July 1, 2022
Columbus Imaging Ctr., LLC v Nationwide Ins. (2022 NY Slip Op 50620(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/columbus-imaging-ctr-llc-v-nationwide-ins-2022-ny-slip-op50620u/
- Decided
- July 1, 2022
- Citation
- 2022 NY Slip Op 50620(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Columbus Imaging Ctr., LLC v Nationwide Ins. (2022 NY Slip Op 50620(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
Nationwide Ins., Appellant.
Law Office of Kevin J. Philbin (Kevon Lewis of counsel), for appellant. The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell of counsel), for respondent (no brief filed).
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Patria Frias-Colón, J.), entered September 17, 2020. The order denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and granted plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment.
ORDERED that the order is modified by providing that plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment is denied; as so modified, the order is affirmed, without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant appeals from an order of the Civil Court denying defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and granting plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment.
The affidavits defendant submitted in support of its motion for summary judgment demonstrated, prima facie, that independent medical examination (IME) scheduling letters had been timely and properly mailed (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 [a], [d]; Appendix 13; St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]; City Anesthesia Healthcare, P.C. v Erie Ins. Co. of NY, 71 Misc 3d 141[A], 2021 NY Slip Op 50135[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2021]). However, contrary to defendant’s contention, the affidavits from the doctors who were scheduled to perform the IMEs did not establish that [*2]they possessed personal knowledge of the nonappearance of plaintiff’s assignor for the IMEs (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720 [2006]; Alleviation Med. Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 52 Misc 3d 128[A], 2016 NY Slip Op 50922[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2016]). Consequently, defendant failed to establish its entitlement to judgment, as a matter of law, dismissing the complaint on the ground that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear for IMEs.
Plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment should have been denied as the proof submitted in support of its cross motion failed to establish that the claims had not been timely denied (see Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 25 NY3d 498 [2015]) or that defendant had issued timely denial of claim forms that were conclusory, vague or without merit as a matter of law (see Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 78 AD3d 1168 [2010]; Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co., 32 Misc 3d 128[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 51292[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]).
Accordingly, the order is modified by providing that plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment is denied.
WESTON, J.P., TOUSSAINT and BUGGS, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: July 1, 2022
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Insufficient: claimant did not prove the claim was overdue (not paid or timely denied)
Held the provider's cross motion should have been denied because its proof failed to show the claims had not been timely denied or that timely denials were conclusory, vague or without merit.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 247 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer failed to prove the nonappearance by someone with personal knowledge
Held the insurer failed to establish its IME no-show defense because the examining doctors' affidavits did not show personal knowledge of the assignor's nonappearance, although the scheduling letters were proved mailed.
Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 79 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Found the insurer's affidavits showed prima facie that the IME scheduling letters were timely and properly mailed, though the defense failed on proof of nonappearance.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- City Anesthesia Healthcare, P.C. v Erie Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2021 NY Slip Op 50135(U)) FollowedA pre-claim IME scheduling letter need not be mailed within 30 days after the insurer receives the NF-2.
- Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 09604) FollowedAn insurer may deny benefits retroactively to the date of loss for failure to attend reasonably required IMEs under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
- Alleviation Med. Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50922(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish the assignor's IME nonappearance or receipt of notice of both scheduled IMEs. The provider appealed from summary judgment dismissing its assigned no-fault claims.
- Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 04787) FollowedA provider establishes entitlement to summary judgment on overdue no-fault claims with admissible proof of mailing and receipt of statutory claim forms.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 08933) FollowedThe provider failed to establish entitlement to summary judgment because the insurer partially paid and denied the claim within 30 days.
- Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51292(U)) FollowedThe provider failed to establish summary judgment entitlement because nonpayment alone did not show an absent or legally insufficient denial.
Similar decisions
- Columbus Imaging Ctr., LLC v National Liab. & Fire Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50556(U))The insurer's affidavit failed to establish proper addressing and timely mailing of the IME scheduling letters.
- MSB Physical Therapy v Nationwide Ins. (2022 NY Slip Op 51381(U))The insurer failed to establish timely denial after alleged EUO nonappearances, and the provider failed to establish entitlement to summary judgment.
- Columbus Imaging Ctr., LLC v Erie Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2022 NY Slip Op 50929(U))An assignor's appearance at a duly scheduled IME is a condition precedent to the insurer's liability under the policy.
- SS Med. Care, P.C. v Nationwide Ins. (2013 NY Slip Op 51109(U))The insurer failed to establish proper mailing of EUO and IME scheduling notices supporting its nonappearance defenses.
- Metropolitan Surgical Servs., P.C. v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50606(U))An insurer need not comply with 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 (b) for IMEs scheduled before it receives the claim at issue.