May 25, 2018
Pierre J. Renelique, M.D., P.C. v Park Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50780(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/pierre-j-renelique-m-d-p-c-v-park-ins-co-2018-ny-slip-op-50780u/
- Decided
- May 25, 2018
- Citation
- 2018 NY Slip Op 50780(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Legal questions
- Proof of mailing ยท No-show defense: insurer's proof (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Pierre J. Renelique, M.D., P.C. v Park Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50780(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
Park Ins. Co., Appellant.
Gullo & Associates, LLP (Natalie Socorro of counsel), for appellant. The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell of counsel), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Ingrid Joseph, J.), entered December 17, 2015. The order denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant appeals from an order of the Civil Court which denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
Contrary to defendant’s contention, the Civil Court properly determined that defendant had failed to establish the timely and proper mailing of the independent medical examination (IME) scheduling letters. Defendant’s moving papers stated that the IME scheduling letters were sent to plaintiff’s assignor at “2497 Grant Avenue, Basement, Bronx, NY 10468,” but the NF-3 form submitted by plaintiff indicated that the assignor’s address was “2307 Morris Ave, #2C, Bronx NY 10453.” A presumption of receipt arises only where there is proof of a proper mailing (see Residential Holding Corp. v Scottsdale Ins. Co., 286 AD2d 679 [2001]; Infinity Health Prods., Ltd. v Redland Ins. Co., 39 Misc 3d 140[A], 2013 NY Slip Op 50751[U] [App Term, 2d [*2]Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2013]). To the extent that copies of the IME scheduling letters were sent to an attorney, there is nothing in the record to suggest that plaintiff’s assignor was represented by that attorney. Consequently, defendant’s moving papers failed to demonstrate that the IMEs had been properly scheduled (see Great Health Care Chiropractic, P.C. v Citiwide Auto Leasing, 43 Misc 3d 127[A], 2014 NY Slip Op 50476[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2014]; Infinity Health Prods., Ltd., 39 Misc 3d 140[A], 2013 NY Slip Op 50751[U]; cf. Star Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co., 11 Misc 3d 131[A], 2006 NY Slip Op 50344[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006]) and, thus, that it is entitled to summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
Accordingly, the order is affirmed.
PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and ELLIOT, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: May 25, 2018
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's proof did not establish mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice
Held no presumption of receipt arose because the IME letters went to an address different from the assignor's address on the NF-3, and copies to an attorney not shown to represent the assignor did not suffice.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 257 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer failed to prove the scheduling letters were mailed or properly addressed
Held the insurer failed to show the IMEs were properly scheduled because the letters were mailed to a wrong address and to an attorney not shown to represent the assignor.
Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 114 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Infinity Health Prods., Ltd. v Redland Ins. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50751(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish proper IME scheduling because notices used an incorrect ZIP code and counsel's representation was unproved.
- Star Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NYSlipOp 50344(U)) Contrasted (cf., but see)The insurer's misaddressed EUO demand did not toll its denial deadline, and EUO transcripts failed to support its coverage defense.
Similar decisions
- Pierre Jean Renelique, MD, P.C. v Farmington Cas. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51420(U))The insurer failed to establish proper mailing of the letters scheduling the assignor's IMEs through proof of office mailing practices.
- Pierre J. Renelique, M.D., P.C. v American Ind. Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 51743(U))The insurer's motion to dismiss the provider's no-fault complaint for lack of personal jurisdiction was granted on appeal.
- Renelique v National Liab. & Fire Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51613(U))The insurer failed to prove mailing of the IME scheduling letters and therefore failed to establish that the assignor's IMEs were properly scheduled.
- Pierre J. Renelique, M.D., P.C. v Travelers Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51718(U))The insurer's summary judgment motion based on EUO nonappearance was granted as to the first and fourth through seventh causes of action.
- Parisien v American Ind. Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 51735(U))The provider's certified-mail service did not establish personal jurisdiction over the insurer.