May 4, 2016
Progressive Advanced Ins. Co. v McAdam (2016 NY Slip Op 03484)
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/progressive-advanced-ins-co-v-mcadam-2016-ny-slip-op03484/
- Decided
- May 4, 2016
- Citation
- 2016 NY Slip Op 03484 · 139 AD3d 691
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Later treatment
- Contrasted (cf., but see) in 1 and followed in 2 later decisions (see Cited by)
- Legal questions
- Proof of mailing · No-show defense: insurer's proof · No covered accident (founded belief) (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Progressive Advanced Ins. Co. v McAdam (2016 NY Slip Op 03484)
| Progressive Advanced Ins. Co. v McAdam |
| 2016 NY Slip Op 03484 [139 AD3d 691] |
| May 4, 2016 |
| Appellate Division, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
[*1]
| Progressive Advanced Insurance Co.,
Respondent, v Gwendolyn McAdam et al., Defendants, and Sovereign Acupuncture, P.C., Appellant. |
Law Offices of Melissa Betancourt, P.C., Brooklyn, NY (Frank D’Esposito of counsel), for appellant.
McCormack & Mattei, P.C., Garden City, NY (Rosemary E. Ross of counsel), for respondent.
In an action, inter alia, for a judgment declaring that the plaintiff is not obligated to pay certain no-fault claims submitted to it by the defendants, the defendant Sovereign Acupuncture, P.C., appeals, as limited by its brief, from so much of an order of the Supreme Court, Nassau County (Sher, J.), entered June 4, 2014, as granted that branch of the plaintiff’s motion which was for summary judgment on the complaint insofar as asserted against it and declaring that the plaintiff has no duty to provide coverage to it pursuant to the policies issued to Gwendolyn McAdam and Arthur Fedee.
Ordered that the order is reversed insofar as appealed from, on the law, with costs, that branch of the plaintiff’s motion which was for summary judgment on the complaint insofar as asserted against the defendant Sovereign Acupuncture, P.C., is denied, and the matter is remitted to the Supreme Court, Nassau County, for further proceedings consistent herewith.
On December 13, 2011, a vehicle driven by the defendant Arthur Fedee, which was owned by the defendant Gwendolyn McAdam and contained three passengers, was involved in a collision. Fedee and two of the passengers sought medical care, and no-fault claims were submitted by their providers to the plaintiff, which insured McAdam (hereinafter collectively the claim one defendants). On December 22, 2011, a vehicle driven by the defendant Rouselie Bellefleur, which was owned by Fedee and contained two passengers, was also involved in a collision. Bellefleur and her passengers sought medical treatment and no-fault benefits, and the no-fault claims were submitted to the plaintiff, which insured Fedee (hereinafter collectively the claim two defendants).
Upon investigation, the plaintiff alleged that the accidents were intentionally staged and fraudulent. It thereafter commenced this action seeking a judgment declaring, inter alia, that it had no duty to provide coverage for the no-fault claims submitted to it by the medical providers who had provided treatment to the claim one and claim two defendants because the underlying accidents were deliberate and fraudulent. The plaintiff moved, inter alia, for summary judgment on the complaint insofar as asserted against the defendant Sovereign Acupuncture, P.C. (hereinafter Sovereign). The Supreme Court granted that branch of the motion and declared that the plaintiff had no duty to provide coverage for the claims submitted by Sovereign. Sovereign appeals. We reverse.
[*2] “ '[A]n intentional and staged collision caused in the furtherance of an insurance fraud scheme is not a covered accident under a policy of insurance’ ” (Nationwide Gen. Ins. Co. v Bates, 130 AD3d 795, 796 [2015], quoting Matter of Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. v Goddard, 29 AD3d 698, 699 [2006]; see Matter of Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. v Young, 124 AD3d 663, 664 [2015]).
In support of its motion, inter alia, for summary judgment on the complaint insofar as asserted against Sovereign, the plaintiff failed to establish its prima facie entitlement to judgment as a matter of law on the ground that the subject accidents were staged. The uncertified police accident reports submitted by the plaintiff were not admissible (see Nationwide Gen. Ins. Co. v Bates, 130 AD3d at 796; Sanchez v Taveraz, 129 AD3d 506, 506 [2015]; Adobea v Junel, 114 AD3d 818, 820 [2014]; Hazzard v Burrowes, 95 AD3d 829, 831 [2012]; cf. Caldara v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 130 AD3d 665, 666 [2015]). The plaintiff submitted an affidavit of its medical representative, but that representative relied largely on inadmissible evidence, and lacked personal knowledge of the facts surrounding the two collisions. Thus, the plaintiff failed to establish, prima facie, through admissible evidence, that the subject collisions were deliberately caused to fraudulently obtain insurance benefits (see Nationwide Gen. Ins. Co. v Bates, 130 AD3d at 796; cf. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Laguerre, 305 AD2d 490, 491 [2003]). Moreover, the plaintiff failed to establish, prima facie, that McAdam and Fedee were in breach of their insurance contracts with the plaintiff because several defendants failed to attend their scheduled EUOs. The plaintiff failed to submit proof of mailing or evidence from someone with personal knowledge of the mailings of the EUO requests (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720, 721 [2006]; New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 29 AD3d 547, 547-548 [2006]).
In light of the foregoing, we need not reach Sovereign’s remaining contention. Mastro, J.P., Chambers, Roman and Maltese, JJ., concur.
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's proof did not establish mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice
Held the insurer submitted no proof of mailing or evidence from anyone with personal knowledge of the mailing of the EUO requests.
Of the 1,400 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 260 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer failed to prove the scheduling letters were mailed or properly addressed
Held the insurer failed to show prima facie a breach of the policies through EUO nonattendance because it offered no proof the EUO requests were mailed.
Of the 858 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 118 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer show the claimed injuries did not arise from a covered accident (staged, intentional, or unrelated)?
This decision: Insurer's motion denied: proof did not establish the defense prima facie; defense still open
Reversed summary judgment for the insurer because its uncertified police reports were inadmissible and its representative relied on inadmissible evidence without personal knowledge, so it did not show prima facie that the collisions were staged.
Of the 234 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 20 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Nationwide Gen. Ins. Co. v Bates (2015 NY Slip Op 06122) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish through admissible evidence that three collisions were staged to obtain insurance benefits.
- Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 09604)An insurer may deny benefits retroactively to the date of loss for failure to attend reasonably required IMEs under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
- New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 03558)The providers failed to establish mailing and receipt of the hospital bill asserted in their second cause of action.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- National Gen. Ins. Online, Inc. v Blasco (2022 NY Slip Op 06252) Contrasted (cf., but see)The insurers established through admissible evidence that the collisions were intentionally caused or staged, defeating no-fault coverage.
- Premier Anesthesia v Avis Budget Car Rental, LLC (2022 NY Slip Op 50170(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish that it insured neither vehicle involved in the collision because its coverage proof was insufficient.
- Ultimate Massage Therapy, P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2020 NY Slip Op 51613(U)) FollowedThe Workers' Compensation Board has primary jurisdiction to determine whether the Workers' Compensation Law applies.
- Integon Natl. Ins. Co. v Salazar-Ochoa (2026 NY Slip Op 50292(U))An insurer need not provide coverage for an intentionally caused collision, even to innocent third parties.
- CuraHealth Specialty Pharm. Corp v State Farm Ins. Co. (2026 NY Slip Op 50852(U))The insurer established a founded belief that the collision was intentionally caused, and the provider failed to raise a triable issue.
Similar decisions
- Webster Diagnostic Medicine, P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 27134)The insurer's conclusory fraud allegations and passenger EUO discrepancies failed to establish a founded belief of noncoverage.
- Pavlova v Allstate Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50016(U))The insurer's EUO nonappearance defense was precluded by a denial issued more than 30 days after the last scheduled EUO. The Civil Court, Kings County, denied summary judgment to the insurer and granted summary judgment to the provider.
- Adirondack Ins. Exch. v Rodriguez (2023 NY Slip Op 02095)The insurers established that two collisions were intentional and excluded from no-fault coverage, including coverage for innocent third parties.
- Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. v Metro Psychological Servs., P.C. (2016 NY Slip Op 03485)The insurers failed to establish timely and proper mailing of the EUO letters through a conclusory description of office procedures.
- A.B. Med. Servs. v Eagle Ins. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 23978)The insurer's investigator's affidavit failed to raise a triable issue that the collision was staged.