April 29, 2008
Vinings Spinal Diagnostics v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51468(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/vinings-spinal-diagnostics-v-progressive-cas-ins-co-2008-ny-slip-op51468u/
- Decided
- April 29, 2008
- Citation
- 2008 NY Slip Op 51468(U) · 20 Misc 3d 133(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
- Legal questions
- Claimant's prima facie case on motions (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Vinings Spinal Diagnostics v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51468(U))
| Vinings Spinal Diagnostics v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. |
| 2008 NY Slip Op 51468(U) [20 Misc 3d 133(A)] |
| Decided on April 29, 2008 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 9th and 10th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : RUDOLPH, P.J., MOLIA and SCHEINKMAN, JJ
2006-1419 N C.
against
Progressive Casualty Insurance Company, Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the District Court of Nassau County, First District (Valerie J. Bullard, J.), dated May 8, 2006. The order denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.
Order modified by providing that defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is denied; as so modified, affirmed without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff moved for summary judgment and defendant cross-moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. By order entered May 8, 2006, the court below denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. The instant appeal by plaintiff ensued.
Inasmuch as the affidavit submitted by plaintiff’s owner was insufficiently specific to establish that he possessed personal knowledge of plaintiff’s practices and procedures so as to lay a foundation for the admission, as business records, of the documents annexed to plaintiff’s moving papers, plaintiff failed to make a prima facie showing of its entitlement to summary judgment (see Fortune Med., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co., 14 Misc 3d 136[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 50243[U] [App Term, 9th & 10th Jud Dists 2007]). Consequently, plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment was properly denied.
The court erred in granting defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint because there is an issue of fact as to whether defendant’s denial of claim form was [*2]timely. Although defendant contends that its denial of claim form was timely because it was issued within 30 days of being received at the proper claims processing office (see Insurance Department Regulations [11 NYCRR] § 65-3.5 [b]), its affiant did not set forth facts sufficient to prove that the address plaintiff used was the improper address. As a result, defendant failed to demonstrate that the 30-day claim determination period was extended and, therefore, failed to establish its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment. We do not pass on the issue of medical necessity. Accordingly, defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the complaint is denied.
Rudolph, P.J., Molia and Scheinkman, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: April 29, 2008
Legal questions
A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Insufficient: claim forms not shown admissible as business records / merits of claim not proved
Held the provider failed its prima facie case because its owner's affidavit was too unspecific to show personal knowledge of the provider's practices sufficient to admit the annexed documents as business records.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 208 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Fortune Med., P.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 50243(U)) FollowedAn insurer's acknowledgment of claim receipt does not concede the admissibility of the claim forms or the facts they contain.
Similar decisions
- Vinings Spinal Diagnostic v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51534(U))The provider's discovery appeal was dismissed because the challenged order decided a motion that had not been made on notice.
- Vinings Spinal Diagnostic, P.C. v Geico Gen. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51897(U))The insurer's peer review and the provider's rebuttal created a triable issue of medical necessity, precluding provider summary judgment.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Progressive Cas. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 50293(U))The insurer failed to establish timely denials because it mailed them more than 30 days after receiving the claims without proving tolling.
- New York Diagnostic Med. Care, P.C. v Geico Cas. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50681(U))Timeliness under the 45-day claim-submission requirement turns on the provider's submission date, rather than the insurer's receipt date.
- Infinity Health Prods., Ltd. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 50345(U))The insurer failed to establish timely mailing of its follow-up verification request because the date stamp contradicted its affidavit.