• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
March 13, 2008

Metropolitan Radiological Imaging, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 50539(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/metropolitan-radiological-imaging-p-c-v-country-wide-ins-co-2008-ny-slip-op50539u/

Court
Appellate Term, Second Department
Decided
March 13, 2008
Citation
2008 NY Slip Op 50539(U) · 19 Misc 3d 130(A)
Posture
Article 75 petition
Outcome
Provider prevailed
Later treatment
Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
Issues
CPLR article 75 (arbitration awards) Provider's prima facie case Medical necessity
Legal questions
Claimant's prima facie case on motions (see the maps)
Cite as
Metropolitan Radiological Imaging, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 19 Misc 3d 130(A), 2008 NY Slip Op 50539(U) (App Term, 2d Dept, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2008)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

A provider's prima facie no-fault showing does not require additional evidence establishing medical necessity. The Appellate Term, Second Department, affirmed a judgment granting the provider's CPLR 7511 petition, vacating the master arbitrator's award and awarding unpaid benefits. Complete proof of the fact and amount of loss, submitted to the insurer with payment overdue, satisfied the provider's initial burden. The master arbitrator irrationally upheld an arbitrator's contrary requirement. Applying compulsory-arbitration review, the majority found the award contrary to settled law. A separate concurrence agreed with the result but questioned applying that heightened review standard to a provider that voluntarily elected arbitration.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Metropolitan Radiological Imaging, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 50539(U))

[*1]
Metropolitan Radiological Imaging, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co.
2008 NY Slip Op 50539(U) [19 Misc 3d 130(A)]
Decided on March 13, 2008
Appellate Term, Second Department
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.
Decided on March 13, 2008

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK

APPELLATE TERM: 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS


PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., WESTON PATTERSON and GOLIA, JJ
2006-1670 K C. NO. 2006-1670 K C
Metropolitan Radiological Imaging, P.C. a/a/o Seon-Hee Sin Park, Respondent,

against

Country-Wide Insurance Company, Appellant.

Appeal from a judgment of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Loren Baily-Schiffman, J.), entered July 31, 2006. The judgment granted the petition to vacate the master arbitrator’s award and awarded petitioner unpaid no-fault benefits in the principal sum of $1,791.73.

Judgment affirmed without costs.

Metropolitan Radiological Imaging, P.C. (Metropolitan) commenced this proceeding pursuant to CPLR 7511 to vacate a master arbitrator’s award which upheld the denial of its claim for assigned first-party no-fault benefits. The insurer opposed the petition, asserting that the master arbitrator’s award was not irrational. The court granted the petition to vacate the master arbitrator’s award, and awarded petitioner the principal sum of $1,791.73. The instant appeal by the insurer ensued.

The standard applicable to judicial review of a compulsory arbitration proceeding is whether the award was “supported by a reasonable hypothesis’ and was not contrary to what could be fairly described as settled law” (Matter of State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co., 18 AD3d 762, 763 [2005], citing Matter of Motor Veh. Acc. Indem. Corp. v Aetna Cas. & Sur. Co., 89 NY2d 214, 224 [1996]; see Matter of Hanover Ins. Co. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 226 AD2d 533, 534 [1996]; Matter of Adams v Allstate Ins. Co., 210 AD2d 319, 320 [1994]). Applying this standard to the instant proceeding, we find that the master arbitrator’s award was irrational (see Matter of State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 18 AD3d at 763; Matter of Hanover Ins. Co., 226 AD2d at 534) since he upheld the arbitrator’s determination which was contrary to settled law (see Mount Sinai Hosp. v Joan Serv. Corp., 22 AD3d 649 [2005]; Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742 [2004]). [*2]

It is well settled that a provider seeking to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits makes a prima facie showing by demonstrating that a complete proof of claim setting forth the fact and amount of the loss sustained was submitted to the insurer and that payment of no-fault benefits was overdue (see Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742 [2004], supra). Notwithstanding the foregoing, the arbitrator held that Metropolitan failed to make a prima facie showing because it did not submit sufficient additional evidence to establish the medical necessity of the services rendered. Consequently, the court properly granted the petition and vacated the master arbitrator’s award.

Under the circumstances presented, we affirm the judgment (Matter of Pradip Das/N.Y. Med. Rehab v Allstate Ins. Co., 297 AD2d 321 [2002]; cf. Matter of Health & Endurance Med., P.C. v Deerbrook Ins. Co., 44 AD3d 857 [2007]).
Pesce, P.J., and Weston Patterson, J., concur.

Golia, J., concurs in a separate memorandum.

Golia, J., concurs with the result only, in the following memorandum:

I am constrained to agree with the ultimate disposition in the decision reached by the majority. I, however, wish to note that I do not agree with certain propositions of law relied on by the majority which I find inconsistent with higher court precedents and generally contrary to my views.

Most specifically, I am referring to what appears to be the standard of review which was utilized by the majority in this case. The majority herein applies the more exacting standard applicable to judicial review of “compulsory” arbitration proceedings. It applies this standard without addressing the fact that in this case it is the claimant-provider which is seeking judicial review and not the defendant insurance carrier. The reason that I raise this distinction is that a claimant-provider has the unfettered choice to elect to bring its claim before the court or an arbitrator, whereas a defendant insurance carrier is compelled to submit to an arbitration proceeding if the claimant chooses to prosecute its claim in that forum.

Although I find this distinction, between one party which has a choice and the other which does not, to be vital, I nevertheless raise my concerns by way of a concurrence and not in dissent by reason of the Appellate Division, Second Department’s holding in Matter of Shand (Aetna Ins. Co.) (74 AD2d 442 [1980]), which, I submit, provides the support for the finding of the majority on this issue.

The Appellate Division, in Matter of Shand (Aetna Ins. Co.), held that all no-fault arbitration determinations are to be reviewed as if they were “compulsory arbitration” regardless of whether the review is requested by the insurance carrier, which is compelled to submit to arbitration, or the claimant, which is not compelled to submit to arbitration. The Appellate Division relied upon two cases for the principle that a clamant’s application to review a no-fault arbitrator’s award should be determined by the higher standard of compulsory arbitration even though the claimant had freely elected to have the matter heard by an arbitrator.

The Shand court cites to Matter of Conroy v Country Wide Ins. Co. (75 AD2d 852 [1980]), which was decided in the same court exactly one week earlier and without any specific reference to this issue. It also cites to a Supreme Court, Bronx County case, Matter of Hicks (Royal Globe Ins. Co.) (96 Misc 2d 477 [1978]). In Hicks, it appears that the court may have [*3]been confused regarding the distinction between “binding” arbitration and “compulsory” arbitration. The reason stated by the Hicks court is the belief that “parties to voluntary arbitration waive their due process right to judicial review, while the parties to compulsory arbitration do not” (id. at 478-479). This appears to be a valid expression of the difference between binding and non-binding arbitration and not between voluntary and compulsory arbitration.
The Appellate Division, Second Department, appropriately ruled in Matter of Shand (Aetna Ins. Co.) (74 AD2d at 446):
“When a part of a controversy is compelled by statute to submit to arbitration. . . and thereby loses the right of initial resort to a judicial forum. . . the right to review the resulting arbitration award cannot in turn be overly limited in scope without involving a due process issue” (emphasis added).
Unfortunately, the Shand court also found that “insurers [must] submit to binding arbitration of no-fault claims at the option of the insured. Such compelled submissions are classified as compulsory arbitrations . . . even if (as here), it is the assured who complains after exercising the option to pursue [his right to] arbitration instead of legal action. . .” (Matter of Shand [Aetna Ins. Co.], 74 AD2d at 446 [emphasis added]).

I interpret the Shand court as saying that even a claimant, who has the free election to choose to bring his claim in court or by arbitration, must receive the benefit of the higher standard of review which is accorded to those subjected to compulsory arbitration because he “is compelled by statute to submit to arbitration” (Matter of Shand [Aetna Ins. Co.], 74 AD2d at 446).

I submit this holding, within two consecutive paragraphs, is internally conflicting and does not comport with the holdings of the Court of Appeals.

In Matter of Furstenberg (Aetna Cas. & Sur. Co. – – Allstate Ins. Co.) (49 NY2d 757 [1980]), cited by the Shand court, the Court of Appeals clearly states that since “Aetna Casualty & Security Co. was obliged under the statute to accept the arbitral forum for the resolution of the claim against it, we agree that the standard for judicial review of the award is more exacting than in voluntary arbitration” (Matter of Furstenberg [Aetna Cas. & Sur. Co. – – Allstate Ins. Co.], 49 NY2d at 758 [emphasis added and citations omitted]). Indeed, this statement merely amplifies the standard presented by the Appellate Division, First Department, which opined (in the same case) that “[a]t least as to the insurance company, arbitration under the no-fault insurance law
is compulsory and not voluntary” (Matter of Furstenberg [Aetna Cas. & Sur. Co.], 67 AD2d 580, 583 [1979], revd 49 NY2d 757 [1980]).

I would only hope that the Appellate Division, if again confronted with this anomaly, would re-examine this issue and find that a claimant which voluntarily and freely elects to have its no-fault claim brought before an arbitrator is not deemed to be one which was subjected to compulsory arbitration.
Decision Date: March 13, 2008

Legal questions

A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

Claimant's prima facie case on motions

Open the full map

On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?

This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case

Held the arbitrator's ruling that the provider failed its prima facie showing for lack of additional proof of medical necessity was contrary to settled law, since proof of a complete claim and overdue payment suffices.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 2
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 80
  • Appellate TermApp Term 843
  • Trial courtsTrial 138
2015, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2007, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2022, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2019, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2014, Appellate Division: 10 decisions (9 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2013, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Proof sufficient)2012, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Proof sufficient)2011, Appellate Division: 11 decisions (11 Proof sufficient)2010, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2009, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Other element missing)2008, Appellate Division: 8 decisions (6 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2007, Appellate Division: 15 decisions (12 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown)2006, Appellate Division: 5 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Other element missing)2005, Appellate Division: 5 decisions (5 Proof sufficient)2004, Appellate Division: 11 decisions (10 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2026, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2003, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2022, Appellate Term: 14 decisions (2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 12 Overdue not shown)2021, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 4 Overdue not shown)2020, Appellate Term: 13 decisions (13 Overdue not shown)2019, Appellate Term: 23 decisions (22 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2018, Appellate Term: 26 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 22 Overdue not shown)2017, Appellate Term: 38 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 34 Overdue not shown)2016, Appellate Term: 41 decisions (7 Proof sufficient, 34 Overdue not shown)2015, Appellate Term: 44 decisions (12 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 30 Overdue not shown, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2014, Appellate Term: 22 decisions (10 Proof sufficient, 12 Overdue not shown)2013, Appellate Term: 34 decisions (17 Proof sufficient, 11 Overdue not shown, 6 Business-record foundation lacking)2012, Appellate Term: 32 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 11 Overdue not shown, 16 Business-record foundation lacking)2011, Appellate Term: 29 decisions (6 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 13 Overdue not shown, 9 Business-record foundation lacking)2010, Appellate Term: 36 decisions (22 Proof sufficient, 3 Mailing/receipt not shown, 10 Business-record foundation lacking, 1 Other element missing)2009, Appellate Term: 52 decisions (28 Proof sufficient, 3 Mailing/receipt not shown, 21 Business-record foundation lacking)2008, Appellate Term: 49 decisions (16 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 32 Business-record foundation lacking)2007, Appellate Term: 104 decisions (8 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 94 Business-record foundation lacking)2006, Appellate Term: 112 decisions (76 Proof sufficient, 26 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown, 6 Business-record foundation lacking, 3 Other element missing)2005, Appellate Term: 90 decisions (84 Proof sufficient, 5 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown)2004, Appellate Term: 57 decisions (43 Proof sufficient, 10 Mailing/receipt not shown, 4 Other element missing)2003, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (7 Proof sufficient)2023, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Overdue not shown)2024, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 6 Overdue not shown)2025, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown)2026, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Mailing/receipt not shown)2023, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Proof sufficient)2022, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 2 Overdue not shown)2021, Trial courts: 11 decisions (6 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 2 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2020, Trial courts: 5 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2019, Trial courts: 6 decisions (5 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown)2018, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Overdue not shown)2017, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2016, Trial courts: 4 decisions (4 Proof sufficient)2013, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2012, Trial courts: 5 decisions (4 Proof sufficient, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2011, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2010, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2009, Trial courts: 7 decisions (7 Proof sufficient)2008, Trial courts: 14 decisions (8 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown, 4 Business-record foundation lacking)2007, Trial courts: 7 decisions (5 Proof sufficient, 2 Business-record foundation lacking)2006, Trial courts: 16 decisions (13 Proof sufficient, 2 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2005, Trial courts: 22 decisions (14 Proof sufficient, 5 Mailing/receipt not shown, 3 Business-record foundation lacking)2004, Trial courts: 14 decisions (8 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 4 Other element missing)2025, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown)2026, Trial courts: 4 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown)2014, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2015, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2024, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)This decision
20052010201520202025
Proof sufficientMailing/receipt not shownOverdue not shownBusiness-record foundation lackingOther element missingThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 511 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Matter of State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Lumbermens Mut. Cas. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 04234) FollowedAn interinsurer priority-of-payment award survived vacatur because it had a reasonable basis in the failure to prove another driver's negligence.
  • Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359) FollowedThe hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
  • Matter of Health & Endurance Med., P.C. v Deerbrook Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 07844) Contrasted (cf., but see)An arbitrator impermissibly raised provider eligibility sua sponte when the insurer disputed only the need for the services.

Cited by

A label shows how the later decision treated this one.

  • Matter of Boro Chiropractic P.C. v State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. (2013 NY Slip Op 50791(U)) FollowedA master arbitrator may not shift the insurer's burden of proving an EUO no-show to the provider to establish attendance.
  • Allstate Ins. Co. v Natural Healing Acupuncture, P.C. (2013 NY Slip Op 50645(U))An arbitration award applying a proposed acupuncture fee schedule instead of controlling precedent is subject to vacatur.
  • Preferred Med. Imaging, P.C. v Countrywide Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 52577(U))An arbitration award requiring a provider to establish medical necessity is contrary to settled law.

Similar decisions

  • Matter of Empire Ins. Co. v Eagle Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 24146)The petitioning insurer timely demanded loss-transfer arbitration within three years of its first no-fault payment.
  • A.M. Med. Servs., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51426(U))The insurer's conclusory medical-necessity denials were ineffective, but policy-limit exhaustion remained a factual issue.
  • Matter of Fiduciary Ins. Co. v American Bankers Ins. Co. of Florida (2015 NY Slip Op 06343)An arbitrator may decide whether a carrier is an insurer subject to mandatory loss-transfer arbitration despite its nonappearance.
  • Accessible & Advance Med. P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51599(U))The insurer's timely denials lacked a factual basis, and it failed to prove timely sending of the referenced peer review.
  • A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v USAA Gen. Indem. Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 25297)A provider's election to arbitrate no-fault claims does not bar another provider from litigating claims arising from the same accident.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.