• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
September 24, 2004

Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24356)

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/ocean-diagnostic-imaging-p-c-v-state-farm-mut-auto-ins-co-2004-ny-slip-op-24356/

Court
Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County
Judge
Eileen N. Nadelson, J.
Decided
September 24, 2004
Citation
2004 NY Slip Op 24356 · 5 Misc 3d 563
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Issues
EUO no-show Staged accidents, lack of coverage
Legal questions
No-show defense: insurer's proof · No covered accident (founded belief) (see the maps)
Cite as
Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 5 Misc 3d 563 (Civ Ct, Kings County 2004)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The EUO regulation applies to claims filed after its effective date under policies issued and effective after September 1, 2001. The Civil Court, Kings County, denied the provider's motion for summary judgment based on the insurer's failure to pay or deny within 30 days. Although the accident preceded the regulation's effective date, the claim followed it, and the policy was subject to 11 NYCRR 65-1.1 (b) (1) and (2). The assignor failed to attend two requested EUOs. The court distinguished decisions involving claims filed before the regulation took effect. It also rejected the insurer's staged-accident defense, although moot, because the insurer offered fraud allegations concerning other participants but no evidence of fraud concerning the assignor.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24356)

Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co.
2004 NY Slip Op 24356 [5 Misc 3d 563]
September 24, 2004
Civil Court Of The City Of New York, Kings County
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
As corrected through Wednesday, December 22, 2004

[*1]

Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C., as Assignee of Dominique Mixou, Plaintiff,
v
State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co., Defendant.

Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County, September 24, 2004

APPEARANCES OF COUNSEL

Amos Weinberg for plaintiff. Melli, Guerin & Melli (Matthew J. Smith of counsel), for defendant.

OPINION OF THE COURT

Eileen N. Nadelson, J.

Plaintiff, a medical provider that is seeking first-party benefits pursuant to New York’s No-Fault Insurance Law, has moved for summary judgment based on defendant insurer’s failure to pay or deny plaintiff’s claim within the statutory 30-day period following submission of said claim.

Defendant is opposing the motion for summary judgment by asserting that it is not subject to the provisions of 11 NYCRR 65-3.4 because plaintiff’s assignor, the person allegedly injured in the motor vehicle accident, failed to submit to several requests for an examination under oath (EUO), and that the loss is not a covered loss because the accident was staged, thereby rendering plaintiff’s assignor a noneligible party pursuant to New York’s No-Fault Regulation 68 (11 NYCRR part 65).

In reply to defendant’s opposition to this motion, plaintiff avers that the basis for denial [*2]stemming from its assignor’s failure to submit to EUOs is inapplicable because the statute authorizing such basis did not go into effect until after the incident in question. Further, plaintiff maintains that any accusation of fraud with respect to the claim made by defendant has been made against the other individuals involved in the incident but not against its assignor.

The basic facts are not in dispute. The insurance policy in question was issued by defendant on March 3, 2002. The alleged accident occurred on March 20, 2002. Plaintiff’s claim was received by defendant on May 16, 2002. After submission of the claim defendant requested an examination under oath of plaintiff’s assignor. Plaintiff’s assignor failed to appear and a second EUO was scheduled, which she also did not attend. On December 13, 2002, defendant issued its denial of benefits to plaintiff.

The regulation that forms the basis of this motion, Regulation 68-A, 11 NYCRR 65-1.1, was enacted in September of 2001. The regulation applies to all new and first renewal insurance policies effective on or after September 1, 2001. (11 NYCRR 65-1.1 [b] [1], [2].) The effective date of the regulation is April 5, 2002. The import of this regulation to the case at bar is that it is the operative legislative authority for an insurer to deny first-party benefits to medical providers whose assignors fail to attend EUOs.

Plaintiff’s argument rests on the fact that the effective date of the regulation is subsequent to the date of the alleged accident and injury, and therefore is inoperative to the instant action. In support of this contention, plaintiff relies on Bronx Med. Servs., P.C. v Lumbermans Mut. Cas. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 51022[U], *3 [App Term, 1st Dept 2003]), which states that “[t]he revised regulations cannot be applied retroactively to cover plaintiff’s September 2000 no-fault claim.” However, the facts in this cited decision are clearly distinguishable from the case at bar.

In Bronx Med. Servs., the insurer was basing its denial on a provision of the issued insurance policy in question. The court stated that “[t]he no-fault protection created by statute and implementing regulations cannot be qualified by the inapplicable conditions and exclusions of the liability portion of the policy.” (At *3 [internal quotation marks omitted], quoting Utica Mut. Ins. Co. v Timms, 293 AD2d 669 [2002].) In other words, the statute would prevail over a contrary provision in a private contract of insurance. Because the regulation in question was not enacted until after the subject accident, the court found the plaintiff’s reasoning specious that the change in the regulation should give effect to its insurance policy provision. It was in the context of refuting this argument that the court correctly stated that the regulation could not be given retroactive effect.

This court notes that the accident and claim for benefits in the Bronx Med. Servs. case both occurred in the year 2000.

In the instant case, the regulation applies to the insurance policy issued by defendant in March of 2002. The only question to be decided by this court is whether the regulation applies to [*3]claims filed after its effective date relating to accidents occurring before its effective date.

Few decisions have been rendered on this issue, and none on this specific point. In Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v GEICO Ins. (3 Misc 3d 137[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 50511[U] [2d Dept 2004]), the court found that Regulation 68-A did not apply because it was not in effect on the date of the accident or of the claim, which was received on August 15, 2001. In King’s Med. Supply Inc. v Progressive Ins. (3 Misc 3d 126[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 50311[U], *2 [2d Dept 2004]), the court also found for the provider because “at the time plaintiff’s claims were filed, EUOs were not available as a form of verification.” (Emphasis added.) Finally, in A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Eagle Ins. Co. (3 Misc 3d 8, 10 [2d Dept 2003]), the court held that the subject regulation was inapplicable with respect to denying claims based on the provider’s assignor failing to attend EUOs because “at the time plaintiffs filed the instant claims there was no provision in the insurance regulations for such a procedure.” (Emphasis added.)

All of the above-cited decisions are clear on one point: Regulation 68-A does not apply retroactively to claims filed before its effective date. By contrast, the claim for benefits in the instant case was filed more than a month after the regulation came into effect, and the insurance policy upon which the claim is based is subject to the regulation because it was issued and effective after September 1, 2001. Therefore, the court holds that Regulation 68-A applies to claims filed after its effective date and, consequently, the court denies plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment.

Although now moot, the court also finds that defendant’s argument that plaintiff’s assignor is not a covered person because of alleged fraud to be without merit. Defendant asserts correctly that the preclusion rule (denying an insurer the ability to raise any defense to a claim not paid or denied within 30 days of receipt or 30 days after verification) does not apply to a defense based on a claim that the incident was not an accident but a deliberate event staged in furtherance of a scheme to defraud the insurer (A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Eagle Ins. Co., supra). However, defendant has failed to provide any evidence of fraud with respect to plaintiff’s assignor. All assertions of fraud are made against the other parties to the incident, and therefore are not relevant to the assignor in question.

Plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is denied for the reasons stated above.

Legal questions (2)

Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

No-show defense: insurer's proof

Open the full map

Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?

This decision: Insurer proved mailed, compliant requests and the nonappearance; claimant's answers rejected

Held the EUO regulation applied to a claim filed after its effective date under a policy issued after September 2001, so the assignor's undisputed failure to attend two EUOs defeated the provider's summary judgment motion.

  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 9
  • Appellate TermApp Term 753
  • Trial courtsTrial 89
2023, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense proved)2020, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense proved)2016, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Mailing not proved)2015, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Mailing not proved)2014, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Defense proved)2006, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Mailing not proved)2004, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 No-show excused)2023, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (5 Defense proved)2022, Appellate Term: 45 decisions (37 Defense proved, 3 Mailing not proved, 3 Nonappearance not proved, 2 Requests not compliant)2021, Appellate Term: 22 decisions (16 Defense proved, 3 Mailing not proved, 1 Requests not compliant, 2 Triable issue)2020, Appellate Term: 30 decisions (26 Defense proved, 2 Mailing not proved, 2 Requests not compliant)2019, Appellate Term: 68 decisions (52 Defense proved, 1 Mailing not proved, 1 Nonappearance not proved, 13 Requests not compliant, 1 Triable issue)2018, Appellate Term: 52 decisions (43 Defense proved, 3 Mailing not proved, 1 Nonappearance not proved, 5 Requests not compliant)2017, Appellate Term: 86 decisions (52 Defense proved, 14 Mailing not proved, 6 Nonappearance not proved, 11 Requests not compliant, 1 Triable issue, 2 No-show excused)2016, Appellate Term: 74 decisions (34 Defense proved, 14 Mailing not proved, 22 Nonappearance not proved, 3 Requests not compliant, 1 Triable issue)2015, Appellate Term: 77 decisions (48 Defense proved, 6 Mailing not proved, 14 Nonappearance not proved, 5 Requests not compliant, 4 Triable issue)2014, Appellate Term: 46 decisions (35 Defense proved, 5 Mailing not proved, 4 Nonappearance not proved, 2 Requests not compliant)2013, Appellate Term: 44 decisions (29 Defense proved, 6 Mailing not proved, 7 Nonappearance not proved, 1 Requests not compliant, 1 No-show excused)2012, Appellate Term: 51 decisions (37 Defense proved, 5 Mailing not proved, 1 Nonappearance not proved, 5 Requests not compliant, 2 Triable issue, 1 No-show excused)2011, Appellate Term: 33 decisions (27 Defense proved, 3 Mailing not proved, 2 Nonappearance not proved, 1 Triable issue)2010, Appellate Term: 14 decisions (9 Defense proved, 1 Mailing not proved, 2 Nonappearance not proved, 2 Requests not compliant)2009, Appellate Term: 15 decisions (6 Defense proved, 6 Mailing not proved, 2 Nonappearance not proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2008, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (2 Defense proved, 1 Mailing not proved, 4 Nonappearance not proved)2007, Appellate Term: 15 decisions (1 Defense proved, 6 Mailing not proved, 5 Nonappearance not proved, 3 Triable issue)2006, Appellate Term: 19 decisions (1 Defense proved, 8 Mailing not proved, 6 Requests not compliant, 4 Triable issue)2005, Appellate Term: 19 decisions (3 Defense proved, 10 Mailing not proved, 5 Requests not compliant, 1 No-show excused)2004, Appellate Term: 15 decisions (3 Defense proved, 1 Mailing not proved, 10 Requests not compliant, 1 Triable issue)2024, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (6 Defense proved)2025, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (7 Defense proved)2026, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Defense proved)2003, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Requests not compliant)2023, Trial courts: 5 decisions (2 Defense proved, 1 Requests not compliant, 2 Triable issue)2022, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Defense proved, 1 Mailing not proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2021, Trial courts: 10 decisions (8 Defense proved, 2 Requests not compliant)2020, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Mailing not proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2019, Trial courts: 5 decisions (3 Mailing not proved, 2 Requests not compliant)2018, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Defense proved, 1 Nonappearance not proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2017, Trial courts: 6 decisions (2 Defense proved, 1 Nonappearance not proved, 2 Requests not compliant, 1 Triable issue)2016, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Defense proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2015, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense proved)2014, Trial courts: 5 decisions (2 Defense proved, 1 Requests not compliant, 1 Triable issue, 1 No-show excused)2013, Trial courts: 7 decisions (3 Defense proved, 1 Nonappearance not proved, 2 Requests not compliant, 1 No-show excused)2012, Trial courts: 5 decisions (2 Defense proved, 3 Requests not compliant)2010, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Defense proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2009, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Defense proved)2008, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Defense proved, 2 Requests not compliant)2007, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Mailing not proved)2006, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Mailing not proved)2005, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Defense proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2004, Trial courts: 7 decisions (1 Defense proved, 2 Mailing not proved, 4 Requests not compliant)2024, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Mailing not proved, 1 Requests not compliant)2025, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Defense proved, 1 Nonappearance not proved)2026, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Defense proved, 1 Nonappearance not proved)2011, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense proved)This decision
20052010201520202025
Defense provedMailing not provedNonappearance not provedRequests not compliantTriable issueNo-show excusedThis decisionCites it or cited by itDistinguished or limited

Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 525 (this one included) are in the same category.

No covered accident (founded belief)

Open the full map

Did the insurer show the claimed injuries did not arise from a covered accident (staged, intentional, or unrelated)?

This decision: Insurer's proof did not raise an issue or failed at trial; provider prevails on it (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)

Held, though moot, that the staged-accident defense lacked merit because the insurer offered no evidence of fraud by the assignor, all allegations concerning other participants.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 1
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 16
  • Appellate TermApp Term 170
  • Trial courtsTrial 46
2011, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2023, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2022, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2016, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2015, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2009, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2008, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2007, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Triable issue, 1 Defense not shown)2006, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2005, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Defense not shown)2004, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (3 Defense not shown)2026, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2021, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2019, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (2 Defense established, 1 Triable issue, 1 Insurer's motion fails)2018, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (4 Defense established, 1 Triable issue)2017, Appellate Term: 8 decisions (2 Defense established, 2 Triable issue, 3 Insurer's motion fails, 1 Defense not shown)2016, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2015, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2014, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2012, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (2 Defense established, 1 Defense not shown)2011, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (2 Triable issue, 2 Insurer's motion fails)2010, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Defense established, 1 Triable issue)2009, Appellate Term: 13 decisions (5 Defense established, 5 Triable issue, 3 Defense not shown)2008, Appellate Term: 9 decisions (3 Triable issue, 6 Defense not shown)2007, Appellate Term: 23 decisions (13 Triable issue, 2 Insurer's motion fails, 8 Defense not shown)2006, Appellate Term: 30 decisions (21 Triable issue, 9 Defense not shown)2005, Appellate Term: 37 decisions (1 Defense established, 24 Triable issue, 12 Defense not shown)2004, Appellate Term: 22 decisions (16 Triable issue, 6 Defense not shown)2003, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2024, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2025, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Defense established, 1 Insurer's motion fails)2013, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2023, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Triable issue)2023, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer's motion fails)2020, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2019, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Defense established, 1 Triable issue, 1 Defense not shown)2016, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2013, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Triable issue)2011, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Defense not shown)2010, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Triable issue, 1 Defense not shown)2008, Trial courts: 5 decisions (1 Defense established, 2 Triable issue, 2 Defense not shown)2007, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Defense established, 2 Triable issue)2006, Trial courts: 7 decisions (2 Defense established, 5 Defense not shown)2005, Trial courts: 7 decisions (1 Defense established, 6 Defense not shown)2004, Trial courts: 5 decisions (5 Defense not shown)2026, Trial courts: 6 decisions (2 Defense established, 3 Triable issue, 1 Insurer's motion fails)2014, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)This decision
20052010201520202025
Defense establishedTriable issueInsurer's motion failsDefense not shownThis decisionCites it or cited by itDistinguished or limited

Of the 233 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 80 (this one included) are in the same category.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Ocean Diagnostic Imaging v Geico Ins. (2004 NY Slip Op 50511(U)) DistinguishedThe insurer's EUO requests did not toll the 30-day denial period because the applicable regulation did not require EUOs. The provider established its prima facie entitlement to assigned no-fault benefits through proper proof of the claim and amount of loss under Insurance Law § 5106 (a).
  • King’S Med. Supply v Progressive Ins. (2004 NY Slip Op 50311(U)) DistinguishedA provider cannot invoke preclusion to avoid a defense raised by its own proof that billed equipment was not prescribed.
  • A.B. Med. Servs. v Eagle Ins. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 23978) DistinguishedThe insurer's investigator's affidavit failed to raise a triable issue that the collision was staged.

Similar decisions

  • Star Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24410)The insurer's misaddressed EUO notices did not toll the denial period despite receipt by the driver's tort attorney.
  • New York Craniofacial Care v Lumbermen’s Mut. Cas. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24025)The assignor had no duty to attend an EUO under the no-fault regulations governing this claim before the revised EUO provisions took effect.
  • Eagle Surgical Supply, Inc. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 28342)The 30-day examination deadline in 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (d) does not apply to EUOs. The provider challenged summary judgment dismissing its claims because the initial EUO was set more than 30 days after receipt of the claim.
  • Melbourne Med., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24221)EUO requests do not toll the claim determination period when the governing no-fault regulations do not authorize EUO verification.
  • Ocean Diagnostic Imaging v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50203(U))The insurer's late IME-nonappearance denial and unsupported fraud allegations failed to defeat the provider's summary judgment motion.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.