• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
May 18, 2015

Arguelles M.D., P.C. v Omni Indem. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50789(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/arguelles-m-d-p-c-v-omni-indem-co-2015-ny-slip-op-50789u/

Court
Appellate Term, Second Department
Decided
May 18, 2015
Citation
2015 NY Slip Op 50789(U) ยท 47 Misc 3d 151(A)
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Issues
Policy issues
Cite as
Arguelles M.D., P.C. v Omni Indem. Co., 47 Misc 3d 151(A), 2015 NY Slip Op 50789(U) (App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2015)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The insurer established that it had not issued the policy covering the accident and that the provider had sued the wrong carrier. The insurer supported its summary judgment motion with affidavits from its litigation manager and a manager of the carrier that issued the policy. The latter manager attested that that carrier had issued the policy covering the accident. The affidavits sufficiently established the lack-of-coverage defense and entitlement to dismissal of the assigned no-fault benefits action. The Appellate Term, Second Department, reversed the order denying the insurer's motion and granted summary judgment dismissing the complaint.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Arguelles M.D., P.C. v Omni Indem. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50789(U))

[*1]
Arguelles M.D., P.C. v Omni Indem. Co.
2015 NY Slip Op 50789(U) [47 Misc 3d 151(A)]
Decided on May 18, 2015
Appellate Term, Second Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.


Decided on May 18, 2015
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS

PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SOLOMON, JJ.
2013-652 K C

Arguelles M.D., P.C. as Assignee of FRANKY FLEURINE, Respondent,

against

Omni Indemnity Company, Appellant.


Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Carol Ruth Feinman, J.), entered December 11, 2012. The order denied defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.

ORDERED that the order is reversed, with $30 costs, and defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted.

In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant appeals from an order of the Civil Court which denied its motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.

Defendant’s motion was based upon an allegation that defendant had not issued an insurance policy covering the vehicle which was involved in the accident in question and that, therefore, plaintiff has sued the wrong party. In support of its motion, defendant submitted affidavits by its litigation manager and by a manager of American Independent Insurance Company (AIIC), which affidavits sufficiently established defendant’s lack of coverage defense (see Great Health Care Chiropractic, P.C. v Omni Indem. Co., 40 Misc 3d 139[A], 2013 NY Slip Op 51450[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2013]; Astoria Quality Med. Supply v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 31 Misc 3d 138[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 50743[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]). Notably, the AIIC manager attested that her company had issued the policy covering the accident in question. Consequently, as defendant demonstrated that plaintiff has sued the wrong insurance carrier, defendant was entitled to summary judgment dismissing the complaint (see Vincent Med. Servs., P.C. v Omni Indem. Co., 42 Misc 3d 142[A], 2014 NY Slip Op 50224[U] [App Term, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2014]).

Accordingly, the order is reversed and defendant’s motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is granted.

Pesce, P.J., Aliotta and Solomon, JJ., concur.


Decision Date: May 18, 2015

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Great Health Care Chiropractic, P.C. v Omni Indem. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 51450(U))The defendant insurer established that the provider sued the wrong carrier because another insurer issued the policy covering the accident.
  • Astoria Quality Med. Supply v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 50743(U))The insurer's affidavit describing a records search raised a triable issue as to whether it had issued the alleged policy.
  • Vincent Med. Servs., P.C. v Omni Indem. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 50224(U)) FollowedThe insurer established that the provider had sued the wrong carrier because another insurer had issued the policy covering the accident.

Similar decisions

  • Arguelles, M.D., P.C. v Omni Indem. Co. (2017 NY Slip Op 51829(U))The insurer's summary judgment dismissal on renewal, based on its assertion that it had not issued the policy, was upheld.
  • Compas Med., P.C. v Omni Indem. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 50414(U))The insurer established that it had not issued the policy covering the accident and that the provider had sued the wrong carrier.
  • Flatbush Chiropractic, P.C. v Omni Indem. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 51235(U))The insurer established that the provider had sued the wrong carrier because another insurer had issued the policy covering the accident.
  • Reyes-Arguelles v Omni Indem. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 52153(U))The insurer's alternative request for summary judgment was premature because it moved before serving an answer and joining issue.
  • Island Life Chiropractic Pain Care, PLLC v Omni Indem. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50342(U))The defendant insurer's affidavits established that another carrier issued the policy covering the accident, warranting dismissal.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.