February 14, 2012
Raz Acupuncture, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50305(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/raz-acupuncture-p-c-v-praetorian-ins-co-2012-ny-slip-op-50305u/
- Court
- Appellate Term, Second Department
- Decided
- February 14, 2012
- Citation
- 2012 NY Slip Op 50305(U) · 34 Misc 3d 152(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Raz Acupuncture, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50305(U))
| Raz Acupuncture, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. |
| 2012 NY Slip Op 50305(U) [34 Misc 3d 152(A)] |
| Decided on February 14, 2012 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., WESTON and RIOS, JJ
2010-1642 K C.
against
Praetorian Ins. Co., Appellant.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Katherine A. Levine, J.), entered March 23, 2010. The order, insofar as appealed from, in effect, denied defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and found that plaintiff had established its prima facie case.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is modified by striking the provision thereof finding that plaintiff had established its prima facie case, and by providing that the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing plaintiff’s claims for dates of service from October 30, 2007 through January 30, 2008 is granted; as so modified, the order, insofar as appealed from, is affirmed, without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff moved for summary judgment or, in the alternative, for a finding for all purposes in the action, that plaintiff had established its prima facie case. Defendant cross-moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. Defendant appeals from so much of the order as denied its cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and found, implicitly pursuant to CPLR 3212 (g), that plaintiff had established its prima facie case. [*2]
We note initially that plaintiff failed to establish its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment since the affidavit of the president of its third-party biller was insufficient to establish that the documents annexed to plaintiff’s motion papers were admissible pursuant to CPLR 4518 (a) (see Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 31 Misc 3d 21 [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]). Consequently, plaintiff was not entitled to a finding, pursuant to CPLR 3212 (g), that it had established its prima facie case.
In support of defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment, defendant submitted, among other things, an affidavit of its claims examiner, which established that the claim denial forms had been timely mailed in accordance with defendant’s standard office practices and procedures (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins., 17 Misc 3d 16 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]). Defendant, however, did not proffer sufficient evidence to warrant the dismissal of plaintiff’s claim for the initial consultation on August 29, 2007 (see Raz Acupuncture, P.C. v AIG Indem. Ins. Co., 28 Misc 3d 127[A], 2010 NY Slip Op 51177[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2010]; Rogy Med., P.C. v Mercury Cas. Co., 23 Misc 3d 132[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 50732[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]), nor did it establish as a matter of law that the amounts sought by plaintiff for acupuncture treatment rendered from August 30, 2007 through October 25, 2007 were in excess of the amounts permitted by the workers’ compensation fee schedule (see Kingsbrook Jewish Med. Ctr. v Allstate Ins. Co., 61 AD3d 13 [2009]; see also Triboro Chiropractic and Acupuncture, PLLC v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 15 Misc 3d 145[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 51175[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]). Accordingly, the Civil Court properly denied the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking the dismissal of these claims.
In support of its cross motion, defendant submitted a sworn report of the licensed acupuncurist/chiropractor who had conducted an independent medical examination of plaintiff’s assignor on October 16, 2007. The report set forth a factual basis and medical rationale for the examiner’s determination that there was no need for further acupuncture treatment. Since defendant’s showing that the services rendered from October 30, 2007 through January 30, 2008 were not medically necessary was unrebutted by plaintiff, defendant was entitled to summary judgment dismissing plaintiff’s claims for these dates of service (see Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Integon Natl. Ins. Co., 24 Misc 3d 136[A], 2009 NY Slip Op 51502[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2009]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co., 18 Misc 3d 128[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 52455[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]; A. Khodadadi Radiology, P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 16 Misc 3d 131[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 51342[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]).
Accordingly, the order of the Civil Court is modified by striking the provision thereof finding that plaintiff established a prima facie case and by providing that the branch of defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment seeking to dismiss plaintiff’s claims for dates of service from October 30, 2007 through January 30, 2008 is granted.
Pesce, P.J., Weston and Rios, JJ., concur.
[*3]
Decision Date: February 14, 2012
Legal questions (4)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Insufficient: claim forms not shown admissible as business records / merits of claim not proved
Held the third-party biller's president's affidavit failed to show the annexed documents were admissible under CPLR 4518 (a), so the provider did not establish its prima facie case and the CPLR 3212 (g) finding was struck.
Of the 990 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 206 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?
This decision: Insurer's proof established lack of medical necessity and the provider failed to rebut it
Held the IME examiner's sworn report gave a factual basis and medical rationale that further acupuncture was unnecessary, and being unrebutted, entitled the insurer to summary judgment on the later dates of service.
Of the 612 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 315 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove that the amount billed exceeded the applicable workers’ compensation fee schedule?
This decision: Insurer's proof did not establish the excess as a matter of law; question left for trial
Held the insurer did not proffer sufficient evidence to dismiss the initial consultation claim and did not establish as a matter of law that the acupuncture charges exceeded the fee schedule, so its cross motion on those claims was properly denied.
Of the 284 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 84 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the claims examiner's affidavit established that the denials were timely mailed in accordance with the insurer's standard office practices and procedures.
Of the 1,341 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 798 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 21039) FollowedThe provider failed to establish its prima facie case because its third-party biller's affidavit lacked a business-record foundation.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072)The insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345)An insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.
- Raz Acupuncture, P.C. v AIG Indem. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51177(U))An insurer may use the workers' compensation acupuncture fee schedule for chiropractors to reimburse a licensed acupuncturist.
- Rogy Med., P.C. v Mercury Cas. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 50732(U))The insurer's peer review report was not competent evidence, and its fee-schedule proof was insufficient.
- Kingsbrook Jewish Med. Ctr. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 00351) FollowedJudicially noticed diagnosis codes alone do not establish that treatment was wholly unrelated to an insured automobile accident.
- Triboro Chiropractic & Acupuncture, PLLC v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51175(U))The provider lacked admissible billing proof, while the insurer failed to establish its IME nonappearance and fee-schedule defenses.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Integon Natl. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51502(U))The insurer's examining physician supplied an unrebutted factual basis and medical rationale that the billed MRI was unnecessary.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 52455(U))The insurer's unrebutted peer review established that the provider's MRIs lacked medical necessity.
- A Khodadadi Radiology, P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51342(U))The insurer's unrebutted peer review established that the provider's MRIs lacked medical necessity.
Similar decisions
- Z.A. Acupuncture, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51842(U))The insurer established proper acupuncture reimbursement under the chiropractic fee schedule and lack of medical necessity for later services.
- Al Acupuncture, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 51245(U))The insurer established full fee schedule payment of one acupuncture claim and lack of medical necessity for the remaining claims.
- Raz Acupuncture, P.C. v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50065(U))The provider failed to establish admissible business records through its third-party billing company's employee.
- Essential Acupuncture Servs., P.C. v NY Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51623(U))The insurer established lack of medical necessity for three claims, but failed to conclusively prove its defenses to three others.
- Points of Health Acupuncture, P.C. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51843(U))The workers' compensation fee schedule may be judicially noticed in determining reimbursement for acupuncture services.