March 6, 2012
Vincent Med. Servs., P.C. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50431(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/vincent-med-servs-p-c-v-clarendon-natl-ins-co-2012-ny-slip-op50431u/
- Decided
- March 6, 2012
- Citation
- 2012 NY Slip Op 50431(U) · 34 Misc 3d 158(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
- Later treatment
- Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
- Legal questions
- Claimant's prima facie case on motions · Proof of mailing · Lack of medical necessity (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Vincent Med. Servs., P.C. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50431(U))
| Vincent Med. Servs., P.C. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. |
| 2012 NY Slip Op 50431(U) [34 Misc 3d 158(A)] |
| Decided on March 6, 2012 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : WESTON, J.P., RIOS and ALIOTTA, JJ
2011-904 K C.
against
Clarendon National Ins. Co., Appellant.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Devin P. Cohen, J.), entered July 15, 2010. The order, insofar as appealed from, granted the branch of plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment seeking summary judgment upon so much of the fifth cause of action as sought to recover upon two claim forms, each in the sum of $309.42, and denied defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. So much of the appeal as is from the portion of the order which granted the branch of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment upon so much of the fifth cause of action as sought to recover upon two claim forms, each in the sum of $309.42, and denied the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment with respect to said portion of the fifth cause of action, is deemed from a judgment of the same court entered August 20, 2010 awarding plaintiff the principal sum of $618.84 (see CPLR 5512 [a]; Neuman v Otto, 114 AD2d 791 [1985]).
ORDERED that the judgment is affirmed, without costs; and it is further,
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from and insofar as reviewed on direct appeal, is modified by providing that the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary [*2]judgment dismissing plaintiff’s first through third and sixth through tenth causes of action, and so much of the fifth cause of action as seeks to recover upon a claim form in the sum of $608.40 are granted; as so modified, the order, insofar as appealed from and insofar as reviewed on direct appeal, is affirmed, without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant appeals from so much of an order entered July 15, 2010 as granted plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment to the extent of awarding plaintiff summary judgment upon so much of the fifth cause of action as seeks to recover upon two claim forms, each in the sum of $309.42, and denied defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. A judgment was subsequently entered awarding plaintiff the principal sum of $618.84 on that portion of its fifth cause of action.
In the July 15, 2010 order, the Civil Court found, among other things, that, with respect to the first through third, sixth, seventh, ninth and tenth causes of action, plaintiff had established its prima facie entitlement to judgment as a matter of law, that defendant had established timely and proper denial of claim forms and that the sole issue for trial was the medical necessity of the services rendered to plaintiff’s assignor. In support of the branches of its cross motion seeking to dismiss these causes of action, defendant submitted, among other things, affirmed independent medical examination (IME) reports, each of which set forth a factual basis and medical rationale for the doctor’s determinations that there was a lack of medical necessity for the services rendered. As defendant’s showing that the services were not medically necessary was unrebutted by plaintiff and plaintiff has not challenged the Civil Court’s finding, in effect, that defendant is otherwise entitled to judgment on these causes of action, the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the first through third, sixth, seventh, ninth and tenth causes of action are granted (see Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Integon Natl. Ins. Co., 24 Misc 3d 136[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 51502[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 18 Misc 3d 128[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 52455[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]; A. Khodadadi Radiology, P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 16 Misc 3d 131[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 51342[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]).
Contrary to the Civil Court’s determination, we find that defendant’s cross motion demonstrated its entitlement to summary judgment upon the eighth cause of action. The record establishes that defendant timely mailed (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins., 17 Misc 3d 16 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]) the denial of claim forms pertaining to the claims at issue in the eighth cause of action and that these claims were denied on the ground of lack of medical necessity based upon affirmed IME reports. As plaintiff failed to rebut defendant’s prima facie showing, defendant was entitled to summary judgment dismissing plaintiff’s eighth cause of action (see Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Integon Natl. Ins. Co., 24 Misc 3d 136[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 51502[U]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 18 Misc 3d 128[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 52455[U]; A. Khodadadi Radiology, P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 16 Misc 3d 131[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 51342[U]).
With respect to the portion of the fifth cause of action seeking to recover upon two claim forms, each in the sum of $309.42, we find that plaintiff established its prima facie case (see [*3]Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 78 AD3d 1168 [2010]; Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co., 32 Misc 3d 128[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 51292[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]). Since defendant did not address these two $309.42 claim forms in its motion papers submitted to the Civil Court, defendant failed to rebut plaintiff’s prima facie showing, and the court properly awarded plaintiff summary judgment upon these claim forms.
With respect to the portion of the fifth cause of action which seeks to recover upon the $608.40 claim form for services rendered to the assignor from June 1, 2006 through June 22, 2006, the affidavit of plaintiff’s billing manager stated that he had personally mailed the claim to defendant on June 15, 2006. However, we note that plaintiff’s claim form is dated June 22, 2006 and seeks to recover for services rendered to the assignor after June 15, 2006. In opposition to plaintiff’s motion and in support of the branch of its cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the fifth cause of action insofar as it pertained to this claim, the affidavit of defendant’s examiner contained a detailed recitation of defendant’s office practices and procedures pertaining to its receipt, filing and/or storage of claim forms, which was sufficient to show that defendant had never received the $608.40 claim form from plaintiff. Plaintiff did not oppose this branch of defendant’s cross motion or submit further papers in support of its motion for summary judgment upon this claim form. Consequently, the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the complaint as to the $608.40 claim form is granted.
Defendant’s contentions with respect to the fourth cause of action lack merit, and we do not disturb the Civil Court’s determination that defendant was not entitled to summary judgment dismissing this cause of action.
Accordingly, the judgment is affirmed and the order, insofar as appealed from and insofar as reviewed on direct appeal, is modified by providing that the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing plaintiff’s first through third and sixth through tenth causes of action and so much of the fifth cause of action as seeks to recover upon a claim form in the sum of $608.40 are granted.
Weston, J.P., Rios and Aliotta, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: March 06, 2012
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case
Held the provider established its prima facie case on the two $309.42 claim forms, and judgment on them was affirmed because the insurer did not address them.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 511 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: Different mailing results for different documents or claims in one decision
Held the insurer proved timely mailing of its denials for the eighth cause of action, but the provider's claim of personally mailing the $608.40 bill on a date before the bill's own date failed against the insurer's detailed non-receipt showing.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 55 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?
This decision: Insurer's proof established lack of medical necessity and the provider failed to rebut it
Held affirmed IME reports setting out a factual basis and medical rationale established lack of medical necessity, and the provider offered no rebuttal, so the insurer was granted summary judgment on most causes of action.
Of the 617 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 315 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Integon Natl. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51502(U))The insurer's examining physician supplied an unrebutted factual basis and medical rationale that the billed MRI was unnecessary.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 52455(U))The insurer's unrebutted peer review established that the provider's MRIs lacked medical necessity.
- A Khodadadi Radiology, P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51342(U))The insurer's unrebutted peer review established that the provider's MRIs lacked medical necessity.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072)The insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345)An insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 08933)The provider failed to establish entitlement to summary judgment because the insurer partially paid and denied the claim within 30 days.
- Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51292(U))The provider failed to establish summary judgment entitlement because nonpayment alone did not show an absent or legally insufficient denial.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Sayyed DC, P.C. v Ameriprise Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 50311(U)) FollowedThe insurer established its EUO nonappearance defense to six bills, but untimely denials barred that defense to two others.
Similar decisions
- Vincent Med. Servs., P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 52153(U))The insurer established lack of medical necessity for six claims but failed to substantiate fee-schedule reductions or timely denial of another claim.
- St. Vincent Med. Care, P.C. v Country Wide Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50488(U))Unanswered verification requests kept eight claims premature despite a follow-up mailed before the full response period expired.
- St. Vincent Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50444(U))Unanswered verification requests rendered seven claims premature, while separate-reimbursement denials raised factual issues on two others.
- First Aid Occupational Therapy, PLLC v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50594(U))The provider's claims failed in part for outstanding verification and duplicate billing, while separate reimbursement remained disputed.
- St. Vincent Med. Care, P.C. v Clarendon Natl. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51728(U))The insurer established lack of medical necessity for the first cause of action and IME nonappearance for the other three causes.