March 26, 2015
Renelique v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50482(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/renelique-v-american-tr-ins-co-2015-ny-slip-op-50482u/
- Decided
- March 26, 2015
- Citation
- 2015 NY Slip Op 50482(U) · 47 Misc 3d 134(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Legal questions
- Outstanding verification and premature actions · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Renelique v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50482(U))
| Renelique v American Tr. Ins. Co. |
| 2015 NY Slip Op 50482(U) [47 Misc 3d 134(A)] |
| Decided on March 26, 2015 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on March 26, 2015
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : WESTON, J.P., SOLOMON and ELLIOT, JJ.
2013-1578 Q C
against
American Transit Ins. Co., Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Ulysses Bernard Leverett, J.), entered June 13, 2013. The order denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff moved for summary judgment, and defendant opposed the motion and cross-moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground of outstanding verification. The Civil Court denied plaintiff’s motion and granted defendant’s cross motion, finding that the action was premature since plaintiff had not responded to defendant’s requests for additional verification.
CPLR 2219 (a) requires that an order deciding a motion recite the papers upon which the motion was decided (see Matter of Dondi, 63 NY2d 331, 339 [1984]). Although plaintiff’s appellate brief indicates that plaintiff may have served papers in opposition to defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment, the order appealed from recites that the court did not consider any papers opposing defendant’s cross motion. As a result, this court’s review is limited to plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
With respect to defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint, the affidavits of defendant’s no-fault examiner and mail room supervisor established that defendant had timely mailed (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins., 17 Misc 3d 16 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]) its verification requests and follow-up verification requests. Defendant demonstrated that it had not received all of the verification requested, and plaintiff did not show that such verification had been provided to defendant prior to the commencement of the action. Thus, the 30-day period within which defendant was required to pay or deny the claims did not begin to run (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 [a] [1]; Central Suffolk Hosp. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 24 AD3d 492 [2005]; Hospital for Joint Diseases v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 8 AD3d 533 [2004]; D & R Med. Supply v American Tr. Ins. Co., 32 Misc 3d 144[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 51727[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]), and plaintiff’s action is premature. In light of the foregoing, plaintiff’s [*2]contention that its motion for summary judgment should have been granted is rendered moot. Plaintiff’s remaining contention is not properly before this court, as this argument is, on this record, being raised for the first time on appeal, and we decline to consider it (see Joe v Upper Room Ministries, Inc., 88 AD3d 963 [2011]; Gulf Ins. Co. v Kanen, 13 AD3d 579 [2004]). Consequently, the Civil Court properly denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
Accordingly, the order is affirmed.
Weston, J.P., Solomon and Elliot, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: March 26, 2015
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did unanswered verification requests make the provider’s claim premature, or justify denying it for nonresponse?
This decision: Timely requests went unanswered; the claim is not overdue and the action is premature
Held the action premature because the insurer proved timely requests and follow-ups and non-receipt of all requested verification, and the provider did not show the verification was provided before suit.
Of the 385 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 153 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the no-fault examiner's and mail room supervisor's affidavits established timely mailing of the verification requests and follow-up requests.
Of the 1,400 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 809 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345) FollowedAn insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.
- Central Suffolk Hosp. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 09484) FollowedAn insurer need not pay or deny a no-fault claim until it receives all relevant verification requested.
- Hospital for Joint Diseases v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 05413) FollowedThe hospitals' first and fifth claims were dismissed because policy limits were exhausted and requested verification remained outstanding.
- D & R Med. Supply v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51727(U)) FollowedThe provider's incomplete verification responses left the insurer's time to pay or deny untriggered and the action premature.
Similar decisions
- Renelique v Travelers Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50911(U))The provider's affidavit raised a factual issue as to whether the insurer received requested verification and the action was premature.
- Renelique v Allstate Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51357(U))The insurer's affidavits failed to establish an office mailing procedure ensuring timely mailing of its denial of claim.
- Renelique v Tri State Consumers Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51536(U))The insurer's summary judgment motion based on outstanding verification was denied on appeal.
- Renelique v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50868(U))The insurer's affidavit established timely and proper mailing of the denial based on the assignor's IME nonappearance.
- Renelique v National Liab. & Fire Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51613(U))The insurer failed to prove mailing of the IME scheduling letters and therefore failed to establish that the assignor's IMEs were properly scheduled.