• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Services
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
February 27, 2006

V.S. Med. Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50304(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/v-s-med-servs-p-c-v-state-farm-mut-ins-co-2006-ny-slip-op-50304u/

Court
Appellate Term, Second Department
Decided
February 27, 2006
Citation
2006 NY Slip Op 50304(U) · 11 Misc 3d 130(A)
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Insurer prevailed
Issues
Staged accidents, lack of coverage
Legal questions
No covered accident (founded belief) (see the maps)
Cite as
V.S. Med. Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co., 11 Misc 3d 130(A), 2006 NY Slip Op 50304(U) (App Term, 2d Dept, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The provider's summary judgment motion was denied because the insurer's investigator affidavit raised a triable coverage issue. The Appellate Term, Second Department, modified the order to deny that motion, left the insurer's cross motion denied, and found a founded belief that the injuries did not arise from an insured incident under GPM Chiropractic. A partial dissent would have granted the insurer summary judgment for deficient assignment and billing proof.

Reported in New York Official Reports at V.S. Med. Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50304(U))

[*1]
V.S. Med. Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co.
2006 NY Slip Op 50304(U) [11 Misc 3d 130(A)]
Decided on February 27, 2006
Appellate Term, Second Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.
Decided on February 27, 2006

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK

APPELLATE TERM: 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS


PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., GOLIA and RIOS, JJ
2005-43 Q C. NO. 2005-43 Q C
V.S. Medical Services, P.C., as assignee of RAFAEL RODRIGUES, Respondent,

against

State Farm Mutual Insurance Co., Appellant.

Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Queens County (Diccia T. Pineda-Kirwan, J.), entered December 16, 2003. The order granted plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and denied defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.

Order modified by providing that plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is denied; as so modified, affirmed without costs.

Plaintiff health care provider commenced the instant action to recover $10,811.67 in first-party no-fault benefits for medical services rendered to its assignor, Rafael Rodrigues, for injuries he allegedly sustained in a motor vehicle accident on December 3, 2000. The instant appeal involves the same accident and assignor that formed the basis of the appeal in GPM Chiropractic, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co. (7 Misc 3d 135[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 50744[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists]). Upon our review of the record, we find that the affidavit submitted by defendant’s investigator was sufficient to demonstrate that defendant’s denial was based upon a “founded belief that the alleged injur[ies] do[] not arise out of an insured incident” (Central Gen. Hosp. v Chubb Group of Ins. Cos., 90 NY2d 195,199 [1997]; GPM Chiropractic, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co., 7 Misc 3d 135[A], 2005 NY Slip Op 50744[U], supra). Accordingly, since defendant demonstrated the existence of a triable issue of fact as to whether [*2]there was a lack of coverage (see Zuckerman v City of New York, 49 NY2d 557 [1980]), plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment should have been denied.

Pesce, P.J., and Rios, J., concur.

Golia, J., concurs in part and dissents in part in a separate memorandum. [*3]
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM : 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT : PESCE, P.J., GOLIA and RIOS, JJ.
V.S. MEDICAL SERVICES, P.C.,
as assignee of RAFAEL RODRIGUES,

Respondent,

-against-
STATE FARM MUTUAL INSURANCE CO.,

Appellant.

Golia, J., concurs in part and dissents in part and votes to grant summary judgment to the defendant.

I concur with the majority in its finding that “the affidavit submitted by defendant’s investigator was sufficient to demonstrate that defendant’s denial was based upon a ‘founded belief that the alleged injur[ies] do[] not arise out of an insured incident’…”

However, I would not have reached that issue. Although not specifically addressed in the majority decision, the “proof” submitted by the plaintiff in support of its claim was insufficient in that it did not include any “assignment of benefit” form. Therefore, the plaintiff lacks standing to prosecute this claim, and has not made a prima
facie showing of entitlement to summary judgment due to its failure to submit evidentiary proof that the prescribed statutory billing forms had been mailed and received (Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; 11 NYCRR 65.15 [g] [3]; Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742 [2004]). Plaintiff has also failed to comply with 11 NYCRR 65.12 (e) which provides that “[n]o action shall lie against the Company unless, as a condition precedent thereto, there shall have been full compliance with the terms of this coverage” (see also Inwood Hill Med., P.C. v General Assurance Co., 10 Misc 3d 18 [App Term, 1st Dept 2005]).

Inasmuch as the plaintiff failed to submit a proper and complete set of documents in accordance with the prescribed statutory billing forms, it did not make out a prima facie entitlement to summary judgment. [*4]
Decision Date: February 27, 2006

Legal questions

A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

No covered accident (founded belief)

Open the full map

Did the insurer show the claimed injuries did not arise from a covered accident (staged, intentional, or unrelated)?

This decision: Founded belief shown; the question must be tried

Held the insurer's investigator affidavit sufficient to show a founded belief that the injuries did not arise from an insured incident, raising a triable coverage issue that required denial of the provider's summary judgment motion.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 1
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 16
  • Appellate TermApp Term 170
  • Trial courtsTrial 46
2011, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2023, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2022, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2016, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2015, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2009, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2008, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2007, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Triable issue, 1 Defense not shown)2006, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2005, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Defense not shown)2004, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (3 Defense not shown)2026, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2021, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2019, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (2 Defense established, 1 Triable issue, 1 Insurer's motion fails)2018, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (4 Defense established, 1 Triable issue)2017, Appellate Term: 8 decisions (2 Defense established, 2 Triable issue, 3 Insurer's motion fails, 1 Defense not shown)2016, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2015, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2014, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2012, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (2 Defense established, 1 Defense not shown)2011, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (2 Triable issue, 2 Insurer's motion fails)2010, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Defense established, 1 Triable issue)2009, Appellate Term: 13 decisions (5 Defense established, 5 Triable issue, 3 Defense not shown)2008, Appellate Term: 9 decisions (3 Triable issue, 6 Defense not shown)2007, Appellate Term: 23 decisions (13 Triable issue, 2 Insurer's motion fails, 8 Defense not shown)2006, Appellate Term: 30 decisions (21 Triable issue, 9 Defense not shown)2005, Appellate Term: 37 decisions (1 Defense established, 24 Triable issue, 12 Defense not shown)2004, Appellate Term: 22 decisions (16 Triable issue, 6 Defense not shown)2003, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)2024, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2025, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Defense established, 1 Insurer's motion fails)2013, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Defense established)2023, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Triable issue)2023, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Insurer's motion fails)2020, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2019, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Defense established, 1 Triable issue, 1 Defense not shown)2016, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Insurer's motion fails)2013, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Triable issue)2011, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Defense not shown)2010, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Triable issue, 1 Defense not shown)2008, Trial courts: 5 decisions (1 Defense established, 2 Triable issue, 2 Defense not shown)2007, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Defense established, 2 Triable issue)2006, Trial courts: 7 decisions (2 Defense established, 5 Defense not shown)2005, Trial courts: 7 decisions (1 Defense established, 6 Defense not shown)2004, Trial courts: 5 decisions (5 Defense not shown)2026, Trial courts: 6 decisions (2 Defense established, 3 Triable issue, 1 Insurer's motion fails)2014, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Defense not shown)This decision
20052010201520202025
Defense establishedTriable issueInsurer's motion failsDefense not shownThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 233 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 102 (this one included) are in the same category.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Gpm Chiropractic, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co. (2005 NYSlipOp 50744(U)) FollowedThe insurer's investigator affidavit raised a triable coverage issue, but the assignor's EUO nonattendance did not warrant insurer summary judgment.
  • Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359)The hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
  • Inwood Hill Med., P.C. v General Assur. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25437)An injured person's failure to attend reasonably requested IMEs breaches a condition precedent to no-fault coverage.

Similar decisions

  • A.M. Med. Servs., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 52300(U))The insurer's investigator raised a triable issue as to whether the assignor's injuries arose from an insured incident.
  • GPM Chiropractic, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co (2005 NYSlipOp 50861(U))The insurer's investigator affidavit raised a triable staged-collision coverage issue despite an untimely denial.
  • A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51033(U))The insurer's EUO evidence did not establish a founded belief that the claimed injuries arose from a noncovered event.
  • V.S. Med. Servs., P.C. v Farm Family Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 52287(U))The provider's summary judgment proof lacked a proper business-record foundation because its officer's personal knowledge was not established.
  • New Century Chiropractic, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 52236(U))The insurer's investigator established a founded belief that the injuries did not arise from an insured incident, raising a coverage issue.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.