• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
November 9, 2004

Radiology Resource Network, P.C. v Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 07960)

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/radiology-resource-network-p-c-v-firemans-fund-ins-co-2004-ny-slip-op-07960/

Court
Appellate Division, First Department
Decided
November 9, 2004
Citation
2004 NY Slip Op 07960 · 12 AD3d 185
Posture
Other motion
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Later treatment
Contrasted (cf., but see) in 1 and followed in 14 later decisions (see Cited by)
Issues
Discovery and procedure
Cite as
Radiology Resource Network, P.C. v Fireman's Fund Ins. Co., 12 AD3d 185 (1st Dept 2004)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The provider's 68 assigned claims were properly severed because individual issues predominated and a joint trial risked confusion. The Appellate Division, First Department, affirmed the order granting the insurer's motion under CPLR 603. Each claim arose from a different accident and assignor. Defenses concerning assignment validity, medical necessity, receipt of bills, and sufficiency of claim forms depended on each claim's particular facts, even assuming identical policies. The common provider and insurer did not establish sufficient common issues to justify an unwieldy joint trial. Severance served convenience and avoidance of prejudice. The court distinguished Hempstead Gen. Hosp. v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., which upheld a discretionary refusal to sever under different circumstances.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Radiology Resource Network, P.C. v Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 07960)

Radiology Resource Network, P.C. v Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co.
2004 NY Slip Op 07960 [12 AD3d 185]
November 9, 2004
Appellate Division, First Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
As corrected through Wednesday, January 19, 2005
Radiology Resource Network, P.C., Appellant,
v
Fireman’s Fund Insurance Company, Respondent.

—[*1]

Order, Supreme Court, Bronx County (Janice L. Bowman, J.), entered September 18, 2003, which, in an action to recover on 68 claims for no-fault insurance benefits assigned to plaintiff by 68 different assignors, granted defendant’s motion to sever the claim of each assignor into a separate action, unanimously affirmed, without costs.

The IAS court properly exercised its discretion under CPLR 603 in granting defendant’s motion to sever plaintiff’s 68 assigned claims for no-fault insurance benefits into separate actions. It is undisputed that the claims arise from 68 different accidents, and have been assigned to plaintiff, a vendor of medical services, by 68 different assignors. Even if it is assumed that the insurance policies of the 68 assignors are identical in all relevant respects—a matter addressed neither in the complaint nor in plaintiff’s papers opposing the motion—each claim will raise unique legal and factual issues. In this regard, we note that defendant’s answer places at issue, inter alia, the validity of the assignments, the necessity and reasonableness of plaintiff’s services in light of each assignor’s medical condition, defendant’s receipt of bills from plaintiff, and the sufficiency of the no-fault forms that have been submitted. The viability of these defenses will depend, in the case of each assignor’s claim, on the particular facts relating to that claim. At the same time, the claims are likely to raise few, if any, common issues of law or fact, even if the assignors’ insurance policies are identical. That all of the claims are for services provided by the same vendor, and are being asserted against the same insurance company, does not change the fact that individual issues are likely to predominate in the resolution of each claim.

Under the circumstances, to try all 68 claims together would be unwieldy and would create a substantial risk of confusing the trier of fact. Accordingly, the interests of convenience and avoidance of prejudice are best served by severing the claims (see Mount Sinai Hosp. v Motor Veh. Acc. Indem. Corp., 291 AD2d 536 [2002]; Bender v Underwood, 93 AD2d 747, 748 [1983]; Reid v Haher, 88 AD2d 873, 873-874 [1982]; Schneph v New York Times Co., 21 AD2d 599, 600-601 [1964]).

We note that our decision is consistent with a recent federal decision in a remarkably similar case (Boston Post Rd. Med. Imaging, P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co., 2004 WL 1586429, 2004 US Dist LEXIS 13243 [US Dist [*2]Ct, SD NY, July 15, 2004]). The plaintiff in Boston Post Road was a medical services provider that sued the same insurance company on no-fault claims arising from 59 different accidents, which had been assigned to the plaintiff by 59 different patients. In granting the insurance company’s motion to sever the claims, the Boston Post Road court stated, among other things, that the claims “arise out of distinct automobile accidents which led to different injuries to different individuals who underwent distinct medical services, payment for which was denied for varying reasons” (2004 WL at *1, 2004 US Dist LEXIS at *5). The court further noted that “[e]ven if the assignors’ insurance contracts are identical, the legal and factual issues involved in these claims are not,” since the defendant’s “answer pleaded different defenses that will apply to some claims and not to others,” meaning that “different provisions of the policies will be relevant to different claims” (2004 WL at *2, 2004 US Dist LEXIS at *5-6). These observations are equally applicable here.

Plaintiff’s reliance on the Second Department’s decision in Hempstead Gen. Hosp. v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (134 AD2d 569 [1987]) is unavailing. While Hempstead held that, under the particular circumstances of that case, Supreme Court had acted within its discretion in denying a motion to sever 29 assigned claims, the decision does not stand for the proposition that the granting of such a severance motion—in a case involving more than twice as many assigned claims—is an abuse of judicial discretion warranting reversal on appeal. In any event, Hempstead must be read in light of the Second Department’s much more recent decision in Mount Sinai Hosp. v Motor Veh. Acc. Indem. Corp. (supra). Mount Sinai held that Supreme Court “providently exercised its discretion” in granting a motion to sever five assigned no-fault claims that, inter alia, arose from “accidents on five different dates” and had “no relation or similarity to each other, other than the fact that the no-fault benefits were not paid” (291 AD2d at 536). Concur—Tom, J.P., Saxe, Williams, Friedman and Marlow, JJ.

Cited by (23)

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • Midwood Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50052(U)) Contrasted (cf., but see)Fraudulent licensing under 11 NYCRR 65-3.16 (a) (12) is a nonwaivable defense outside the 30-day preclusion rule.
  • Metro Med. Diagnostics, P.C. v Motor Veh. Acc. Indem. Corp. (2005 NY Slip Op 50238(U)) FollowedMVAIC's motion to sever claims arising from three separate accidents was granted because few common issues were likely.
  • Maria Oca, M.D., P.C. v MVAIC (2012 NY Slip Op 50758(U)) FollowedMVAIC's motion to sever was granted because the three assignors' claims arose from separate accidents and were unlikely to share factual issues.
  • S.I.A. Med. Supply Inc. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 51170(U)) FollowedThe provider's claims for 11 assignors were severed because they presented few common issues and a joint trial risked confusion.
  • Poole v Allstate Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 06017) FollowedA provider's 47 no-fault causes of action were severed because their differing facts and defenses would make a joint trial unwieldy.
  • Premier Surgical Servs., P.C. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 51704(U)) FollowedThe insurer's severance motion was granted because the four assignors' claims arose from separate accidents with few common factual issues.
  • Colin Clarke, M.D., P.C. v MVAIC (2021 NY Slip Op 50729(U)) FollowedMVAIC was entitled to sever six assignors' claims because they presented few common factual issues and required numerous defense witnesses.
  • Georgetown Mind-Body Med., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 52464(U)) FollowedSeverance of no-fault claims may rest solely on allegations in the answer without a showing of prejudice.
  • High Definition MRI, P.C. v Mapfre Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2017 NY Slip Op 01800) FollowedThe provider's 198 unrelated no-fault claims were properly severed because they presented no common issues of fact or law.
  • Arcadia Acupuncture, P.C. v Global Liberty Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2019 NY Slip Op 51707(U)) FollowedThe insurer's severance motion was granted because separate accident claims were likely to raise few, if any, common factual issues.
Show all 23 citing decisions
  • Westchester Radiology & Imaging, P.C. v GEICO Cas. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 51703(U)) Followed
  • Austin Diagnostic Med., P.C. v Mercury Cas. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51680(U)) Followed
  • RJA Physical Therapy, P.C. v Geico Cas. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 52047(U)) Followed
  • VNP Acupuncture, P.C. v American Commerce Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 50940(U)) Followed
  • Clarke v Global Liberty Ins. Co. of N.Y. (2019 NY Slip Op 51708(U)) Followed
  • Ladim DME, Inc. v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50997(U))
  • Regal Acupuncture, P.C. v MVAIC (2022 NY Slip Op 50784(U))
  • Autoone Ins. Co. v Manhattan Hgts. Med., P.C. (2009 NY Slip Op 51662(U))
  • State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Sweetwater Chiropractic, P.C. (2018 NY Slip Op 51177(U))
  • Westchester Med. Ctr. v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50382(U))
  • Ocean Diagnostics Imaging P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50913(U))
  • Astoria Quality Med. Supply v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51855(U))
  • General Ins. v Piquion (2022 NY Slip Op 07500)

Similar decisions

  • Sunshine Imaging Assn./WNY MRI v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 06984)The insurer's medical-necessity denials raised a triable issue, and severance was proper for claims arising from 14 unrelated accidents.
  • Rite Aid Med. Supply Corp. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 51161(U))The insurer was entitled to severance because the two assignors' claims arose from separate accidents and involved different defenses.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.