March 17, 2016
Alleviation Med. Servs., P.C. v Truck Ins. Exch. (2016 NY Slip Op 50382(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/alleviation-med-servs-p-c-v-truck-ins-exch-2016-ny-slip-op50382u/
- Decided
- March 17, 2016
- Citation
- 2016 NY Slip Op 50382(U) · 51 Misc 3d 129(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Issues
- Medical necessity
- Legal questions
- Lack of medical necessity · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Alleviation Med. Servs., P.C. v Truck Ins. Exch. (2016 NY Slip Op 50382(U))
| Alleviation Med. Servs., P.C. v Truck Ins. Exch. |
| 2016 NY Slip Op 50382(U) [51 Misc 3d 129(A)] |
| Decided on March 17, 2016 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on March 17, 2016
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and ELLIOT, JJ.
2013-1372 Q C
against
Truck Insurance Exchange, Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Jodi Orlow, J.), entered May 21, 2013. The order granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and denied plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment.
ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court which granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and denied plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment.
In support of its motion, defendant sufficiently established the timely mailing (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]) of the denial of claim form at issue, which denied the claim on the ground of lack of medical necessity. Defendant further submitted an affirmed peer review which set forth a factual basis and medical rationale for the peer reviewer’s determination that there was a lack of medical necessity for the services at issue. In opposition to the motion, plaintiff submitted an affidavit from a doctor which failed to meaningfully refer to, let alone sufficiently rebut, the conclusions set forth in the peer review report (see Pan Chiropractic, P.C. v Mercury Ins. Co., 24 Misc 3d 136[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 51495[U] [App Term, 2nd Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]). Consequently, defendant established its entitlement to summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
Accordingly, the order is affirmed.
Pesce, P.J., Aliotta and Elliot, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: March 17, 2016
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?
This decision: Insurer's proof established lack of medical necessity and the provider failed to rebut it
Upheld summary judgment for the insurer because its affirmed peer review gave a factual basis and medical rationale, and the provider's doctor's affidavit failed to meaningfully refer to or rebut its conclusions.
Of the 617 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 315 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer sufficiently established timely mailing of its medical-necessity denial.
Of the 1,400 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 809 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Pan Chiropractic, P.C. v Mercury Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51495(U)) FollowedThe provider's conclusory disagreement with the insurer's supported peer review failed to raise a medical-necessity issue of fact.
Similar decisions
- Alleviation Med. Servs., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51628(U))The provider failed to establish an overdue claim or a timely denial that was conclusory, vague, or legally meritless.
- Alleviation Med. Servs., P.C. v A Cent. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50383(U))The insurer failed to establish timely and proper mailing of the IME scheduling letters, defeating summary judgment on its nonappearance defense.
- Alleviation Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51591(U))The insurer failed to prove both IME nonappearances, and the provider failed to establish an untimely or legally defective denial.
- Alleviation Med. Servs., P.C. v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51347(U))Conflicting proof of mailing and nonreceipt raised a factual issue as to whether the insurer's time to pay or deny began to run.
- Alleviation Med. Servs., P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50396(U))The provider's unopposed motion failed because its papers did not establish an overdue claim or a timely denial lacking legal merit.