matter of Medical Socy. of State of N.Y. v Serio, 298 AD2d 255 [1st Dept 2002]; Eagle Chiropractic, P.C. v Chubb Indem. Ins. Co., 19 Misc 3d 129[A], 2008 NY Slip Op 50525[U] [App Term, 2d Dept 2008].) Where one proof of claim is submitted for several medical treatments, the 45-day period commences the day after the first treatment is rendered. (SZ Med. P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 12 Misc 3d 52, 55 [App Term, 2d Dept 2006], citing Ops Gen Counsel NY Ins Dept No. 03-06-30 [June 2003].)

Although a health care provider is required to submit its proof of claim within 45 days after the services were rendered, an insurer is precluded from asserting the defense of a provider’s untimely submission of claim if it does not issue a timely denial of claim. (Rockman v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co., supra, citing Mid Atl. Med., P.C. v Travelers Indem. Co., 12 Misc 3d 147[A], 2006 NY Slip Op 51579[U] [App Term, 1st Dept 2006].) Pursuant to both the Insurance Law and the regulations promulgated by the Superintendent of Insurance, an insurer is required to either pay or deny a claim for no-fault automobile insurance benefits within 30 days from the date an applicant supplies the proof of claim. (Presbyterian Hosp. in City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274, 278 [1997], citing Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; 11 NYCRR former 65.15 [g] [3].){**24 Misc 3d at 546}

Here, plaintiff submitted claims on May 17, 2007 for services provided on March 9, 12, 16, 20 and 28, 2007, which is more than 45 days after each service was provided. Furthermore, since defendant timely denied these claims on May 30, 2007, within 30 days of their receipt, defendant is entitled to assert its defense that the claims were untimely submitted.

As to plaintiff’s contention that the denial based upon the IME cutoff was somehow unfair or defective since defendant assignee never notified plaintiff about the IME cutoff based on lack of medical necessity, an analysis of precedent on what if any notification requirements attach to preclaim IMEs is in order. This issue was recently addressed by this court in Prime Psychological Servs., P.C. v Nationwide Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (24 Misc 3d 230, 2009 NY Slip Op 29100 [2009]) wherein the court found that the notice requirements for verification requests, as contained in 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 and 65-3.6, do not apply to examinations under oath (EUOs) that are noticed prior to the insurance company’s receipt of claim forms (preclaim EUOs). The same reasoning applies to preclaim IMEs.

The insurance regulations provide for IMEs and EUOs as part of an insurer’s “entitlement to ‘additional verification’ following the insurer’s receipt of a provider’s statutory claim forms.” (Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 7 Misc 3d 18, 19 [App Term, 2d [*4]Dept 2004], affd in part 35 AD3d 720 [2d Dept 2006]; see 11 NYCRR 65-1.1 [d]; 65-3.5 [d]; see also All-Boro Med. Supplies, Inc. v Progressive Northeastern Ins. Co., 20 Misc 3d 554 [Civ Ct, Kings County 2008]; Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co. v Inwood Hill Med., P.C., 8 Misc 3d 1014[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 51101[U] [Sup Ct, NY County 2005]; Inwood Hill Med. v Allstate Ins. Co., 3 Misc 3d 1110[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 50565[U] [Civ Ct, NY County 2004].) Where an EUO or IME is requested as additional verification after receipt of the claim, the insurer must schedule the IME within the same time frame as medical examinations—within 30 days from the date of receipt of the prescribed verification form (11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [d])—and must schedule an EUO within a reasonable time frame and as “expeditiously as possible.” (Eagle Surgical Supply, Inc. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 21 Misc 3d 49, 51 [App Term, 2d Dept 2008].)

11 NYCRR 65-3.6 (b) provides that if the requested postclaim verification

“has not been supplied to the insurer 30 calendar days after the original request, the insurer shall,{**24 Misc 3d at 547} within 10 calendar days, follow up with the party from whom the verification was requested, either by telephone call . . . or by mail. At the same time the insurer shall inform the applicant and such person’s attorney of the reason(s) why the claim is delayed by identifying in writing the missing verification and the party from whom it was requested.” (Emphasis added.)

“A claim need not be paid or denied until all demanded verification is provided” (New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 568, 570 [2d Dept 2004]; see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [c]; 65-3.8 [a] [1]).

In addressing whether these requirements applied to preclaim EUO requests, this court looked to Stephen Fogel Psychological (supra), where the Appellate Term found that an insurer had the right to conduct an IME prior to its receipt of the statutory claim form or its statutory equivalent which “under the regulations, triggers the verification process.” (7 Misc 3d at 20-21.) The Stephen Fogel Psychological court then found that the right to an IME “at this juncture is not afforded by the verification procedures and timetables” because section 65-1.1 (d) “is not, on its face or contextually, a ‘verification’ provision, and because the detailed and narrowly construed verification protocols are not amenable to application at a stage prior to submission of the claim form.” (Id. at 21.) The only party that needed to be notified of the preclaim IME was the assignor-injured party. (Stephen Fogel Psychological, 35 AD3d at 721.) In All-Boro Med. Supplies, Inc. v Progressive Northeastern Ins. Co. (20 Misc 3d 554 [2008]), Judge Sweeney extended this reasoning to EUOs, finding that an insurance company acted within its rights under the endorsement by scheduling an EUO before it had received the claim.

Based upon the above, this court, in Prime Psychological Servs. (supra), found that the postclaim notice requirements did not apply to preclaim EUOs, or by analogy to the instant matter, to preclaim IMEs, and that it therefore was of no consequence that neither the insurer’s Special Investigation Unit investigator nor its claims representative mentioned whether the EUO notices were sent to the assignor’s attorney. As such, this court determined that an insurer’s timely denial of a claim, [*5]based upon an insured’s failure to appear for a preclaim EUO, which constitutes a breach of a condition precedent to payment, is a valid ground upon which to award summary judgment to the defendant.{**24 Misc 3d at 548}

The same analysis governs what, if any, notice requirements attach to IME cutoff determinations based upon a lack of medical necessity. Where such a determination is made prior to the submission of a claim, there is no statutory requirement as to whom the insurer has to notify. Even the postverification notice requirements, which are inapplicable to preclaim EUOs and IMEs, do not mandate that the assignee medical provider be notified.[FN*] 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (e) discusses where EUOs and IMEs are to be held and then sets forth that “[t]he insurer shall inform the applicant at the time the examination is scheduled that the applicant will be reimbursed.” The term “applicant” within the context of 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (e) specifically refers to the injured party (the assignor). (East Acupuncture, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co.,61 AD3d 202, 2009 NY Slip Op 01191 [2d Dept 2009].) 11 NYCRR 65-3.6, entitled “Follow-up requirements,” which was ruled upon in Prime Psychological Servs. (supra), refers to the eligible injured person as the applicant in subdivision (a) where it mandates that insurers mail a second application for motor vehicle no-fault benefits to the “eligible injured person.”

Second, from a purely logical vantage point, it would be an exercise in futility to require an insurance company to send a preclaim IME cutoff notice to the assignee since, by definition, an insurance company cannot prophesize which medical service entity, out of the hundreds which exist in the metropolitan area, an injured party might seek services from. Statutory construction must be sought which is “consistent with achieving [the statute’s] purpose and with justice and common sense.” (Freeman v Kiamesha Concord, 76 Misc 2d 915, 920 [Civ Ct, NY County 1974].) The courts are to adopt a construction of a statute “which will not cause objectionable results, or cause inconvenience . . . or absurdity.” (McKinney’s Cons Laws of NY, Book 1, Statutes § 141, at 281; Matter of Medical Socy. of State of N.Y. v State of N.Y. Dept. of Health, 83 NY2d 447, 451-452 [1994].) The common mandate of statutory construction is to assume that the Legislature “did not intend a patently absurd result.” (Covington v Walker, 307 AD2d 908, 909 [2d Dept 2003,{**24 Misc 3d at 549} Feuerstein, J., dissenting]; see Statutes § 145; see In re Adamo, 619 F2d 216, 219 [2d Cir 1980].)

Here, the IME was conducted and the IME cutoff date became effective approximately six months before the Allens even sought treatment from, much less assigned their benefits to, plaintiff. Hence, it would be absurd to require defendant to notify this particular plaintiff provider about the IME cutoff as it had no way of discerning that the Allens might seek [*6]treatment at this provider at some date in the future. Plaintiff implicitly concedes that the Allens were notified of the IME cutoff date by contending that the “IME cut-off was never advised to assignee” and that the “IME exam was kept secret from the assignee” until the denial (reply ¶ 10). Since the Allens attended the IMEs and apparently knew that their no-fault benefits were cut off, they were under an obligation to inform plaintiff and any other medical provider from whom they sought treatment of this cutoff.

In light of the above, and the timely denials submitted by defendants, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is denied and this case will proceed to trial.

Footnotes

Footnote *: Parenthetically, in the one apparent case that discusses this issue, the court held that either the medical service provider or the assignor must be notified about the IME cutoff. (Mollins v GEICO, 15 Misc 3d 1103[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 50467[U] [Civ Ct, NY County 2007].) This case, however, provides little guidance since the IME and subsequent cutoff date occurred at or about the same time that the services were rendered at the medical service provider.

Legal questions (2)

Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

Claimant's prima facie case on motions

Open the full map

On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?

This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)

Held the provider made its prima facie showing because its billing manager laid a business-records foundation and personally mailed the bills; the motion was nonetheless denied because of the insurer's timely denials.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 2
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 80
  • Appellate TermApp Term 843
  • Trial courtsTrial 138
2015, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2007, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2022, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2019, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2014, Appellate Division: 10 decisions (9 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2013, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Proof sufficient)2012, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Proof sufficient)2011, Appellate Division: 11 decisions (11 Proof sufficient)2010, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2009, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Other element missing)2008, Appellate Division: 8 decisions (6 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2007, Appellate Division: 15 decisions (12 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown)2006, Appellate Division: 5 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Other element missing)2005, Appellate Division: 5 decisions (5 Proof sufficient)2004, Appellate Division: 11 decisions (10 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2026, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2003, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2022, Appellate Term: 14 decisions (2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 12 Overdue not shown)2021, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 4 Overdue not shown)2020, Appellate Term: 13 decisions (13 Overdue not shown)2019, Appellate Term: 23 decisions (22 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2018, Appellate Term: 26 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 22 Overdue not shown)2017, Appellate Term: 38 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 34 Overdue not shown)2016, Appellate Term: 41 decisions (7 Proof sufficient, 34 Overdue not shown)2015, Appellate Term: 44 decisions (12 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 30 Overdue not shown, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2014, Appellate Term: 22 decisions (10 Proof sufficient, 12 Overdue not shown)2013, Appellate Term: 34 decisions (17 Proof sufficient, 11 Overdue not shown, 6 Business-record foundation lacking)2012, Appellate Term: 32 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 11 Overdue not shown, 16 Business-record foundation lacking)2011, Appellate Term: 29 decisions (6 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 13 Overdue not shown, 9 Business-record foundation lacking)2010, Appellate Term: 36 decisions (22 Proof sufficient, 3 Mailing/receipt not shown, 10 Business-record foundation lacking, 1 Other element missing)2009, Appellate Term: 52 decisions (28 Proof sufficient, 3 Mailing/receipt not shown, 21 Business-record foundation lacking)2008, Appellate Term: 49 decisions (16 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 32 Business-record foundation lacking)2007, Appellate Term: 104 decisions (8 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 94 Business-record foundation lacking)2006, Appellate Term: 112 decisions (76 Proof sufficient, 26 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown, 6 Business-record foundation lacking, 3 Other element missing)2005, Appellate Term: 90 decisions (84 Proof sufficient, 5 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown)2004, Appellate Term: 57 decisions (43 Proof sufficient, 10 Mailing/receipt not shown, 4 Other element missing)2003, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (7 Proof sufficient)2023, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Overdue not shown)2024, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 6 Overdue not shown)2025, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown)2026, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Mailing/receipt not shown)2023, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Proof sufficient)2022, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 2 Overdue not shown)2021, Trial courts: 11 decisions (6 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 2 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2020, Trial courts: 5 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2019, Trial courts: 6 decisions (5 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown)2018, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Overdue not shown)2017, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2016, Trial courts: 4 decisions (4 Proof sufficient)2013, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2012, Trial courts: 5 decisions (4 Proof sufficient, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2011, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2010, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2009, Trial courts: 7 decisions (7 Proof sufficient)2008, Trial courts: 14 decisions (8 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown, 4 Business-record foundation lacking)2007, Trial courts: 7 decisions (5 Proof sufficient, 2 Business-record foundation lacking)2006, Trial courts: 16 decisions (13 Proof sufficient, 2 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2005, Trial courts: 22 decisions (14 Proof sufficient, 5 Mailing/receipt not shown, 3 Business-record foundation lacking)2004, Trial courts: 14 decisions (8 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 4 Other element missing)2025, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown)2026, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown)2014, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2015, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2024, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)This decision
20052010201520202025
Proof sufficientMailing/receipt not shownOverdue not shownBusiness-record foundation lackingOther element missingThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 511 (this one included) are in the same category. 2 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.

Proof of mailing

Open the full map

Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?

This decision: The provider's or claimant's proof established mailing of its claim form, NF-2 or verification response (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)

Rejected the insurer's challenge to the provider's mailing proof because the billing manager personally packaged, sealed, stamped and mailed the bills.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 1
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 37
  • Appellate TermApp Term 1,203
  • Trial courtsTrial 143
2015, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2023, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2020, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2016, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove)2015, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove)2014, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing)2013, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2012, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2011, Appellate Division: 6 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2010, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2008, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2007, Appellate Division: 7 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2006, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2005, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove)2004, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2026, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer failed to prove)2023, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing)2022, Appellate Term: 44 decisions (32 Insurer proved mailing, 3 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing)2021, Appellate Term: 21 decisions (13 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2020, Appellate Term: 31 decisions (24 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing)2019, Appellate Term: 80 decisions (59 Insurer proved mailing, 5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 12 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2018, Appellate Term: 73 decisions (46 Insurer proved mailing, 16 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove, 9 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2017, Appellate Term: 115 decisions (60 Insurer proved mailing, 26 Insurer failed to prove, 4 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 21 Triable issue on mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2016, Appellate Term: 102 decisions (44 Insurer proved mailing, 30 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 20 Triable issue on mailing, 3 Mixed rulings)2015, Appellate Term: 97 decisions (66 Insurer proved mailing, 10 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 9 Triable issue on mailing, 8 Mixed rulings)2014, Appellate Term: 67 decisions (55 Insurer proved mailing, 3 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 3 Triable issue on mailing, 4 Mixed rulings)2013, Appellate Term: 73 decisions (62 Insurer proved mailing, 6 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 3 Mixed rulings)2012, Appellate Term: 109 decisions (87 Insurer proved mailing, 13 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 4 Mixed rulings)2011, Appellate Term: 69 decisions (56 Insurer proved mailing, 8 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2010, Appellate Term: 77 decisions (67 Insurer proved mailing, 4 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 2 Mixed rulings)2009, Appellate Term: 53 decisions (29 Insurer proved mailing, 11 Insurer failed to prove, 6 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 4 Mixed rulings)2008, Appellate Term: 27 decisions (12 Insurer proved mailing, 11 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2007, Appellate Term: 30 decisions (9 Insurer proved mailing, 16 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2006, Appellate Term: 74 decisions (6 Insurer proved mailing, 18 Insurer failed to prove, 21 Provider proved mailing, 21 Provider failed to prove, 8 Mixed rulings)2005, Appellate Term: 27 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 14 Insurer failed to prove, 7 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2004, Appellate Term: 12 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 4 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2003, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Provider proved mailing)2024, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2025, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing)2026, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 3 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Triable issue on mailing)2023, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Provider proved mailing)2022, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2021, Trial courts: 17 decisions (12 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 2 Mixed rulings)2020, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Provider proved mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2019, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2018, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2017, Trial courts: 7 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove)2016, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2015, Trial courts: 3 decisions (3 Provider proved mailing)2013, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2012, Trial courts: 10 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2011, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2010, Trial courts: 6 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2009, Trial courts: 9 decisions (4 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing)2008, Trial courts: 13 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 7 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2007, Trial courts: 8 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2006, Trial courts: 7 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 6 Insurer failed to prove)2005, Trial courts: 14 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 8 Insurer failed to prove, 4 Provider failed to prove)2004, Trial courts: 10 decisions (5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove)2024, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2025, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2026, Trial courts: 6 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)This decision
20052010201520202025
Insurer proved mailingInsurer failed to proveProvider proved mailingProvider failed to proveTriable issue on mailingMixed rulingsThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 103 (this one included) are in the same category. 2 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.

Cited in this decision (20)

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Manhattan Med. Imaging, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51844(U))Staged accident and fraudulent incorporation defenses remain available despite an insurer's late denial.
  • Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359)The hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
  • Second Med., P.C. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28169)A billing company's incorporation of a provider's records into a claim form does not cure hearsay in the underlying records.
  • Complete Orthopedic Supplies, Inc. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 27192)A fee schedule dispute remained triable because the insurer established neither a proper scheduled fee nor a comparable fee for the goods.
  • North Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 52523(U))The provider failed to establish summary judgment entitlement through competent evidence and could not cure its moving papers in reply.
  • Dan Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26483)The provider failed to establish its prima facie case because its corporate officer did not lay a business-records foundation for the claim documents.
  • Rockman v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 52093(U))The provider failed to rebut the insurer's timely preserved defense that proof of claim was submitted beyond the 180-day deadline.
  • Eagle Chiropractic, P.C. v Chubb Indem. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 50525(U))An insurer need not prove a policy contains the mandatory 45-day claim deadline when an older endorsement could no longer apply.
  • SZ Med. P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26194)An insurer waives the 45-day submission defense by omitting notice that reasonable justification can excuse a late claim.
  • Mid Atl. Med., P.C. v Travelers Indem. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51579(U))An insurer is precluded from asserting untimely proof of claim unless it timely denies the claim.
  • Prime Psychological Servs., P.C. v Nationwide Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29100) FollowedAn insurer's preclaim EUO requests are not subject to the verification rule requiring notice to the assignor's attorney.
  • Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24527) FollowedA proven failure to attend a reasonably requested preclaim IME, timely raised in a denial, does not alone warrant dismissal.
  • Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 09604) FollowedAn insurer may deny benefits retroactively to the date of loss for failure to attend reasonably required IMEs under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
  • All-Boro Med. Supplies, Inc. v Progressive Northeastern Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28207)A preclaim EUO set beyond 30 days after claim receipt must be rescheduled within that period to support a nonappearance defense.
  • Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co. v Inwood Hill Med., P.C. (2005 NY Slip Op 51101(U))An injured claimant's failure to attend EUOs and IMEs rebuts presumed medical necessity but permits the provider to prove necessity at trial.
Show all 20 cited decisions
  • Inwood Hill Med. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50565(U))
  • Eagle Surgical Supply, Inc. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28342)
  • New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 01750)
  • East Acupuncture, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 01191) Followed
  • Jeff Mollins, D.C v GEICO (2007 NY Slip Op 50467(U)) DistinguishedThe insurer's IME cut-off defense failed because notice was unproved and its denials lacked a factual basis and medical rationale.

Cited by

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • Westchester Med. Ctr. v Hereford Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 04156) FollowedThe provider proved mailing and receipt of its bill and the insurer's failure to pay or deny within 30 days; the insurer failed to raise a triable issue.
  • Prime Psychological Servs., PC v ELRAC, Inc. (2009 NY Slip Op 52579(U)) FollowedAn insurer may deny a claim for a pre-claim IME nonappearance even when its denial also cites a post-claim IME nonappearance.
  • Lender Med. Supply, Inc. v Hartford Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50903(U)) FollowedAn insurer's consent to adjourn an EUO prevents it from counting nonappearance on that date as a no-show.
  • Health Care Assoc. in Medicine v Geico Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50094(U))A provider need not prove submission within the 45-day claim period as part of its prima facie case.
  • Lenox Hill Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 50800(U))The hospitals failed to establish that their billing documents were business records and were denied summary judgment.

Similar decisions

  • Allstate Social Work & Psychological Servs., PLLC v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28494)An IME by a licensed psychologist can satisfy the mandatory no-fault endorsement's requirement of examination by a physician.
  • Sure Way NY, Inc. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 26413)An insurer has 15 business days to request a provider's EUO when new information from the assignor's EUO warrants it.
  • Neomy Med., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 50536(U))An assignor's failure to attend a postclaim IME is a nonprecludable coverage defense despite a denial issued beyond 30 days.
  • A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25456)The providers obtained partial summary judgment because defective EUO requests and incomplete IME follow-up failed to toll denial time.
  • Vitality Chiropractic, P.C. v Kemper Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26536)Preclaim IME requests do not toll the denial period, and mutually agreed rescheduling of initial IMEs is not a follow-up request.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.