November 27, 2007
Kings Highway Diagnostic Imaging, P.C. v Autoone Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 52253(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/kings-highway-diagnostic-imaging-p-c-v-autoone-ins-co-2007-ny-slip-op52253u/
- Judge
- Ash, J.
- Decided
- November 27, 2007
- Citation
- 2007 NY Slip Op 52253(U) · 17 Misc 3d 1134(A)
- Posture
- Trial
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Issues
- Medical necessity
- Legal questions
- Lack of medical necessity (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Kings Highway Diagnostic Imaging, P.C. v Autoone Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 52253(U))
| Kings Highway Diagnostic Imaging, P.C. v Autoone Ins. Co. |
| 2007 NY Slip Op 52253(U) [17 Misc 3d 1134(A)] |
| Decided on November 27, 2007 |
| Civil Court Of The City Of New York, Kings County |
| Ash, J. |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County
Kings Highway
Diagnostic Imaging, P.C., Assignee of Nancy Valle, Plaintiff,
against Autoone Insurance Company, Defendant. |
075350/05
Sylvia G. Ash, J.
Plaintiff brought this action seeking recovery of first party no-fault benefits for medical services rendered to its assignors. Plaintiff is a health care provider and Defendant was the no-fault insurance carrier at the time the accident occurred. The amount at issue is $1,791.00. Based on the testimony and evidence adduced at trial, this Court renders the following findings of fact and conclusions of law.
The parties stipulated to Plaintiff’s prima facie case and Defendant’s timely denial of the claim. The only issue to be decided by the Court is whether the magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) tests of Plaintiff’s assignor’s cervical and lumbar spine were medically necessary. Defendant bore the burden of proof on this issue. Therefore, Defendant had the burden to establish by admissible evidence its belief that the services rendered were not medically necessary (11 NYCRR 65.15). If the Defendant sustains this burden, the burden of persuasion shifts back to Plaintiff to submit rebuttal evidence that the services rendered were medically necessary (see, A.B. Medical Services, PLLC v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins., Co., 7 Misc 3d 822, 795 N.Y.S. 2d 843; V.S. Medical Services, P.C. v. Allstate Insurance Co., 11 Misc 3d 334; PDG Psychological, P.C., v. State Farm Insurance Co., 12 Misc 3d 1183(A); Citywide Social Work & Psy. Serv. V. Travelers Indem. Co., 3 Misc 3d 608 [Civ. Ct. Kings Co., 2004]; Elm Medical P.C. v. American Home Assurance Co., 2003 NY Slip Op. 51357 (U), 2003 WL 22471156 [Civ. Ct., Kings Co., 2003] Delta Medical Supplies, Inc. v. NY Central Mutual Insurance Co., 14 Misc 3d 1231(A), 836 N.Y.S.2d 492, 2007 NY Slip Op. 50241(U); Williamsbridge Radiology & Open Imagining v. Travelers Indem. Co., 14 Misc 3d 1231(A), 836 N.Y.S. 2d 496, 2007 NY Slip Op. 50224(U)).
At trial, Defendant called Dr. Michael N. Berke, a Chiropractor, as its chief and primary witness. Dr. Berke testified that based on his examination of the assignor and review of the medical records he found no objective findings of spasm, no positive orthopedic tests or radicular complaints to justify the MRIs. The Plaintiff called Dr. Michael Walsh, a Neurologist, as its rebuttal witness. Dr. Walsh testified that he reviewed the treating physician’s medical report and that based on the assignor’s complaints, the MRIs were medically necessary. [*2]
The parties have submitted post trial memorandums. Defendant argued that Dr. Berke examined the assignor one day after the cervical MRI and three days prior to the lumbar MRI; that the assignor had no complaints of radiating pain at that examination; that based on Dr. Berke’s examination and his review of the medical report of the treating physician, Dr. Abbot, the MRIs were not medically necessary at the time when they were performed. Dr. Berke stated that his opinion is based on what is reasonable and customary in the medical field as well as his twenty (20) years of practice as a Chiropractor.
The Plaintiff argued that the assignor’s complaints included radiated
pain from the neck to the head, to the arms and the left lower extremity. ` Dr. Walsh testified that the Spurling test was positive, that there was restricted range of motion and spasm in the cervical spine, that the MRI test is considered as the goal standard to determine injury to the cervical and lumbar spine and therefore, the MRIs were appropriate to determine any possible permanent injury to the spine.
In determining whether services are not medically necessary, the Court is concern with proof demonstrating that the services were not reasonable in light of the patient’s injury, subjective and objective evidence of the patient’s complaints of pain, and the goals of evaluation and treatment of the patient (see, Fifth Avenue Pain Control Center v. Allstate Ins. Co., 196 Misc 2d 801, 766 N.Y.S. 2d 748, [Civ. Ct., Queens Co., 2003]). When a treating physician prescribes necessary medical services, that patient should receive those services promptly without the need of committee or board approval (see, New York Neurology Associates, PC, v. Allstate Insurance Company, 2003 NY Slip Op. 51297( U) citing Tudor v. Metropolitan Life Insurance Co., 143 Misc 2d 180). A review of the history behind No-Fault Law clearly demonstrates a preference for expedient review of claims with an eye towards benefitting the insured (see Fifth Avenue Pain Control Center v. Allstate Ins. Co., supra). Therefore, any uncertainties concerning the reasonableness of the services are to be resolved in favor of coverage (New York Neurology Associates, PC, v. Allstate Insurance Company, supra).
Here, the Court finds that the Defendant’s medical evidence demonstrated that the services were not medically necessary. However, Plaintiff has sufficiently rebutted Defendant’s medical testimony and has demonstrated the medical necessity of its claims. Dr. Walsh testified that based on the assignor’s age, complaints of back and neck pain and the findings of various objective tests, it was medically necessary to perform the MRI to determine if there was structural damage to the assignor’s cervical and lumbar spine.
Accordingly, judgment is entered in favor of the Plaintiff in the amount of $1,791.00 with statutory interest, costs and attorney fees.
This constitutes the Decision and Order of the Court.
Dated: November 27, 2007_____________________________Sylvia G. Ash, J.C.C.
Legal questions
A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?
This decision: Provider's evidence rebutted the insurer's showing (triable issue, or necessity found at trial)
Found the insurer's examining chiropractor showed the MRIs were not medically necessary, but the provider's neurologist rebutted it by testifying that complaints, age and positive objective tests made the MRIs necessary.
Of the 617 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 94 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
- A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25089)A provider retains the burden of proving coverage after an insurer produces admissible evidence of a founded belief that a collision was staged.
- V.S. Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26000)An insurer asserting a staged collision at trial need only rebut presumed coverage; the provider retains the burden of persuasion.
- CityWide Social Work & Psychological Servs. v Travelers Indem. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24034)An insurer asserting lack of medical necessity must show that the billed services were inconsistent with generally accepted professional practice.
Similar decisions
- Williamsbridge Radiology & Open Imaging v Travelers Indem. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50224(U))An insurer contesting medical necessity at trial must show that the services departed from generally accepted medical practices.
- West Tremont Med. Diagnostic, P.C. v Geico Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51871(U))A diagnostic provider performing prescribed MRIs remains subject to a lack-of-medical-necessity defense.
- Elmont Open MRI & Diagnostic Radiology, PC v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51588(U))The provider proved timely claim submission through admitted receipt dates, and the insurer failed to prove the MRIs were unnecessary.
- Andrew Carothers, M.D., P.C. v GEICO Indem. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51775(U))The insurer's unrebutted expert testimony and peer review established that the cervical MRI was not medically necessary.
- Elmont Open MRI & Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50202(U))The insurer failed to disprove the medical necessity of MRIs when performed, despite showing that they had been recommended prematurely.