• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
    • No-Fault Collections
    • Billing and Collections
    • Provider Defense
  • How We Work
  • About
    • All Research & Data
    • Search Case Law & Regulations
    • New Decisions
    • Decisions by Court
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Claim Process & Deadlines
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Arbitration Results by Provider
    • Ask No-Fault AI
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
    • No-Fault Collections
    • Billing and Collections
    • Provider Defense
  • How We Work
  • About
    • All Research & Data
    • Search Case Law & Regulations
    • New Decisions
    • Decisions by Court
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Claim Process & Deadlines
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Arbitration Results by Provider
    • Ask No-Fault AI
  • Contact
July 13, 2009

Bronx Expert Radiology, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51475(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/bronx-expert-radiology-p-c-v-new-york-cent-mut-fire-ins-co-2009-ny-slip-op51475u/

Court
Appellate Term, First Department
Decided
July 13, 2009
Citation
2009 NY Slip Op 51475(U) · 24 Misc 3d 134(A)
Posture
Trial
Later treatment
Distinguished in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
Issues
Trial and evidence Medical necessity
Legal questions
Lack of medical necessity (see the maps)
Cite as
Bronx Expert Radiology, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 24 Misc 3d 134(A), 2009 NY Slip Op 51475(U) (App Term, 1st Dept 2009)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

An insurer's medical expert may testify on medical necessity within the original peer review's denial grounds and subject to cross-examination. The Appellate Term, First Department, reversed the judgment entered after exclusion of the insurer's expert and a directed verdict for the provider, and remanded for further proceedings. Reliance in part on the assignor's medical records prepared by the provider did not bar the expert's testimony. Nor did reliance on records prepared by other physicians and submitted to the insurer concerning treatment of injuries arising from the same accident. The insurer therefore should have been permitted to present its expert.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Bronx Expert Radiology, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51475(U))

[*1]
Bronx Expert Radiology, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co.
2009 NY Slip Op 51475(U) [24 Misc 3d 134(A)]
Decided on July 13, 2009
Appellate Term, First Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.
Decided on July 13, 2009

APPELLATE TERM OF THE SUPREME COURT, FIRST DEPARTMENT


PRESENT: McKeon, P.J., Schoenfeld, Heitler, JJ
570119/08.
Bronx Expert Radiology, P.C. a/a/o Monique Tirado, Plaintiff-Respondent,

against

New York Central Mutual Fire Insurance Company, Defendant-Appellant.

Defendant appeals from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Bronx County (Sharon A.M. Aarons, J.), entered November 28, 2007, which, upon preclusion of defendant’s expert testimony, directed a verdict in favor of plaintiff.

Per Curiam.

Appeal from order (Sharon A.M. Aarons, J.), entered November 28, 2007, is deemed an appeal from a judgment (same court and Judge), entered August 18, 2008, and so considered, judgment reversed, with $25 costs, and matter remanded for further proceedings.

In this action to recover first party no-fault benefits, defendant’s medical expert should have been permitted to testify, since the expert witness “would be subject to full cross-examination and his testimony as to lack of medical necessity would be limited to the basis for denial set forth in the original peer review report” (Home Care Orthos. Med. Supply v American Mfrs. Mut. Ins. Co., 14 Misc 3d 139[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 50302[U] [2007]; see also Spruce Med. and Diagnostic, P.C. v Lumbermen’s Mut. Cas. Co., 15 Misc 3d 143[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 51104[U] [2007]). Nor is defendant’s expert precluded from testifying because his opinion may have been based, at least in part, on his review of the assignor’s medical records prepared by plaintiff (Home Care Orthos. Med. Supply v American Mfrs. Mut. Ins. Co., 14 Misc 3d 139[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 50302[U] [2007]) or medical records prepared by other physicians and submitted to defendant, relating to treatment provided to the assignor for injuries arising from the same motor vehicle accident.
THIS CONSTITUTES THE DECISION AND ORDER OF THE COURT.
Decision Date: July 13, 2009

Legal questions

A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

Lack of medical necessity

Open the full map

Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?

This decision: Trial ruling on burden or admissibility of the insurer's proof; matter sent back without a finding

Reversed a directed verdict for the provider, holding the insurer's expert should have been allowed to testify within the peer review's basis even if relying on records of the provider and other physicians, and remanded.

  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 1
  • Appellate TermApp Term 61
  • Trial courtsTrial 11
2008, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer raised triable issue)2020, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails)2018, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Unrebutted, insurer prevails)2017, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails)2016, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (3 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient)2015, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (5 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient)2014, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (2 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 4 Insurer's proof insufficient)2013, Appellate Term: 11 decisions (4 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 4 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient, 1 Trial error, new trial)2012, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (4 Unrebutted, insurer prevails)2011, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2010, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2009, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (1 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient, 1 Trial error, new trial)2008, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Insurer's proof insufficient)2007, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Insurer raised triable issue, 2 Insurer's proof insufficient, 2 Trial error, new trial)2006, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (1 Insurer raised triable issue, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient, 1 Trial error, new trial)2004, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer raised triable issue)2024, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails)2021, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2020, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails, 1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient)2019, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Provider's rebuttal sufficient)2011, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2007, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails)2006, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Insurer raised triable issue, 1 Insurer's proof insufficient)2005, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Unrebutted, insurer prevails)2004, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer's proof insufficient)This decision
2005201020152020
Unrebutted, insurer prevailsProvider's rebuttal sufficientInsurer raised triable issueInsurer's proof insufficientTrial error, new trialThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 73 decisions on this question in the First Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 5 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Home Care Ortho. Med. Supply, Inc. v American Manufactures Mut. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50302(U)) FollowedAn insurer's medical-necessity expert may testify without having performed the original peer review if testimony stays within its grounds.
  • Spruce Med. & Diagnostic, P.C. v Lumbermen’s Mut. Cas. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51104(U))An insurer's medical expert need not be the peer reviewer if cross-examination is available and testimony stays within the stated denial basis.

Cited by

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • Beal-Medea Prods., Inc. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50800(U)) DistinguishedThe insurer failed to establish lack of medical necessity because its substitute peer review expert did not prove the records' reliability.

Similar decisions

  • Bronx Expert Radiology, P.C. v Great N. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51474(U))The provider failed to justify its delayed claim submission after mistakenly billing the wrong insurer.
  • Radiology Today, P.C. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51724(U))The insurer's expert should have been permitted to testify although that expert did not prepare the peer review underlying the denial.
  • Cross Cont. Med., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26322)A provider cannot challenge the reliability of its own principal's treatment records as the source of an insurer's expert opinion.
  • Park Slope Med. & Surgical Supply, Inc. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52300(U))An insurer's substitute medical expert may testify on medical necessity, limited to the denial grounds in the original peer review report.
  • Queens Vil. Med. Care, P.C. v Government Employees Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51799(U))An expert medical witness's specialty affects the weight of the testimony, not the witness's competency to testify as an expert.
Beynenson Law

No-fault collections for healthcare providers across New York State, with billing available together with collections.

Request a free claims review
About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Services

  • No-Fault Collections
  • Billing and Collections
  • Provider Defense

Research & Data

  • All Research & Data
  • Search Case Law & Regulations
  • New Decisions
  • Decisions by Court
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations
  • Claim Process & Deadlines
  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Arbitration Results by Provider
  • Ask No-Fault AI

©2026 The Beynenson Law Group, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.