March 2, 2006
Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v ELRAC Inc. (2006 NY Slip Op 50862(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/fair-price-med-supply-corp-v-elrac-inc-2006-ny-slip-op-50862u/
- Court
- Appellate Term, Second Department
- Decided
- March 2, 2006
- Citation
- 2006 NY Slip Op 50862(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v ELRAC Inc. (2006 NY Slip Op 50862(U))
[*1]| Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v ELRAC Inc. |
| 2006 NYSlipOp 50862(U) |
| Decided on March 2, 2006 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., WESTON PATTERSON and BELEN, JJ
2005-707 K C.
against
ELRAC Inc. & Enterprise Rent-A-Car, Respondents.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Peter Paul Sweeney, J.), entered March 22, 2005. The order, insofar as appealed from as limited by plaintiff’s brief, denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment.
Order, insofar as appealed from, affirmed without costs.
Plaintiff commenced this action to recover $2,539.30 in first-party no-fault benefits for medical supplies furnished to its assignor. Thereafter, plaintiff moved for summary judgment. In an order entered March 22, 2005, insofar as appealed from, the court below denied plaintiff’s motion.
The plaintiff’s moving papers were deficient concerning proof of its submission of its three claim forms to defendants. Such deficiency was cured, however, only as to the $835.45 claim by defendants’ annexation to their opposition papers of the delay letters which specifically state that defendants received the $835.45 claim as early as August 2003 (see e.g. A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Prudential Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co., 7 Misc 3d 14 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2005]), and the denial of claim form, dated June 2004, which specifically states that defendants received the $835.45 claim in August 2003. Since defendants merely acknowledged receipt of the claims for $680.85 and $1,023 without specifying any date therefor, as to same, plaintiff failed to make out a prima facie case that payment was overdue.
Contrary to defendants’ contention, the letters they allegedly sent to plaintiff informing it that its $835.45 claim was being investigated, do not constitute proper requests for verification [*2]and, therefore, did not toll the 30-day claim determination period as to said claim (see Melbourne Med., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 4 Misc 3d 92 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2004]; Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 4 Misc 3d 142[A], 2004 NY Slip Op 51041[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]). Having failed to timely pay or deny the $835.45 claim, defendants are precluded from raising most defenses with respect thereto (see Presbyterian Hosp. in
City of N.Y. v Maryland Cas. Co., 90 NY2d 274 [1997]; Melbourne Med., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 4 Misc 3d 92, supra).
Defendants, however, also asserted that “there was a fraudulent scheme in the happening of the accident,” a defense which survives preclusion (see Matter of Metro Med. Diagnostics v Eagle Ins. Co., 293 AD2d 751 [2002]). We find that defendants’ papers sufficiently demonstrate defendants’ “founded belief that the alleged injur[ies] do[ ] not arise out of an insured incident” (Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d 195, 199 [1997]). Consequently, defendants demonstrated the existence of a triable issue of fact as to whether there was a lack of coverage (see id.; Zuckerman v City of New York, 49 NY2d 557 [1980]), and, thus, the court below also properly denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment as to the $835.45 claim.
Pesce, P.J., Weston Patterson and Belen, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: March 2, 2006
Legal questions (2)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Insufficient: claimant did not prove the claim was overdue (not paid or timely denied)
Held the insurer's dated admission of receipt cured the proof gap for one claim, but for two claims its undated acknowledgment of receipt left the supplier unable to show payment was overdue.
Of the 990 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 246 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer show the claimed injuries did not arise from a covered accident (staged, intentional, or unrelated)?
This decision: Founded belief shown; the question must be tried (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer's papers showed a founded belief that the accident was part of a fraudulent scheme, raising a triable coverage issue that defeated summary judgment on the one claim for which a prima facie case was made.
Of the 216 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 100 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Prudential Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25032)An insurer may assert a lack-of-coverage defense despite an untimely denial of no-fault claims.
- Melbourne Med., P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24221) FollowedEUO requests do not toll the claim determination period when the governing no-fault regulations do not authorize EUO verification.
- Ocean Diagnostic Imaging P.C. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 51041(U)) FollowedThe insurer's EUO request and nonspecific investigation letters did not toll the 30-day period for paying or denying the provider's claim.
Similar decisions
- Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v General Assur. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50256(U))The insurer's conclusory proof of IME requests and nonappearance failed to raise a triable issue against the provider's claim.
- Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50357(U))The provider and insurer failed to establish entitlement to summary judgment because their affidavits lacked the necessary personal knowledge.
- Bell Air Med. Supply LLC v State Farm Ins. Claim Off. (2006 NY Slip Op 52218(U))The provider failed to prove submission of one claim, while the insurer raised a founded-belief coverage defense despite its late denial.
- Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51438(U))The insurer failed to prove timely mailing of its denial and was precluded from asserting its excessive-charge defense.
- AT Med. P.C. v Utica Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50739(U))An untimely denial does not preclude a defense that the collision furthered an insurance fraud scheme.