• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
June 19, 2009

M.N. Dental Diagnostics, P.C. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29266)

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/m-n-dental-diagnostics-p-c-v-government-empls-ins-co-2009-ny-slip-op-29266/

Court
Appellate Term, First Department
Decided
June 19, 2009
Citation
2009 NY Slip Op 29266 · 24 Misc 3d 43
Posture
Trial
Outcome
Provider prevailed
Later history
Affirmed by M.N. Dental Diagnostics, P.C. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 01333)
Later treatment
Distinguished in 1 and followed in 1 later decisions (see Cited by)
Issues
Priority, other coverage
Legal questions
Workers' comp or other insurer primary (see the maps)
Cite as
M.N. Dental Diagnostics, P.C. v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 24 Misc 3d 43 (App Term, 1st Dept 2009)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

An insurer's dispute over priority of no-fault payment must be arbitrated when more than one policy provides coverage. The assignor's insurer denied the provider's claim because the assignor drove a rental car and asserted that the rental car's insurer alone owed benefits. Its own policy expressly covered rental and substitute automobiles. The Appellate Term, First Department, affirmed the provider's judgment after trial. Under Insurance Law § 5105 (b) and 11 NYCRR 65-4.11 (a) (6), the dispute concerned priority of payment and required intercompany arbitration. As the first insurer given notice of proof of claim, the assignor's insurer had to pay under 11 NYCRR 65-3.12 (b) and could not assert the priority dispute as a defense.

Reported in New York Official Reports at M.N. Dental Diagnostics, P.C. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29266)

M.N. Dental Diagnostics, P.C. v Government Empls. Ins. Co.
2009 NY Slip Op 29266 [24 Misc 3d 43]
Accepted for Miscellaneous Reports Publication
AT1
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
As corrected through Wednesday, August 12, 2009

[*1]

M.N. Dental Diagnostics, P.C., as Assignee of Daniel Burgos, Respondent,
v
Government Employees Insurance Company, Appellant.

Supreme Court, Appellate Term, First Department, June 19, 2009

APPEARANCES OF COUNSEL

Law Offices of Teresa M. Spina & Edward Satran, Woodbury (Edward Satran of counsel), for appellant. Baker, Sanders, Barshay, Grossman, Fass, Muhlstock & Neuwirth, Mineola, for respondent.

{**24 Misc 3d at 44} OPINION OF THE COURT

Per Curiam.

Judgment, entered on or about February 15, 2007, affirmed, with $25 costs.

Plaintiff, a health services provider, commenced this action to recover first-party no-fault benefits for health services rendered to plaintiff’s assignor (Burgos), who was involved in a motor vehicle accident on August 4, 2003. At the time of the accident, Burgos was driving a rental car owned by nonparty Manhattan Ford Lincoln Mercury, Inc. and allegedly insured by nonparty Fidelity and Guaranty Insurance Company. Burgos’ insurer, defendant Government Employees Insurance Company (GEICO), denied plaintiff’s no-fault claim on the ground that no-fault benefits were payable by Fidelity. GEICO stipulated to plaintiff’s prima facie case and raised as its sole defense that it was not obligated to pay plaintiff’s claim since Burgos’ insured vehicle was not involved in the accident and the payment of first-party benefits was the sole responsibility of Fidelity, as Manhattan Ford’s insurer. After trial, the court awarded judgment to plaintiff, holding that GEICO’s objection to payment did not raise an issue of coverage, but rather one of priority of payment, which under Insurance Law § 5105 (b) and applicable regulations must be submitted to arbitration.

Civil Court properly determined that it could not adjudicate the threshold issue raised at trial by GEICO, viz., whether it or Fidelity was primarily responsible for the payment of the first-party benefits sought by plaintiff. Under Insurance Law § 5105 (b), arbitration shall be “utilized to resolve all disputes arising between insurers concerning their responsibility for the payment of first party benefits” (Matter of Pacific Ins. Co. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 150 AD2d 455, 456 [1989]). GEICO’s argument that its denial of benefits raised an issue of coverage because it was not “otherwise liable” for the payment of first-party benefits (see 11 NYCRR 65-3[*2].12 [b]) is unavailing, since it ignores the endorsements contained in its own insurance policy, which expressly provided Burgos with rental and substitute{**24 Misc 3d at 45} automobile coverage. Where, as here, more than one insurance policy provides coverage for a no-fault claim, the issue becomes one of priority of payment. 11 NYCRR 65-4.11 (a) (6) pertinently provides that “any controversy between insurers involving the responsibility or the obligation to pay first-party benefits (i.e., priority of payment or sources of payment as provided in section 65-3.12 of this Part) is not considered a coverage question and must be submitted to mandatory arbitration under this section.” GEICO, as “the first insurer to whom notice of proof of claim [was] given” (11 NYCRR 65-3.12 [b]), was obligated to pay the no-fault benefits for the health services provided by plaintiff, irrespective of any issues relating to the priority or source of payment. Since GEICO denied payment of plaintiff’s claim on the stated ground that no-fault benefits were payable by Fidelity, its denial raised a question concerning the responsibility or obligation to pay first-party benefits, an inter-company dispute which must be resolved through mandatory arbitration (see Paramount Ins. Co. v Miccio, 169 AD2d 761 [1991]; Pacific Ins. Co. v State Farm, 150 AD2d at 456), not by way of a defense to plaintiff’s plenary no-fault action.

McKeon, P.J., and Heitler, J., concur.

Legal questions

A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

Workers' comp or other insurer primary

Open the full map

Can a no-fault insurer deny or delay payment because workers’ compensation or another insurer is primary?

This decision: Another insurer's possible priority is no defense: the first insurer notified pays, then arbitrates with the other insurer

Held the insurer's objection that the rental car's insurer should pay raised a priority-of-payment dispute, not coverage, since its own policy covered substitute vehicles, so as first insurer notified it had to pay and arbitrate with the other insurer.

  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 2
  • Appellate TermApp Term 5
  • Trial courtsTrial 2
2019, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 WC defense not shown)2011, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 First insurer must pay)2018, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 WC defense precluded)2012, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 First insurer must pay)2010, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2009, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 First insurer must pay)2017, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)2021, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 No coverage, not priority)2008, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Referred to WC Board)This decision
2008201020122014201620182020
Referred to WC BoardWC defense not shownWC defense precludedFirst insurer must payNo coverage, not priorityThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 9 decisions on this question in the First Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 3 (this one included) are in the same category. 2 decisions in other departments that cite or are cited by this one are on the full map.

Cited by

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • M.N. Dental Diagnostics, P.C. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 01333) AffirmedAn insurer first notified of a no-fault claim must pay benefits despite a priority dispute that belongs in interinsurer arbitration.
  • Parisien v Farmers Ins. (2022 NY Slip Op 22309) DistinguishedAn insurer's good-faith lack-of-coverage defense falls outside mandatory arbitration of disputes over priority of no-fault payment.
  • State Farm Auto. Ins. Co. v Harco Natl. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 52093(U)) FollowedThe petitioning insurer failed to justify vacating a mandatory arbitration award denying reimbursement on priority-of-payment grounds.
  • Yumi Acupuncture, P.C. v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2026 NY Slip Op 50433(U))An insurer first receiving a no-fault claim cannot toll payment by requesting a declaration addressing only other insurance.

Similar decisions

  • SZ Med., P.C. v Lancer Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25112)An insurer's priority-of-payment dispute with another insurer must be arbitrated and is no defense to a provider's no-fault action.
  • A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v GEICO Cas. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 20094)The insurer's summary judgment motion failed because New Jersey law governed and factual disputes remained over coverage.
  • Montefiore Med. Ctr. v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 08953)An insurer's additional verification request following an N-F5 submission need not use a prescribed form to toll the payment deadline.
  • St. Chiropractic, P.C. v Geico Gen. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 26271)An option to arbitrate a no-fault dispute does not furnish a ground to dismiss a court action over that dispute.
  • Medical Care G.M., P.C. v GEICO Ins. (2008 NY Slip Op 50379(U))The providers' summary judgment motion was granted because the insurer failed to support a founded belief of noncoverage with admissible evidence.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.