March 11, 2016
Great Health Care Chiropractic, P.C. v Maya Assur. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50308(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/great-health-care-chiropractic-p-c-v-maya-assur-co-2016-ny-slip-op-50308u/
- Court
- Appellate Term, Second Department
- Decided
- March 11, 2016
- Citation
- 2016 NY Slip Op 50308(U) · 50 Misc 3d 146(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Great Health Care Chiropractic, P.C. v Maya Assur. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50308(U))
[*1]| Great Health Care Chiropractic, P.C. v Maya Assur. Co. |
| 2016 NY Slip Op 50308(U) [50 Misc 3d 146(A)] |
| Decided on March 11, 2016 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Decided on March 11, 2016
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and ELLIOT, JJ.
2013-1373 Q C
against
Maya Assurance Company, Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Richard G. Latin, J.), entered May 15, 2013. The order granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and denied plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment.
ORDERED that the order is modified by providing that defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is denied; as so modified, the order is affirmed, without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff appeals from an order of the Civil Court which granted defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint and denied plaintiff’s cross motion for summary judgment.
Plaintiff correctly argues on appeal that the affidavit submitted by defendant in support of its motion did not sufficiently set forth a standard office practice or procedure that would ensure that the letters scheduling independent medical examinations (IMEs) had been properly addressed and mailed (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]). As a result, defendant failed to demonstrate that the IMEs had been properly scheduled and, thus, that plaintiff’s assignor had failed to appear at duly scheduled IMEs (see Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co., 35 AD3d 720, 722 [2006]; see also Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Maya Assur. Co., 47 Misc 3d 151[A], 2015 NY Slip Op 50786[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2015]). Consequently, defendant is not entitled to summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
However, contrary to plaintiff’s contention, plaintiff failed to demonstrate its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment, as the affidavit plaintiff submitted in support of its motion failed to establish that the claim at issue had not been timely denied (see Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 25 NY3d 498 [2015]) or that defendant had issued a timely denial of claim that was conclusory, vague or without merit as a matter of law (see Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 78 AD3d 1168 [2010]; Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co., 32 Misc 3d 128[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 51292[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]).
Accordingly, the order is modified by providing that defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is denied.
Pesce, P.J., Aliotta and Elliot, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: March 11, 2016
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Insufficient: claimant did not prove the claim was overdue (not paid or timely denied)
Held the provider's affidavit failed to establish that the claim had not been timely denied or that a timely denial was conclusory, vague or without merit.
Of the 990 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 246 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's proof did not establish mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice
Held the insurer's affidavit did not set forth a standard office practice or procedure ensuring the IME scheduling letters were properly addressed and mailed.
Of the 1,341 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 256 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer failed to prove the scheduling letters were mailed or properly addressed
Held the insurer failed to show the IMEs were properly scheduled, and thus the assignor's nonappearance, because its affidavit did not describe a mailing practice ensuring proper addressing and mailing of the letters.
Of the 837 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 111 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Stephen Fogel Psychological, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 09604) FollowedAn insurer may deny benefits retroactively to the date of loss for failure to attend reasonably required IMEs under 11 NYCRR 65-1.1.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Maya Assur. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50786(U))The insurer failed to establish proper mailing of IME scheduling letters, and the provider failed to establish its prima facie case.
- Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 04787) FollowedA provider establishes entitlement to summary judgment on overdue no-fault claims with admissible proof of mailing and receipt of statutory claim forms.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 08933) FollowedThe provider failed to establish entitlement to summary judgment because the insurer partially paid and denied the claim within 30 days.
- Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51292(U)) FollowedThe provider failed to establish summary judgment entitlement because nonpayment alone did not show an absent or legally insufficient denial.
Similar decisions
- Great Health Care Chiropractic, P.C. v Unitrin Direct Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50373(U))The insurer failed to prove a timely denial, and the provider failed to establish its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment.
- Great Health Care Chiropractic, P.C. v Praetorian Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 51224(U))The insurer established timely mailing of its denial and the assignor's failure to appear for duly scheduled IMEs. In the provider's action for assigned no-fault benefits, the insurer cross-moved for summary judgment based on the IME nonappearances.
- Great Health Care Chiropractic, P.C. v Unitrin Advantage Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50782(U))The insurer failed to prove timely mailing of EUO scheduling letters, defeating summary judgment based on the assignor's alleged nonappearance.
- Great Health Care Chiropractic, P.C. v Tri State Consumers Ins. Co. (2016 NY Slip Op 50864(U))An assignor's appearance at an IME is a condition precedent to the insurer's liability under the policy.
- Parisien v Maya Assur. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50766(U))The insurer failed to prove mailing of IME scheduling letters, and the provider failed to establish entitlement to summary judgment.