March 11, 2019
Longevity Med. Supply, Inc. v MVAIC (2019 NY Slip Op 50965(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/longevity-med-supply-inc-v-mvaic-2019-ny-slip-op-50965u/
- Court
- Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County
- Judge
- Kennedy, J.
- Decided
- March 11, 2019
- Citation
- 2019 NY Slip Op 50965(U) · 64 Misc 3d 1202(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Legal questions
- Claimant's prima facie case on motions · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Longevity Med. Supply, Inc. v MVAIC (2019 NY Slip Op 50965(U))
[*1]| Longevity Med. Supply, Inc. v MVAIC |
| 2019 NY Slip Op 50965(U) [64 Misc 3d 1202(A)] |
| Decided on March 11, 2019 |
| Civil Court Of The City Of New York, Kings County |
| Kennedy, J. |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on March 11, 2019
Longevity Medical
Supply, Inc., Petitioner,
against MVAIC, Respondent. |
CV-718401/17
Attorney for plaintiff:
Oleg Rybak, Esq.
The Rybak Firm PLLC
1810 Voorhies Avenue
3rd Floor Suite 7
Brooklyn, New York 11235
Attorney for defendant
Barbara Carabell, Esq.
Marshall & Marshall
30 Jericho Executive Plaza Jericho, New York 11753
Odessa Kennedy, J.
Upon the foregoing cited papers, the Decision/Order on this Motion is as follows:
Papers NumberedNotice of Motion, Affirmation in Support and Exhibits 1
Notice of Cross Motion, Affirmation in Opposition and Exhibits 2
Reply Affirmation in Opposition 3
In an action for breach of contract seeking damages, defendant moves pursuant to CPLR 3211(a)(1) and 3212(b) for an order granting summary judgment in its favor and for an order dismissing the complaint on the ground of plaintiff’s untimely submission of the bills more than 45 days from the date of service. Defendant further contends it timely denied the bills at issue.
Plaintiff cross moves for an order, pursuant to CPLR 3212(b), granting it summary judgement and dismissing defendant’s affirmative defense, or, pursuant to CPLR 3212(g) limiting the issues of fact for trial and finding that billing forms were mailed and received by the carrier and that payment of no-fault benefits were overdue.
On a motion for summary judgment, the moving party must make a prima facie showing of entitlement to judgment as a matter of law by advancing sufficient evidentiary proof in admissible form to demonstrate the absence of any material issues of fact. (See, Zuckerman v. City of New York, 49 NY2d 557 [1980]). In considering a motion for summary judgement, the court must view the evidence in a light most favorable to the party opposing the motion and must give that party the benefit of every favorable inference. (See, Negri v. Stop & Shop, Inc., 65 NY2d 625 [1985]).
Summary judgment is inappropriate where there are material issues of fact in dispute or where more than one conclusion may be drawn from the facts. (See, Friends of Thayer Lake LLC v. Brown, 27 NY3d 1039 [2016]). It is well settled that the proponent of a summary judgment motion must make a prima facie case showing entitlement to judgment as a matter of law, submitting sufficient evidence to demonstrate the absence of any material issues of fact. (Alvarez v. Prospect Hospital, 68 NY2d 320 [1986]). The failure to make such a showing requires denial of the motion, regardless of the sufficiency of the opposing papers. (Winegrad v. New York University Medical Center, 64 NY2d 851 [1985]). Once this showing has been made, however, the burden shifts to the party opposing the motion for summary judgment to produce evidentiary proof in admissible form sufficient to establish the existence of material issues of fact which require a trial of the action. (Zuckerman v. City of New York, 49 NY2d 557 [1980]).
Pursuant to 11 NYCRR 65-1.1, “[i]n the case of a claim for health service expenses, the eligible injured person or that person’s assignee or representative shall submit written proof of claim to [*2]the Company, including full particulars of the nature and extent of the injuries and treatment received and contemplated, as soon as reasonably practicable but, in no event later than 45 days after the date services are rendered”. Id. A denial based on a failure to submit the claim form within 45 days of the date of service, must advise plaintiff that late submission of the proofs of claim will be excused if plaintiff can provide a reasonable justification for the late submission. (Park v Zurich Am. Ins. Co., 33 Misc 3d 127(A) [App Term 2nd Dept 2011]); 11 NYCRR 65-3.3 (e). This absolute defense may be waived. (See, Matter of State Farm Ins. Co. v Domotor, 266 AD2d 219 [2nd Dept 1999]).
Defendant has submitted an affidavit from its claims representative, which based on her knowledge of office procedure, states that the date of service of the various bills, dated March 11, 2016, June 17, 2016, and October 12, 2016, were mailed, almost a year late, by plaintiff on March 2, 2017. Defendant further contends that plaintiff offered no reasonable justification for the late submission of the bills, and that defendant it denied the bills as untimely within the statutory 30 day-period.
The court finds that defendant’s submissions in support satisfy the prima facie showing establishing the alleged bills were untimely as required by law, thus shifting to plaintiff the obligation to show by evidentiary proof the existence of a triable issue of material fact.
Initially, a movant has the burden to set forth evidentiary facts sufficient to entitle that party to judgment as a matter of law, whereupon the burden is shifted to the opposing party to come forward with proof, again in evidentiary form, to show the existence of genuine triable issues of fact. (See, Piccolo v. De Carlo, 90 AD2d 609 [3rd Dept 1982]).
Plaintiff contends that there are triable issues of fact regarding whether defendant established its prima facie case and also contends that the evidence submitted in support of its summary judgment motion is insufficient.
In support plaintiff, submits the affidavit of Eugene Nemets, the owner of Longevity Medical Supply, Inc., which states that based on his personal knowledge of the mailing procedures, as well as having personally reviewed the patient file and supervised the operations, office functions and related procedures of the management of medical records the claims were submitted timely on March 11, 2016. In addition, the plaintiff annexed copies of claims dated March 11, 2016, which affiant contends to have personally generated said claim form, NF-3, pertaining to this matter. The court further notes that defendant did not provide in support of its motion the envelopes containing the bills at issue sent by plaintiff, which could have bore the date of its mailing via post office stamp or explain the reason for its failure to submit the envelopes.
Based on the conflicting supporting evidence, this court finds there exists triable issues of fact sufficient to preclude summary judgment.
Plaintiff’s Summary Judgment motion
A no-fault provider establishes its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment by proof of the submission to the defendant of a timely claim form, proof of the fact and the amount of the loss sustained, and proof that the defendant either failed to pay or deny the claim within the requisite 30-day period or issued a timely denial of claim that was conclusory, vague or without merit as a matter of law. (See, New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 31 AD3d 512 [2nd Dept 2006]).
The Court also denies plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment. The Court finds that plaintiff did not submit evidence in admissible form to prove the mailing of the claim forms, [*3]inasmuch as plaintiff failed to provide proof of mailing. (See, Midborough Acupuncture, P.C. v. New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 13 Misc 3d 132(A)). The Court also finds that plaintiff did not prove that defendant did not deny the claim within the required 30-day period or that the denial was conclusory, vague, or without merit as a matter of law. Therefore, plaintiff’s cross motion is further denied.
Conclusion
Accordingly, defendant’s motion and plaintiff’s cross motion are hereby denied.
This constitutes the Decision and Order of the Court.
Dated: March 11, 2019
______________________________X
HON. ODESSA KENNEDY
JUDGE OF THE CIVIL COURT
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Insufficient: claimant did not prove the claim was submitted (mailed to and received by the insurer)
Held the provider's cross motion failed because it submitted no admissible proof that the claim forms were mailed and did not show the claims were not timely denied or that the denial was conclusory or meritless.
Of the 990 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 77 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The mailing proof (of either party) left only a triable issue of fact on whether or when the item was mailed or received
Held conflicting evidence on when the provider mailed its bills (insurer's office-procedure affidavit of late mailing versus the owner's affidavit of timely submission) raised triable issues, though it also found the provider's own mailing proof inadequate.
Of the 1,341 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 92 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Park v Zurich American Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51836(U))The insurer failed to show that its late-claim denials advised the provider that reasonable justification could excuse late submission.
- New York & Presbyt. Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 05602)The insurer proved a timely denial but failed to establish that the provider's treatment was unrelated to the accident.
- Midborough Acupuncture, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51879(U)) FollowedThe provider's attorney affirmation failed to establish the admissibility of its claim forms or a prima facie entitlement to judgment.
Similar decisions
- Life Equip., Inc v Mid-Century Ins Co (2022 NY Slip Op 50877(U))The insurer's timely denials defeated the provider's request for judgment despite insufficient proof of the IME no-show defense.
- Island Life Chiropractic Pain Care PLLC v Amica Mut. Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 51589(U))The insurer's deficient EUO proof and payment ledger defeated summary judgment on nonappearance and policy exhaustion.
- Maxim Orthopaedics PLLC v MVAIC (2026 NY Slip Op 51282(U))The provider failed to justify five late bills to MVAIC but established proper mailing of three bills MVAIC denied receiving.
- New York Med. & Diagnostic Ctr. v GEICO Ins. Co. (2021 NY Slip Op 51138(U))The insurer established untimely submission of five claims but failed to prove its fee-schedule defense to the remaining claim.
- Advanced Recovery Equip. & Supplies v Travelers Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50690(U))The insurer failed to establish its fee-schedule defense because its analyst's affidavit did not establish expert qualifications.