July 30, 2008
Ave T MPC Corp. v Chubb Indem. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51681(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/ave-t-mpc-corp-v-chubb-indem-ins-co-2008-ny-slip-op-51681u/
- Decided
- July 30, 2008
- Citation
- 2008 NY Slip Op 51681(U) · 20 Misc 3d 142(A)
- Posture
- Default or vacatur
- Outcome
- Provider prevailed
- Later treatment
- Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
- Issues
- Defaults and vacatur
- Legal questions
- Vacating a default: excuse and defense (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Ave T MPC Corp. v Chubb Indem. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51681(U))
| Ave T MPC Corp. v Chubb Indem. Ins. Co. |
| 2008 NY Slip Op 51681(U) [20 Misc 3d 142(A)] |
| Decided on July 30, 2008 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., WESTON PATTERSON and RIOS, JJ
2006-1904 K C.
against
Chubb Indemnity Ins. Co., Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Kathryn E. Freed, J.), entered August 11, 2006. The order granted defendant’s motion to vacate a default judgment and to compel plaintiff to accept a late answer.
Order reversed without costs and defendant’s motion to vacate the default judgment and compel plaintiff to accept a late answer denied.
In this action to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, defendant moved to vacate the default judgment and to compel plaintiff to accept a late answer. The court below granted defendant’s motion, and this appeal by plaintiff ensued.
It is well settled that in order to vacate a default judgment, the defaulting party
must demonstrate both a reasonable excuse for its default and a meritorious defense to the
action (see Titan Realty Corp. v Schlem, 283 AD2d 568 [2001]; Matter of
Gambardella v Ortov Light., 278 AD2d 494 [2000]). A court may, in the exercise of
discretion, accept a claim of law office failure as an excuse (see CPLR 2005). However,
counsel “must submit supporting facts in evidentiary form sufficient to justify the default”
(Incorporated Vil. of Hempstead v Jablonsky, 283 AD2d 553, 554 [2001]) and include “a
detailed explanation of [the] oversights” (Hospital for Joint Diseases v ELRAC, Inc., 11
AD3d 432, 433 [2004]; see also Grezinsky v Mount Hebron Cemetery, 305 AD2d 542
[2003]; Morris v Metropolitan Transp. Auth., 191 AD2d 682, 683 [1993]). In the case at
bar, defendant’s attorney merely stated that law office failure constitutes a reasonable excuse for
defaulting but did not elaborate as to why her office failed to serve a timely answer. Although
defense counsel stated in her affirmation that the insurance carrier delayed in forwarding the
summons and complaint to her office and made general statements regarding the summons and
complaint having been “lost in the shuffle” by the insurance company, as well as [*2]lost or misplaced in the mail, her affirmation was not based on
personal knowledge and therefore, has no probative value (see Zuckerman v City of New
York, 49 NY2d 557 [1980]). Consequently, defendant failed to establish a reasonable excuse
for its default.
Accordingly, the court below improvidently exercised its discretion in granting
defendant’s motion to vacate the default judgment and to compel plaintiff to accept a late
answer. We pass on no other issue.
Pesce, P.J., Weston Patterson and Rios, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: July 30, 2008
Legal questions
A question of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the defaulting party show a reasonable excuse (or lack of notice) and a potentially meritorious defense or claim?
This decision: Relief denied because no reasonable excuse (or, under CPLR 317, no lack of actual notice) was shown; meritorious defense accepted or not reached
Reversed the order vacating the default judgment and compelling acceptance of a late answer, because counsel's bare claim of law office failure and carrier delay, not based on personal knowledge, was no reasonable excuse.
Of the 170 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 64 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Hospital for Joint Diseases v ELRAC, Inc. (2004 NY Slip Op 07140) FollowedAn unanswered verification demand tolls the 30-day payment-or-denial period under 11 NYCRR 65.15 (g) (1) (i).
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- J.O. Dedicated Med., P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 51089(U)) FollowedThe insurer's assertion of clerical inadvertence did not establish a reasonable excuse for its default in answering.
Similar decisions
- American Tr. Ins. Co. v Bruno Med. Supply, Inc. (2026 NY Slip Op 01332)The provider's contradictory and conclusory allegations of law office failure did not reasonably excuse its default in answering.
- Psychology Ym, P.C. v Hartford Acc. & Indem. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 52208(U))The insurer failed to establish a reasonable excuse for its default through counsel's conclusory explanation of delayed complaint processing.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Travelers Prop. Cas. Corp. (2004 NY Slip Op 24481)The insurer's office-failure excuse was insufficient to open its default, but the providers' proof did not support a default judgment.
- Jacobson v State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. (2024 NY Slip Op 51540(U))The insurer's conclusory claim of a clerical email error did not establish a reasonable excuse for its default in answering.
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v Specialty Natl. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50810(U))The providers failed to establish submission of their claims, and the insurer showed grounds to open its default.