December 19, 2017
Metro Psychological Servs., P.C. v Travelers Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51804(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/metro-psychological-servs-p-c-v-travelers-prop-cas-ins-co-2017-ny-slip-op51804u/
- Decided
- December 19, 2017
- Citation
- 2017 NY Slip Op 51804(U) · 58 Misc 3d 135(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Issues
- Priority, other coverage
- Legal questions
- Workers' comp or other insurer primary (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Metro Psychological Servs., P.C. v Travelers Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51804(U))
| Metro Psychological Servs., P.C. v Travelers Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. |
| 2017 NY Slip Op 51804(U) [58 Misc 3d 135(A)] |
| Decided on December 19, 2017 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on December 19, 2017
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th
JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : MICHAEL L. PESCE, P.J., THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, MARTIN M.
SOLOMON, JJ
2015-455 K C
against
Travelers Property & Casualty Insurance Company, Appellant.
Law Offices of Aloy O. Ibuzor (Jerome F.X. Hoffman, Esq.), for appellant. Law Offices of Melissa Betancourt, P.C. (Melissa Betancourt, Esq.), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Carol Ruth Feinman, J.), entered October 21, 2014. The order denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and granted plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment.
ORDERED that the order is reversed, with $30 costs, and the matter is remitted to the Civil Court to be held in abeyance pending a determination by the Workers’ Compensation Board of the parties’ rights under the Workers’ Compensation Law.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint, arguing that plaintiff’s assignor had been injured during the course of his employment. Plaintiff cross-moved for summary judgment. By order entered October 21, 2014, the Civil Court denied defendant’s motion and granted plaintiff’s cross motion.
Defendant proffered sufficient evidence to support its contention that there was an issue as to whether plaintiff’s assignor had been acting in the course of his employment at the time of the accident and that, therefore, workers’ compensation benefits might be available (see e.g. Arce Med. & Diagnostic Svce v American Tr. Ins. Co., 39 Misc 3d 134[A], 2013 NY Slip Op 50531[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2013]; Jamaica Med. Supply, Inc. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 34 Misc 3d 133[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 52371[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, [*2]11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]; D.A.V. Chiropractic, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 29 Misc 3d 128[A], 2010 NY Slip Op 51738[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2010]; cf. Westchester Med. Ctr. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 60 AD3d 848 [2009]). ” Since primary jurisdiction with respect to determinations as to the applicability of the Workers’ Compensation Law has been vested in the Workers’ Compensation Board,’ it is inappropriate for the courts to express views with respect thereto pending determination by the board’ ” (Monteiro v Rasraj Foods & Catering, Inc., 79 AD3d 827, 829 [2010], quoting Botwinick v Ogden, 59 NY2d 909, 911 [1983]). Consequently, the issue of whether plaintiff’s assignor was acting as an employee at the time of the accident must be resolved by the Workers’ Compensation Board (see O’Rourke v Long, 41 NY2d 219 [1976]; Siekkeli v Mark Mariani, Inc., 119 AD3d 766 [2014]; Dunn v American Tr. Ins. Co., 71 AD3d 629, 629-630 [2010]; Jamaica Med. Supply, Inc. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 34 Misc 3d 133[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 52371[U]; D.A.V. Chiropractic, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 29 Misc 3d 128[A], 2010 NY Slip Op 51738[U]) and, indeed, the record indicates that an application to the Workers’ Compensation Board has been made.
Accordingly, the order is reversed and the matter is remitted to the Civil Court to be held in abeyance pending a determination by the Workers’ Compensation Board of the parties’ rights under the Workers’ Compensation Law.
PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SOLOMON, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: December 19, 2017
Legal questions
A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Can a no-fault insurer deny or delay payment because workers’ compensation or another insurer is primary?
This decision: Workers' compensation may apply: the Board decides first and the no-fault claim waits
Held the insurer's evidence raised an issue whether the assignor was acting in the course of employment, which the Board must resolve, so summary judgment for the provider was reversed and the matter held in abeyance pending the Board.
Of the 69 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 33 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Arce Med. & Diagnostic Svce v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50531(U))The insurer obtained a stay because admissible evidence raised an issue whether the assignor was eligible for workers' compensation benefits.
- Jamaica Med. Supply, Inc. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 52371(U))The insurer raised a triable workers' compensation eligibility issue requiring initial resolution by the Workers' Compensation Board.
- D.A.V. Chiropractic, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51738(U))The Workers' Compensation Board has primary jurisdiction to resolve factual questions about workers' compensation coverage.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 01979) Contrasted (cf., but see)The insurer's timely verification request and ensuing timely denial defeated the provider's motion for summary judgment.
- Dunn v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 01757)The Workers' Compensation Board has primary jurisdiction to resolve disputed employment status bearing on entitlement to workers' compensation benefits.
Similar decisions
- AR Med. Rehabilitation, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50708(U))The insurer's evidence required the Workers' Compensation Board to resolve the assignor's alleged eligibility for workers' compensation benefits.
- Compas Med., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51675(U))The assignor's sworn no-fault application raised a workers' compensation issue requiring a stay pending a Workers' Compensation Board determination.
- AEE Med. Diagnostic, P.C. v Travelers Prop. Cas. Co. of Am. (2017 NY Slip Op 51209(U))The Workers' Compensation Board has primary jurisdiction over factual questions concerning coverage under the Workers' Compensation Law. The insurer's submissions, including the assignor's statement, raised triable issues whether the assignor was acting in the course of employment and whether workers' compensation benefits might be available.
- Active Care Med. Supply Corp. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50419(U))The Workers' Compensation Board must first resolve eligibility when evidence raises an issue whether the assignor was injured in the course of employment.
- Quality Health Prod., Inc. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 51950(U))The insurer established an employment-related coverage issue requiring an initial determination by the Workers' Compensation Board.