April 26, 2013
Jersey Rehab PA, P.C. v IDS Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50652(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/jersey-rehab-pa-p-c-v-ids-prop-cas-ins-co-2013-ny-slip-op50652u/
- Judge
- Ciaffa, J.
- Decided
- April 26, 2013
- Citation
- 2013 NY Slip Op 50652(U) · 39 Misc 3d 1218(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
- Later treatment
- Contrasted (cf., but see) in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
- Issues
- IME no-show
- Legal questions
- No-show defense: insurer's proof (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Jersey Rehab PA, P.C. v IDS Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50652(U))
| Jersey Rehab PA, P.C. v IDS Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. |
| 2013 NY Slip Op 50652(U) [39 Misc 3d 1218(A)] |
| Decided on April 26, 2013 |
| District Court Of Nassau County, First District |
| Ciaffa, J. |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
District Court of Nassau County, First District
Jersey Rehab
PA, P.C. Assignee Of OWEN G. WEBB, Plaintiff(s),
against IDS Property Casualty Insurance Company, Defendant(s). |
CV-006644-11
Friedman, Harfenist, Kraut & Perlstein, Attorneys for Plaintiff, 3000 Marcus Avenue, Suite 2E1, Lake Success, New York 11042, 516-355-9600; Bruno, Gerbino & Soriano, LLP, Attorneys for Defendant, 445 Broad Hollow Road, Suite 220, Melville, New York 11747, 631-390-0010.
Michael A. Ciaffa, J.
The following papers have been considered by the Court
on this motion: submitted April 22, 2013
_________________________________________________________ _______________
Papers Numbered
_____________________________________________________________ ___________
Notice of Motion, Affirmation & Exhibits Annexed………………………1 – 2
Affirmation in Opposition…………………………………………………………..3
Reply Affirmation……………………………………………………………………..4
Defendant moves for an order granting it summary judgment, dismissing claims for no-fault benefits that had been timely filed by the plaintiff, Jersey Rehab PA, P.C. Three bills are at issue. Each sought payment for health services rendered by plaintiff to its assignor, claimant Owen G. Webb, after an auto accident.
The second and third bills in dispute (plaintiff’s fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh causes of action) were timely denied by defendant based upon Mr. Webb’s failure to attend an IME. In the absence of a challenge by plaintiff to defendant’s proof, the Court assumes that defendant’s evidence is sufficient to establish timely mailing of the IME notices to Mr. Webb. Compare St.Vincent’s Hosp. v GEICO, 50 AD3d 1123 (2d Dept 2008), with ARCO Med. NY, PC v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 2011 NY Slip Op 50184 (App Term 2d Dept). Likewise, defendant’s proof by affidavit sufficiently establishes that Mr. Webb failed to appear for an IME, as requested.
Under well settled legal principles, a claimant’s attendance at a properly noticed and scheduled IME is a condition precedent to an insurer’s obligation to cover no-fault [*2]claims. See Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720 (2d Dept 2006). Nevertheless, under the peculiar facts presented in this case, the Court holds that the defendant cannot properly claim that Mr. Webb breached a “condition precedent” to coverage when defendant, itself, breached a regulatory “condition precedent” to its right to obtain an IME of Mr. Webb.
Critically, the no-fault regulations include mandatory notice requirements governing insurer requests for both EUOs and IMEs (11 NYCRR 65-3.5[e]). The regulations expressly provide that the insurer “shall inform the applicant at the time the examination is scheduled that the applicant will be reimbursed for any loss of earnings and reasonable transportation expenses incurred in complying with the request” (id.).
In interpreting the provision in issue, the Insurance Department’s General Counsel has opined that every EUO notice “must include requisite language advising the person required to appear … of that person’s right to reimbursement for lost earnings and transportation costs … in order for such notice to be deemed effective under the regulation.” General Counsel Opinion 12-22-2006 (No.1) (emphasis added). Since the regulation draws no distinction between EUOs and IMEs (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.5[e]), the conclusion is inescapable: IME notices are subject to the very same requirements.
As plaintiff’s counsel cogently argues in her opposing papers, defendant’s IME request letters fail to comply with this mandatory directive. Although the letters include a sentence stating that “[a]ll fees relating to this appointment will be paid by your insurance carrier,” that language merely implies that the IME doctor’s fees will be paid by the insurer. By no means does this language give notice to Mr. Webb that he would be reimbursed for lost earnings and transportation expenses as required by the literal terms of the regulation.
Accordingly, the Court concludes that defendant’s IME notices cannot be deemed to have substantially complied with the notice requirements of 11 NYCRR 65-3.5(e). Furthermore, under the logic of the General Counsel’s opinion, which is entitled to deference unless “irrational or unreasonable,” see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., supra, the IME letters were ineffective and insufficient to give proper notice to Mr. Webb of his right to reimbursement.
Consequently, defendant’s papers fail to establish, as a matter of law, that Mr. Webb breached a condition precedent to coverage by failing to appear for an IME. Simply stated, compliance with the above-quoted notice requirement of 11 NYCRR 65-3.5(e) is a “condition precedent” to the insurer’s right to demand an IME. If the insurer fails to give the applicant proper notice of his right to reimbursement for lost wages and transportation costs, the IME demand is defective, per se, and may not form the basis for defeating an otherwise timely and proper no fault claim by a provider.
For these reasons, plaintiff’s fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh causes of action are not subject to summary dismissal on grounds of IME default.
Finally, defendant requests summary judgment dismissing the causes of action [*3]relating to the first bill (plaintiff’s second and third causes of action) on the ground that it paid the first bill, in full. Plaintiff does not oppose this branch of the motion.
Accordingly, defendant’s motion for summary judgment is GRANTED only to the extent of dismissing plaintiff’s second and third causes of action. The motion is otherwise DENIED.
So Ordered:
District Court Judge
Dated: April 26, 2013
cc:Bruno, Gerbino & Soriano, LLP
Friedman, Harfenist, Kraut & Perlstein, LLP
Legal questions
A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer did not show its requests met the regulatory timing, follow-up or justification requirements
Denied the insurer summary judgment because its IME letters did not tell the assignor he would be reimbursed for lost earnings and transportation, as 65-3.5 (e) requires, making the IME demands defective despite proof of nonappearance.
Of the 858 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 102 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) Contrasted (cf., but see)The insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- ARCO Med. NY, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 50184(U)) Contrasted (cf., but see)The insurer failed to prove mailing of IME notices, and the providers' billing affidavit addressed claims in another action.
- Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 09604) FollowedAn insurer may deny benefits retroactively to the date of loss for failure to attend reasonably required IMEs under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Medical Select, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 23446) Contrasted (cf., but see)An insurer's late-notice denial must advise that the applicant may justify the delay and obtain reconsideration.
Similar decisions
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 52641(U))The provider's conditions for attending an EUO constituted refusal to supply verification, leaving six claims premature.
- Natural Therapy Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2013 NYSlip Op 51935(U))The provider's EUO objections were unpreserved, and the insurer established timely notices and denials and the provider's nonappearance.
- Chiropractic Back Care of Queens Vil., P.C. v ELRAC, Inc. (2011 NY Slip Op 50544(U))The insurer established mailing of the IME notices and the assignor's failure to attend both scheduled examinations.
- Boai Zhong Yi Acupuncture Servs. PC v General Assur. Ins Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50329(U))The provider obtained summary judgment because two denials were late and the third relied on an unavailable IME nonappearance defense.
- Fyzio PT, PLLC v Ocean Harbor Cas. Ins. Co. (2025 NY Slip Op 50103(U))The insurer failed to prove the assignor's EUO and IME nonappearances through admissible evidence based on personal knowledge.