July 14, 2017
St. Locher Med., P.C. v IDS Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 50919(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/st-locher-med-p-c-v-ids-prop-cas-ins-co-2017-ny-slip-op50919u/
- Decided
- July 14, 2017
- Citation
- 2017 NY Slip Op 50919(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at St. Locher Med., P.C. v IDS Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 50919(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
IDS Property Casualty Ins. Co., Respondent.
Kopelevich & Feldsherova, P.C. (Galina Feldsherova, Esq.), for appellant. Bruno, Gerbino & Soriano, LLP (Mitchell L. Kaufman, Esq.), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Harriet L. Thompson, J.), entered January 24, 2014. The order granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is reversed, with $30 costs, and defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is denied.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint, alleging that plaintiff and plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear at duly scheduled examinations under oath (EUOs). Plaintiff opposed the motion. By order entered January 24, 2014, the Civil Court granted defendant’s motion.
As plaintiff argues, defendant’s moving papers failed to establish that the first EUO scheduling letter defendant sent to plaintiff had been timely, since defendant stated that the letter was sent more than 30 days after defendant had received the claims (see Neptune Med. Care, P.C. v Ameriprise Auto & Home Ins., 48 Misc 3d 139[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 51220[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2015]; O & M Med., P.C. v Travelers Indem. Co., 47 Misc 3d 134[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 50476[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2015]). Moreover, defendant’s moving papers did not demonstrate that the claims had been timely denied (see Westchester Med. Ctr. v Lincoln Gen. Ins. Co., 60 AD3d 1045 [2009]). In view of the foregoing, defendant failed to demonstrate its entitlement to summary judgment based upon plaintiff’s failure to comply with a condition precedent to coverage (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720 [2006]).
Accordingly, the order is reversed and defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is denied.
PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA AND SOLOMON, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: July 14, 2017
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer did not show its requests met the regulatory timing, follow-up or justification requirements
Held the insurer failed to show its first EUO scheduling letter was timely, since by its own account the letter went out more than 30 days after it received the claims.
Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 101 (this one included) are in the same category.
Is an IME/EUO no-show defense precluded if the insurer did not timely deny the claim on that ground?
This decision: No-show defense is subject to preclusion and fails for want of a timely, proper denial (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer's moving papers did not demonstrate that the claims had been timely denied, an additional reason its EUO no-show defense failed on summary judgment.
Of the 500 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 162 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Neptune Med. Care, P.C. v Ameriprise Auto & Home Ins. (2015 NY Slip Op 51220(U))The insurer's EUO requests were untimely because they followed receipt of the bills by more than 15 business days and 30 calendar days.
- O & M Med., P.C. v Travelers Indem. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50476(U))The insurer's first EUO scheduling letter, mailed nearly three months after receipt of the claim, was a nullity.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Lincoln Gen. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 02589) FollowedThe insurer's investigation letters did not toll the 30-day period to pay or deny the provider's claim.
- Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 09604) FollowedAn insurer may deny benefits retroactively to the date of loss for failure to attend reasonably required IMEs under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
Similar decisions
- PR Med., P.C. v Travelers Home & Mar. Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 51649(U))The insurer established timely EUO notices and denials and the assignor's two nonappearances; the provider raised no triable issue.
- A & F Med., P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2018 NY Slip Op 51812(U))The insurer was precluded from asserting an EUO nonappearance defense because it failed to send the provider a required delay letter.
- K.O. Med., P.C. v IDS Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51454(U))The insurer's summary judgment motion based on the provider's EUO nonappearance was granted on appeal as to two claims.
- Flatlands Med., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50763(U))The provider's objections to the insurer's EUO requests were not heard because it had not responded to the requests.
- Ditmas Primary Med. Care, P.C. v Republic W. Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50438(U))The insurer's proof established timely mailing of EUO notices and denials and the assignor's failure to appear for the scheduled EUOs. The insurer moved for summary judgment dismissing the provider's assigned no-fault claims.