June 3, 2022
Columbus Imaging Ctr., LLC v National Liab. & Fire Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50556(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/columbus-imaging-ctr-llc-v-national-liab-fire-ins-co-2022-ny-slip-op50556u/
- Decided
- June 3, 2022
- Citation
- 2022 NY Slip Op 50556(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Columbus Imaging Ctr., LLC v National Liab. & Fire Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50556(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
National Liability & Fire Insurance Company, Respondent.
The Rybak Firm, PLLC, (Damin J. Toell of counsel), for appellant. Law Offices of Moira Doherty, P.C. (Maureen Knodel of counsel), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Cenceria P. Edwards, J.), entered April 30, 2019. The order granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and denied plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment.
ORDERED that the order is modified by providing that defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is denied; as so modified, the order is affirmed, without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, the Civil Court granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear for independent medical examinations (IMEs) and denied plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment.
Plaintiff correctly argues on appeal that the affidavit submitted by defendant in support of its motion did not sufficiently set forth a standard office practice or procedure that would ensure that the letters scheduling the IMEs were properly addressed and timely mailed (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]; Residential Holding Corp. v Scottsdale Ins. Co., 286 AD2d 679 [2001]). As a result, defendant failed to demonstrate that the IMEs were properly scheduled and, thus, that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear at duly scheduled IMEs (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720, 722 [2006]; Neptune Med. Care, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co., 64 Misc 3d 132[A], 2019 NY Slip Op 51052[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2019]). Consequently, defendant’s motion seeking summary judgment on the ground that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear for IMEs should have been denied. We reach no other issue with respect to defendant’s motion for summary judgment.
However, contrary to plaintiff’s contention, it failed to demonstrate its prima facie [*2]entitlement to summary judgment, as the affidavit plaintiff submitted in support of its motion failed to establish that the claim at issue had not been timely denied (see Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 25 NY3d 498 [2015]), or that defendant had issued a timely denial of claim form that was conclusory, vague or without merit as a matter of law (see Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 78 AD3d 1168 [2010]; Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co., 32 Misc 3d 128[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 51292[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]).
Accordingly, the order is modified by providing that defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is denied.
ALIOTTA, P.J., TOUSSAINT and GOLIA, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: June 3, 2022
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Insufficient: claimant did not prove the claim was overdue (not paid or timely denied)
Held the provider failed its prima facie burden because its affidavit did not show the claim had not been timely denied or that a timely denial was conclusory, vague or without merit.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 247 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's proof did not establish mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice
Held the insurer's affidavit did not sufficiently describe a standard office practice ensuring the IME scheduling letters were properly addressed and timely mailed, so mailing was not proved.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 257 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer failed to prove the scheduling letters were mailed or properly addressed
Held the IME no-show defense failed because without proof the scheduling letters were properly mailed the insurer could not show the IMEs were duly scheduled or that the assignor failed to appear.
Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 114 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 09604) FollowedAn insurer may deny benefits retroactively to the date of loss for failure to attend reasonably required IMEs under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
- Neptune Med. Care, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 51052(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish timely mailing of the initial and follow-up EUO and IME scheduling letters.
- Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 04787) FollowedA provider establishes entitlement to summary judgment on overdue no-fault claims with admissible proof of mailing and receipt of statutory claim forms.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 08933) FollowedThe provider failed to establish entitlement to summary judgment because the insurer partially paid and denied the claim within 30 days.
- Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51292(U)) FollowedThe provider failed to establish summary judgment entitlement because nonpayment alone did not show an absent or legally insufficient denial.
Similar decisions
- Columbus Imaging Ctr., LLC v Nationwide Ins. (2022 NY Slip Op 50620(U))The insurer's doctors failed to establish personal knowledge of the assignor's IME nonappearances, defeating summary judgment on that defense.
- Columbus Imaging Ctr., LLC v Erie Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2022 NY Slip Op 50929(U))An assignor's appearance at a duly scheduled IME is a condition precedent to the insurer's liability under the policy.
- Island Life Chiropractic, P.C. v National Liab. & Fire Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51843(U))The insurer failed to prove mailing of IME notices, and the provider failed to establish its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment.
- Metropolitan Surgical Servs., P.C. v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50606(U))An insurer need not comply with 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 (b) for IMEs scheduled before it receives the claim at issue.
- JFL Med. Care, P.C. v ELRAC, Inc. (2021 NY Slip Op 50434(U))The defendant failed to prove mailing of the IME scheduling letters, defeating its summary judgment motion based on nonappearance.