December 16, 2010
Gentle Care Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 52226(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/gentle-care-acupuncture-p-c-v-geico-ins-co-2010-ny-slip-op52226u/
- Decided
- December 16, 2010
- Citation
- 2010 NY Slip Op 52226(U) · 30 Misc 3d 126(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
- Later treatment
- Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
- Legal questions
- Proving a fee schedule defense · Proof of mailing · Lack of medical necessity (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Gentle Care Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 52226(U))
| Gentle Care Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. |
| 2010 NY Slip Op 52226(U) [30 Misc 3d 126(A)] |
| Decided on December 16, 2010 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : STEINHARDT, J.P., PESCE and WESTON, JJ
2009-2179 K C.
against
Geico Insurance Company, Appellant.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Johnny Lee Baynes, J.), entered July 21, 2009. The order, insofar as appealed from, denied defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is modified by providing that defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted except as to plaintiff’s claim for $160.56 (for services rendered on January 10, 2007); as so modified, the order is affirmed, without costs. The matter is remitted to the Civil Court for all further proceedings on the $160.56 claim.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff moved for summary judgment and defendant cross-moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. The Civil Court denied the motion and the cross motion, finding that “triable issues of fact exist as to the Workers[‘] Compensation fee schedule and medical necessity.” Defendant appeals from so much of the order as denied its cross motion.
The record demonstrates that the acupuncture services at issue were rendered by a licensed acupuncturist, and that defendant timely denied (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]; Residential Holding Corp. v Scottsdale Ins. Co., 286 AD2d 679 [2001]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins., 17 Misc 3d 16 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]) the portions of plaintiff’s claims for acupuncture services that it determined exceeded the proper rate of reimbursement for services provided by a licensed acupuncturist. As a matter of law, an insurer may use the workers’ compensation fee [*2]schedule for acupuncture services performed by chiropractors to determine the amount which a licensed acupuncturist is entitled to receive for such services (see Great Wall Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co., 26 Misc 3d 23 [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]). Since it is undisputed that defendant reimbursed plaintiff pursuant to such workers’ compensation fee schedule, plaintiff is not entitled to any additional reimbursement on the claims which defendant determined exceeded the proper rate of reimbursement under the fee schedule for acupuncture services rendered by a chiropractor, and defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment with respect to the unpaid portions of said claims should have been granted.
Defendant also timely denied (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond, 50 AD3d 1123; Residential Holding Corp., 286 AD2d 679; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C., 17 Misc 3d 16) charges of $90 and $35 for services rendered on March 28, 2007, based upon independent medical examinations (IMEs) performed on March 20, 2007, which found a lack of medical necessity for further acupuncture services. In support of its cross motion for summary judgment with respect to said charges, defendant submitted IME reports and accompanying affidavits of an acupuncturist and a chiropractor which established, prima facie, a lack of medical necessity for the services at issue. Although plaintiff submitted, in opposition to the cross motion, an “Affidavit of Medical Necessity” of its licensed acupuncturist, that affidavit did not meaningfully refer to, let alone rebut, the conclusions set forth in the IME reports (see Eastern Star Acupuncture, P.C. v Mercury Ins. Co., 26 Misc 3d 142[A], 2010 NY Slip Op 50380[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2010]; Pan Chiropractic, P.C. v Mercury Ins. Co., 24 Misc 3d 136[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 51495[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]). Accordingly, so much of defendant’s cross motion as sought summary judgment dismissing those charges should have been granted (see A. Khodadadi Radiology, P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 16 Misc 3d 131[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 51342[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]).
Since defendant did not make a prima facie showing of its entitlement to judgment as a matter of law with respect to the remaining claim in dispute, i.e., a charge for $160.56 (for services rendered on January 10, 2007), its motion for summary judgment was properly denied as to this claim.
Steinhardt, J.P., Pesce and Weston, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: December 16, 2010
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer prove that the amount billed exceeded the applicable workers’ compensation fee schedule?
This decision: Insurer proved the billed amount exceeded the applicable fee schedule
Held as a matter of law the insurer could pay a licensed acupuncturist at the chiropractor acupuncture rate, and since it undisputedly paid at that rate no further reimbursement was due.
Of the 284 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 146 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer timely denied the acupuncture and post-IME claims, citing the standard-office-practice mailing rule.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?
This decision: Insurer's proof established lack of medical necessity and the provider failed to rebut it (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the IME reports and affidavits established lack of medical necessity for post-IME services, and the provider's affidavit did not meaningfully refer to or rebut them, so the insurer was granted summary judgment on those charges.
Of the 617 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 315 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072)The insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345)An insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.
- Great Wall Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 29467) FollowedAn insurer may use the chiropractic acupuncture fee schedule to reimburse acupuncture services performed by a licensed acupuncturist.
- Eastern Star Acupuncture, P.C. v Mercury Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50380(U))The provider's supervising acupuncturist failed to meaningfully address or rebut the insurer's IME conclusions on medical necessity.
- Pan Chiropractic, P.C. v Mercury Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51495(U))The provider's conclusory disagreement with the insurer's supported peer review failed to raise a medical-necessity issue of fact.
- A Khodadadi Radiology, P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51342(U)) FollowedThe insurer's unrebutted peer review established that the provider's MRIs lacked medical necessity.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Gentle Care Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51290(U)) FollowedThe insurer proved full fee-schedule payment for earlier acupuncture claims and lack of medical necessity for later treatment.
- American Tr. Ins. Co. v Right Choice Supply, Inc. (2023 NY Slip Op 23039)A no-fault arbitrator need not apply summary judgment rules requiring a provider's medical evidence to specifically rebut an insurer's peer review.
Similar decisions
- Megacure Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51291(U))The insurer proved full fee-schedule payment for earlier acupuncture services and lack of medical necessity for later services.
- WJJ Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52377(U))The insurer established full payment under the chiropractic acupuncture fee schedule except for the initial visit claim.
- Great Wall Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 52308(U))The insurer's fee-schedule defense was precluded for one claim because it failed to establish a timely denial of the unpaid balance.
- MIA Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51731(U))The insurer proved full payment of fee schedule claims and raised a medical necessity issue on the remaining acupuncture claims.
- Eastern Star Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51010(U))The insurer established full fee-schedule payment for four acupuncture claims and lack of medical necessity for a fifth.