• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
August 24, 2010

Ortho-Med Surgical Supply, Inc. v MVAIC (2010 NY Slip Op 51526(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/ortho-med-surgical-supply-inc-v-mvaic-2010-ny-slip-op-51526u/

Court
Appellate Term, Second Department
Decided
August 24, 2010
Citation
2010 NY Slip Op 51526(U) · 28 Misc 3d 139(A)
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Later treatment
Followed in 4 later decisions (see Cited by)
Issues
Timeliness and preclusion
Legal questions
Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Cite as
Ortho-Med Surgical Supply, Inc. v MVAIC, 28 Misc 3d 139(A), 2010 NY Slip Op 51526(U) (App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2010)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

MVAIC's affidavit established timely mailing of its denial through a detailed description of office practices based on personal knowledge. The provider's sole appellate challenge concerned the sufficiency of that affidavit. The majority found that the claims representative described the standard procedures used to ensure proper mailing in enough detail to establish timely denial. The Appellate Term, Second Department, affirmed the order granting MVAIC summary judgment dismissing the complaint. A dissent would have reversed and denied the motion because the affiant did not demonstrate firsthand knowledge of mailroom procedures and, in the dissent's view, merely concluded that the denial was sent.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Ortho-Med Surgical Supply, Inc. v MVAIC (2010 NY Slip Op 51526(U))

[*1]
Ortho-Med Surgical Supply, Inc. v MVAIC
2010 NY Slip Op 51526(U) [28 Misc 3d 139(A)]
Decided on August 24, 2010
Appellate Term, Second Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.


Decided on August 24, 2010
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK

APPELLATE TERM: 2nd, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS

PRESENT: : STEINHARDT, J.P., PESCE and RIOS, JJ
2009-1076 K C.

Ortho-Med Surgical Supply, Inc. as Assignee of MARIA GONZALEZ, Appellant,

against

MVAIC, Respondent.


Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Sylvia G. Ash, J.), entered September 19, 2008. The order granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.


ORDERED that the order is affirmed without costs.

In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, the Civil Court granted a motion by defendant Motor Vehicle Accident Indemnification Corporation (sued herein as MVAIC) for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. The sole issue raised by plaintiff on appeal is the sufficiency of the affidavit executed by MVAIC’s claims representative to establish that the denial of claim form was mailed pursuant to MVAIC’s office practices and procedures. As the affiant described, in detail, based on the affiant’s personal knowledge, defendant’s standard office practices and procedures used to ensure that said denial of claim form was properly mailed, the affidavit of defendant’s claim representative sufficiently established the timely mailing of the denial of claim form (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]; Residential Holding Corp. v Scottsdale Ins. Co., 286 AD2d 679 [2001]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins., 17 Misc 3d 16 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]). Accordingly, the order granting MVAIC’s motion for summary judgment is affirmed.

Steinhardt, J.P., and Pesce, J., concur.

Rios, J., dissents in a separate memorandum.

Rios, J., dissents and votes to reverse the order and deny defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint in the following memorandum: [*2]

The issue on appeal is whether a timely denial was mailed to plaintiff.

Defendant presented an affidavit from a claims representative attesting to a procedure wherein a denial is placed in an addressed envelope and then dropped in the claims department’s “outgoing mail basket.” According to the claims representative, the contents of the mail basket are collected daily by a mailroom employee, who then affixes postage to the envelopes and “puts it in the mailbox” for delivery by the U.S. postal service. In my opinion, such an affidavit is insufficient to demonstrate mailing, for it merely concludes that the mail is sent. Defendant’s affiant did not demonstrate firsthand knowledge of the procedures of the mailroom to establish that the denial had been mailed to plaintiff (see Hospital for Joint Diseases v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 284 AD2d 374 [2001]; Clark v Columbian Mut. Life Ins. Co., 221 AD2d 227 [1995]). Consequently, defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint should have been denied.
Decision Date: August 24, 2010

Legal questions

A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

Proof of mailing

Open the full map

Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?

This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice

Held the claims representative's affidavit, describing in detail from personal knowledge the standard office practices used to ensure proper mailing, sufficiently established timely mailing of the denial.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 1
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 34
  • Appellate TermApp Term 1,173
  • Trial courtsTrial 133
2015, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2023, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2020, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2016, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove)2015, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove)2014, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing)2013, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2012, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2011, Appellate Division: 5 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2010, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Provider proved mailing)2008, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2007, Appellate Division: 5 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2006, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2005, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove)2004, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2026, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer failed to prove)2023, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing)2022, Appellate Term: 43 decisions (32 Insurer proved mailing, 3 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing)2021, Appellate Term: 21 decisions (13 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2020, Appellate Term: 31 decisions (24 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 5 Triable issue on mailing)2019, Appellate Term: 78 decisions (59 Insurer proved mailing, 5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 11 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2018, Appellate Term: 73 decisions (46 Insurer proved mailing, 16 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove, 9 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2017, Appellate Term: 110 decisions (60 Insurer proved mailing, 26 Insurer failed to prove, 4 Provider proved mailing, 18 Triable issue on mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2016, Appellate Term: 99 decisions (44 Insurer proved mailing, 30 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 19 Triable issue on mailing, 3 Mixed rulings)2015, Appellate Term: 95 decisions (65 Insurer proved mailing, 10 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 8 Triable issue on mailing, 8 Mixed rulings)2014, Appellate Term: 66 decisions (55 Insurer proved mailing, 3 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Triable issue on mailing, 4 Mixed rulings)2013, Appellate Term: 73 decisions (62 Insurer proved mailing, 6 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 3 Mixed rulings)2012, Appellate Term: 108 decisions (87 Insurer proved mailing, 12 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 4 Mixed rulings)2011, Appellate Term: 69 decisions (56 Insurer proved mailing, 8 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2010, Appellate Term: 77 decisions (67 Insurer proved mailing, 4 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 2 Mixed rulings)2009, Appellate Term: 52 decisions (29 Insurer proved mailing, 11 Insurer failed to prove, 6 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 4 Mixed rulings)2008, Appellate Term: 27 decisions (12 Insurer proved mailing, 11 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2007, Appellate Term: 29 decisions (9 Insurer proved mailing, 16 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2006, Appellate Term: 63 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 18 Insurer failed to prove, 14 Provider proved mailing, 19 Provider failed to prove, 7 Mixed rulings)2005, Appellate Term: 26 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 14 Insurer failed to prove, 6 Provider proved mailing, 3 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2004, Appellate Term: 11 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 4 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2003, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Provider proved mailing)2024, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2025, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing)2026, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 3 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Triable issue on mailing)2023, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Provider proved mailing)2022, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Mixed rulings)2021, Trial courts: 16 decisions (11 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 2 Provider failed to prove, 2 Mixed rulings)2020, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Provider proved mailing, 2 Mixed rulings)2019, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2018, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer proved mailing)2017, Trial courts: 5 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove)2016, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2015, Trial courts: 3 decisions (3 Provider proved mailing)2013, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2012, Trial courts: 10 decisions (5 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Triable issue on mailing)2011, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove)2010, Trial courts: 6 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2009, Trial courts: 9 decisions (4 Insurer proved mailing, 2 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider proved mailing)2008, Trial courts: 11 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Insurer failed to prove, 7 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove, 1 Mixed rulings)2007, Trial courts: 8 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing)2006, Trial courts: 7 decisions (1 Insurer proved mailing, 6 Insurer failed to prove)2005, Trial courts: 13 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing, 8 Insurer failed to prove, 3 Provider failed to prove)2004, Trial courts: 8 decisions (5 Insurer failed to prove, 2 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove)2024, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Insurer failed to prove, 1 Provider failed to prove)2025, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer proved mailing)2026, Trial courts: 5 decisions (3 Insurer proved mailing, 1 Provider proved mailing, 1 Provider failed to prove)This decision
20052010201520202025
Insurer proved mailingInsurer failed to proveProvider proved mailingProvider failed to proveTriable issue on mailingMixed rulingsThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 1,341 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 798 (this one included) are in the same category.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
  • Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345) FollowedAn insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.

Cited by

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • Advanced Recovery E. & S. v MVAIC (2021 NY Slip Op 51035(U)) FollowedMVAIC established that the assignor failed to satisfy the notice-of-claim and accident-reporting conditions for coverage.
  • Central Park Physical Medicine & Rehab., P.C. v Travelers Indem. Co. of Conn. (2017 NY Slip Op 51354(U)) FollowedThe provider's two EUO nonappearances breached a condition precedent, and its post-denial letters did not excuse noncompliance.
  • Zwanger & Pesiri Radiology Group, LLP v Mapfre Ins. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 50981(U)) FollowedThe insurer failed to establish proper mailing of verification requests and its denial, or that requested verification remained outstanding.
  • Neuro Rehab Med. Servs. of S.I., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50671(U)) FollowedThe insurer established proper EUO notices, two unexcused nonappearances, and timely denials of the provider's claims.

Similar decisions

  • Exclusive Physical Therapy, P.C. v MVAIC (2012 NY Slip Op 50862(U))MVAIC failed to establish timely mailing of its denials because it proved neither actual mailing nor office procedures for the relevant period.
  • Longevity Med. Supply, Inc. v MVAIC (2021 NY Slip Op 50440(U))The provider's mailing affidavit raised a factual issue as to timely submission of the claims in its second through fifth causes of action.
  • Orthotech Express Corp. v MVAIC (2012 NY Slip Op 51913(U))MVAIC failed to establish proper addressing and mailing of IME notices through its contractor's general description of mailing practices.
  • Liberty Orthopedics, PLLC v Mvaic (2008 NY Slip Op 51533(U))Neither the provider's business-records proof nor MVAIC's challenge to the assignor's qualified-person status warranted summary judgment.
  • Good Samaritan Hosp. v MVAIC Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 51100(U))MVAIC established that the provider's claim was submitted late, and the provider failed to justify the delay or prove an earlier mailing.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.