October 1, 2010
Point of Health Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51724(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/point-of-health-acupuncture-p-c-v-geico-ins-co-2010-ny-slip-op51724u/
- Decided
- October 1, 2010
- Citation
- 2010 NY Slip Op 51724(U) · 29 Misc 3d 127(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Legal questions
- Proof of mailing · Proving a fee schedule defense (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Point of Health Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51724(U))
| Point of Health Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. |
| 2010 NY Slip Op 51724(U) [29 Misc 3d 127(A)] |
| Decided on October 1, 2010 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| As corrected in part through November 4, 2011; it will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., RIOS and STEINHARDT, JJ
2009-907 K C.
against
GEICO Insurance Company, Appellant.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Robin S. Garson, J.), entered March 11, 2009. The order, insofar as appealed from as limited by the brief, granted plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment as to the unpaid portions of claim forms seeking the sums of $1,820, $1,300, and $780, respectively, and denied defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment as to the unpaid portions of those claim forms.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is reversed without costs, so much of plaintiff’s motion as sought summary judgment on the unpaid portions of claim forms seeking the sums of $1,820, $1,300, and $780, respectively, is denied, and so much of defendant’s cross motion as sought summary judgment on the unpaid portions of those claim forms is granted.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff sought to recover for the unpaid portions of five claim forms for acupuncture services. Defendant had paid portions of each claim, but had denied the remainder of each claim on the ground that plaintiff sought to recover fees in excess of what defendant had determined to be the proper rate of reimbursement for acupuncture services performed by chiropractors. Plaintiff moved for summary judgment and defendant cross-moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. The Civil Court granted plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and denied defendant’s cross motion, finding that defendant had failed to specify the dates on which its denials were mailed. On appeal, defendant limits its argument to the unpaid portions of three claim forms, which sought the sums of $1,820, $1,300 and $780, respectively.
Contrary to the conclusion of the Civil Court, the affidavit of defendant’s claims division employee was sufficient to establish that the relevant denial of claim forms had been timely mailed in accordance with defendant’s standard office practices and procedures (see St. Vincent’s [*2]Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]; Residential Holding Corp. v Scottsdale Ins. Co., 286 AD2d 679 [2001]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins.,17 Misc 3d 16 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]). Moreover, defendant properly demonstrated that it had used the workers’ compensation fee schedule for acupuncture services performed by chiropractors to determine the amount which plaintiff was entitled to receive for the acupuncture services rendered by plaintiff’s licensed acupuncturist (Amercure Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co., 26 Misc 3d 132[A], 2010 NY Slip Op 50068[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2010]; see also Great Wall Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co., 26 Misc 3d 23 [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]). Accordingly, since defendant fully paid plaintiff the amount to which plaintiff was entitled with respect to the claim forms seeking the sums of $1,820, $1,300, and $780, respectively, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment with regard to those unpaid portions should have been denied and defendant’s cross motion with respect thereto should have been granted.
Pesce, P.J., Rios and Steinhardt, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: October 01, 2010
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice
Reversing a finding that the insurer failed to specify mailing dates, held the claims employee's affidavit established the denials were timely mailed under the insurer's standard office practices and procedures.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove that the amount billed exceeded the applicable workers’ compensation fee schedule?
This decision: Insurer proved the billed amount exceeded the applicable fee schedule
Held the insurer properly used the chiropractor acupuncture fee schedule for a licensed acupuncturist's services and fully paid the amount due, so the unpaid portions were dismissed.
Of the 284 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 146 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072)The insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345)An insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.
- Amercure Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50068(U)) FollowedAn insurer may use the chiropractic acupuncture fee schedule to reimburse services rendered by a licensed acupuncturist.
- Great Wall Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29467)An insurer may use the chiropractic acupuncture fee schedule to reimburse acupuncture services performed by a licensed acupuncturist.
Similar decisions
- Health Needles Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 51864(U))The insurer established full payment for the disputed acupuncture services under the workers' compensation fee schedule for chiropractors.
- Gentle Care Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO (2011 NY Slip Op 51121(U))An insurer may use the workers' compensation fee schedule for chiropractors' acupuncture services to reimburse a licensed acupuncturist.
- Gentle Care Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 52226(U))An insurer may use the chiropractic acupuncture fee schedule to reimburse acupuncture services performed by a licensed acupuncturist.
- Great Wall Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 52308(U))The insurer's fee-schedule defense was precluded for one claim because it failed to establish a timely denial of the unpaid balance.
- WJJ Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52377(U))The insurer established full payment under the chiropractic acupuncture fee schedule except for the initial visit claim.