October 31, 2008
Avenue N Med., P.C. v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 52174(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/avenue-n-med-p-c-v-travelers-prop-cas-ins-co-2008-ny-slip-op52174u/
- Decided
- October 31, 2008
- Citation
- 2008 NY Slip Op 52174(U) · 21 Misc 3d 133(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Insurer prevailed
- Legal questions
- Lack of medical necessity · Claimant's prima facie case on motions · Proof of mailing (see the maps)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Avenue N Med., P.C. v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 52174(U))
| Avenue N Med., P.C. v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. |
| 2008 NY Slip Op 52174(U) [21 Misc 3d 133(A)] |
| Decided on October 31, 2008 |
| Appellate Term, Second Department |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE TERM: 2nd and 11th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
PRESENT: : PESCE, P.J., WESTON PATTERSON and RIOS, JJ
2007-1175 K C.
against
Travelers Property Casualty Ins. Co., Respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Kathy J. King, J.), entered May 18, 2007. The order denied plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment.
Order affirmed without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff
moved for summary judgment. In opposition, defendant argued that there was an issue of fact as
to medical necessity. The court below denied plaintiff’s motion on the grounds that it failed to
prove its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment inasmuch as plaintiff failed to prove that
the claim forms were submitted to defendant and because the supporting affidavit did not
establish that it was based upon the affiant’s personal knowledge of plaintiff’s standard office
practices and procedures. The instant appeal by plaintiff ensued.
A provider generally establishes its prima facie entitlement to summary judgment by proof of the submission of a statutory claim form, setting forth the fact and the amount of the loss sustained, and that payment of no-fault benefits was overdue (see Insurance Law § 5106 [a]; Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co., 5 AD3d 742 [2004]). In the instant case, any deficiency in plaintiff’s moving papers regarding proof of mailing of the claim forms was cured by defendant’s claim denial forms, and the affidavit of defendant’s claims representative in which receipt of the claims in question was conceded (see East Acupuncture, P.C. v Electric Ins. Co., 16 Misc 3d 128[A], 2007 NY Slip Op 51281[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]; Oleg [*2]Barshay, D.C., P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co., 14 Misc 3d 74 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006]). In addition, a review of the record indicates that plaintiff’s affidavit sufficed to establish that the annexed claim forms constituted evidence in admissible form (see CPLR 4518; Dan Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 14 Misc 3d 44 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006]). Consequently, the record establishes plaintiff’s prima facie entitlement to summary judgment.
Contrary to plaintiff’s contention, defendant, through the submission of the affidavit of its claims representative and the affirmed peer review, established that plaintiff’s claims were properly and timely denied based upon a lack of medical necessity (see A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 39 AD3d 779 [2007]; Residential Holding Corp. v Scottsdale Ins. Co., 286 AD2d 679 [2001]; Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins., 17 Misc 3d 16 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]; Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co., 2 Misc 3d 128[A], 2003 NY Slip Op 51701[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2003]). Accordingly, the order denying plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is affirmed, albeit on other grounds.
Pesce, P.J., Weston Patterson and Rios, JJ., concur.
Decision Date: October 31, 2008
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
Did the insurer’s proof establish lack of medical necessity, and did the provider’s evidence rebut it?
This decision: Insurer's proof was enough to defeat the provider's motion but not to win
Held the insurer's affirmed peer review established the claims were properly denied for lack of medical necessity, so denial of the provider's summary judgment motion was affirmed.
Of the 617 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 67 (this one included) are in the same category.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Claimant's proof held to make out its prima facie case (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Rejecting the lower court's reasoning, held the provider made its prima facie case because the insurer's denial forms and conceded receipt cured any gap in mailing proof and the provider's own affidavit laid a CPLR 4518 foundation.
Of the 1,065 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 513 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The insurer's (or its agent's) proof established mailing of its denial, verification request or IME/EUO notice (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the insurer, through its claims representative's affidavit, established that the claims were timely denied; also held its concession of receipt cured the provider's mailing proof.
Of the 1,400 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 809 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
- Mary Immaculate Hosp. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 02359)The hospitals established entitlement to summary judgment by proving that statutory billing forms were mailed and received and payment was overdue.
- East Acupuncture, P.C. v Electric Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 51281(U))The insurer's late denials did not bar its coverage defense, and its evidence raised a triable issue of a staged incident.
- Oleg Barshay, D.C., P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26496)A provider's deficient proof of claim submission may be cured by an insurer's denial form submitted in opposition to summary judgment.
- Dan Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26483)The provider failed to establish its prima facie case because its corporate officer did not lay a business-records foundation for the claim documents.
- A.B. Med. Servs., PLLC v Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 03636)An insurer denying no-fault benefits for lack of medical justification need not include a medical rationale in the prescribed denial form.
- Delta Diagnostic Radiology, P.C. v Chubb Group of Ins. (2007 NY Slip Op 27345)An insurer may prove mailing by describing its standard procedure for properly addressing and mailing items.
- Amaze Med. Supply v Eagle Ins. Co. (2003 NY Slip Op 51701(U))A provider's completed claim forms establish its prima facie case without additional medical proof when the insurer is precluded.
Similar decisions
- Neomy Med., P.C. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 51727(U))The insurer's timely denial and supported peer review raised a medical necessity issue defeating summary judgment on the appealed claim.
- Contempo Med. Care, P.C. v Travelers Indem. Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51338(U))The insurer's vague medical-necessity denials did not establish entitlement to partial summary judgment.
- Neomy Med., P.C. v American Tr. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 50769(U))The provider's physician failed to rebut the insurer's peer review because the affidavit did not specifically justify the additional studies.
- NY Comprehensive Med., P.C. v Maryland Cas. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 50521(U))The provider's summary judgment cross motion failed because conflicting medical affirmations raised a triable issue of medical necessity.
- A.B. Med. Servs., Pllc v N. Y. Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2004 NY Slip Op 50550(U))An insurer opposing summary judgment on medical necessity must submit admissible proof even if unaffirmed reports supported a timely denial.