November 30, 2018
Village Med. Supply, Inc. v Citiwide Auto Leasing Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 51772(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/village-med-supply-inc-v-citiwide-auto-leasing-ins-co-2018-ny-slip-op-51772u/
- Decided
- November 30, 2018
- Citation
- 2018 NY Slip Op 51772(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Legal questions
- Proof of mailing · No-show defense: insurer's proof (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Village Med. Supply, Inc. v Citiwide Auto Leasing Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 51772(U))
| Village Med. Supply, Inc. v Citiwide Auto Leasing Ins. Co. |
| 2018 NY Slip Op 51772(U) |
| Decided on November 30, 2018 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on November 30, 2018
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : MICHAEL L. PESCE, P.J., THOMAS P. ALIOTTA, DAVID ELLIOT, JJ
2016-1023 K C
against
Citiwide Auto Leasing Ins. Co., Respondent.
Gary Tsirelman, P.C. (Darya Klein of counsel), for appellant. Miller, Leiby & Associates, P.C. (Eve Pachter of counsel), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Katherine A. Levine, J.), entered December 9, 2015. The order granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
ORDERED that the order is affirmed, with $25 costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court which granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint on the ground that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear for duly scheduled independent medical examinations (IMEs).
Contrary to plaintiff’s contention, the proof submitted by defendant was sufficient to establish the proper mailing of the IME scheduling letters (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]) and that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear for the IMEs (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720, 722 [2006]). Plaintiff’s remaining contentions lack merit.
Accordingly, the order is affirmed.
PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and ELLIOT, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: November 30, 2018
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice
Held the insurer's proof sufficed to establish proper mailing of the IME scheduling letters.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 806 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer proved mailed, compliant requests and the nonappearance; claimant's answers rejected
Held the insurer's proof established proper mailing of the IME scheduling letters and the assignor's nonappearance, so dismissal was affirmed.
Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 525 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 09604) FollowedAn insurer may deny benefits retroactively to the date of loss for failure to attend reasonably required IMEs under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
Similar decisions
- Village Med. Supply, Inc. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 50631(U))The insurer established timely IME notices and the assignor's nonappearance, defeating the provider's claims.
- Medcare Supply, Inc. v Global Liberty Ins. (2020 NY Slip Op 50231(U))The insurer established timely mailing of IME notices and the denial, and the assignor's failure to attend the scheduled IMEs. The provider had obtained summary judgment in its assigned no-fault benefits action, while Civil Court denied the insurer's cross motion asserting the IME no-show defense.
- JCC Med., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 51764(U))The scheduled IME doctor's affirmation established the assignor's failure to appear for the IMEs. In the provider's action for assigned no-fault benefits, the Appellate Term, Second Department, affirmed the denial of the provider's summary judgment motion and the grant of the insurer's cross motion dismissing the complaint.
- Serge Chiropractic Servs., P.C. v Farmington Cas. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50698(U))The insurer's motion for summary judgment dismissing the claims based on the assignor's failure to appear for IMEs was upheld.
- Metropolitan Surgical Servs., P.C. v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50606(U))An insurer need not comply with 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 (b) for IMEs scheduled before it receives the claim at issue.